Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Singapore is now in a official recession despite claim from the finance minister that there is not going to be a recession. (He better start doing his job)
It is the right time to seek the understanding of the ministry to exercise major pay cut on the ministers so as to pay for future possible hike that will definitely be passed down the citizens.
We have exercised extreme tolerance and understanding as a citizen in accepting hikes that were not given a proper reason for the past few years.
So, I, as a law abiding and tax paying citizens, hope the ministry to exercise immediate understanding and efficiency as a 1st world country to come forward to prevent any possible price hike from businesses that gave reason that the price was not increased for the past X number of years and lead by example to tighten the belt of ministers.
What can you expect when they lost so much bailing out foreign banks? They have to take more from silliporeans... and while they expect you to be law abiding they abuse the constituition and persecute people like Dr Chee Soon Juan and the late JBJ who are just exercising their rights as citizens to be opposition... they are worse than TT Durai in the way they take public money and yet they have so many assdogs licking their asses hoping to pick up some crumps that they throw on the floor for their assdogs to eat... and they even have asspuppies that call themselves angel... a puppy thinking it is an angel... hahaha.. what a joke.
Singapore is now in a official recession despite claim from the finance minister that there is not going to be a recession. (He better start doing his job)
It is the right time to seek the understanding of the ministry to exercise major pay cut on the ministers so as to pay for future possible hike that will definitely be passed down the citizens.
We have exercised extreme tolerance and understanding as a citizen in accepting hikes that were not given a proper reason for the past few years.
So, I, as a law abiding and tax paying citizens, hope the ministry to exercise immediate understanding and efficiency as a 1st world country to come forward to prevent any possible price hike from businesses that gave reason that the price was not increased for the past X number of years and lead by example to tighten the belt of ministers.
let see whether the minister walk the talk. such as cut the nos of FW in singapore if economy no good. Contrary, they could say, since business is down, SME need more FW to lower their cost.
FT's are welcomed. They are valued. The leaders should setup a dormitory in a valuable environment for them in that case.
I support creating a large ghetto in the center or heart of Bkit Timah. FTs are important. They make businesses lower their costs. They no need do NS.
They can use Singpass, National Libraries and all public facilities even if they don't pay and pay what locals pay. I mean thingies like road tax , HDB conservancies (some rent flats), many things in spore are paid by citizens.
hurray for FT! I love FT!
Bkit Timah is the home for FTs! Let the rich benefit from the FTs! walk the talk!!!
Originally posted by likedatosocan:FT's are welcomed. They are valued. The leaders should setup a dormitory in a valuable environment for them in that case.
I support creating a large ghetto in the center or heart of Bkit Timah. FTs are important. They make businesses lower their costs. They no need do NS.
They can use Singpass, National Libraries and all public facilities even if they don't pay and pay what locals pay. I mean thingies like road tax , HDB conservancies (some rent flats), many things in spore are paid by citizens.
hurray for FT! I love FT!
Bkit Timah is the home for FTs! Let the rich benefit from the FTs! walk the talk!!!
Right, there are lots of empty spaces at the old Bukit Timah horse racing grounds....
Since they've been paid ridiculously outrageous salaries, they should be the ones to lead by example.
Originally posted by Vendettus:Since they've been paid ridiculously outrageous salaries, they should be the ones to lead by example.
There is a saying that no one owes anyone a living. That if you broke your rice bowl, that is your problem.
I am a little unsure if people know how to demand for value for money?
I know what the million dollar poodle is doing when they ran out of ideas.
READ sg forums.
Expect a rough ride ahead
|
LABOUR chief Lim Swee Say on Thursday called on Singaporeans to brace themselves for a rough ride ahead, urging them to take a long-term view in coping with the fallout from the financial turmoil.
