In alot of countries with a presidental election, there is usually a term limit for the president, ranging from 8-10 years.
So do you think there should be a term limit for singapore as well? In regards to the Prime minster?
Although we need to bear in mind the potential benefit and disadvantage of a term limit.
No term limit means the government can plan in the long term, while having a term limt means the party may be able to plan things in the short term only.
Originally posted by ray245:In alot of countries with a presidental election, there is usually a term limit for the president, ranging from 8-10 years.
So do you think there should be a term limit for singapore as well? In regards to the Prime minster?
Although we need to bear in mind the potential benefit and disadvantage of a term limit.
No term limit means the government can plan in the long term, while having a term limt means the party may be able to plan things in the short term only.
there is never any term limit for PMs. only some of the heads of states have term limits.
so that's why our government is head by a PM (which is not limited by a term limit), instead of a president.
Term?? what term, you guys mandated the PAP to govt singapore thru election, and within their echelon, they will elect their PM, and they do change PM too, LKY to GCT and now LHL. So? What is the problem? If you dun like them, just dun vote them the next time lah.
will not happen here.
Originally posted by angel7030:Term?? what term, you guys mandated the PAP to govt singapore thru election, and within their echelon, they will elect their PM, and they do change PM too, LKY to GCT and now LHL. So? What is the problem? If you dun like them, just dun vote them the next time lah.
the point is that they choose their PM after they as MPs were elected. we don't get to choose our PM.
Originally posted by deathmaster:
the point is that they choose their PM after they as MPs were elected. we don't get to choose our PM.
Of course you dun get to choose, you endorsed the party to be the govt ruling you for the next 4 to 5 years, and under their consitutions, they will hold a referendum to elect a PM thru a proposal follow by voting within themselves under close door. You just sit back and relax and see how they perform, if they are no good, after 4 to 5 years, you vote another party lah.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Of course you dun get to choose, you endorsed the party to be the govt ruling you for the next 4 to 5 years, and under their consitutions, they will hold a referendum to elect a PM thru a proposal follow by voting within themselves under close door. You just sit back and relax and see how they perform, if they are no good, after 4 to 5 years, you vote another party lah.
but the outcome will always be the same wad.
Originally posted by deathmaster:
but the outcome will always be the same wad.
but you give them the power wat?? Under democracy system, they got 66.6% votes, so they play the game for another 4-5 years till the next election..and if they wins again..the outcome will still be the same.
No term limit means the government can plan in the long term
Plan what in long term?
ERPs? GSTs?
Increase population to 6 million?
Long term plan for minister pay increase to ten million?
long term investments?
I raise hands and legs to agree with you, angel. No point of talking when there is no action to get rid of the ruling party.
No term limit for PM is for the convenience of old man for his control. Wait and see if they will set term limit after old man passes on.
Originally posted by angel7030:but you give them the power wat?? Under democracy system, they got 66.6% votes, so they play the game for another 4-5 years till the next election..and if they wins again..the outcome will still be the same.
The thing is,in US presidential system, no person is allowed to stay / remained as President for more than 2 terms.
Originally posted by qpicanto:The thing is,in US presidential system, no person is allowed to stay / remained as President for more than 2 terms.
Both US and Taiwan practice the same. This is fair.
Originally posted by ray245:In alot of countries with a presidental election, there is usually a term limit for the president, ranging from 8-10 years.
Our gahmen will tell you we are uniquely Sg don't need to follow others!
Even China has a maximum term for her leaders.
North Korea would definitely not implement such a rule, likewise for Singapore. ![]()
I think they will say that we do not have enough talent, so no term limits.
unlimited term is not singapore's doing. it is inherited from the brits. obviously, it fits into singapore's miw's gameplan.
this is a moot discussion.
Yeah I know...but this is a simple thread discussing the idea and benefits/negative of a term limit.
And in mind that one of the longest president and one of their best president Franklin D. (Delano) Roosevelt served for 4 till his death.
He basically secured the US as a world global superpower in this world.
Of course, good leaders don't come often.
Originally posted by qpicanto:The thing is,in US presidential system, no person is allowed to stay / remained as President for more than 2 terms.
Exactly, so they changed the person from Lee KY to Goh CT and then recently Lee HL. But then we are not US of A, we are Republic of Singapore. One nation, one singapore, One PAP and One PM.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
Even China has a maximum term for her leaders.
North Korea would definitely not implement such a rule, likewise for Singapore.
But China dun hold election, election and voting is democracy, but not on communist soil.
Originally posted by angel7030:But China dun hold election, election and voting is democracy, but not on communist soil.
Think China do hold elections but for low level officials only
Originally posted by qpicanto:
Think China do hold elections but for low level officials only
they elect and appoint their leaders from one generation to another, but no voting.
Exactly, so they changed the person from Lee KY to Goh CT and then recently Lee HL. But then we are not US of A, we are Republic of Singapore. One nation, one singapore, One PAP and One PM.
So our former prime ministers do have a fixed term huh?![]()
Originally posted by qpicanto:So our former prime ministers do have a fixed term huh?
No, the decision to retire is decided by the PM retiring committee within the PAP govt. Whoever is the PM is decided by the committee set up by the PAP who the citizens elected and endorsed them to be their govt