i stay in simei. nothing to hide haha. Wow i am honoured u register just to talk to me. keke
Originally posted by gasband:i stay in simei. nothing to hide haha. Wow i am honoured u register just to talk to me. keke
Why not you post your picture here leh ?
Simei so big. Tell everyone which block. Coz the nearest home is 10m away (less than a block length). Dun be afraid. No need to tell unit number. Just block can already. Mah Bow Tan only need a bock to house 1500 FW.
Be more specific. I can also tell everyone I stay in AMK or Jurong - so big!
Dun dare to reveal means you like to talk but when it is your turn to show, cannot show.
Sorry lah - you touch a raw nerve.
Simei Blk 232. Hurhurhur. So whats next? I have to scan my NRIC to prove i really stay in Blk 232? I dun know where else they wanna build the dorm but it would be great to see those 1400 local version of "Ku Klux Klan" who signed the petition get all so disappointed.
Well if you apologise, then at least we can talk. Its ok to have differing views. You can disagree with me, but dun come and challenge me to show this, show that. Right Then I will also apologise, cos those people in Serangoon touched a raw nerve also. But well if you agree to disagree, then we can both live happily ever after haha
of course must show IC. But can cover up the unit number. You can also cover first name.
I will forward to MBT to tell him that you love FW to the point not welcoming them into your neighbour in MASS numbers.
Apologies? For what? I fight to survive, you blog on this topic and took opposing view because you song. So who is more evil?
In the end, if MND build in an industrial estate as we propose, then no harm done to ANYONE. They get their home, we got our peace and safety.
If MND build here, there will be traffic problem, safety concerns. Bad things may happen. I agree it is a may and not a will. At least I admit that.
Which one is worse to have?
gasband, you are just full of gas. go fart somewhere else. Just bec you are not affected you think you can talk shit in a high and mighty I am holier than you attitude.
Originally posted by Limpehbu:of course must show IC. But can cover up the unit number. You can also cover first name.
I will forward to MBT to tell him that you love FW to the point not welcoming them into your neighbour in MASS numbers.
Apologies? For what? I fight to survive, you blog on this topic and took opposing view because you song. So who is more evil?
In the end, if MND build in an industrial estate as we propose, then no harm done to ANYONE. They get their home, we got our peace and safety.
If MND build here, there will be traffic problem, safety concerns. Bad things may happen. I agree it is a may and not a will. At least I admit that.
Which one is worse to have?
gasband, you are just full of gas. go fart somewhere else. Just bec you are not affected you think you can talk shit in a high and mighty I am holier than you attitude.
Haha ok, seems like there's no more grounds for anymore fruitful conversation. Cheers~~~~
then where do you want them to live?
Jurong later ppl say office not safe bla bla bla.. Changi same case
wat do your want? might as well as get umemployed Singkie to work like them under e hot sun.. see who want still
I think asking people to show their identity is silly and unreasonable. We need construction workers to do all the construction works here. We expect them to live somewhere.
socrates,
I am not asking for identity. I am asking gasband to really meant what he say coz I am sure a lot of people just talk cock. As long as it does not affect them, they write anything they want.
That's all.
sbst275,
Are you sure Jurong is so tiny? Changi too? Do you really know the area that there are actuall lots of land and some empty buildings ard?
To write some thing, please do homework. No sincerity - just keep quiet.
Luckily, Sengkang where I stay is not yet infested with foreign workers.
MND gives go ahead for workers' dormitory at Serangoon Gardens
By Camie De-Souza, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 03 October 2008 1222 hrs
SINGAPORE: The Ministry of National Development (MND) has decided to proceed with a dormitory development at the former school site at Serangoon Gardens for manufacturing and services workers.
The capacity will be capped at 600 for a start.
MND will consider increasing to a maximum of 1,000 in future if there's a need and after further consultations.
It adds that various measures to address residents' concerns will be implemented.
These include a new access road into Ang Mo Kio Avenue 1 that will be constructed to serve the dormitory.
Meanwhile, the entrance at Burghley Drive will be closed except for emergency fire engine.
The dormitory will start operation within a year with self contained facilities like provision shops.
The dormitory operator will be required to implement a set of security measures and house rules such as no illegal activities.
They will also be increasing the buffer space between residents and the dormitory with additional fencing and planters to screen the site. - CNA/vm
Originally posted by Rednano:
MND gives go ahead for workers' dormitory at Serangoon Gardens
By Camie De-Souza, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 03 October 2008 1222 hrs
SINGAPORE: The Ministry of National Development (MND) has decided to proceed with a dormitory development at the former school site at Serangoon Gardens for manufacturing and services workers.
The capacity will be capped at 600 for a start.
MND will consider increasing to a maximum of 1,000 in future if there's a need and after further consultations.
It adds that various measures to address residents' concerns will be implemented.
These include a new access road into Ang Mo Kio Avenue 1 that will be constructed to serve the dormitory.
Meanwhile, the entrance at Burghley Drive will be closed except for emergency fire engine.
The dormitory will start operation within a year with self contained facilities like provision shops.
The dormitory operator will be required to implement a set of security measures and house rules such as no illegal activities.
They will also be increasing the buffer space between residents and the dormitory with additional fencing and planters to screen the site. - CNA/vm
those illegal activities(burglary, stealing, rape) will b done outside the dorm not inside... tink wat needs to b done is increase police patrol in those areas with workers dorm..
Hahaha, soon enough, all the maids in the area will have new boyfriends!
Now people in Serangoon Gardens will also experience the special night time activities these people engage and the peak hour squeeze with the extra headcount on the trains/bus.