Speaking on the eve of the release of the latest growth forecast for Singapore, he told reporters there were no signs yet of retrenchment, although it is to be expected next year. Some unions are also expecting lower year-end bonuses, he said on the sidelines of a forum with employers and unionists at Downtown East resort centre in Pasir Ris. But he assured Singaporeans the labour movement had not been sleeping in the past three years when the global economy was going strong. Among other things, the NTUC has been redesigning jobs for low-wage workers, introducing flexible work for women and re-employing mature workers. He now wants workers and employers to tighten their belts and spend wisely. Also, they need to work together to make their companies more competitive by reducing costs and improving productivity. At the forum, he also cited a company that found it made more business sense to keep its local workers in an economic downturn. The company, which Mr Lim declined to name, believed that when the economy rebounded, other companies would compete for workers. But it would be a step ahead, with enough local workers to meet the required ratio for hiring foreign workers. Singapore National Employers Federation president Stephen Lee also told the forum employers should take a long term view on the current push for re-employment of older workers and continue to support it. 'All these up and down economic cycles, no matter how sharp they are, we will be able to ride them out,' he said. Earlier, deputy secretary-general Heng Chee How also called on employers to strengthen their fundamentals to limit the financial fallout. This include containing costs, gearing up operations to be flexible, training employees to be adaptable and working with unions to keep up the morale of workers. 'We need no longer waste time hoping to be miraculously shielded from the financial turmoil that is unfolding globally, or from its economic consequences,' he said. 'Instead, we can take positive and productive action to deal with the challenges ahead.' He drew attention to the signs that Singapore's economy was slowing down in tandem with the world economy. The Trade and Industry Ministry has revised its growth estimates downwards from 4-6 per cent to 4-5 per cent for this year. While Mr Heng did not say if there would be a further downward revision in Friday's announcement, he highlighted Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam's comments on Sunday that the Singapore economy may slow down for several quarters. |
Originally posted by likedatosocan:
There is a saying that no one owes anyone a living. That if you broke your rice bowl, that is your problem.I am a little unsure if people know how to demand for value for money?
Farmer Jones tell his sheeps "You are sheep, and sheeps are meant to be fleeced."
And the sheeps bleated in unison, what wise words from the great leader!
Little did the sheeps know, without the themselves, they will not be any farmer!
Originally posted by whiskers:Farmer Jones tell his sheeps "You are sheep, and sheeps are meant to be fleeced."
And the sheeps bleated in unison, what wise words from the great leader!
Little did the sheeps know, without the themselves, they will not be any farmer!
Cheem leh.
I welcome FTs. I hope they spend less commuting. So, I think the best place for their dormitory is in Orchard / Scotts or Tanglin areas. We must walk the talk when we say we love our FTs. We must care for them and make their stay here a happy one. Those areas are happy areas. These should be the places for FT dormitories in me humble opine.
Tanglin is nice place to live. The residents there should have the opportunity to mingle with our valued foreign workers. We must walk the talk.
The istana should be the best place.
Got security, got grass land to dance and cycle, and got free roti prata also.
No more traffic or security issue.
pls consider also raffles marina. while the tourist are enjoying the IR, and F1, they can also visit the FW dorm.
uniquely singapore!!
Actually the FWs should be housed in places like lim chu kang where resident numbers are low. All FWs need is just a shelter over their head and a decent living condition. LCK is also near tuas. Locating them at other places are just finding trouble. No one is gonna let their house value drop without a fight.
I dunno why the commends are always about discriminating against FWs. Its true that they cause trouble. There is no doubt about it. I've been a resident in Jurong West for more than a decade. Before their dorms were built, this place used to be peaceful and safe at night. However, after it was built, we have drunks moving all about half naked at night, men hugging each other like long-lost lovers, beer bottles being discarded along the road and better still, fights nearly every night. These are also why the values of houses in our estate is decreasing.
Why must we lose money for people like them? People who come to our country and make a mess at the places they stay? After they made their mess, they would hide behind the protective shield of sympathetic singaporeans who find that whatever negative commend said about them are "discriminating". Its obvious why they are discrimainated against, they tarnished the image of my neighbourhood and, perhaps, every neighbourhood they live in.
They build house, they build road and yes, they are our nation's "builders". But we paid them too. It is not as though they come and work for us for free. We pay them an agreed price every month fot them to work. Everything is fair. Only retards will come in and say " Hey you freaking bastards, they build our roads and whatever shit you know." Fuck you man. No happy dun work, there are tonnes of people waiting to replace you. Want to work here better be a guai kai.
Remember, in every country in the globe, its always locals > foreigners. Think about ourselves first.
Actually the FWs should be housed in places like lim chu kang where resident numbers are low. All FWs need is just a shelter over their head and a decent living condition. LCK is also near tuas. Locating them at other places are just finding trouble. No one is gonna let their house value drop without a fight.
I dunno why the commends are always about discriminating against FWs. Its true that they cause trouble. There is no doubt about it. I've been a resident in Jurong West for more than a decade. Before their dorms were built, this place used to be peaceful and safe at night. However, after it was built, we have drunks moving all about half naked at night, men hugging each other like long-lost lovers, beer bottles being discarded along the road and better still, fights nearly every night. These are also why the values of houses in our estate is decreasing.
Why must we lose money for people like them? People who come to our country and make a mess at the places they stay? After they made their mess, they would hide behind the protective shield of sympathetic singaporeans who find that whatever negative commend said about them are "discriminating". Its obvious why they are discrimainated against, they tarnished the image of my neighbourhood and, perhaps, every neighbourhood they live in.
