Has Singapore been cheated?
Wednesday, 03 September 2008
Singapore Democrats
Dr Chee Soon Juan launched his new book A Nation Cheated on 31 Aug 08 during which he spoke to the more than 150 guests. Part I
of the speech is reproduced below. The book is available at Kinokuniya
Bookstore at Takashimaya Shopping Centre. You can also purchase a copy
by emailing
<!--
var prefix = '&#109;a' + 'i&#108;' + '&#116;o';
var path = 'hr' + 'ef' + '=';
var addy69864 = 'sp&#101;&#97;k&#117;p' + '&#64;';
addy69864 = addy69864 + 'y&#111;&#117;rsdp' + '&#46;' + '&#111;rg';
var addy_text69864 = 'sp&#101;&#97;k&#117;p' + '&#64;' + 'y&#111;&#117;rsdp' + '&#46;' + '&#111;rg';
document.write( '<a ' + path + '\'' + prefix + ':' + addy69864 + '\'>' );
document.write( addy_text69864 );
document.write( '<\/a>' );
//-->
[email protected]
<!--
document.write( '<span style=\'display: none;\'>' );
//-->
When I was in jail in 2006, I re-read the book Comet In Our Sky,
a compilation of essays written by friends and associates of the late
Lim Chin Siong. I will assume most of you here know Lim Chin Siong and
will not endeavour to go into detail how he was seen by the majority of
Singaporeans as the natural leader of our then fledgling republic in
the 1950s and 60s, other than to say that his charisma and
compassionate style of leadership won the hearts and minds of many.
The book includes a chapter written by Professor of Southeast Asian
Studies, Terence Harper, from Cambridge University. Professor Harper
documented his research after poring through bundles of de-classified
papers, memos, letters, etc. written by Britsh colonial officials
during the turbulent period leading up to Singapore's independence.
The
picture that emerged was one not quite the story that I heard and read
growing up. In a nutshell, the Professor's account was that the people
of Singapore wanted Lim Chin Siong as their leader but the British
would not allow it and wanted Lee Kuan Yew instead.
So we have
two versions of what happened: one written written by a disinterested,
third-party academic and based on verifiable de-classifed papers, and
the other by Lee Kuan Yew who still has vested personal interests in
telling these events. I do not think I would be far wrong if I say that
the majority of people would look to the former for a more accurate and
objective account of that part of history.
This is what I tried to do in the first part of A Nation Cheated, that is, summarise Professor Harper's research finding's.
But
my nerves are rubbed raw when I keep hearing Lee Kuan Yew, who came to
power backed by the colonialists, rant about how the West should not
foist its system on an Asian people, meaning us. Somehow the democratic
practices that allowed Lee Kuan Yew to become prime minister suddenly
become Western and not suited for us Singaporeans.
Today the
propaganda continues unabated, that Singaporeans are not interest in
human rights and democracy. I will come to this subject in a moment and
show you how this lie has now been exposed.
For now, let me dwell a little on the notion that things have worked worked wonderfully for Singaporeans.
Whether
it is our CPF or healthcare costs or wages or our financial reserves, I
have presented evidence in the book to show how things are not quite
what they seem. I have tried to stay away from polemics especially in
part two of the book and concentrated on putting together the data from
alternative sources to make my case. I will leave it to you the reader
to decide for yourself whether I have done my job or not.
To
illustrate what I really set out to say in this book, I want to relate
a story. It is about a man whom I met when I went for my jog one
morning. He is in his mid-seventies and works for the town council as a
cleaner. He starts work at 7 am and knocks off at about one or two in
the afternoon depending on how much work there is that day. He works
six days a week. His salary? $400 a month.
When
he was a young man in his 20s, he was told that if he just stayed
disciplined, didn't support independent unions, didn't clamour for his
rights and trusted the PAP to govern in his best interest, he would be
better off. He did that, or at least he wasn't given a choice.
Today,
he is told that he must not think of retiring. In fact he is told that
he needs to work for less pay. He is told that part of his savings is
in Merill Lynch and in about 15 to 20 years, he should be able to start
seeing returns on the investment, that is if the bank doesn't go belly
up first.
Doesn't the word "cheated" come to mind?
