Originally posted by Evangel:in SAF, who dares to defy orders? its their rice bowl, if not DB.
if many people in Singapore still dare not demonstrate here, dont expect SAF men to defy orders. And yes, we have no guts to take the risk to get ourselves in trouble.
I really salute CSJ for trying so hard to let people notice his hard work. I've come to realise that sometimes all talk doesnt work. CSJ is a man with guts, and mind you he is intelligent too, just that the papers always make him sound and look stupid. If he is really stupid, why is the police always tracking him whereever he goes? He must be a big threat right?
You make it sound like SAF personnel are cowards.They are the boys with guns and weapons.. if anything.. the leadership should be afraid of them.. not commoners who can only fight with sticks and stones. And why wouldn't SAF defy orders ? If the leaders order them to rape their own mothers.. will they defy the command ? Please.. SAF are also intelligent people.. they are not robots with no brains.
Have you wondered why there are still so many gurkhas contingents in Singapore ? And they are not cheap.
Yes, I agree.. CSJ is very gutsy.. and he speaks the minds of many Singaporeans. Because of his guts the current leadership are scared of him.. If not LKY will not make him a bankrupt..a bankrupt cannot run for election.
Removal of bankruptcy can be easily done at the top level...But LHL have no guts to face off with CSJ.
If CSJ truly gets defeated via the vote of the people.. I'm sure he will accept the defeat graciously.
Will LHL dare take up the challenge to a fair duel..? I doubt it.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:You have to go ask Lee Kuan Yew.
Immediately, however, Kuan Yew's attention was concentrated on how he would deal with J.B Jeyaretnam in parliament. I was quite alarmed at some of the things he told me at that lunch. "Look," he said, "Jeyaretnam cant win the infighting. I'll tell you why. WE are in charge. Every government ministry and department is under our control. And in the infighting, he will go down for the count every time." And I will never forget his last words. "I will make him crawl on his bended knees, and beg for mercy."
Contradictly, the son is preaching about graciousness. Lee ah loong should start to educate and make the father a gracious man before speaking to the people.
Court transcript :
CSJ: Mr Lee, we get to meet at last.
LKY: (pause)...Sorry?
CSJ: We get to meet at last.
LKY: I thought we've met many other times across election rallies.
CSJ:
Your memory fails you. I've never met you before and you know why?
Because you keep avoiding me. (Mr Lee laughs) Well, we have this
opportunity right now. Let me ask you this question. You gave an
interview saying: "If you defame us, and if I'm involved, I go to the
the witness box and you can question me not only on the particular
defamation issue, but on all issues in my life." Do you stand by your
words?
LKY: I do.
CSJ: Good. In the course of the
cross-examination, will you then answer questions not just on this
particular defamation issue, but on all issues in your life -- and I
don't mean your personal life, I mean your political life? Will you
stand by that?
LKY: Your Honour, we appeared in court when the
issue was whether or not the summary judgment was proper. That was the
time to challenge --
CSJ: Mr Lee, that was not my question.
Judge: Allow the witness to answer. Mr Lee, please go on.
LKY:
I have to answer. I'm a lawyer. I no longer practice the law. I know
your purpose. You dodged that occasion and you're trying -- Dr Chee is
trying today when the issue is the question of quantum of damages, it's
not liability. I'm here to answer questions relating to the quantum of
damages.
CSJ: Thank you. Then why is it that you say you will go to the witness box --
LKY: I have already explained that, Your Honour --
CSJ:
-- and answer questions not just particular to this defamation issue
but on all issues of your life. Now tell me, are those just brave words
meant for public consumption and in this situation right now you're
turning tail and running?
LKY: Ha ha ha, no Your Honour --
CSJ:
Good. Then you won't mind me asking you why is it that you make this
application to cut short your cross-examination precisely when you walk
in at noon and say that you have to be stopped in the cross-examination
by 2:15 giving me. the defence, only two hours and fifteen minutes, and
then insisting that all of us can't go for lunch. And on top of that
refusing to tell the court what this "important matter" you have this
afternoon is.
