PM kamlan one ah
Originally posted by fd2r:their time is up lah. they failed to bring the price of oil, rice & other stuff down, the ERP is sh|t, it not helping the traffic at all & they keep increasing it.
if the next 5 years, things going as bad as it is now, i dun mind betting on the other side...
anyway...only 2 outcome..better or worst...so it's a 50-50 outcome
i oso dun like ERP.
but the staple like food, oil... is a global issue...
Originally posted by FireIce:PM kamlan one ah
u mean pee member kamlan one..wee! lucky never join.
Originally posted by fd2r:their time is up lah. they failed to bring the price of oil, rice & other stuff down, the ERP is sh|t, it not helping the traffic at all & they keep increasing it.
if the next 5 years, things going as bad as it is now, i dun mind betting on the other side...
anyway...only 2 outcome..better or worst...so it's a 50-50 outcome
Err...wHAT WHAT?
You think that oil price and rice price is a issue that only singapore face?
EVERYWHERE in the world is facing the same issue.
Stop blaming the PAP for the wrong issues. Just because you vote for the other party does not mean they will automatically solve the issues. It's not like singapore is the one producing oil or rice...we get our rice from other countries.
And in a sense, I believe that the PAP is more prepared to lead singapore in the 60s than today. Reason? Because at that time, there is no super strong party, which means the possibility of them winning is pretty damn high.
And in regards to COE decreasing and ERP decreasing, well it can mean that people is more encouraged to get more fuel efficient cars and sell their older cars.
And please lar singapore, cars is a luxury, stop treating them like a necessary. If my family can survive pretty well without a car...why can't other singaporeans give up a few luxury items.
With the oil pricing rising and etc, sooner or later the huge middle class is going to collapse...not just in singapore, but around the world.
In a way, the golden age has ended, and we are in for a tough time ahead, no matter where you go.
If our forefathers can take more hardships, I think our generation can take it as well.
And don't be too sure that the opposition rise to power can be gradual...if anything, sometimes, the opposition pops out of nowhere and becomes the ruling party.
Look at taiwan's DPP during the 2000s election, the shock defeat of the KMT and see what happened to the DPP today? They basically lost every election and their return to power is going to be a hard fought fight.
Look at the Republicians, the party of Lincon. Before Lincon, they are a bascially a small and rather unimportant party, and see what happens next? The won the presidental elections in a few years AFTER their founding.
Do not believe that nothing is impossible...the opposition may pull an upset, and they need to be prepared. Nothing can be left to chance.
Originally posted by Rednano:
is it?
2 of my friends moved out of hougang leh..
Not all hougang is under WP ar.
Do u ask why she or he moved of of hougang. My aunty also moved out from hougang but not because of the Opposition because family all live one side of singapore, so after 5 or 6 years she move out. do u know how long WP is controlling Hougang?
The party has the fortune to learn the ropes using upto now, about coming to 50 years, almost half a CENTURY.
They have learnt about minstering etc.
No Opposition person in singapore is ever a minister. Thus no experience.
The trick about experience is time.
This does not mean 50 years from now, Opposition will be as experienced.
This cumulation of minister experience can only start after they given a chance. By this it also means, in forseeable future, they might continue not to get any experience as long as the status quo remains.
Having said this, I must declare I am neutral and non partisan, speaking from my personal capacity only.
Based on last almost half century, majority denied consistently, relentlessly their chance to gain experience.
The root cause is the majority mentality or maybe extreme pragmatism, in my humblest opinion, which of course certainly absolutely can be totally wrong.
there is 2 clubs. No one joins the underdog club. What then to do?
one other thing. the majority here means those who got the chance to vote in this democratic system and does not mean everyone at all.
=======================
this topic aside, I have a riddle :
2 jokers jogging on in the park in a prestigious estate. the older guy said to the younger, "we will never lose ....becos of the ZRZ system..."
what the... are they talking about?
get a anwar from the PAP...
rebel from inside
PAP is a bottomless pit. When are you all going to learn?
Originally posted by skythewood:get a anwar from the PAP...
rebel from inside
I think one reason LKY is still in the PAP is to prevent this from happening, it HAS happened once under his watch, I think he will be more careful the next time.
Ok guys,
I have read most of the reply.
I would like to ask the opposition fonds populations, are you really confident in the opposition in leading the country? Are you willing to give up most of your current comfort and future to ppl who have no or totally zero experience in leading a country?
Can they promise that they wouldn't raised GST to 10%, taxes and build more ERP in the future when they are in the government?
In my view, if the oppositions are really that good. We won't have only 2 of them in the parliment. I believe that the 2 senior opposition politician, would want to express the feeling of citizen on the ground more than to govern the country.
I truly believe that we have a government that give us solutions than to provide us with more questions to ponder.