This
old man's story is not an aberration. Statistics tell us that our
poorest segment of society continue to see their wages shrink. Fifty
percent of the people haven't seen their incomes grow over the past ten
years.
But then our ministers increased the salaries in 2007 by
a heart-stopping 85 percent. The president is paid $4 million a year,
for what no one quite knows. The Senior Minister and Minister Mentor
are also paid close to that amount, again for what no one quite
understands. The Prime Minister is paid $3.8 million which works out to
be about $10,000 a day.
They tell you that they must be amply rewarded for building such a fine country. Really? Let's see what Singaporeans think:
Have
you thought of this number before, ladies and gentlemen? These are
astounding figures. I cannot think of another country where after 50
years of uninterrupted rule, we produce a nation where its people
profess no love for it and can't wait to get out?
Tell me, hand
on heart, that you still think that the PAP has governed in the
interest of Singapore and Singaporeans. Tell me that we have not been
cheated.
i dunno.
Originally posted by newcomer:i dunno.
You dunno.. then go find out lah.
even if Singapore was cheated, it doesn't negate his attempts to cheat the nation...
the fact that you were already robbed by A will not diminish your chances of getting robbed by B
just like the misdeeds of the MIW do not exonerate him of his...
take the words and books of ALL politicians with enough salt to give you liver failure..
''Professor of Southeast Asian Studies'' is a FAKE TITLE!!
First,he is just a Reader.Secondly,has Cambridge awarded
this title to him?
But i still feel cheated!!Dr Chee said in his site:
The book includes a chapter written by Professor of Southeast Asian Studies, Terence Harper, from Cambridge University. Professor Harper documented his research after poring through bundles of de-classified papers, memos, letters, etc. written by Britsh colonial officials during the turbulent period leading up to Singapore's independence.
http://www.hist.cam.ac.uk/academic_staff/further_details/harper.html
OMG!! In complete plain English language,Doctor is not equivalent to Professor,
so does Reader .
2.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reader_(academic_rank)
Reader (academic rank)
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search<!-- start content -->In the academic hierarchy in the United Kingdom and some universities in Australia and New Zealand, reader is the rank between senior lecturer (or principal lecturer in the New Universities) and professor. The title of Reader is given in recognition of research and scholarship.
Reader is NOT a Professor!!
3.So,before we going to read Dr Chee 's book.
We are cheated in board day light.
My English in very bad.But i still understand explanations from
simple dictionary.
Dr Chee and his buddies,can u refrain from misleading us again?
U no need cheat us He is a Professor to brighten your book
or to impress us.A lectuer or student from Cambridge will do,
so long what they tell us is facts!!
Black is black.White is white.
Why do u follow James Gomez telling lie in board day light?
Thanks God there was CCTV.If not,how the junior staffs
in Election Dept face their family,neighbours,friends and relatives
(in order of meeting frequency)??
2.Dr Chee,Will u correct this minor mistake
expressly?
Every one will make mistake,intenionally or not!!
3.Reader or Doctor is not Professor!!
we should all be concenred about the money system, energy crisis ect.
These are the causes of most problems today.
I am sorry i set so high standard for any politicians.
Anyone in power will control estimated US$400 billion or US$400,000 millions
in Temasek and GIC.Net assets and cash convertible speedily!!
If he cannot distinguish a Professor or Reader,how can we trust him
of the above huge amount?
Take a leaf from James Gomez---
Form A is Form A.Dunt mix up with Form B when u runs for election.
U submit the form or put the form back into briefcase is two
different things!!
Yeh he's probably just a reader and not a professor. Chee is just trying to lend weight to his already credible arguments.
And lionoisy, thanks for the info but pls improve ur chinaman english. U ex PRC, right? Very strong dose of mandarin structural usage in ur sentences.
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:we should all be concenred about the money system, energy crisis ect.
These are the causes of most problems today.
and... created by the public money grabbing despots due to their greed...
It is time we have a new government with a diffrent mindset that does not supporttheir cronies, foreigners and the rich at the expense of every Singaporean.
In order to have change in Singapore, support Dr Chee Soon Juan.