LKY: That's...Your Honour...(pause)
CSJ: I'm lost for words too as I think you are right now.
LKY: ...(pause; Mr Lee was seen opening his mouth to answer but no words came out)
CSJ: Go ahead, Mr Lee.
LKY: ...(pause)
CSJ: No answer? That settles the question then.
LKY: Ha ha ha.
Judge: Dr Chee!
CSJ:
Fine, let Mr Lee continue. I'm just waiting. He's probably lost for
words because he doesn't quite know what to say at this stage.
Judge: If you keep interrupting the witness...Yes, Mr Lee.
LKY: ...(even longer pause)
CSJ: Please don't run down the clock. I've only got a few minutes.
At this stage, Mr Davinder Singh jumped in to bail out Mr Lee.
Singh:
What is the question? Dr Chee has made so many points in his speech. He
has already been told that the time to cross-examine the witness was
during the summary judgment. If he had leave to defend. All issues
would have been open for Dr Chee to have questioned him. The witness
said that for Dr Chee to have questioned him. The witness said that Dr
Chee had dodged that application and is now trying through the back
door to introduce impermissible material. The witness said he is here
as he said to answer questions on quantum. Dr Chee should really get on
with the issue of quantum.
CSJ: Let me ask the question again.
Mr Lee, you have said that you are here to answer these questions and I
say that in that case why did you make an application to, halfway
through the session, want the court to cut short this entire hearing.
Now, I remind you that we have got until the end of tomorow, the end of
tomorrow. So we have one-and-a-half days. But you insist that we have
to finish by 2:15 for you to attend to some matters that you won't even
reveal to the court. Now I ask you now does this sound like somebody
who's willing to come to court and meet and resolve the issues?
LKY:
Your Honour, I had a message from one of my counsel's aides to say that
I should be in court by here 2 o'clock - by 12 o'clock because Your
Honour has imposed a guillotine that the cross-examination of the prime
minister would end at twelve. So I turn up at twelve. I was told that
the guillotine allowed - had already been late he would be given 2
hours. I suggest - I asked my counsel to request the court to finish
this two hours so that I can attend to some important matters. There's
no disadvantage to anybody to be sitting here and finishing off this
cross-examination within the two hours. What I do not want to be a
party to is a deliberate abuse of the process, of the proceedings of
the court by delaying tactics.
CSJ: So, Mr Lee --
LKY:
And by asking irrelevant questions, Dr Chee is running out the
gullotine. At the end of the day, we've had this confrontation face to
face have you thrown any dirt, have you dug up any scandal? Are you
still saying as you've said before that this government is run like the
NKF?
CSJ: Now, Mr Lee, let me try to --
LKY: No, we are here because you have said that --
CSJ:
Mr Lee, I'm going to ask you this question and I wish you'd just stick
to the questions that I pose to you. I'm asking you why did you come to
court --
LKY: Because I was asked --
CSJ: Let me rephrase
my question. Are you telling the court that you had nothing to do with
the curtailment of this entire process?
Singh: Your Honour, I
made the application this morning and Your Honour would remembers that
I said I was very troubled with what the Chees did yesterday and that
it was quite apparent that they had nothing to ask which was of any
relevance and that unfortunately or otherwise has been proven in this
exchange. And I said, Your Honour, that the whole purpose of the
cross-examination was to insult, annoy and to scandalise and that's
also been proven true. For that reason, I had asked that there be a
guillotine. Your Honour had full powers to control the proceedings. The
order has already been made and I don't see why this witness should be
asked to explain something that was the subject of my application and
Your Honour's order.
CSJ: Do you see the game that's being
played here, Mr Lee? Do you see how you are beginning to hide behind
your counsel and then claim, "Look, I'm willing to confront them. It's
my counsel." Now I'm going to ask you a very simple question: Right
here, right now, tell Mr Davnder Singh "Don't interrupt. I will answer
these questions as they are put to me right now."
LKY: Heh-heh.
Your Honour, I've briefed counsel, I've always found it's never wise to
be my own lawyer in my own case. I know that some perople believe that
they can do otherwise, and I'm quite sure that Dr Chee is making a very
great impression on all the reporters in this court of how he is better
than Mr Ravi --
CSJ: I think you meant Mr Singh.
