Originally posted by domonkassyu:den mind to explain y our mother tongue is call 2nd language and english 1st language?n y lky only start to learn mandarin so late in his life?why was there no campaigns on speaking mother tongue way back??but only gt speak good english n stuff??
you type in what hah? third language hah?
because English was not really a local language. if the first language is Chinese, Malay will not be happy.
if first language is Malay, Chinese will not be happy.... Tamil no need to say.
English is the language of commerce.
He learn Mandarin late in life because Chinese language was not part of his upbringing....
In retrospect, English being the first language is probably what sets us apart from the other 3 Dragons.....
... also give him some credit for the understanding that Chinese, as a language, should not be neglected.
I am not saying that Westerners are good,becoz in every countries and races,there are bond to be good or bad ppl.But,what i want to say is that their democracy system is by far the best political system in the world.Thats why they are still strong and growing.
Lee Kuan Yew's view about them is totally out-dated.
... also give him some credit for the understanding that Chinese, as a language, should not be neglected.
He was the one that ruined the chinese language schools in the first place, how to give him credit?
Well....considering that the majority of those who make it here are well educated and/or rich, the cream of their society's crop so to say, why would it be surprising?
Caucasian females. I like. Are we easily impressed by caucasian females ? ;p
Originally posted by BadzMaro:Caucasian females. I like. Are we easily impressed by caucasian females ? ;p
LOL seconded...but as with locals, it depends on the kind of person the woman is.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Not all lah.
lol..i dun knw what u exp b4..n i knw not all..but thats the stereotype mahz...n they did have bigger cannons den the asians back den...tats y they are able to bully us..
Originally posted by Chin Eng:
you type in what hah? third language hah?because English was not really a local language. if the first language is Chinese, Malay will not be happy.
He learn Mandarin late in life because Chinese language was not part of his upbringing....
In retrospect, English being the first language is probably what sets us apart from the other 3 Dragons.....
nope,typed in 4th..3rd was vulgar language =)
the first language should be mother tongue.so if one is a mly,den mly is his/her 1st language,chinese,den mandarin first..etc..the y key here is mother tongue should be first.
english is a language of commerce cuz at one point the "guai low" were more powerful.
lky did not bother with chinese as its not his upbringing bcuz he was raised in a more westernised family backgnd. would a so called traditional chines family not teach the children to learn mandarin as a priority over english,an foreign language?
in retrospect,becuz we take english as a more impt language set us apart from other 3 wyrms in the sense that we have lost much of our own racial identity.if thats impt to people.thats y prc are despised on though we share the same root while caucasians are worshipped when they pointed cannons at our forefathers.
no doubt credit must be given to lky for enforcing english on us so that now we are able to communicate with caucasians for business that brings in money.
but no credit would be given to him for understanding chinese as a language should not be neglected for it was a political n commercial move as he saw china rising in power..
Originally posted by Chin Eng:
you type in what hah? third language hah?because English was not really a local language. if the first language is Chinese, Malay will not be happy.
nope,typed in 4th..3rd was vulgar language =)
the first language should be mother tongue.so if one is a mly,den mly is his/her 1st language,chinese,den mandarin first..etc..the y key here is mother tongue should be first.
english is a language of commerce cuz at one point the "guai low" were more powerful.
lky did not bother with chinese as its not his upbringing bcuz he was raised in a more westernised family backgnd. would a so called traditional chines family not teach the children to learn mandarin as a priority over english,an foreign language?
in retrospect,becuz we take english as a more impt language set us apart from other 3 wyrms in the sense that we have lost much of our own racial identity.if thats impt to people.thats y prc are despised on though we share the same root while caucasians are worshipped when they pointed cannons at our forefathers.
no doubt credit must be given to lky for enforcing english on us so that now we are able to communicate with caucasians for business that brings in money.
but no credit would be given to him for understanding chinese as a language should not be neglected for it was a political n commercial move as he saw china rising in power..
Considering that we just broke away from Malaysia, English was a pretty neutral language to pick for a common language.
If we insisted on Chinese or that all other races must practice their mother language as the 1st language it's just going to encourage racial division. So, picking English was not just an good economic choice, it was also good in a political and racial sense. Instead of just making the majority happy, you might as well make everyone unhappy.
