Originally posted by angel7030:
My maid call me Miss, not mom, from now on you call me Miss, my grandma as Mom, my Dad as Sir and my Dad's mistress as Mattress.
Understand.??
if i call your grandma as mom... and she is your grandma.... that makes me your uncle!! than your dad is my bro, call him sir ok loh...
Shhh.. don't talk so loud about the mistress lah!!
call you Miss? i will call you miss nephew la
Originally posted by Beautiful951:Err according to my interpretation of your dream, the world is going to be totally messy.
that's why it is a dream, not the world, haha...
the world now is already messy rnough le
Why not? It's not rocket science...I simply mean that there is an institution that promotes the growth of students as people rather than future labourers, in science labs or engineering sites, or one of the "hubs" singapore is trying so very hard to become.
Originally posted by Tenebrae:Why not? It's not rocket science...I simply mean that there is an institution that promotes the growth of students as people rather than future labourers, in science labs or engineering sites, or one of the "hubs" singapore is trying so very hard to become.
oh, like nursery schools? singapore have those too.
Originally posted by skythewood:that's why it is a dream, not the world, haha...
the world now is already messy rnough le
har nor har nor. If your dream comes true? Siao liao. Nobody climb mount everest liao. nothing to do liao.
We need more citizens.
So that they can continue to contribute their money to the CPF Board. ![]()
Gosh you sure are cynical...Alright, since you were the one that first said "You had a dream" I just trying to say that we can realise that dream, there are those who are already living it, though i must admit they tend to be rolling in cash. So all we have to do is find a way that the ordinary people can make it there too, instead of simply dreaming.
Originally posted by Tenebrae:Gosh you sure are cynical...Alright, since you were the one that first said "You had a dream" I just trying to say that we can realise that dream, there are those who are already living it, though i must admit they tend to be rolling in cash. So all we have to do is find a way that the ordinary people can make it there too, instead of simply dreaming.
actually, i was serious... i don't understand the school system you said. what you described is similar to a nursery school, where kids don't excel in studies, but will become a better person...
so can you describe your system again, please?
| 1. | To focus on the individual needs of every student and to provide a supportive atmosphere designed to help students achieve personal academic goals. |
| 2. | To sustain modern teaching policies and methods which give students positive attitudes to learning. |
| 3. | To maintain a "worldwide family" approach at school and help students to overcome any biased attitudes towards other cultures. |
| 4. | To work in open partnership with parents to prepare students for the changing world they will experience. |
| 5. | To cultivate flexible approaches to problem solving which help students develop original thinking skills. |
| 6. | To inspire each student to his or her potential level of achievement in a school where happy self-discipline and self-respect are guidelines for behaviour. |
This would be the OFS academic objective *Points to the chart above*
This is their programme for "elementary school" which is the equivalent of primary schools
| Elementary School Level |
The Primary Years Programme is an Inquiry-based curriculum which encourages students to develop the conceptual understanding, knowledge and skills they need, to become life long learners.
The skill areas of thinking, communication, self-management, social skills and research are developed in the context of meaningful situations. Equally important is the emphasis on the development of positive attitudes and the ability to take responsible action when and if required.
Through a structured Integrated Studies program, the students learn higher level questioning skills. The topics studied have been carefully selected, based on their relevance and significance.
The same goes to the other levels though ofcourse it gets tougher as it proceeds...
nice reply. i will attempt to see the diff between singapore and OFS doctrine
1. To focus on the individual needs of every student and to provide a supportive atmosphere designed to help students achieve personal academic goals.
sg teachers job is to make sure you pass your test, ask the friend help you, or personally teach one or one if needed
2. To sustain modern teaching policies and methods which give students positive attitudes to learning.
not expert in modern teaching method. think the sg teacher got use OHP and powerpoint woh
3. To maintain a "worldwide family" approach at school and help students to overcome any biased attitudes towards other cultures.
sg only have racial harmony day. think the student population is always a mixed though,
4. To work in open partnership with parents to prepare students for the changing world they will experience.
in sg, if the kid misbehave, the principal will call the parents down. if kids got problem, parents will complain to principal, so that is communication with parents bah.
5. To cultivate flexible approaches to problem solving which help students develop original thinking skills.
sg trying to get more project work. not sure what other policy to add le.
6. To inspire each student to his or her potential level of achievement in a school where happy self-discipline and self-respect are guidelines for behaviour.
if the student can score well, teacher sure help. if the student is the star foorballer, the school sure support.
this type of thing also need to argue?
he describing the system to me, and together, we trying to see ways to improve sg system... don't think is arguing.
arguing is more reserved for people who insults each other like kids bah... this is more debating
Originally posted by skythewood:he describing the system to me, and together, we trying to see ways to improve sg system... don't think is arguing.
arguing is more reserved for people who insults each other like kids bah... this is more debating
As you wish
I intend to become a teacher in the nearby future, that is if things go as planned, as they have a habit of not doing so in this world, oddly enough. I agree with your views and think that it's time for a radical change, and perhaps I myself will spearhead it.
I love the ancient Greek way of teaching, to question and answer, and question the answer, my students I hope will question even me, and love me for it. To develop a passion for learning, not because you can earn money with knowledge but because it is beautiful to behold the world with that knowledge, for you will never see things the same ever again. Carpe Diem!!
good luck in future endeavours, and keep the spirit
Question is, whether such an education system if introduced would be opposed by the majority of the people. It doesn't help if I were to dream, but the people don't see it the same way, and whether the government would lock me up for being a dangerous element and kill me on the pretext of corrupting the youth like they did to Socrates.
Originally posted by skythewood:
I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: “We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal.”
Right now it is proportionate to a person wealth . . . which put me below the radar of justness.
Very strong words there! That's your nation creed?
Buat again I guess the Lees do not consider themselves mankind. They consider themselves above the law both God's and men's . They have US$ 10 billion dollar(though only 10 billion compared to 35 billion of the king of Thailand) but they do run the country's wealth so add another US100.00 billion.
The purse of tyranny! The support of insanity, cruelty, vanity and deceit!
Originally posted by skythewood:good luck in future endeavours, and keep the spirit
Don't worry you'll do great things! Only great men dare to dream while the others cowered into silence!
Originally posted by Miracles&Prophecies:Right now it is proportionate to a person wealth . . . which put me below the radar of justness.
Very strong words there! That's your nation creed?
Buat again I guess the Lees do not consider themselves mankind. They consider themselves above the law both God's law and human law. They have US$ 10 billion dollar(though only 10 billion compared to 35 billion of the king of Thailand) but they do run the country's wealth so add another US100.00 billion.
we the citizens of Singapore
pledged ourselves to be one united people
regardless of race, language or religion,
to build a democratic society, base on justice and equality,
so as to acheive happiness, prosperity, and progress for our nation.
think that is the creed
Originally posted by Miracles&Prophecies:Don't worry you'll do great things! Only great men dare to dream while the others cowered into silence!
great man got wet dream or not??
Originally posted by angel7030:
great man got wet dream or not??
I suppose no since they can get any girls they want?![]()