LKY: I believe Mr Singh is better qualified to deal with the legalities of this case.
CSJ:
Well, I should hope so with all the training that he's got. Now, coming
back to my question, Mr Lee, is your answer no, that you wll not tell
Mr Singh: "Stay out of this. Let me answer my question because --
LKY: I --
CSJ:
Let me finish my question -- because you have said -- and I repeat to
you -- that you will answer not only questions about the "particular
defamation issue, but on all issues in my life."
LKY: Yes...as
long as that was what was an issue and that was the, it was an issue in
the summary judgement was appealed against. [Note how garbled the
answer is.] And we turned up for the hearing but you dodged the hearing.
CSJ: Mr Lee, you are not unintelligent.
LKY: Thank you.
CSJ:
You knew precisely what you meant and what you mean is: "Come and ask
me all these questions that doesn't pertain to this defamation suit and
I will answer you because my entire standing, inlcuding the standing of
this government, is at stake." Is that not correct?
LKY: I think, Dr Chee, we'll cut short this proceeding to become more relevant.
Chee (to Lee Hsien Loong): Would you refer to pg 192 of your AEIC, para 3 and read it to us.
Mr
Lee Hsien Loong starts reading. Just before he gets to the words he
uttered about fixing the opposition and buying over his supporters, Mr
Davinder Singh stands up.
Singh: Objection, Your Honour.
Judge: I’ll read it.
Chee: Mr Lee, you read it.
Judge: Dr Chee please tell us the relevance.
Chee: This paragraph will show it's true of him -
Judge: Move on, the question is disallowed.
Chee:
He has used words like "fix" and "buy votes". He's here to tell me that
his reputation is based on so much. I’m here to demolish it, when he
buys votes -
Judge: Disallowed.
Chee: Let it be recorded
then. Mr Lee, come out and don’t hide behind your counsel. You have
every opportunity to answer the questions. You allow your counsel to
cover -
Singh: Objection, Your Honour.
Judge: Court has taken note of Dr Chee’s conduct.
Chee:
Mr Lee, please refer to pg 39 of your AEIC sub-heading "lack of
transparency." Do you agree with the last line and last paragraph that
the GIC operates in secrecy?
Singh: Objection. Dr Chee is
seeking to reopen the issue. This article relates to the offending
words. The meaning has been taken to be false. The question of
liability is done.
Chee: Turn then to pg 75 of your AEIC, bottom of the page. Is the Government transparent? Do you agree with this statement?
Singh: I object.
Judge: Irrelevent.
Chee: Do you believe the funds belongs to the people?
Singh: Irrelevent.
Chee: Same line and reason, that he is the Prime Minister and takes pride in the integrity -
Singh: The question is on the matter of Assesment of Damages -
Judge: Move on, Dr Chee.
Chee: You are the Deputy or the Vice Chairman of the GIC?
Singh: Irrelevant.
Chee: I want to establish that he says his reputation is sterling -
Singh: My client didn’t say that.
Judge: Yes.
Chee: How and where you have invested the GIC funds?
Judge: Move on.
Chee: Were you aware of the scandal at NKF -
Singh: Relevancy? NKF is a matter of liability.
Judge: Dr Chee, irrelevant.
Chee: Then you agree that T T Durai's salary was excessive?
Singh: Objection.
Judge: Sustained.
Chee: Do you agree the salary -
Singh: Your Honour, my client was not aware of the NKF scandal -
Judge: Irrelevant.
Chee: If T T Durai had a summary judgement -
Chee: Do you agree that the openness of the Government -
Chee: I disagree as the witness was a Prime Minister during the period and argued in Parliament -
Singh: Maybe the Health Ministry was misled and my client did not know. The Government did proceed to investigate the matter.
Chee:
The Ministry of Finance and the Ministry of Health made comments and
continued leading the people to donate to the NKF. You were the Prime
Minister -
Chee: Did you know the warning signals -
Chee: These were raised in Parliament and whether he was sleeping like some of his colleagues -
Singh: That is not necessary and insulting -
Judge: Dr Chee, move on.
