Unfortunately, one can't always base on the past and ignore the present.
That is true.
In Lee Kuan Yew's case, he is still in power.
His ideas are outdated but he continues to influence policy.
This is doing harm to the state.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:If he wants to express his love for Lee Kuan Yew on sgforums, I don't see why anyone should stop him.
He has his rights to express his opinion.
sgforums is not that controlled or censored or propagandist like our state mainstream propaganda media.
If you express your love for Chee Soon Juan, your career is basically over in the media business.
Here is okay.
But I not sure Lee Kuan Yew inspired SPLIT SECOND to do what.
He did not make it clear.
.... as long as there are avenues for citizens/netizens to voice our view, uncensored, then I can safely say that the garmen does not control everything.
.... there is no such thing as a free press - even in the west - each newspaper will publish whatever views their board of directors are partial to. you think that the EPOCH TIMES is unbias?
.... actually where CSJ is concern, I do not believe it will affect your career. However I do believe it will affect opinions of whether I am sane to support CSJ.
.... split second.... since Poh has politely asked what LKY has inspired you, you should clarify that....
.... but I stand by my opinion that sgforums has no place for any positive post on LKY, especially if you don't wish to deal with any aggravation that may follow.
.... there is no such thing as a free press - even in the west - each newspaper will publish whatever views their board of directors are partial to. you think that the EPOCH TIMES is unbias?
Yes that is true.
But here in Singapore, all mainstream media is controlled by PAP regime to spread state propaganda.
Originally posted by Chin Eng:.... as long as there are avenues for citizens/netizens to voice our view, uncensored, then I can safely say that the garmen does not control everything.
.... actually where CSJ is concern, I do not believe it will affect your career. However I do believe it will affect opinions of whether I am sane to support CSJ.
.... split second.... since Poh has politely asked what LKY has inspired you, you should clarify that....
.... but I stand by my opinion that sgforums has no place for any positive post on LKY, especially if you don't wish to deal with any aggravation that may follow.
Not only in sgforums, it is the same in other forums. Sad but true, LKY is the most hated old man in Singapore this explains why.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Yes that is true.
But here in Singapore, all mainstream media is controlled by PAP regime to spread state propaganda.
at the end of the day, controlling the media is nothing new. Chin Shi Huang did that by killing the academics in his days.
media is either controlled by the garmen (if the garmen is capable of doing so) or it is controlled by lobby groups and board of governors.
.... as i'd said, there is no such thing as a free press.
.... as long as there are avenues such as sgforums to whine and bitch about life....
.... personally, i don't even think that sgforums is free from biasness.... but i'd rather not go there - don't want to be banned.
.... but I stand by my opinion that sgforums has no place for any positive post on LKY,
You want positive views about Lee Kuan Yew, you can read ST, turn on radio, turn on TV, go PAP website, go library borrow Lee Kuan Yew memoirs.
Very easy wah.
Okay, lah, Lee Kuan Yew is a great and wise leader of Singapore.
He is god's gift to Singaporeans.
That is something positive about the great leader Lee Kuan Yew.
Originally posted by Chin Eng:
at the end of the day, controlling the media is nothing new. Chin Shi Huang did that by killing the academics in his days.media is either controlled by the garmen (if the garmen is capable of doing so) or it is controlled by lobby groups and board of governors.
.... as i'd said, there is no such thing as a free press.
.... as long as there are avenues such as sgforums to whine and bitch about life....
.... personally, i don't even think that sgforums is free from biasness.... but i'd rather not go there - don't want to be banned.
I don't agree press should be controlled by govt.
at the end of the day, controlling the media is nothing new. Chin Shi Huang did that by killing the academics in his days.
Of course nothing new.
My point is that it is time to end that control in Singapore.
Stop feeding propaganda to the people to brainwash them to vote PAP.
Let them think and express their own views.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:You want positive views about Lee Kuan Yew, you can read ST, turn on radio, turn on TV, go PAP website, go library borrow Lee Kuan Yew memoirs.
Very easy wah.
Okay, lah, Lee Kuan Yew is a great and wise leader of Singapore.
He is god's gift to Singaporeans.
That is something positive about the great leader Lee Kuan Yew.
Unfortunately, someone misuse the gift. He is a gift but I not sure if it is from God hor.
Originally posted by Fantagf:I don't agree press should be controlled by govt.
well, there are lots of things that I don't agree on, but they don't bother me too much, as long as I can get around them.
So you agree that a media in a country should be totally controlled by state to spread state propaganda?
So if you President of Taiwan, you are going to bring all the media outlets under state control and use it to unleash state propaganda onto the public.
Sing praises, glorify state, ban criticism?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Of course nothing new.
My point is that it is time to end that control in Singapore.
Stop feeding propaganda to the people to brainwash them to vote PAP.
Let them think and express their own views.
here's the point.... are we really brainwashed....? if we are, we will not be in this forum.
expressing of views - in my opinon - has to be handled delicately.
a huge myriad of views are expressed in US press, but most of these views are really quite boh liao so much so that the real issues are quite hidden.
are we really brainwashed....?
majority?
It's because in this forum we are allowed to criticise PAP regime that we are not brainwashed.
In US, the presses though partisan through it's editors, presents a more balanced view of politics, one press might support Democrats while another backs Republican.
In Singapore, all roads lead to P4P. ![]()
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:So you agree that a media in a country should be totally controlled by state to spread state propaganda?
define TOTAL control?
i have written many letters to the press that were hardly edited except for the occasional grammatical error and maybe the length. were these letters written to praise the garmen? no!
of course, i also have many letters not published either.... and these has nothing to do with whether i am partisan or not.
is a certain level of control over the media a fair thing? No, but if you are a good strategist, you will also do the same thing - controlling the lines of communication is imperative in winning any battle.
no political parties worth his salt will yield an inch over what this party can control. fairness has nothing to do with it.
In USA there is still some diversity of opinion in mainstream media.
Here, there is only one opinion in mainstream media - the PAP regime's opinion.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:majority?
It's because in this forum we are allowed to criticise PAP regime that we are not brainwashed.
... and the coffee shop uncles who are not happy with PAP gets the info from where?
... c'mon no one is truly brainwashed..... just that some of us are more pragmatic when it comes to choosing which is the lesser evil.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:In USA there is still some diversity of opinion in mainstream media.
Here, there is only one opinion in mainstream media - the PAP regime's opinion.
yes, but it does not hide the fact that diversity is dictated by the media's political affiliation.
define TOTAL control?
All mainstream media instruments( radio, TV, print) must align content in line with state interests.
All mainstream media under state influence to spread state propaganda.
No dissenting voice.
No mainstream media outlet that exists that can criticise state.
yes, but it does not hide the fact that diversity is dictated by the media's political affiliation.
That is better than state media propaganda monopoly.
Originally posted by Chin Eng:
... and the coffee shop uncles who are not happy with PAP gets the info from where?... c'mon no one is truly brainwashed..... just that some of us are more pragmatic when it comes to choosing which is the lesser evil.
Did you watch the interview with LKY when he spoke about press control? He stated that once he became PM, he put press under his control. The way he puts it, it is clear that the control is mainly for his and his party's good not for the public. Media, press is his tool of propaganda.
... c'mon no one is truly brainwashed.....
There are.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:
There are.
actually, i should take back what I said.... it should be "not everyone is totally brainwashed."
even CSJ has his fans....
Media, press is his tool of propaganda.
That is true.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:That is better than state media propaganda monopoly.
sure.... you are entitled to your opinion.... but reality is: we cannot measure "better".