how much it cost to put up a gantry? $1M? and you believe it's going to be a white elephant? If you do, you are just being guillible
Sorry, I dun understand why putting up erp in underground tunnels will make tunnels safe... can anyone explain... I nono
Originally posted by whiskers:Sorry, I dun understand why putting up erp in underground tunnels will make tunnels safe... can anyone explain... I nono
So cars can slow down and admire the beauty of a machine that sucks out out money from them everytime they go through it. ![]()
Based on my inference, what Teo meant was that he wanted KPE to be as smooth flowing as possible. If an accident were to occur in the tunnel and traffic is heavy, it would be disastrous. Therefore, the ERPs would help to lessen traffic and raise the safety.
Makes sense to you pple?
But 16 gantries on a 9km stretch.....OMG. WTF.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Based on my inference, what Teo meant was that he wanted KPE to be as smooth flowing as possible. If an accident were to occur in the tunnel and traffic is heavy, it would be disastrous. Therefore, the ERPs would help to lessen traffic and raise the safety.
Makes sense to you pple?
Then if you have a safe journey home, you can be home on time for dinner.
Following dinner, you can spend quality time with your spouse and proceed to procreate.
Voila, ERP helps Singaporeans to have more babies. ![]()
imagine chiu is staying at upper paya lebar road/serangoon/kovan/hougang area...
chiu drive down upper paya lebar road, right turn to airport road and keep left to enter KPE.
hit one gantry.
chiu come out near nicoll highway there, coming out of KPE, one gantry.
chiu turn right to nicoll highway to make your way to town, hit one gantry.
is tio 3 gantry lor.
or same route.. but this time chiu wanna go shenton way fast fast!!!
enter KPE, gantry. exit KPE, gantry. prince edward road, gantry. 3 gantries lor! ![]()
going home... use KPE also is gotch gantryzz!!!
the despot are running out of idea how ti improve the transport system. or rather they govt do indeed have a fetish over the speed of the road. why dont they just let the system run by itself.
eg. if there are often jams in major expressway or roads, ppl will voluntarily give up their cars and take private transport.
these despots are running the country like a hitler, stalin, chiang kai sheik!!!
Originally posted by sinicker:imagine chiu is staying at upper paya lebar road/serangoon/kovan/hougang area...
chiu drive down upper paya lebar road, right turn to airport road and keep left to enter KPE.
hit one gantry.
chiu come out near nicoll highway there, coming out of KPE, one gantry.
chiu turn right to nicoll highway to make your way to town, hit one gantry.
is tio 3 gantry lor.
or same route.. but this time chiu wanna go shenton way fast fast!!!
enter KPE, gantry. exit KPE, gantry. prince edward road, gantry. 3 gantries lor!
going home... use KPE also is gotch gantryzz!!!
Yo, what is the problem with ERP, just drive thru it, so simple, just remember to top up your cash card, and if you can't afford to top up, dun drive.
Originally posted by reyes:the despot are running out of idea how ti improve the transport system. or rather they govt do indeed have a fetish over the speed of the road. why dont they just let the system run by itself.
eg. if there are often jams in major expressway or roads, ppl will voluntarily give up their cars and take private transport.
these despots are running the country like a hitler, stalin, chiang kai sheik!!!
Hello, private transport is not cheap either.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Based on my inference, what Teo meant was that he wanted KPE to be as smooth flowing as possible. If an accident were to occur in the tunnel and traffic is heavy, it would be disastrous. Therefore, the ERPs would help to lessen traffic and raise the safety.
Makes sense to you pple?
Very nice but remember why the KPE was built to begin with? To ease traffic off other roads. Now they put ERP there under the guise of safety to discourage use?
The way I see it, if you put a room full of monkeys together for a long enough period, they will be able to come up with excuses for anything. However, if you stop and look at all the excuses at one go, you'll find them all contradicting each other.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Yo, what is the problem with ERP, just drive thru it, so simple, just remember to top up your cash card, and if you can't afford to top up, dun drive.
well i dont have problems for my side. but some people are more affected by the ERP tho' they're driving a shorter distance. ![]()
it's like... you're condemned to live near KPE. ![]()
maybe some north-easterners will wanna give their comments as to whether they'll use the KPE. some more speed limit 70km/h. it'll reach <45km/h threshold speed even faster and govt will increase ERP rates!
Originally posted by sinicker:well i dont have problems for my side. but some people are more affected by the ERP tho' they're driving a shorter distance.
it's like... you're condemned to live near KPE.
maybe some north-easterners will wanna give their comments as to whether they'll use the KPE. some more speed limit 70km/h. it'll reach <45km/h threshold speed even faster and govt will increase ERP rates!