Singh: I want to remind Dr Chee of the injunction against repeating -
Chee: Do you agree if the salary is too much?
Chee: Do you think that your Ministers spend too much -
Chee: I put to you that the PAP is bent on greed and power.
Chee: Refer to pg 9 of your AEIC. Is the information on the cost of labour of building HDB flats available?
Chee: Is information on the cost of material of building HDB flats available?
Chee: Do you agree that the HDB is operating in secrecy?
-----------------------------------------------------
Dr
Chee: He (Mr Lee Kuan Yew) is talking about his integrity. Is this the
same integrity that you are referring to when your government in 1963
arrested all your political opponents under Operation Coldstore?
Mr Davinder Singh, counsel for the plaintiffs, rises to object.
Dr Chee (turning to Mr Singh): Let him answer, he wants to answer.
Judge Belinda Ang: Question is disallowed.
Mr Singh: Thank you, Your Honour.
Dr
Chee: He wants to talk about integrity and I want to talk about
integrity. Let's talk about integrity, Mr Lee. Is this the same
integrity as you are referring to when you jailed Mr Chia Thye Poh for
32 years, when you imprisoned Dr Lim Hock Siew for 19 years, and when
depriving them all –
Judge Ang: Question is disallowed.
Mr
Lee Kuan Yew: May I point out to you what Singapore was when I became
prime minister in 1959 and what Singapore is now. We had less than $100
million in the kitty. Now that the assets that we have and I am not
disclosing this but Global Financial Services assessed Singapore's
sovereign wealth fund at over $300 billion.
Dr Chee: I am impressed. Now –
Mr Lee Kuan Yew: If you are impressed, Mr Chee – Dr Chee, if you're impressed, you would not have made these allegations.
Dr Chee: Mr Lee, is this the same integrity where you're talking about declassified documents from London?
Judge Ang: Irrelevant.
Dr Chee: – that you have –
Judge Ang: The witness is not required to answer.
Dr
Chee: And I would like – well, Your Honour, he's brought up integrity
and I just want to be able to pursue that line just a little bit more.
Is it the same integrity –
Mr Singh: Your Honour, I object to this line of questioning.
Dr Chee: That you are referring to, Mr Lee, where now we begin to know –
Justice Ang: Question is disallowed.
Dr
Chee: – and as a young man, I didn't – I believed you but now I'm
reading declassified documents from London saying that somehow –
Mr Singh: Your Honour –
Dr Chee: – somehow, Mr Lim Chin Siong –
Mr Singh: Your Honour, please stop him.
Dr Chee: – was in his –
Judge Ang: Dr Chee
Dr Chee: Was in his political situation, and that somehow –
Judge Ang: Your question is disallowed.
Dr Chee: – you had – I beg your pardon, Your Honour?
Justice Ang: The question is disallowed. How is this relevant to the assessment of damages?
Dr
Chee: You haven't even heard my question yet. You haven't even heard my
question. Let me ask the question and then you can disallow it, Your
Honour.
Mr Lee remained quiet.
The following exchange took place
after Mr Lee Kuan Yew introduced the award given to him by Transparency
International (Malaysia):
CSJ: Are you or are you
not depending on this document to show your integrity in this court
room. I remind one more time you will need a lot more that this because
I can tell you this award is not worth the paper it is written.
LKY: We are also judged by PERC, we also judged by IMD, World Economic Forum and a whole host of other rating agencies.
CSJ: Good. Are you including International Commission Jurists? Are you
including Human Rights Watch? Are you including Amnesty International?
Are you including Committee to Project Journalists? Are you including
International Federation for Free Exchange? Are you including Southeast
Asia Press Alliance? Are you including World Movement for Democracy?
Are you including Human Rights Defenders? Are you including World Forum
for Democratisation in Asia? Are you including National Endowment for
Democracy? Are you including Liberal International? Tell me you cited
four, I cited you at least ten, Mr Lee. So do me a favour, let us not
pick and choose at what endorsements you get because overall if you're
trying to show me that your standing in the world is that high you
wouldn't be clutching at straws and producing something from Tunku
Aziz. I had a conversation with him -
Singh: Your Honour, what is the question?
