Originally posted by jojobeach:When I say media.. means Bush appeared ON TV and tell people about WMD.
If majority of US citizens are strongly against the invasion.. you will see MASS PROTESTS on the streets.
Bush got lucky when they found Saddam.. if they didn't... Bush may face impeachment.
Even tho the President is elected by the people.. he can also get sacked by the people. And the best part... he don't earn as much as our PM.. hur hur hur...
bush survived not finding osama, probably will survive not finding saddam, but that, we will never know for sure.
and so, to prevent this, vote the right mix of people to parliament, so they will be able to represent our views on issues.
What about mainstream media, should mainstream spread state propaganda only or provide many views?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:What about mainstream media, should mainstream spread state propaganda only or provide many views?
when you say state propaganda, what does it include? PM rally speech, the direct kind, or government biased news, indirect kind?
Both.
direct, i will say yes... they have the rights to make speeches as the leaders of the country.
indirect, no.. after they make the speeches, the journalist must be able to give unbiased feedback and analysis of the statements issued by the government.
this system will be very similar to the US format.
I support both.
Government should have right to spread their propaganda also.
But there should not be a monopoly of mainstream media outlets to brainwash people.
indirect, no.. after they make the speeches, the journalist must be able to give unbiased feedback and analysis of the statements issued by the government.
this system will be very similar to the US format.
See:
Originally posted by jojobeach:
Please lor. Impractical.. why not say gahmen too lazy ?
In USA.. people get to vote yes or no on "measures and propositions", during elections and every few years.
USA so big.. so many people.. why they can do it, yet we only 4 million cannot ah? Lazy right ?
On top of it .. still can recall elected officials who are not doing their job well to serve the people.
An example of what US voters get to decide.
Also.. people power.. removed Gray Davis from office replaced by Arnie.
So why you want to give your voice power to the elite few ?
Jo, they are not lazy. They are brilliant not to allow it to serve their own agenda. If the people have a say they will not be able to carry their agenda smoothly. This ruling party we have are in politics for self serving.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Jo, they are not lazy. They are brilliant not to allow it to serve their own agenda. If the people have a say they will not be able to carry their agenda smoothly. This ruling party we have are in politics for self serving.
Ofcors lah.. So many years already.. how long more can PAP suppress the power of the people ?