But my point is that to get to the root of the problem or issue, we have to stop seeing these individuals as mere economic utilities - as people we are making money out of for their cheap labor, but rather as human beings who have needs and wants like all of us. Because when we see them as mere tools, as sub humans upon a hierarchal specturm of human beings, we denegrate them to a state where we fail to understand the true nature of the situation and as such offer sub-par solutions which will lead to greater problems.
well that what the govt are saying.they are expandable!
first, they are paid for their work. second, they can choose not to come here is they feel they can find work better somewhere. this is free market. no one say, they are sub human. infact, these words seem to come out from you.
most of us just hope the govt or relevant authority can identify these problems seriously. have a foresight and built more dorms at tuas, loyang or offshore islands.
Foreign workers do commit crimes, their ways unsettle us evidently, but locals do commit crimes, but they look similar to us, so somehow walking along some street in Ang Mo Kio, is somehow safer than walking along Little India on a Saturday night. The notion of difference magnifies the threat of their presence. A crime committed by a foreigner when reported in the mainstream media is magnified in it's prominence, as compared to some crime committed by a local. I'll really to see the numbers comparing the statistics of crimes committed for every foreigner as compared to Singaporeans or 'locals'.
are you saying our media dont like foreign workers as well? bias?
is these idealogy on your own assumption again?
anyway, i am strong believer that some of the scare disease that we are encountering now are possibly spread by foreign talent.
If you have time, try to go down to Bollywoood and listen to what poison Ivy explaination about herbs, diseases.
This is a fight (for resources) between Singaporeans and Foreigners.... with a government by the rich for the foreigners, who you think, will come out on top unless Singaporeans stop being silliporeans and fight harder for their rights....
...oh yeah, all Singaporeans must stand on the side of the Serangoon Garden residents instead of letting them be persecuted by despots.... alone....
for me, I am amazed that despite all the pleas and etc, the govt still went ahead.
all along, I heard that once words flow out, it means the govt has made a decision. All the talk talk are for show only. Seems it is right for this case.
only way is to vote them out..
Originally posted by charlize:Yeah, if you look at Serangoon Gardens area, the amount of private property land there is like astronomical compared to its surrounding areas (Ang Mo Kio, Hougang) etc. Everywhere is populated by one or two storey landed properties.
You may be on to something there in regards to land price.
Imagine how many more high rise condominiums can be built if you demolished some of the one storey landed properties.
yah, but with Bangala next dorm, the nice rich estate is now worth less. Easy pickings.
All those serangoon gardens people, have not wake up that when the Govt say they want to use, no matter what amount of protest or unhappiness. It will be done. They can say good bye to their serangoon gardens.
That's the Singapore style.
They make the decision, then they let you debate, discuss, protest etc.
But sorry, the decision has already been made.
Makes the people feel like they have a say in important matters concerning their lives.
Really. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:That's the Singapore style.
They make the decision, then they let you debate, discuss, protest etc.
But sorry, the decision has already been made.
Makes the people feel like they have a say in important matters concerning their lives.
Really.
Yeah but its nice to watch the wayang and great acting ... more thrilling than media-corspe show.
I am wondering whether the french school that is situated beside the dorm is informed of their new neighbour.
I dun think the french would take the matter lightly.
The residents should include the french parents and teacher into the petition.
This will definitely resolve the issue.
Dun just be angry, work smart, ok ?
i think in future, singaporeans will live in the dormitory and the foreigners will live in good HOUSING
for me, I am amazed that despite all the pleas and etc, the govt still went ahead.
all along, I heard that once words flow out, it means the govt has made a decision. All the talk talk are for show only. Seems it is right for this case.
only way is to vote them out..
it is always the case isnt it. when the information is out, it is decided dispite what the minister explaination that it is under consultation and consideration bull crap!
The french school will only raise their concern once the dormitory is built and face with real problems.
Hey Reyes, thanks for your points.
When I mentioned sub-human, of course it does not mean that we literally categorize them as sub-human like what the Fascists did, rather, what I meant was that the attitudes towards foreigners especially the rhetoric exercised by some forumites earlier in the thread was akin to seeing these foreign workers as sub-human. Yes, I admit, sub-human might be too strong a word, but I hope it represented my disgust with their views.
With regards to your second point, nope, I'm not criticizing the media. I'm was attempting to show that both locals and foreigners commit crimes, its just that foreigners are different, so when they commit crimes, people take notice and think that foreigners are the main cause of crime in our country and use that as ammunition for debates we have in this forum. That is why I said I would like to see the statistics of crimes committed per foreigner against that committed by locals to show that it is because of our fear and suspicion of difference which has magnified a crime committed by a foreigner, as compared to that by a local.
Hope I did clarify my points. :)
Haha, yes Angel, I'm not exactly a pragmatist by any far stretch of the imagination, but I wouldn't apologize for my ideals.
I guess what I can say is that, irregardless of all our differing world views, one thing we all concur is that the state of things as they are - really suck!
Singaporeans definitely deserve better! But I just hope that on our path to seeking that betterment, we can better ourselves not just politically and economically, but in terms being more compassionate and humane in our perspective to things around us.
Originally posted by Quincey:Haha, yes Angel, I'm not exactly a pragmatist by any far stretch of the imagination, but I wouldn't apologize for my ideals.
I guess what I can say is that, irregardless of all our differing world views, one thing we all concur is that the state of things as they are - really suck!
Singaporeans definitely deserve better! But I just hope that on our path to seeking that betterment, we can better ourselves not just politically and economically, but in terms being more compassionate and humane in our perspective to things around us.
Yes, i agreed, we all got different opinons, no thumb prints are the same, different school of thought etc etc can be a hinder in any debate or discussion.