There was one time I bought a book from Mr Jeya BJ when he was selling it along Orchard Road and gave it away without reading it.... hahaha... whether I read it or not, I will definitely buy Dr Chee's book hahaha...
at least Chee will be able to sell one book...
I hate political books, like LKY memoirs also don't like.... so boring.
There was one time I bought a book from Mr Jeya BJ when he was selling it along Orchard Road and gave it away without reading it.... hahaha... whether I read it or not, I will definitely buy Dr Chee's book hahaha...
blindly support....you just like him, as if he is your son
No matter what he does, you will support him, until he turn against you.
For what he did to Chiam, I brand him ungrateful. Dun like ppl who dismantle the bridge after crossing the river.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
at least dr chee got book to sell.... where's your's, Pok Kai?!
Isnt reader quite an impressive rank anyway? why is there a need to make a big fuss to make this publication less credible? From what i heard, our very own singapore newspaper editors and writers arent even qualified journalists, should we be making a fuss of it also?
Originally posted by Troy437:blindly support....you just like him, as if he is your son
No matter what he does, you will support him, until he turn against you.
For what he did to Chiam, I brand him ungrateful. Dun like ppl who dismantle the bridge after crossing the river.
Why are you so stupid? "blindly support"? I support his cause.
got free ebook? ![]()
Our dear uncle Poh, he really seems to hate PAP does'nt he?
I don't hate PAP.
I just don't agree with some of their policies, their dominance over political life and Lee Kuan Yew's refusal to give up power.
In the US, Canada and HK, the term professor is used as a form of address for any lecturer or researcher employed by a college or university, regardless of rank.
Anyone who feels that he's 'cheated' by Dr. CSJ addressing a Reader as Professor, is attempting to discredit Dr. CSJ yet again.
It is not incorrect to address Dr. Tim Harper as professor. It's a mark of respect.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:But then our ministers increased the salaries in 2007 by a heart-stopping 85 percent. The president is paid $4 million a year, for what no one quite knows. The Senior Minister and Minister Mentor are also paid close to that amount, again for what no one quite understands. The Prime Minister is paid $3.8 million which works out to be about $10,000 a day.
They tell you that they must be amply rewarded for building such a fine country. Really? Let's see what Singaporeans think:
- Despite having gone through national education at school, 37 percent of Singaporean youths say they are not patriotic. More than 50 percent want to emigrate overseas if given a chance. (Channel News Asia, 17 January 2007)
- Another survey of older Singaporeans showed that two-thirds said they have considered retiring in another country. (Straits Times, 20 August 2008)
- A few weeks ago, the Government confirmed that an average of 1,000 Singaporeans had given up their citizenship annually over the last three years. (Asia Times, 21 August 2008)
Have you thought of this number before, ladies and gentlemen? These are astounding figures. I cannot think of another country where after 50 years of uninterrupted rule, we produce a nation where its people profess no love for it and can't wait to get out?
I quote this part is becoz this is the fundamental problem that our PAP government is facing right now.In other countries,like Taiwan etc,if the head leader of the countries wanted to cheat money,they still have to do it under the table.But,our fuking PAP ministers cheat money openly by giving themselves high payment.
As if they are showing their own countrymen and women,"yes,we cheat money openly,what can you ppl do?"
Well,there are 2 consequences,one is,there will be times when Singaporeans cannot take it anymore n revolt or assasinate the PAP leaders.When this occurs,the revolters will target Lee Kuan Yew,Lee Hsien Loong and boot-licker Goh Chok Tong and their families members.No one will dig up who teach our PAP leaders to become so arrogant as we dont know any other boot-lickers around the above name PAP leaders.
And also,these 3 person(LKY,LHL,boot-licker GCT) has to decide whether or not to listen to the public discontent or their subordinates who give them a beautiful scenery that Singapore is quiet n everyone is contented n no one will dare to stage up a revolt or assasin plot.So ultimately,it will be these 3 person who got to pay for the price if anything goes wrong,not their boot-licking subordinates who give them the wrong info.
Another consequences is more n more Singaporeans migrate to other nations and not enough ppl to serve NS n pledge loyalty to this country.This problem already occur in the past 10 years and it has been becoming more n more serious with each year passingby.I believe the PAP leaders also getting headache by this issues,which ironically,they dont know what went wrong,LOL!!!!