They build house, they build road and yes, they are our nation's "builders". But we paid them too. It is not as though they come and work for us for free. We pay them an agreed price every month fot them to work. Everything is fair. Only retards will come in and say " Hey you freaking bastards, they build our roads and whatever shit you know." Fuck you man. No happy dun work, there are tonnes of people waiting to replace you. Want to work here better be a guai kai.
Remember, in every country in the globe, its always locals > foreigners. Think about ourselves first.
well said, another kaki.
wana join my Fourth reich?i make you my propaganda minister.
Heil hitler!!
Lets bring this dicussion to another level shall we? Heres a response by a reader on the new paper.
Title: No Tolerance For Other Cultures?
By reader Arun Kalaychelvam
Source: The New Paper 11/10/2008
~ Skip intro ~
We have to remember that we are living in a multi-ethnic society where there are different people and different cultures.
When we can get along in this multi-ethnic society, why can't we get along with foreign workers? Are they so much of an alien that we cannot totally get along together?
When you can understand that a human being can get bored from staying in an enclosed area, then why don't you also understand that debating about their shelter in front of them will also hurt them?
Won't you get hurt when your neighbour tells another that you have a different culture and living habits and that you will create a lot of trouble?
This recent issue of the dormitory being built in Serangoon Gardens saddens me.
It seems very unfair to me that Singaporeans want the roads that the foreign workers built, we want the buildings and facilities that they have built, but we do not want them to live near us.
Many foreign workers are in Singapore, seperated from their families and friends. You may never know how respected they are in their homeland.
* I do skip the intro and some parts of the letter which are responses of the author to another earlier letter.
Originally posted by reyes:well said, another kaki.
Heil hitler!!
Hike Fuller,
My fourth reich, perhaps he should join as our foreign Minister in the rank of Colonel fully incharge of Foreign workers' chamber, we shall award him with our iron cross.
SS Waffen
Antiforeign workers dept
Originally posted by crimsontactics:Lets bring this dicussion to another level shall we? Heres a response by a reader on the new paper.
~ Skip intro ~
We have to remember that we are living in a multi-ethnic society where there are different people and different cultures.
When we can get along in this multi-ethnic society, why can't we get along with foreign workers? Are they so much of an alien that we cannot totally get along together?
When you can understand that a human being can get bored from staying in an enclosed area, then why don't you also understand that debating about their shelter in front of them will also hurt them?
Won't you get hurt when your neighbour tells another that you have a different culture and living habits and that you will create a lot of trouble?
It seems very unfair to me that Singaporeans want the roads that the foreign workers built, we want the buildings and facilities that they have built, but we do not want them to live near us.
Many foreign workers are in Singapore, seperated from their families and friends. You may never know how respected they are in their homeland.
* I do skip the intro and some parts of the letter which are responses of the author to another earlier letter.
Ok allow me break this letter down.
Who the hell don't know?
Cause locals dun go about hugging each other like long-lost lovers and walking around the streets topless. Locals are also not a threat to the society of my neighbourhood, perhaps, our neighbourhood you know?
I don't know what the hell are you saying, but mind you they are workers, should we place them in 5 star hotel instead? Why do the hell you care so much where and how they live as long as there is a roof over their head and a decent living condition. I bet their own homes are worst of than the dorms in sg.
Of course! But what can you do? Wack them? Not happy don't move in in the first place.
Dun cry T.T Its ok to lose in a debate once in awhile.
The world is not fair in the first place. If you were to go over to america right know, I'm sure you would be discriminated as well.
Also, we pay for their salary, everything is fair, its not like they work for us for free, we don't own them anything.
Who the hell wants to live near naked gorillas who drink past the wee hours and "admire" and pay special attention to your maids and daughters?
They are coming here to work for god's sake, you think they are coming for holiday? Bring whole family come?
A typical example of a sympathetic singaporean who is most probably planning to migrate, living hell behind for greener grass. To commend so freely on such a topic without consideration shows that the author is most probably not living in an area with "aliens" or is just an O-level student who thinks "the world is fair".
Originally posted by crimsontactics:Lets bring this dicussion to another level shall we? Heres a response by a reader on the new paper.
~ Skip intro ~
Colonel,
My SS women are ready to deport him (the writer) to a private chamber, await your command.
We shall raise the issue to our fouth Reich in the coming Nazi general conference.
If u will ask me, my dear Colonel, every employer who bring the FW here must ensure they get the jobs, accomdation and discipline needed. It is not a matter of culture mix and blending, it is a matter, as you Colonel rightly put it, for them to suit our culture and not we and them mix togther. I will suggest that any company who employ FW must built dormitory within their factory. Formerly, in construction, employer built dormitory for their workers within their own premises, so are the shipyards, no problem for all. The workers are happier too, cos they can get to work very fast, very convience, no complain from the public, employers can also keep a close eye on them. But today, dormitories are built adjacent to houses where we live. Why??
