I personally think that too much emphasis is placed on mother tongue, since English is the language used worldwide.
I feel sad that you think this way.
I'm in no way advocating Singlish, as I really do not like using it. Obviously there will be a difference in writing and verbal, since Microsoft Word has a spell checker!
Than how do small kids of different race communicate?
Not easy to answer.
It needs a re-thinking of the entire public school system of Singapore.
We have to study the systems of other countries.
Originally posted by Rednano:
not kiasu... cos back then our fathers times got chinese schools and malay schools... like now in malaysia... still got chinese school use chinese to teach...
Well... Emphasis should be placed on the language that unites people of different races together. Once we have a strong understanding of that common link, we can then move on to others..
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:
i feel even more sad when u choose to skip questions given to u that r difficult to answer...
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:
Well, even businessmen from China are learning English. I think it's quite a waste that Country X is learning a language so communication is easier with Country Y. But at the same time, Country Y is learning X's language... Kinda wasting effort
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Not easy to answer.
It needs a re-thinking of the entire public school system of Singapore.
We have to study the systems of other countries.
then what? push the language teaching to language schools only?
other countries' use the majority race language as the teaching language in national schools...
Emphasis should be placed on the language that unites people of different races together.
If you value your culture, it should be mother tongue.
then what? push the language teaching to language schools only?
first, we must decide what is the issue.
Is the issue education or social harmony.
I agree with Nano that obviously, we should use English to teach... Maths is hard enough, adding another language at the same time is ... not advisable.
Culture can be imparted with archived documents and such, and maybe some old artefacts. The most important is a link to communicate with, no?
Culture can be imparted with archived documents and such, and maybe some old artefacts.
No.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:first, we must decide what is the issue.
English is the "stabliser" language for multi race Singapore.
if national schools enforced malay teaching, how will the chinese and other races react?
if national schools enforced chinese teaching, how will the malays and other races react?
Originally posted by XenStar:I agree with Nano that obviously, we should use English to teach... Maths is hard enough, adding another language at the same time is ... not advisable.
Culture can be imparted with archived documents and such, and maybe some old artefacts. The most important is a link to communicate with, no?
furthermore, English is also evolving with several words deriving from other languages like latin, greek...etc and chinese... like "kowtow"
English is the "stabliser" language for multi race Singapore.
The price to pay is singlish.
This makes it easier to explain other languages with English!
Maybe it's just from the Han Yu Ping Ying (Is that how it's spelt?) that it's derived from for Chinese. But ultimately.. You focus on two languages at an early age, without stating clearly which should be your main, you get a mix of both.. Which is, Singlish.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:The price to pay is singlish.
racial harmony for priority and importance...
i dun want to see another racial riots of the 1960s in the 21st century...
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:The price to pay is singlish.
This is not because of English as the median though, refer to my earlier post..
i dun want to see another racial riots of the 1960s in the 21st century...
Singlish is okay then?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Singlish is okay then?
which is more crucial? pls priortise...
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:first, we must decide what is the issue.
What if the issue is the whole system?
which is more crucial? pls priortise...
Singlish is ok already then its ok. If we want to know many languages, thats the price to pay(singlish). And its not a big price either. Well, not to me anyway.
Originally posted by Beautiful951:Singlish is ok already then its ok. If we want to know many languages, thats the price to pay(singlish). And its not a big price either. Well, not to me anyway.
Singlish makes the speaker sound uncouth. I'm sure you don't want to step into a convention theatre with people going "Eh where the drinks ah?"
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:speaking what fucking good english?
Mother tongue also cannot express properly, want to speak fucking english for fuck?
Want to be ang moh huh?
Or like Lee Kuan Yew, only know english only?
Chinese don't know.
Speak to my lan jiao lah.
You think I will follow you Lee Kuan Yew?
Ang moh kan tan bastard?
You go and fuck off lah.
Poh, you made me laugh.
he got speak chinese lah...
LKY's Chinese sucks.
Originally posted by XenStar:Singlish makes the speaker sound uncouth. I'm sure you don't want to step into a convention theatre with people going "Eh where the drinks ah?"
Isn't it like that already?