I let to paint the picture of you as an owner, bring in a guest workers to help your progress in your business and wealth, u provide lodging for him, ensure that he is comfortable with all basic needs. But you must also ensure that he is socially acceptable. Therefore you need to give basic training and instill discipline in him so as to help him accustomed or be accepted in our society.
We dun look down on him, he works with his hands to earn a living, he save for his family, he is a responsible person, but we cannot put him in equal footing as us. Their objectives is to make money and leave us for the betterment of his hometown, no loyality nor attachment to any of our national pride and achievement.
You can go to any nation in this world, and believe me, we treated foreigner workers the best, but of course their are some bad eggs contractors who wanted to conn them.
With regards to your second point, nope, I'm not criticizing the media. I'm was attempting to show that both locals and foreigners commit crimes, its just that foreigners are different, so when they commit crimes, people take notice and think that foreigners are the main cause of crime in our country and use that as ammunition for debates we have in this forum. That is why I said I would like to see the statistics of crimes committed per foreigner against that committed by locals to show that it is because of our fear and suspicion of difference which has magnified a crime committed by a foreigner, as compared to that by a local.
What the press print in the paper is actual crimes that had already committed, not to mention how many go unnotice.
Yes you are right, local do commit crimes, such as maids basher. But they are singaporeans, they are part of society and whether we like it or not, they have the right to be here. The foreigners while contributing to our growth are at the sametimes increasing our crime rate and dis-stablising our social norms. While not FW will commit a crime but a 1-2% of them is enough to create havoc in society.
the greater point is we should reduce our reliance on FW. it has to be start from the govt, by reducing the nos of FW, it will better create job opportunity for locals. Not the opposite way.
How many of you actually interact with this group of people? Especially those in the blue-collar group, which is one of the most maligned?
Originally posted by angel7030:i think in future, singaporeans will live in the dormitory and the foreigners will live in good HOUSING
Next time Singaporeans will be working as maids and construction workers in these developing countries
according to LKY, that day will come if opposition party win election.
Originally posted by mistyblue:Next time Singaporeans will be working as maids and construction workers in these developing countries
We are doing it, some of our workforce are working in China and India now, and if too many of us go over there, they will built dormitory for us too, then the indian and chinese will start to complain to their govt about our kiasee, kiasu and stuck up attitude that they do not wish to let us built our dormitory near their houses, cos our laksa flavour stink
Originally posted by reyes:according to LKY, that day will come if opposition party win election.
not the day he pass away ar??
I like mabo tan's attitude. Despite all the protests and headlines, simply ignore them and dump 1000s of workers next to their houses. Why worry when they will vote PAP again year after year after........and please cut this crap about discrimination and what not.....U are reading too much propaganda, i.e. the straits times.
Originally posted by angel7030:
We are doing it, some of our workforce are working in China and India now, and if too many of us go over there, they will built dormitory for us too, then the indian and chinese will start to complain to their govt about our kiasee, kiasu and stuck up attitude that they do not wish to let us built our dormitory near their houses, cos our laksa flavour stink
Oh.. no.. it's the opposite.. if they build dorm for Singaporeans to stay.. their nearby property price will go up.
Because we are law abidding people.. we don't spit and litter their grounds like they do to their own land.
If we go.. the land will become pristine again.. it will become very clean and orderly...
Then we will build a good international school for Singaporean children.. and it will bring up the school ratings in that area.
Then their local will want to come live near the Singaporean workers dorm. The neighbourhood will become very desirable....
That is the difference my dear.
Originally posted by frustoporean:I like mabo tan's attitude. Despite all the protests and headlines, simply ignore them and dump 1000s of workers next to their houses. Why worry when they will vote PAP again year after year after........and please cut this crap about discrimination and what not.....U are reading too much propaganda, i.e. the straits times.
Well, not necessary that demographic goes PAP. Remember the last election, The Straits Times reported that votes in the Jalan Kayu sub connstituency in Ang Mo Kio GRC were lower compared to the other sub constituencies, if it wasn't for the other sub-constituencies, you might have one of the WP newbies sitting in Parliament as well, if Jalan Kayu was a single seat instead of a sub constituency in a GRC.
And does anyone actually remember why people in Seletar Hills/Jalan Kayu voted the way they did? Well, they were unhappy their market got torn down. So don't bet that people in Serangoon Gardens, people from similar demographics, would not do the same, don't bet against it.
http://wpsgnews.blogspot.com/2007/05/straits-times-one-year-after-vote.html
Sad thing is the people relied and placed their focus too heavily on the government that they have forgotten to focus on themselves.
So does having a change of government produces better citizens?
People are never satisfied with what they are enjoying, especially when their comfortable lifestyle is created by the existing government.
For people who failed to look at themselves as a citizen of a country, certainly do not have the rights to complain when they have been spoon-fed, grew up in a country of peace, living comfortably.
Ungrateful citizens have just been upgraded to Shameless citizens in my opinion.
Some people are just easily satisfied with themselves or simply not capable of expressing appreciation.
Originally posted by parn:Sad thing is the people relied and placed their focus too heavily on the government that they have forgotten to focus on themselves.
So does having a change of government produces better citizens?
People are never satisfied with what they are enjoying, especially when their comfortable lifestyle is created by the existing government.
For people who failed to look at themselves as a citizen of a country, certainly do not have the rights to complain when they have been spoon-fed, grew up in a country of peace, living comfortably.
Ungrateful citizens have just been upgraded to Shameless citizens in my opinion.
Some people are just easily satisfied with themselves or simply not capable of expressing appreciation.
LOL.. you're really refering to the million lollar ministers, no ?