Your English is not good, likewise for your reasoning. ![]()
lionnoisy is your mother tongue or dialect good?
Lionnoisy.. you must be educated in Singapore your whole life hor ?
Sibeh xiao xuay the local education leh...
We should not be addressing a male teacher or a military officer as Sir since only a person is who is being conferred knighthood by a monarch can be addressed as Sir.![]()
Originally posted by googoomuck:We should not be addressing a male teacher or a military officer as Sir since only a person is who is being conferred knighthood by a monarch can be addressed as Sir.
not absolutely true.
sir, in lower case, is used to address someone of senior rank...
Sir, with caps, is used in front of a name in place of Mr, as a recognition of a person being confered a knighthood...
Originally posted by googoomuck:We should not be addressing a male teacher or a military officer as Sir since only a person is who is being conferred knighthood by a monarch can be addressed as Sir.
Originally posted by skythewood:
knights conferred by monarch is Sir. What about officers commission by the president?
different system lah.....
Originally posted by Chin Eng:
different system lah.....
Originally posted by skythewood:
diff system, but they are also charged by the head of their country to lead.
different system nonetheless..... no one can knight an individual aside from the Queen of England.
the issue is on the word "Sir", whether the are charged by the head of country to lead is not a point for discussion.
EVERYONE can be a SIR.,
You just need to go Mcdonalds or most fast food restaurants...
Hi SIR, happy meal or value meal?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Lionnoisy.. you must be educated in Singapore your whole life hor ?
Sibeh xiao xuay the local education leh...
huh?? he graduate from PAP kindergarden ok,....dun play play, siao siao also got PAP chop on his certificate.
Originally posted by gasband:EVERYONE can be a SIR.,
You just need to go Mcdonalds or most fast food restaurants...
Hi SIR, happy meal or value meal?
In singapore, we dun can sir, we call towkay, towkay soh, uncle, aunty, ah pek, ah soh, xiao mei, xiao ti, mei ni, suay ke and ah xiao.