Let be frank, we can discuss until the cow come home, but they are still building ERP here and there, and the scary part is that even in satelite town like Toa Payoh oso hv ERP, very soon, most town will hv it. Therefore, in a very clear message to you all from the govt is that, if you cannot afford to pay ERP, dun drive. Remember Raymond Lim said that he is going to reduce cars population by a few percents, well, he is doing his job. MRT are crowded. Then by increasing MRT fares, they gained.
As i sit here and look at the ERP from my friend kallang office into Sim AVE and KPE ERP, i wonder that one day, we people will oso go into ERP system, we may hv to wear a tag on the head to go into some crowed places.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Let be frank, we can discuss until the cow come home, but they are still building ERP here and there, and the scary part is that even in satelite town like Toa Payoh oso hv ERP, very soon, most town will hv it. Therefore, in a very clear message to you all from the govt is that, if you cannot afford to pay ERP, dun drive. Remember Raymond Lim said that he is going to reduce cars population by a few percents, well, he is doing his job. MRT are crowded. Then by increasing MRT fares, they gained.
As i sit here and look at the ERP from my friend kallang office into Sim AVE and KPE ERP, i wonder that one day, we people will oso go into ERP system, we may hv to wear a tag on the head to go into some crowed places.
let's be frank too. ERP & our public transport? nowhere near "world class transport" & "best passenger experience". so if you wanna think that way as a follower, okay then. ![]()
bro & sis....it is all about $ ....
right now they said lower road tax n higher/more ERP charges........
but I am sure down the road, ERP will increase, increase and increase.....
Just like the GST rate....sigh...
Originally posted by sinicker:let's be frank too. ERP & our public transport? nowhere near "world class transport" & "best passenger experience". so if you wanna think that way as a follower, okay then.
ANd to be very frank, according to our govt, our CPF and ERP system is an envy of other countries. But they are unable to follow us, why??, cos they dun hve the kind of citzens like we, the so called guai guai citizens, let say if govt is going to put 20 ERP gantries up tomorrow, most of us will be grumbling and commenting, but no one is stopping it, the project carry on as usual. Likewise, if it happened in other countries, riot and street protest may even tear the Ministry of Transport down.
So actually our govt jobs is the most relax and simple in the world, just implement and let the crowd grumbles and complain over any forums or kopi tiams, cos they knew nothing will surface, all just talk cork only
Originally posted by charlize:
Following dinner, you can spend quality time with your spouse and proceed to procreate.
Voila, ERP helps Singaporeans to have more babies.
Wow how creative! Lol.
Let's all hail the greatest invention of the 21st century....E......R......P......!!!!!
Planning of our roads is highly compromised once u get this ERP thing. Got congestion ah? ERP lor. No need to replan our roads.
...right.
The increased number of babies would, in turn, lessen the number of foreign talents needed, therefore allowing more jobs for our own homegrown Singaporeans.
With jobs, the standard of living of the people would increase.
And where does all the collected money go...? I see another post about Ho Ching being very powerful...
haiyoh... sometimes when read the news... dono if i'm reading news or some just-for-laughs column...
Originally posted by 4sg:bro & sis....it is all about $ ....
right now they said lower road tax n higher/more ERP charges........
but I am sure down the road, ERP will increase, increase and increase.....
Just the GST rate....sigh...
I agreed on ur statement.
Procreate more citizens ---> more cars---> more tunnels---> more safety, more ERPs--->more babies....
WOOHOO win win for the gaverment.... well done... heres a pat on the pack for ur ingenuity.
They are truely very wise, our PAP regime.
I think their plan is to make Singapore such a fucked up place to live that people will be forced to stay at home and procreate.
It's all thanks to PAP regime and their far sighted policies.
Actually for some of us it is not that we have no $ to pay ERP. Its just that we pay already not shiok! Personally, I feel that paying the ERP is no different from tossing money into a rubbish bin.
KPE = Keep Paying Extra
ERP is never a good thing to control traffic, COE was still e best
as for tunnel safety.. if there's an accident which leads to a fire, I see how are your going to be able to escape alive
tat's why in some countries, e speed limit is even placed at 40 - 50kph
The idea of having so many ERP.. is very simple.
They want you to walk.
Zero emission.. zero pollution.. energy efficient.. and good for your health so, medishield less payout.
The expressways are for the rich.
So please.. don't conjest the roads with your lau pok car... very eyesore for the image of Singapore.