Originally posted by Shotgun:Hahaha, soon enough, all the maids in the area will have new boyfriends!
yeah the maid in my area are all smiling all the time man! They have choices from Thais, Viets, to Bangala.
If anyone hasn't realized it already, this whole entire debate contains the underlying assumption and supports the notion that these foreigners are somehow 'sub-human' and different. Don't any of you actually find that disturbing, that in a 'progressive society' like ours, such assumptions are still accepted.
Come live in Ubi or Kaki bukit. see how they mentally strip you while you happen to just walk past. and you can see them mentally rape you too if you look long enough.
If anyone hasn't realized it already, this whole entire debate contains the underlying assumption and supports the notion that these foreigners are somehow 'sub-human' and different. Don't any of you actually find that disturbing, that in a 'progressive society' like ours, such assumptions are still accepted.
dont u know that such a dormitory will create the social problems, hygiene problems, safety problems for the nearby resident.
if u happen not to living in spore or dreamland. let me quote you some real problems.
The pino and indons maid will definitely hook up to the blanga. although not everyone but 5-10% is enough to create problems for the resident. My friend happen to encounter such problem. he is not alone!
The pandan gardens resevoir where it house also large dormitory.
I use to jog there before and after the dormitorywas built. the litter conditions is very bad! they like to drink below our void deck and leave their bottles litter around the floor. If you have a kid, walking past these drink blanga, do you worry about their safety?
We are not racist or such. we just want a livable living environment. at this moment, they cross our path. they should give in not us!
Before the Ministry made this decisions, what are the OTHER options did they consider for housing locations? Why were they not chosen instead?
Did they even make considerations or did they just say "okay noted?" Or did they delay abit before carrying on to announce this.
They need to show that they have made alternative considerations!
my former school, mount vernon secondary is now a dorm for foreign workers.
I dun quite understand why they cannot re-locate the dorm and have to waste additional tax payer money to build a road.
It is because they have to show the elite living there that who is boss.
This fiasco just goes to show that all feedback goes to the dustbin.
I think the poodle have seriously lost their head in managing the issue.
Looks like serangoon gardens might be in for some boundary restructuring at the next GE. ![]()
We should build a Foreign workers dorm each in Dalvey Estate, Sixth Avenue and in Oxley Road, best if Oxley Rd, closer to IR all those development there.
For starters Reyes, I live somewhere near the Jalan Kayu area - where they converted the old Farmway HDB flats to a series of workers' quarters, so I do know what you're talking about. However, I must concede that I live overseas for a large part of the year, but whenever my mum tells me about the how these workers hang around the vicinity of the Jalan Kayu area, and leave their beer bottles stewn all over the place, I can't help but feel concern to the safety of my loved ones and those living around me
So I do know what you're talking about.
But my point is that to get to the root of the problem or issue, we have to stop seeing these individuals as mere economic utilities - as people we are making money out of for their cheap labor, but rather as human beings who have needs and wants like all of us. Because when we see them as mere tools, as sub humans upon a hierarchal specturm of human beings, we denegrate them to a state where we fail to understand the true nature of the situation and as such offer sub-par solutions which will lead to greater problems.
We need foreign workers, that is the way our economy is set up, and expelling them is definitely not the solution. But where are we to house them? Some say quarters are the way forward, others argue that we should built settlements far away from 'civilization'. Other just don't know what to do, but just scorn at their mere appearance because unlike us, they are 'different' and somehow their difference they exact are somehow a threat to our safety and existence.
Foreign workers do commit crimes, their ways unsettle us evidently, but locals do commit crimes, but they look similar to us, so somehow walking along some street in Ang Mo Kio, is somehow safer than walking along Little India on a Saturday night. The notion of difference magnifies the threat of their presence. A crime committed by a foreigner when reported in the mainstream media is magnified in it's prominence, as compared to some crime committed by a local. I'll really to see the numbers comparing the statistics of crimes committed for every foreigner as compared to Singaporeans or 'locals'.
Another complaint is that they go on liaisons with our domestic workers. It is a concern as should our domestic workers contract vernal diseases or end up pregnant, it will be a health concern and incur monetary expenses upon our families. Therefore, if we were to allow foreign workers into our estates and heartlands, somehow or rather these laisons will become a health hazard. But look at this more humanly, for most of us we have our families with us, our spouses, our loved ones. These structures construct the central core of our sense of security and we will feel threatened if these aforementioned structures are threatened - these basically embody our needs and functionality as human beings. Similarly, foreign workers like us, have needs too. They need that structure that we possess, for which many of them do not get to participate in for most part of their lives here. Some would say, that is something they have to put up with, because they have chosen this path, but who would chose a path to part with ones loved ones, unless forced by their situation. So somehow their socio-economic situation has become their own fault and they have to somehow be derided into the periphery of human existence because of a situation they were born into?
It is a want for them, the only way to offer one to overcome a want is to offer a greater incentive, an opportunity to grant a greater want of theirs. Reward them, for those who have no criminal records or have shown examplarary working ethics, reward them with a renewal of their contracts for a longer period or for the really promising ones, further training and even a path to Permanent Residency or even citizenship. Some will argue and not be able to phantom the sight of 'these foreigners' eventually having the same rights as us, but this notion boils down to the same sub-human narrative that just does not encompass this debate, but all debates concerning immigration into our country, which concerns the future of this nation.
Originally posted by dragg:my former school, mount vernon secondary is now a dorm for foreign workers.
ya, they are taking O level there.