And considering Chinese was the majority in Singapore but the minority in the immediate region it would be insensitive to promote it as a mother language then.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:
He was the one that ruined the chinese language schools in the first place, how to give him credit?
At least give him a "D+" lah. He is hakka correct??
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:LOL seconded...but as with locals, it depends on the kind of person the woman is.
And what kind of person you deem a woman should be?? before i tell you what kind of person a guy should be in a local scene.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:Considering that we just broke away from Malaysia, English was a pretty neutral language to pick for a common language.
If we insisted on Chinese or that all other races must practice their mother language as the 1st language it's just going to encourage racial division. So, picking English was not just an good economic choice, it was also good in a political and racial sense. Instead of just making the majority happy, you might as well make everyone unhappy.
And considering Chinese was the majority in Singapore but the minority in the immediate region it would be insensitive to promote it as a mother language then.
No, lah, at that time, chinese, malay, india, hindi, hokkien, all mess up, one dun understand the other..so in the end, let settle it for English. First lesson, one for all, and all for one.....
Then we invented Singlish...yeah!
Originally posted by angel7030:
And what kind of person you deem a woman should be?? before i tell you what kind of person a guy should be in a local scene.
Wow, angel is so serious. YOu mean there is different standards, expectations of guys in different locations?
Originally posted by domonkassyu:lol..i dun knw what u exp b4..n i knw not all..but thats the stereotype mahz...n they did have bigger cannons den the asians back den...tats y they are able to bully us..
Oh. cannot like that say.
You know.. the African Americans have bigger cannons than the caucasians leh. Then how come the AAs are not dominating the caucasians har ?
Your one is very flawed logic. Up there flawed never mind.. don't down there flaw is good already.
Originally posted by angel7030:
No, lah, at that time, chinese, malay, india, hindi, hokkien, all mess up, one dun understand the other..so in the end, let settle it for English. First lesson, one for all, and all for one.....
Then we invented Singlish...yeah!
How come no bardie complain about Pidgin eh ?
Singaporeans take too many things TOOO seriously already.
Everything also cannot.. this cannot that... harlow..
Why so UP tight one leh ? Relac lah.
Actually is not we work up, is foreigners too slack.
Look at the economy of the western countries, its crawling like a snail.
Thats one plus point why we survive and prosper till now.
Instead of just making the majority happy, you might as well make everyone unhappy.
Is that logical?
If PAP thinks in this way, Singaporeans will never be happy under their rule.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Is that logical?
Actually is...
Is it practical?
I would say their language policies have largely been disastrous and a failure.
We can see a lot of "speak good english" and "speak mandarin" campaigns.
This shows the flaws and failures of their education programs.
It cannot train a person to speak a language properly.
Everything becomes messed up.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I would say their language policies have largely been disastrous and a failure.
May be they have not been doing enough to educate people to speak well. On the other hand, learning a language also depends very much on the people/learners.
At least give him a "D+" lah. He is hakka correct??
You are right, that was my error.
Actually most chinese in the 1950s, 60s did not speak mandarin.
They spoke dialect.
So to criticise Lee Kuan Yew for being lousy at mandarin is unfair.
I withdraw my criticism of Lee Kuan Yew on this point.
That was my mistake.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:You are right, that was my error.
Actually most chinese in the 1950s, 60s did not speak mandarin.
They spoke dialect.
So to criticise Lee Kuan Yew for being lousy at mandarin is unfair.
I withdraw my criticism of Lee Kuan Yew on this point.
That was my mistake.
We have not heard him speaking hakka before, so ??
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I would say their language policies have largely been disastrous and a failure.
well, when you meet any singaporean on the street, below the age of 30... do you think you will have problem talking to them?
not many people is a master linguist, but i think they are at least able to communicate with each other regardless of race, and religion.
the speak good mandarin thingie is just trying to make things better... doubt it will work... PAP is not that good a government as you think they are. but dual language is something i do agree on.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:
.... and the reason was the Communist elements that was quite common in such schools. It was NOT about the language per se.