Yes, I dun mind foreigners mingeling among us, but please dun ask us to suit their culture, they must suit our culture, employers can also impose discipline into them to ensure all workers are back by 10pm o'clock (cos i use to go home at about 11 pm, me scare) and all light off by 11 pm. No drinking or littering or sleeping in public such as HDB void decks, parks and grass patches.
When i visited or worked in another country, i tend follow their laws and disciplines, and i will also suit their culture, if japanese are polite, i must learn to be polite, if the finns dun talk loudly, i will try to talk normally, if the British wait for their MRT (tube) with patience and allow passengers to come out before we go in, i followed them. This are what we expect from foreigners, they are alway welcome, but please dun walk around in sarong half nake with some high alcohol drink in their hands and smoking some kind of pots with a silly smell, sitting and lying on the grass beside the drain, glaring at me when i walked by...who knows what are they thinking...that is why, i wear 2 underwears.
As usual, My fourth reich motto, prevention is better than cure...Hike to my Adolf Reyes
Originally posted by angel7030:
Colonel,
My SS women are ready to deport him (the writer) to a private chamber, await your command.
We shall raise the issue to our fouth Reich in the coming Nazi general conference.
If u will ask me, my dear Colonel, every employer who bring the FW here must ensure they get the jobs, accomdation and discipline needed. It is not a matter of culture mix and blending, it is a matter, as you Colonel rightly put it, for them to suit our culture and not we and them mix togther. I will suggest that any company who employ FW must built dormitory within their factory. Formerly, in construction, employer built dormitory for their workers within their own premises, so are the shipyards, no problem for all. The workers are happier too, cos they can get to work very fast, very convience, no complain from the public, employers can also keep a close eye on them. But today, dormitories are built adjacent to houses where we live. Why??
Yes, I dun mind foreigners mingeling among us, but please dun ask us to suit their culture, they must suit our culture, employers can also impose discipline into them to ensure all workers are back by 10pm o'clock (cos i use to go home at about 11 pm, me scare) and all light off by 11 pm. No drinking or littering or sleeping in public such as HDB void decks, parks and grass patches.
When i visited or worked in another country, i tend follow their laws and disciplines, and i will also suit their culture, if japanese are polite, i must learn to be polite, if the finns dun talk loudly, i will try to talk normally, if the British wait for their MRT (tube) with patience and allow passengers to come out before we go in, i followed them. This are what we expect from foreigners, they are alway welcome, but please dun walk around in sarong half nake with some high alcohol drink in their hands and smoking some kind of pots with a silly smell, sitting and lying on the grass beside the drain, glaring at me when i walked by...who knows what are they thinking...that is why, i wear 2 underwears.
As usual, My fourth reich motto, prevention is better than cure...Hike to my Adolf Reyes
Wearing 2 undies is a little too extreme...
Originally posted by reyes:well said, another kaki.
Heil hitler!!
sieg heil!!! sieg heil !!!! sieg heil!!!!*raises right arm high*
Originally posted by kengkia:sieg heil!!! sieg heil !!!! sieg heil!!!!*raises right arm high*
Sori, for the Fourth Reich, we raise the left arm and shout Hike Furhrer!!!. So dun mix up with the third Reich ya, if you raise wrongly, we got the gestapo and firing squad on standby
Originally posted by crimsontactics:Wearing 2 undies is a little too extreme...
one g string and the other triumph babe undies cannot meh??
I am convinced Bukit Timah is the ideal home for Foreigners.
We must show our love for them. So please! the Dormitories should be in Bukit Timah! Majulah!
Selamat !
Originally posted by likedatosocan:I am convinced Bukit Timah is the ideal home for Foreigners.
We must show our love for them. So please! the Dormitories should be in Bukit Timah! Majulah!
Selamat !
oh No, bukit timah is very near bukit Batok, i remember last time my auntie told me her colleague got raped and killed at Bukit Batok park most probably by FW...until now still cannot get the culprit. Poor woman, jog in the morning at a nice park also kenna fatal ending. That is why i wear 2 underwears
Hike Fuller,
My fourth reich, perhaps he should join as our foreign Minister in the rank of Colonel fully incharge of Foreign workers' chamber, we shall award him with our iron cross.
SS Waffen
Antiforeign workers dept
i can commission him to be field marshall to replace that gutless, irresponsible, cowards paulus who ruin and destroy my 6th Army at stalingrad!
Heil Hitler!!!!
Originally posted by angel7030:
Sori, for the Fourth Reich, we raise the left arm and shout Hike Furhrer!!!. So dun mix up with the third Reich ya, if you raise wrongly, we got the gestapo and firing squad on standby
yes Reich adviser...
Hike Furhrer!!! Hike Furhrer!!! Hike Furhrer!!! *raises left arm high