Originally posted by Berner ong:Ok guys,
I have read most of the reply.
I would like to ask the opposition fonds populations, are you really confident in the opposition in leading the country? Are you willing to give up most of your current comfort and future to ppl who have no or totally zero experience in leading a country?
Can they promise that they wouldn't raised GST to 10%, taxes and build more ERP in the future when they are in the government?
In my view, if the oppositions are really that good. We won't have only 2 of them in the parliment. I believe that the 2 senior opposition politician, would want to express the feeling of citizen on the ground more than to govern the country.
I truly believe that we have a government that give us solutions than to provide us with more questions to ponder.
"In my view, if the oppositions are really that good. We won't have only 2 of them in the parliment. I believe that the 2 senior opposition politician, would want to express the feeling of citizen on the ground more than to govern the country.
I truly believe that we have a government that give us solutions than to provide us with more questions to ponder. "
If you can state that first paragraph, you either haven't really read the forums, you aren't able to think beyond what the PAP propaganda media tells you, or you choose to stick your head in the sand.
The second paragraph proves what I just said too.
this tread is a mess..
No need to worry.There will be hundred of foreign advisors
work and live in Istana ---not to run the country---
but to sell the assets in Temasek and GIC!!
Originally posted by NowWhatDoIDo?:
"In my view, if the oppositions are really that good. We won't have only 2 of them in the parliment. I believe that the 2 senior opposition politician, would want to express the feeling of citizen on the ground more than to govern the country.I truly believe that we have a government that give us solutions than to provide us with more questions to ponder. "
If you can state that first paragraph, you either haven't really read the forums, you aren't able to think beyond what the PAP propaganda media tells you, or you choose to stick your head in the sand.
Actually that depends on how much that posters has benefitted from the policies of the PAP.
It is ridiculous to think that the PAP isn't doing anything...and obviously as the government they are doing something.
The issues lies with the fact and question if their actions is the right action.
Also, just because a policy isn't popular does not mean it is a bad policy. Politics is NEVER a popularity contest. Democracy only works when then the population as a whole is smart.
If a popular choice is a correct choice, then G.W Bush won't be the president of the US....
Truthfully speaking, I have yet to see any opposition party having enough talent to field a party of minsters if needed.
Originally posted by NowWhatDoIDo?:
"In my view, if the oppositions are really that good. We won't have only 2 of them in the parliment. I believe that the 2 senior opposition politician, would want to express the feeling of citizen on the ground more than to govern the country.I truly believe that we have a government that give us solutions than to provide us with more questions to ponder. "
nice avatar
Originally posted by ray245:
Actually that depends on how much that posters has benefitted from the policies of the PAP.
It is ridiculous to think that the PAP isn't doing anything...and obviously as the government they are doing something.
The issues lies with the fact and question if their actions is the right action.
Also, just because a policy isn't popular does not mean it is a bad policy. Politics is NEVER a popularity contest. Democracy only works when then the population as a whole is smart.
If a popular choice is a correct choice, then G.W Bush won't be the president of the US....
Truthfully speaking, I have yet to see any opposition party having enough talent to field a party of minsters if needed.
While it's true that an unpopular policy is not necessarily bad, an unpopular policy is not necessarily good either. I.E. an unpopular choice is not necessarily the right choice. Case in point - HDB. How does the PAP justify leasing us government housing built with our monies on land maintained by our taxes at huge profits?
They claim it's subsizided based on "market rates". Now what market are they talking about? Private housing? Does the government have to buy the land they build on like private developers do? Does the government incur risks of putting up private funds to develop the land? Private developers are also in it for profit so they mark up the prices. The government? Profit, or to house the population?
This is the huge iceberg under the tip of all their policies that are geared towards profits for them at our expense.
With the currenly vastly unlevel playing field, the PAP using their courts to sue opposition members for things said during elections, the over stuffed PAP offices locking up all the "talents" (and I use talents lightly, cause in our context it just means paper holders), of course the opposition seems unworthy.
Not many people with anything to lose would stand up against the PAP. This is why I stongly believe we need to get the opposition in place to gain the experience needed. Right now just by standing up to the PAP, they prove their have the passion and determination. We just need to stop helping the PAP build brick walls in front of them.
After the elections, we have 4 years to see who is opposing for the right thing and who is simply opposing for the sake of opposing. Singapore simply can't go on as is with the PAP doing whatever they fancy no matter how the people are negatively affected by it.
The PAP has had a long, long time to build Singapore, if it can crumble in the matter of 4 years just because we have more of our voices to question them from 2011, then maybe they haven't built as stong a country as they have claimed.