CSJ: The question is why is Mr Lee depending on such a slipshop - when
it is not a verifiable - if you come and tell me that you have been
awarded the Nobel Prize I would accept it because that has been vetted.
Tell me, who is in this organisation called Transparency International
Malaysia. Tell me who are the officer here and when they make awards
such as these, what vetting process do they go through?
Singh:
Can we ask the cross examiner if he has a question? If he has not and
he wants to make a speech and maybe for the next one hour left he can
make his political speech. If he has no more questions for the witness
he should say so.
CSJ: Your Honour, my question is this: Mr Lee
has brought this ridiculous piece of paper and tells me that he is
depending on this to prove his reputation. I'm asking him, does this
plaintiff know who is behind this Transparency International Malaysia?
LKY: Your Honor, the man is on the Internet and the organisation is
also on the website. They asked me in a private letter if I would
receive this letter, There were wanting to score a point that it is
possible to have in Southeast Asia a clean government. I agreed and I
assume he would not sign a document citing TI which rates us always
among the top 5 unless it had been authorised to do so. And now you are
saying that he is liar, that he has falsely attributed this paragraph
to Dr Eigen. Well then I say if you brought Dr Eigen here with an
affidavit, then you can demolish Mr Adnan (should be Aziz) but not
demolish me because I do not depend on Transparency International. I'm
just putting this as an example of what PERC, IMD -
CSJ: But we
haven't got the records of PERC, IMD and so in line with what Mr Singh
said, let's dispense with it. Because if you did, you would produce
them.
LKY: Ha. The simple answer really is between the
competing NGOs, one for HR, one for liberal ideas of how governments
should be and rating agencies concerned with actual assessment of
government performance - where do investors put their money in. hey
have not put their money in, if you study the World Bank and IMF
reports in countries which are unable and corrupt -
CSJ: I think you're deliberately running down the clock. Let me ask you this question -
LKY: You are asking me this question -
CSJ: Let me pose this question. You had mentioned the Political and Economic Risk Consultancy -
Judge: Dr Chee! The witness, continue, finish -
CSJ: Let me ask you this question -
Judge: Dr Chee! I would like to hear this witness. Please continue.
LKY: There are liberal organisations which disagree with the way
Singapore runs its social system but we believe we know better. Otherwise
we wouldn't be here, otherwise we wouldn't have this courtroom,
otherwise you wouldn't be able to be living in an HDB flat. That's the
final test.
CSJ: I think you're making this leap of
logic that even Bruce Hawking would find did hard to follow. You are
saying that without you without this entire government, we wouldn't be
here? A little presumptuous, don't you think?
LKY: Your Honour, I'm saying -
CSJ: You see, Mr Lee, in Hong Kong people thrive without you and your
system, in Taiwan people thrive without you and your system, in Korea
people thrive without you and your system, and you are coming to this
court and telling me that what we have right now is all because of you
and your system that you have created. I think you are making too much
of a presumption.
Judge: "Dr Chee, I'm going to stop this line of cross-examination."
End
Why do people still vote for PAP?
I think same question can also be asked;
Why do people still pee in lifts?
Reason is;
.. same voters, same government, same sort of society...
Skythewood, no offence to you or anything but you do mind shorting the transcript into a more succint form?
Originally posted by jojobeach:You make it sound like SAF personnel are cowards.They are the boys with guns and weapons.. if anything.. the leadership should be afraid of them.. not commoners who can only fight with sticks and stones. And why wouldn't SAF defy orders ? If the leaders order them to rape their own mothers.. will they defy the command ? Please.. SAF are also intelligent people.. they are not robots with no brains.
Have you wondered why there are still so many gurkhas contingents in Singapore ? And they are not cheap.
Yes, I agree.. CSJ is very gutsy.. and he speaks the minds of many Singaporeans. Because of his guts the current leadership are scared of him.. If not LKY will not make him a bankrupt..a bankrupt cannot run for election.
