Originally posted by xtreyier:I failed to understand why people harp so much about the ERP system. It is only 0.05% ( 150,000) of the population that drives cars. Why turn it into an emotive issue?
Have Singaporeans lost their ability to critically think and would rather be used by this 0.05% to hate the country?
If MM Lee had his way, only the richest in Spore will drive cars through high punitive purchase and registration taxes.
But fortunately for us citizens, we have PM Lee who recommended the ERP system, so that anyone can buy a car, if he can afford it, and pay for the use, and such payments do not line anyone's pocket, but go to our national treasury for social programmes like improve transportation.
Just think, if 3million+ citizens own cars. our economy will collapse overnight. Our limited roads will be choked and grid locked. The 99.95% of citizens who take public transport will suffer to get from one point to another.
We all desire cars, but have we thought about how misaligned that wish will be and the hurt it will do to our society in economic wealth gathering?
Why should we 99.95% citizens support and be moved by herd instinct of the selfish 0.05% who owns cars? Have we lost our mind???
xtreyier
Signing off.
Let me tell you why you have failed to understand why people complain about the ERP system - because 150,000 / 4,000,000 is approximately 4% of Singapore's population, not 0.05%. So next time, before questioning others' ability to think, ask yourself the same question first.
Originally posted by xtreyier:I failed to understand why people harp so much about the ERP system. It is only 0.05% ( 150,000) of the population that drives cars. Why turn it into an emotive issue?
Have Singaporeans lost their ability to critically think and would rather be used by this 0.05% to hate the country?
If MM Lee had his way, only the richest in Spore will drive cars through high punitive purchase and registration taxes.
But fortunately for us citizens, we have PM Lee who recommended the ERP system, so that anyone can buy a car, if he can afford it, and pay for the use, and such payments do not line anyone's pocket, but go to our national treasury for social programmes like improve transportation.
Just think, if 3million+ citizens own cars. our economy will collapse overnight. Our limited roads will be choked and grid locked. The 99.95% of citizens who take public transport will suffer to get from one point to another.
We all desire cars, but have we thought about how misaligned that wish will be and the hurt it will do to our society in economic wealth gathering?
Why should we 99.95% citizens support and be moved by herd instinct of the selfish 0.05% who owns cars? Have we lost our mind???
xtreyier
Signing off.
Extreyier,
Are the taxi drivers not affected by the ERP gantries ? DO they get exemption from the charges ?
Though taxi's are not exempted from the charges, its the customers who will paying for it as its automatically added to your trip meter. So technically it will not affect taxi drivers. (Unless they want to go in to pick up passengers)
xtreyier
Signing off.
Hi Doggie. Woof Woof.
people, go read and study economics 1st before come here kpkb lehs.
fucking embarrassing leh
xtreyier
Signing off.
rather he is doing it now. look at the ERPs being erected allover the place. u go one kena zap, 100m later zap 100m zap
Like this only i think TG can drive on the roads
PLS wake up la
down with PAP
If don't teach the fucking PAP a fucking lesson at the next elections, they won't wake the fuck up.
More GST, more ERPs, more bullshit excuses.
Take us for three year old kids, the PAP.
Think that they fucking control the media, spread state propaganda want to manipulate us.
They can go and fuck off.
Senile Minister :Good govt needn't fear demos
Is he implying that PAP no good? What a moron! ![]()
By Li Xueying
Meeting residents to get feedback on PM Lee's National Day Rally speech
are Marine Parade GRC MPs (from left) Dr Fatimah Lateef, Mr Lim Biow
Chuan, SM Goh, Dr Ong Seh Hong and Mr Seah Kian Peng. -- ST PHOTO:
DESMOND WEE
THE sight of demonstrators barging into the office grounds of Thai
Prime Minister Samak Sundaravej, in a bid to oust his government, had a
telling effect on MP Lim Biow Chuan.
