Hi people, call me noob but i'm abit curious, why do, inspite of all the critizing of PAP you guys do here, you guys till vote for PAP? I mean some, hang on, most people must be voting for PAP since they're still in power right?
Can you check the dictionary for the following meaning?
1. Walkover - (Due to super sized GRCs)
2.Gerry meandering
3. Mathematically impossible election results
such as opposition winning almost 40% of the votes but got only 5% of the seats
http://www.singapore-elections.com/ge1991/votes.html
http://www.singapore-elections.com/ge1991/seats.html
maybe the 40% of the votes were evenly distributed amoung the constitiuencies.
Originally posted by Chris88110:maybe the 40% of the votes were evenly distributed amoung the constitiuencies.
Have you studied statistics? what is the probability if its was unbiased?
Sorry man, studying statistics now, about halfway throught the module. Well then mayb someone ought to do something about it then right? I mean we can't carry on like this. Why don't some people riot? I mean if the police force pay is as low as you guys say it is and police officers are unhappy i don't think they'll really wanna stop riots don't ya think?
People still vote for Pay and Pay because they fall into the scare tactic trap by PAP. There are far too many kiasu kiasi, self centred singaporeans to really want to vote them out.
Uhhh well then i guess its our fault the govenment has become like this then right? If we did'nt have this weakness, then PAP would have nothing to exploit then right? Correct me if i'm wrong please, i'm a noob here
Originally posted by Chris88110:Uhhh well then i guess its our fault the govenment has become like this then right? If we did'nt have this weakness, then PAP would have nothing to exploit then right? Correct me if i'm wrong please, i'm a noob here
Yes and no. Yes, because people vote for them elections after elections. No, as pay and pay has made it so impossible to be out because of GRCs. Remember the election dept is under the son, lee hsien loong, PM's office.
I just want to voice out that I do not suscribe to their policy of attracting foreign talents and immigrants esp. from certain countries.No offense but I am greatly disturbed by the number of foreign ppl here in S'pore.
Even with the GRC's if people vote for the opposition theres nothing PAP can do about it right? And i do think that even elections department, under lee hsien long's office or not would be stupid enough to modify the results. If they were discovered, the repercussions would be disastorious for PAP don't you think?
Originally posted by insignificant_being:I just want to voice out that I do not suscribe to their policy of attracting foreign talents and immigrants esp. from certain countries.No offense but I am greatly disturbed by the number of foreign ppl here in S'pore.
No worry, you are not the only ones. It is not a good feeling to be walking in your own country and see so many foreigners on the streets more than your own fellow countrymen. Thanks to Lee Hsien Loong the money faced baxxard, his evil dictator papa and Pay and pay.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
No worry, you are not the only ones. It is not a good feeling to be walking in your own country and see so many foreigners on the streets more than your own fellow countrymen. Thanks to Lee Hsien Loong the money faced baxxard, his evil dictator papa and Pay and pay.
I feel a sense of alienation. I feel threatened. I feel like a second-class citizen.
This situation must be ameliorated.
Uhhh Fangtagf, solution s simple, vote him out of office and i still don't know why you people don't wanna do it
Originally posted by Chris88110:Even with the GRC's if people vote for the opposition theres nothing PAP can do about it right? And i do think that even elections department, under lee hsien long's office or not would be stupid enough to modify the results. If they were discovered, the repercussions would be disastorious for PAP don't you think?
I am not saying that they will do something to the vote though I don't "discount:" the possibility. We don't have enough oppositions to form GRCs to contest against them. Want a fair game, PAP should do away with GRC and just have single wards for election. Imagine the GRC is ridiculous, for eg the TG pagar GRC, is so big - River Valley, Pek Kio, part of Balestier are under them.
Well, if we start be voting for the opposition in the constituencies that they do contest in, over the next few general elections gradually the opposition parties would grow bigger and be able to contest the bigger constituencies right? But i don't see this happening
Maybe cos alot of people still don't think there is a need to change the govt? I don't know. And how sure are we that the oppositions are much better? We don't. Maybe that's what people fear bah, that the oppositions may not be better or as good
Originally posted by Chris88110:Well, if we start be voting for the opposition in the constituencies that they do contest in, over the next few general elections gradually the opposition parties would grow bigger and be able to contest the bigger constituencies right? But i don't see this happening
Gotta think if the constituency one is in is a walkover, how to vote them out? Other than voting them out, the other thing we can do is to expose them to as many as possible. Many, especially some women are still ignorant of the nuisance Pay and Pay are creating.
I predict that there will be a change in the ruling party in abt a 100 years. Its kinda sad tt I might not be able to witness it ...
Originally posted by uponAStaR:Maybe cos alot of people still don't think there is a need to change the govt? I don't know. And how sure are we that the oppositions are much better? We don't. Maybe that's what people fear bah, that the oppositions may not be better or as good
Hello, for everything there must be a beginning. If people did not vote for LKY in the beginning, he will not be who he is today. LKY owes his success to the people of Singapore and still is ungrateful to the people who vote and feed him.
Originally posted by insignificant_being:
I feel a sense of alienation. I feel threatened. I feel like a second-class citizen.This situation must be ameliorated.
I understand, I am facing the same as you. A mild dislike has turned to a little hatred. Thank you PAP.
Originally posted by insignificant_being:I predict that there will be a change in the ruling party in abt a 100 years. Its kinda sad tt I might not be able to witness it ...
VEry likely we won't live to witness the change.
I wonder, how many people in sgforums denounce the PAP here yet still vote for them. And when we do finally see a change in our government, i wonder whether its be the same story all over again. Don't get me wrong, i'm neutral.
Originally posted by Chris88110:I wonder, how many people in sgforums denounce the PAP here yet still vote for them. And when we do finally see a change in our government, i wonder whether its be the same story all over again. Don't get me wrong, i'm neutral.
Won't be me. I denounce people who KPKB about PAP and vote for them. These are people without credibility like the ruling party. Given a choice, I vote for opposition.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
I understand, I am facing the same as you. A mild dislike has turned to a little hatred. Thank you PAP.
Heey i feel the same way too lol
It is also a sad truth that there are many Singaporeans out there who are deluded and think the PAP is doing great things for the country. In fact, many of these are middle-income educated people who are having a good life in Singapore. Unfortunately these people who can't see or don't care about the difficulties the lowest 20-30% of the population are experiencing. They are brainwashed by the PAP into thinking no one owes them a living, that these people are poor because of laziness. Probably they are too kiasi to risk their career, income, HDB flat/condo/house, and every other wealth for justice, equality, and human rights.