Removal of bankruptcy can be easily done at the top level...But LHL have no guts to face off with CSJ.
If CSJ truly gets defeated via the vote of the people.. I'm sure he will accept the defeat graciously.
LOL, raping mothers are too extreme, but I get what you mean.
In general, if there were a peaceful protest with 1000 people marching along orchard road to demonstrate their discontent, would the Home Team and SAF put down their weapons and not disperse the crowd?
Is it even possible to get 1000 people to demonstrate anyway? ![]()
People are scared of this and that because they have so much to lose. It shows our true selfish nature of couldn't be bothered attitude.
I will be looking forward to the results of the next elections. However I don't expect things changing much if the system and policies never change. It's like a game, if the rules never change, you don't expect the players to change their playing style very much.
Originally posted by HyperFocal:Why do people still vote for PAP?
Reason is;
Manipulation of results by simple statistical playing...
The theory is simple... Not everybody would hate them or sensible enough to vote against them... Some people still do benefit much from them... Among the others, some peace-lovers who just want a stable country without civil war and such...
By playing around with those numbers, it should be enough to hold the boat even when it's full of holes..... What an ugly sight....?
"The emperor and his invisible coat...."
opposition is so weak, dont we learn the lesson last time when elect 4 opposition, two was sack becos they just opposite everything for nothing and screw up singapore...
it's their job to have alternate views. if the parliament full of YES man, no point having parliament debate. but for very obvious stuff they also oppose, than of course will get sack.
Originally posted by HyperFocal:Why do people still vote for PAP?
Reason is;
As state hundreds of times, we dun hv a credible Opposition to vote for, so what choice do people have??
Secondly, we dun like changes, we like to remain status quo
And thirdly, we hv to ask ourselves, so far, singapore good or not?? Not bad lah, there are sure to have problems, but not so worst as other countries, we still can post, chitchat at orchard cafe, and for uncles at kopitiam, we still can upgrade our education and skills, we still can go shopping, we still hv work, hmmm...cross PAP
Originally posted by angel7030:
As state hundreds of times, we dun hv a credible Opposition to vote for, so what choice do people have??
Create the choice. Give the opposition more votes = more power = more resources to encourage recruitment of better players. Even the playing field. Choice is good yes? Or would people like to watch the World Cup with 1 country as the only participant.
Secondly, we dun like changes, we like to remain status quo
And is that good or bad? So the people are unhappy (think that change is good for them) but they don't want to risk change because it could turn out worse or maybe they are lazy and could not possibly give the matter some thought?
And thirdly, we hv to ask ourselves, so far, singapore good or not?? Not bad lah, there are sure to have problems, but not so worst as other countries, we still can post, chitchat at orchard cafe, and for uncles at kopitiam, we still can upgrade our education and skills, we still can go shopping, we still hv work, hmmm...cross PAP
Keep having that mindset and you will handle any type of stressful condition. An Ostrich believes that if it puts its head into the sand it will be safe since it can't see the danger.... however it knows the danger is still there... or doesn't he ![]()
coz these singaporeans are naive and too self concern for their benefits than the long term beneficial aspect of having a multi party/ full democratic society.
since so unhappy, riot lah. Take over the government house lah. Be like Thailand lor. Then you all will see by then are we truly happy then.
Is PAP really that bad?
no as bad as u spamming and advertising
Originally posted by Nousefor it:Is PAP really that bad?
----------------
http://estonline.forumcircle.com/
----------------
It is not perfect and there are times their policies are really dubious. But they are not so lousy as what some people on this forum tries to make them look like.
Originally posted by gasband:since so unhappy, riot lah. Take over the government house lah. Be like Thailand lor. Then you all will see by then are we truly happy then.
The last time we did that they rolled out the tanks and shot at the students .... oh wait i got it all mixed up that was Tiananmen so sorry different regime.
Originally posted by gasband:since so unhappy, riot lah. Take over the government house lah. Be like Thailand lor. Then you all will see by then are we truly happy then.