Some may feel comfortable not knowing where all our CPF and taxes are, some may feel comfortable leaving their entire future to a handful of people who are using every means they can do delay returning their money to them and even coming up with schemes now to keep it indefinately. Some may feel comfortable leaving everything to a few who keep huge pension schemes for themselves while telling everyone else to fend for their own. I sure don't.
I do not think Opposition can run ministeries starting in day 1.
No matter how high IQ a person may be,
if he never read a subject or book before. He can never know until he is given that chance to learn.
the incumbent is fortunate to have learnt the ropes over the last consecutive 40 - almost 50 years in a row.
This is rare in most countries.
But the majority have spoken for the last 4.9 decades.
So, I assume they prefer 1 party state ?
Also, I believe the opposition have not done all that is possible to advance.
They can get expert advise from overseas talents and get them to help strategise for them. They need not immediately be new citizens to help. Anyone can help.
So, I think Opposition should focus more on improving themselves.
I think you are not effective so far.
honestly, its funny to read some replies here. Sure PAP is not a perfect government. To some, they are not a good government all because of.........guess whats the reason? High ERP, High GST. So as long a new government come in and tell u they lower ERP and GST, they are good government? If like that so easy, I also wan to be government haha.
sometimes when you in a leadership position you gotta make some decisions that are not popular with the masses and the current point of time. but will benefit in the long run. as long as the decisions are explained to the public. i think they should show on TV full parliament in sessions rather than just shown in bits and pieces to the public. then we might have a further understanding of whats going on in the political scene and what our elected govt is doing for us.
The question should be re-phrased to read as -
"Are Singaporeans ready for the Alternative Parties to take over the Government ?"
Is there any use to find Singaporeans who are qualified, willing to serve, and committed but are continuously hacked down by the dirty politics employed by the Ruling Political Party to prevent such persons being able to challenge their entrenched interests ?
As much as there are threads expressing the gripes of Singaporeans, there are just as many fence-sitters of all shades and colors that will throw up as many reasons to tar and ridicule the few brave Singaporeans offering themselves to represent the interests of Singaporeans against the interests promoted by and for the Ruling Political Party.
This batch of Ministers selected by PM LHL must have been the result of scraping the bottom of their own political barrel - yet Singaporeans continue to tolerate and overlook their faults, but will be less forgiving to any faults committed by members from the Alternative Political Parties.
These Ministers - newly appointed ones, as well as long serving ones, have displayed their feelings of secure supremacy of their positions despite their combined countless mistakes.
Their arrogance can be seen in the manner that they explained their policy decisions by treating Singaporeans as being benignly gullible - if not downright stupid.
Minister Mah was in his supreme element when he informed Singaporeans that lifting the Fuel Tax on Petrol is tantamount to Government Subsidisy - which surely must see him taking the trophy for grandest daft intelligence displayed
Minister Raymond Lim must be congratulated for his supreme insight in defending his evening ERP scheme for the China Town area by telling Singaporeans there - that "LESS traffic congestion, will mean a higher volume of business for those enterprising Singaporeans left in that high priced district.
Similarly, Minister Wong K.S. must also be congratulated for his eloquence in explaning the causes of Mas Selamat escape from the PAP's prized interrogation institution at Whitley Road.
PM LHL must also be given an award for taking the sting out of any criticism that Singaporeans are prevented from public demonstration - by allowing such demonstration to take place at the Speaker's Corner in Hong Lim Green - subject to the various terms and conditions that have made the Speakers' Corner a parody of the real Speakers' Corner in Hyde Park - London.
As the current Election in the USA has for its theme -
ARE WE - SINGAPOREANS - PREPARED FOR CHANGE ?
Originally posted by gasband:honestly, its funny to read some replies here. Sure PAP is not a perfect government. To some, they are not a good government all because of.........guess whats the reason? High ERP, High GST. So as long a new government come in and tell u they lower ERP and GST, they are good government? If like that so easy, I also wan to be government haha.
You need to start looking deeper at things. ERP and GST is only the surface. If they need to be implemented, then they need to be implemented. The question here is just that, "Do they really need to be implemented?"
Are they really solving problems? Should any government use increased direct and indirect taxes as the immediate "solution" to every issue?
It's just like when they first banned sale of chewing gum. On the surface, it's just chewing gum right. Trivial matter?
Think of the power they have to ban something as trivial as chewing gum. Sure enough, since then more and more taxes have piled on, their own pay has gone up to several times that of the leaders of the biggest economies on Earth. They retain huge pensions and everyone else is told to fend for ourselves.
Our CPF, instead of being returned, is being moved from one government pocket to another in the guise of annuties.
etc, etc, etc...
Power is like that. Once you cross one line, it gets easier to cross the next and the next and the next. They've already crossed several lines and no one is there to keep them in check.
So far no action from Reform Party yet.