Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I would say B, parents.
But parents enforcing children to speak properly doesn't seem pragmatic to me.
The better solution lies with reforming education system.
It is flawed.
I don't see the need for parents to enforce. Just need the parents to be lead by example. The child learn to speak by talking with her family, friends, and teacher, and alot of the time with family, that's why i think parents is the key
Originally posted by Fantagf:
What is VSC?
Volunteer Special Constabulary. Or part time police.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volunteer_Special_Constabulary
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:State media bombard me with endless propaganda, I only retaliate with one propaganda:
Lee Kuan Yew go and die now.
Where is he, he disappears after "vomitting" so much shit?
Originally posted by skythewood:Volunteer Special Constabulary. Or part time police.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volunteer_Special_Constabulary
Good pay or not?
no pay, allowance of $3.60 per hour
Just need the parents to be lead by example.
Some parent that went through the education system already corrupted.
Hard to lead by following their example.
For example Lee Kuan Yew, his chinese is lousy, how to follow him to speak properly?
Originally posted by skythewood:no pay, allowance of $3.60 per hour
What is the requirements to be one?
Originally posted by Fantagf:
What is the requirements to be one?
well, not all people can master both language well. some prefer mother tongue, some prefer to speak english. but the point is to speak the language properly.
need to be above 1.57m for girls, 45 kg. singaporeans or PR. 3 'O' level or equilvalent, and proficient in english.
http://www.spf.gov.sg/career/vsc_entry.htm#top
Originally posted by skythewood:well, not all people can master both language well. some prefer mother tongue, some prefer to speak english. but the point is to speak the language properly.
he just want to blame everything on the gahmen lah... no "jia jiao"...
and you will need to retire when you reach 50... so you can meet the requirement?
Originally posted by Rednano:
I like him, he debate nicely. If he throw temper and start calling people names, than I will think he is bad.
Originally posted by skythewood:I like him, he debate nicely. If he throw temper and start calling people names, than I will think he is bad.
debate nicely? pls... there is nothing of a solution to talk abt... just utter complaints nia....
aren't u just fishing for fishes in a fishless lake?
(if there are no solutions to look at...)
At least I got lan jiao.
Strange logic.
Criticise PAP regime is no "jia jiao"?
Kowtow to PAP regime is what?
So you kowtow to PAP regime Rednano?
You got "jia jiao"?
you don't need to have an ang moh accent,,,, proper vocab and grammar can already,,,, also, singlish is fine, just need to know how to implant an off/on switch....
would make a nice idea for a short film??? maybe gahmen can modify their campaign??? the singlish/english, on/off switch!!
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:At least I got lan jiao.
Strange logic.
Criticise PAP regime is no "jia jiao"?
Kowtow to PAP regime is what?
So you kowtow to PAP regime Rednano?
You got "jia jiao"?
morale of story is... dont put the blame on others for your life.
if u dont like here, just migrate lah...
morale of story is... dont put the blame on others for your life.
if u dont like here, just migrate lah...
You don't like people criticising PAP regime?
If someone criticises PAP regime, you get very agitated?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:
criticise, but must also give solutions...
That is not possible in all cases.
I don't see why anyone should follow your rule.
You are not Lee Kuan Yew.
I think people on the other hand, should NOT criticise the PAP BLINDLY.
Which is what you seem to be doing here.
I mean come on, even people from different parties, the ruling party AND the opposition party can share the same path or ideas at times.
The democrats in the US can see certain issues in regards to the republician party that can benefit the US as a whole.
Such instances are rare, however, this does not mean singapore cannot be a bi-partisian political arena...a more bi-partisian politicial scene in singapore than the US.
Also, sometimes, you have to examine the policies of the ruling AND the opposition parties up close, and make a correct judgement.
There is no need to turn singapore into a political areana where people oppose the other for the sake of opposing the other party.
A me vs you attitude will NOT help singapore even where a day where the opposition party manage to form a ruling party.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Strange reaction from some people.
They pissed with something but I have no idea.
I say education system in Singapore produces singlish, this is true.
Why deny it?
Bombard children with multiple language, of course you get rojak lah.
Simple logic right?
Other countries only learn one language, so no rojak.
Simple reasoning right?
Want to speak good english but bombard with two languages, in the end mother tongue rojak, english also rojak, become singlish.
This type of simple logic easy to understand one.
Even Lee Kuan Yew can understand it.
actual quite a flawed argument.
based on your thoughts, you say that singlish is a by-product of our education system. however please note that our education system does not teach hokkien, teochew, hainan or cantonese. also our system do not practice the 3rd language unless the child ops for it.
how then can singlish be a by-product of this education system when singlish is a rojak language?
if singlish is only a mix of mandarin and english then perhaps you have something there.
singlish is a product of the multi-dialectic and multi-racial culture of the country.
as i'd said before singlish itself is not a problem if your world consist only of your home, your immediate neighbour and the coffee shop boy who does not understand the word "please".
personally we all can argue all we want - politely - but in my opinion, there is no need to use expletives on people.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I disagree.
The main issue is education system.
Expect parents to enforce is naive in my opinion.
i beg to differ...
i enforce good english.... and will correct my children's grammar if it is not used correctly.
i am not one of those who believe that the responsibility of upbringing of my children lies on the shoulder of the outside world.
education begins at home. i am glad to share that the standard of my children's english surpass most of their peers.
actually it is not the criticism, if they are constructive....
but you seem to blame them even if your fart the wrong way....
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I would say B, parents.
But parents enforcing children to speak properly doesn't seem pragmatic to me.
The better solution lies with reforming education system.
It is flawed.
you say that enforcing children to speak properly is not pragmatic, but you agree that parents are responsible for children's education, I take it that parents should have other better ways to educate children.
You can blame the teachers in school for setting bad example in spoken english, you can blame the society for having too many people who influence your children in spoken english, but at the end of the day, it is you, the parents who are responsible for educating them on the importance of good english, the usefulness of being bilingual, helping them to learn the proper use of languages, and the correcting them on the uses of wrong and broken languages.
the role of parents are always there, it is when the government fails where the role of parents become even more important. in the end, your decide what is good for your children.