Yeah, those who say to change or singaporeans are naive and too self concern for their benefits than the long term beneficial aspect of having a multi party/ full democratic society or singaporeans lack guts, can try do tat and see wat happens. Maybe the PAP will give up their power.
I feel our Oppositions party is not strong enough to challange the PaP, nor do i want some 1 like Dr Chee Soon Juan to be my PM.
maybe some of u guys can join oppositions party(to make it strong enough) to challange PAP in the next gerenal elections.
Originally posted by Nousefor it:Is PAP really that bad?
----------------
http://estonline.forumcircle.com/
----------------
They were pretty good before.. that's why I given my sacred vote to them in the previous election.
But recent years has been very lousy. And the problem is we the people have no recourse.
We cannot sack the incompetend leader/ministers like most countries.. we cannot say no to policies.
Basically, we have no rights anymore.
Do I regret my vote for the PAP ? Yes , Now I do.
Originally posted by jojobeach:They were pretty good before.. that's why I given my sacred vote to them in the previous election.
But recent years has been very lousy. And the problem is we the people have no recourse.
We cannot sack the incompetend leader/ministers like most countries.. we cannot say no to policies.
Basically, we have no rights anymore.
Do I regret my vote for the PAP ? Yes , Now I do.
I totally agree with sirAdrian and Jojo. I have no issue with CSJ neither do I have an issue with the Lees he did great things before and Singapore has benefitted greatly from his hindsight.
However the truth is its not the case anymore.... the shroud of invincibility is no longer there. We no longer can say "don't worry about the state of affairs in Singapore just do what LKY says and we'll be fine." We are NOT fine. People are struggling. Kids have to do well in school and stay mainstream or end up with a bleak future. Foreign talents are competing with your kids should they fail in school for low paying jobs.
Medical is costly in Singapore living standards are going down. Fewer families want kids and the list goes on and on.
Top it off we don't have an opposition to raise our views. People are afraid to raise their opinion especially if its against the govt in public for fear of backlash. They could well be scaring themselves and for a fact the govt may not be oppressive in that extent but thats the political climate in Singapore right now. A bunch of "yes sir yes sir 3 bags full". or the complete opposite ... bochap not my problem oh and of course the ignorant but lets no go there.
Er...what is the transcript for?
Originally posted by jojobeach:CSJ is very gutsy.. and he speaks the minds of many Singaporeans. Because of his guts the current leadership are scared of him.. If not LKY will not make him a bankrupt..a bankrupt cannot run for election.
LKY make him bankrupt?? Are you sure LKY 'make' him, or CSJ made himself bankrupt with his words and action?
Removal of bankrupcy easily done at high level? Sound exactly like corruption.
accept defeat graciously? We have voted via election. After all these years, isn't it clear CSJ dun accept and have nv considered himself defeated? Somemore you are sure. Gomez was also sure he handled over the form that time, someore god-dam-farking sure he did.
LHL dare to take up the challenge? Isn't the both of them challenging each other all along for years, that gives us so much to talk about in this forum?
Originally posted by Genie99a:
Top it off we don't have an opposition to raise our views. People are afraid to raise their opinion especially if its against the govt in public for fear of backlash. They could well be scaring themselves and for a fact the govt may not be oppressive in that extent but thats the political climate in Singapore right now. A bunch of "yes sir yes sir 3 bags full". or the complete opposite ... bochap not my problem oh and of course the ignorant but lets no go there.
Can raise view, but LKY will suE ur as* till u bankupt!!!![]()
there are many examples!!!
Originally posted by Troy437:LKY make him bankrupt?? Are you sure LKY 'make' him, or CSJ made himself bankrupt with his words and action?
Removal of bankrupcy easily done at high level? Sound exactly like corruption.
accept defeat graciously? We have voted via election. After all these years, isn't it clear CSJ dun accept and have nv considered himself defeated? Somemore you are sure. Gomez was also sure he handled over the form that time, someore god-dam-farking sure he did.
LHL dare to take up the challenge? Isn't the both of them challenging each other all along for years, that gives us so much to talk about in this forum?
CSJ make himself bankrupt, he got chance to defend himself but choose to use those action in court to kill himself.