In short,the PAP leaders win the battle,but lose the War!!!!
To illustrate what I really set out to say in this book, I want to relate a story. It is about a man whom I met when I went for my jog one morning. He is in his mid-seventies and works for the town council as a cleaner. He starts work at 7 am and knocks off at about one or two in the afternoon depending on how much work there is that day. He works six days a week. His salary? $400 a month.
When he was a young man in his 20s, he was told that if he just stayed disciplined, didn't support independent unions, didn't clamour for his rights and trusted the PAP to govern in his best interest, he would be better off. He did that, or at least he wasn't given a choice.
Today, he is told that he must not think of retiring. In fact he is told that he needs to work for less pay. He is told that part of his savings is in Merill Lynch and in about 15 to 20 years, he should be able to start seeing returns on the investment, that is if the bank doesn't go belly up first.
Doesn't the word "cheated" come to mind?
This old man's story is not an aberration. Statistics tell us that our poorest segment of society continue to see their wages shrink. Fifty percent of the people haven't seen their incomes grow over the past ten years.
But then our ministers increased the salaries in 2007 by a heart-stopping 85 percent. The president is paid $4 million a year, for what no one quite knows. The Senior Minister and Minister Mentor are also paid close to that amount, again for what no one quite understands. The Prime Minister is paid $3.8 million which works out to be about $10,000 a day.
- Despite having gone through national education at school, 37 percent of Singaporean youths say they are not patriotic. More than 50 percent want to emigrate overseas if given a chance. (Channel News Asia, 17 January 2007)
- Another survey of older Singaporeans showed that two-thirds said they have considered retiring in another country. (Straits Times, 20 August 2008)
- A few weeks ago, the Government confirmed that an average of 1,000 Singaporeans had given up their citizenship annually over the last three years. (Asia Times, 21 August 2008)
Have you thought of this number before, ladies and gentlemen? These are astounding figures. I cannot think of another country where after 50 years of uninterrupted rule, we produce a nation where its people profess no love for it and can't wait to get out?
Sry,this is the whole part i wanted to quote,some content maybe relasped,but what the hell.![]()
Originally posted by googoomuck:In the US, Canada and HK, the term professor is used as a form of address for any lecturer or researcher employed by a college or university, regardless of rank.
Anyone who feels that he's 'cheated' by Dr. CSJ addressing a Reader as Professor, is attempting to discredit Dr. CSJ yet again.
It is not incorrect to address Dr. Tim Harper as professor. It's a mark of respect.
But Dr. Tim Harper is in Cambridge,not in ''In the US, Canada and HK,''!!
i cant read CSJ 's mind.I dunt know he called him as Professor
as mark of respect or want to make Professor as more credible.
I dunt have a good impression on CSJ.
Read this then u know my feeling:
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/320374
Originally posted by lionnoisy:But Dr. Tim Harper is in Cambridge,not in ''In the US, Canada and HK,''!!
i cant read CSJ 's mind.I dunt know he called him as Professor
as mark of respect or want to make Professor as more credible.
I dunt have a good impression on CSJ.
Read this then u know my feeling:
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/320374
Until today you are unable to comprehend the meaning of the ba chor mee story, just like our beloved PM.
why dont you ttell PAP to PUT CCTV everywhere during the next GE so that they can catch CSJ make any small mistake, then use it as their manifesto when contesting in same grc as him. focus on his damn bloody mistakes, flash it all over the gahmen controlled media.
Originally posted by ivebeenhad:Until today you are unable to comprehend the meaning of the ba chor mee story, just like our beloved PM.
why dont you ttell PAP to PUT CCTV everywhere during the next GE so that they can catch CSJ make any small mistake, then use it as their manifesto when contesting in same grc as him. focus on his damn bloody mistakes, flash it all over the gahmen controlled media.
Good idea, get Pay and Pay to install CCTV in CSJ's bedroom, toilet, car. he bo nai.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Good idea, get Pay and Pay to install CCTV in CSJ's bedroom, toilet, car. he bo nai.
they will capture video of his wife giving him a blow job and publish it their media as scandalous behavior of doing unnatural sex and charge him in court