Heard that PAP has a carnival recently. reminds me of a old forum topic...
Singapore Police Reject Permit For Opposition Party's Cycling Event
What do you think?
They asked for sponsor also and take their sia
as their face.Wat do u think? Also their suckers are there
to act as pong pong gal n carry ping pong guy.
Go to these carnival n see them put up show lor.
ST Forum 9 Sept 2008, Why WP didn't get permit for event
I REFER to last Thursday's letter by Mr Tan Ghee Gay, 'Why 'no' and 'yes'?', regarding police decisions with respect to the Workers' Party's (WP) proposed mass cycling event last year, and the carnival on Aug 31.
Police do not issue permits for outdoor political events in public places due to the potential for disorder and unruly behaviour. This applies to events organised by all political parties. For this reason, police rejected WP's application to hold a mass cycling activity in East Coast Park, to commemorate its 50th anniversary in September last year.
The event on Aug 31 was very different. The permit was issued after taking into account the organiser and the nature of the event. It was organised by the PAP Community Foundation, which is a registered charity and not a political party. The event was not assessed to have the potential for disorder and unruly behaviour. It was a carnival that involved children and families from various kindergartens and educational institutions. The Prime Minister, as guest of honour, and a few other guests, made their entrance by cycling a short distance. During the event, a sum of $664,000 (which had been raised earlier) was distributed to 17 charities, including Beyond Social Services, Children's Aid Society and Chung Hwa Medical Institution.
DSP Paul Tay
Assistant Director (Media Relations)
Singapore Police Force
Police do not issue permits for outdoor political events in public places due to the potential for disorder and unruly behaviour.
But it was a cycling event.
CYCLING EVENT.
I must repeat one more time, because PAP for sure won't get it.
CYCLING EVENT.
Cycling event become political event?
Then what about national day?
Is that a political event?
The creation of a new state?
Should we ban it as well?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:But it was a cycling event.
CYCLING EVENT.
I must repeat one more time, because PAP for sure won't get it.
CYCLING EVENT.
Cycling event become political event?
Then what about national day?
Is that a political event?
The creation of a new state?
Should we ban it as well?
Woei! you want the police commissioner to loose his job is it??
And what do you want to ban when the event was over and out??
Did you take your medication or not, or are you running out of medication??
But don't you find that there is double standard here?
So WP can stage protest at speaker's corner or not?
Fuck PAP for coming up with all these rules to suppress political activities.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:But don't you find that there is double standard here?
So WP can stage protest at speaker's corner or not?
Fuck PAP for coming up with all these rules to suppress political activities.
Certainly, i suggest the opposition organise lineskating event or disco nite for us young singaporeans, it will attract us, why go and attract those Old Uncles whose future here seem to be sinking already.
Anyway, we also dun give a damn about what PAP carnival. Guess those who attended are their own cronies. So dun bother ya.
Take your medicine already or not??
well it certainly does seem double standard.. but dun bother bothering la.. politics is juz a huge damned mess.
Originally posted by SBS7484P:well it certainly does seem double standard.. but dun bother bothering la.. politics is juz a huge damned mess.
ya, they even offer free SBS bus services to PAP carnival