The incident on Tuesday led the Marine Parade GRC MP to declare last
night: 'I'm not in support of allowing protests at Speakers' Corner.'
But his fellow GRC MP, Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, took a different view.
If a government is good and fair, he said, it need not fear such
scenes. So, in turn, it need not worry about opening up the political
space like allowing demonstrations at the Speakers' Corner in Hong Lim
Park.
'There will be some demonstrations here and there, but with a fair and
transparent government, it won't get out of hand,' he said at a
dialogue with grassroots volunteers in Marine Parade.
On the other hand, if a government is incompetent and corrupt, people
are not likely to confine their demonstrations to the park.
Instead - never mind what the laws are - they would march down to Parliament House to change the government.
So, said Mr Goh, what is ultimately important is good governance that produces results.
'Once you do that, you can allow people to demonstrate in Hong Lim Park.
'What do demonstrators want? To get public attention to a cause which
they have, maybe the animal lovers' cause or the green movement.'
And while there may be initial public and media interest, this will eventually die down, he added.
Mr Goh, with the other four MPs of Marine Parade GRC, were at the first
public discussion by a senior leader to garner reactions to the
National Day Rally last Sunday.
For more than two hours, they discussed the four main topics that Prime
Minister Lee Hsien Loong had raised: cultivating a gracious society,
procreation, the economy and political liberalisation.
Asked by an undergraduate if the move towards more political openness
was done out of 'necessity', Mr Goh replied: 'Necessity, in a way.
Because to be relevant as a government, you must know the aspirations
of the people.
'We can control you, oppress you. But we'd lose you - you'll move elsewhere. So we have to move with the times.'
Other participants were concerned about rising prices.
They were most excited by a point made by Mr G.V. Nathan, 56, from Kaki Bukit.
Aiming it squarely at MP Seah Kian Peng, managing director of
supermarket chain NTUC FairPrice, Mr Nathan said: 'FairPrice sometimes
is not fair.'
When he buys milk powder for his granddaughter from different FairPrice outlets, the prices differ, he said.
Mr Seah denied it, prompting a loud chorus of 'no' from the audience.
He explained that the chain practises standard pricing, except when its
various outlets offer their promotional prices at different times.
When the topic turned to the parenthood package, the lack of paternity
leave and the need for better-quality childcare centres took the
spotlight.
Mr Nukoorsha Kadir, 33, lamented the shutdown of the childcare centre at his workplace.
Mr Goh suggested that employers team up to provide childcare centres, with the help of government subsidies.
And the last issue - how to cultivate a more gracious society - was one which the SM endorsed as most important to him.
'If you have all the wealth and all the babies, but all very ungrateful and ungracious, then this is not the place for me.'
xtreyier
Signing off.
er.. uncle
taix/ busses also got ERP okay..
How come the members of this singapore family have dual citizenship ?
The brothers served in the Norweigen Army instead. One of them has even been to Kosovo and Afganistan. They just won't serve the PAP...and Loony says the govt not stupid?....kekekeke

Originally posted by youyayu:er.. uncle
taix/ busses also got ERP okay..
Even bicycles soon have ERP
electronic riding price
If a government is good and fair, he said, it need not fear such scenes.
Then why PAP regime fear people protesting?
So much oppressive rules.
Media all state propaganda.
Scared of people criticising them.
Censor here, ban there.
What the fuck are they up to?
Say don't fear, yet still want to depoliticise people.
Fuck off lah you bastard.
xtreyier
Signing off.
Hmm... whats ur adgenda here?
How you get 0.05%, one glance u know it is wrong statistic. Pls trying to bluff who har?
No. of Private cars in sg=421904
No. of residents = 3,609,000
Rough proportions of population with care= approx 11%
The above stats is from LTA website on 2007 statistics.
11% is a 220 times more than ur 0.05%...... haix so who has lost their mind?
And good vehicles are also not spared ERP, means it also contributes to inflation. its nt 0.05% like u said. The effect is broad.