Originally posted by Genie99a:So those migrating are trash lol. You are so jealous I don't even know where to begin.
Try to be subjective instead of chanting "Singapore Singapore" slogans.
Singapore should look into the pull factors that result in migration and address them..... if its not realistically possible let the people understand that and point out the qualities of Singapore that competitor nations can't offer. Don't avoid the issue, address it publicly and let the public know the steps taken to improve the current standard of living.
That would at least assure the people that the govt knows and cares about their well being and the countries shortcomings.
This female is very well known for being nasty in sgforums, as if the whole world has offended her. She is extremely problematic.
The prob with the current ruling party is that they are more self serving, placing their selfish interest before the citizens. Unless they change, if not don't expect anything positive they will do to improve situation.
Originally posted by Tenebrae:You've all made it clear to me that we're led by despicable despots, and I won't bother to ask why you haven't revolted because your obvious reply would be that it's impossible. Now...Our standard of living has dropped...I will only ask why, the reply I expect would be, "It's the despotic government's fault", we're being oppressed and the government's corrupt, but you do nothing about it, because again it is impossible, why may I ask? "Because L.K.Y has told us he'd cleave us with his sharp hatchet he carries in his bag, so we cower in silence". It strikes me, that not only is our government dishonourable, but the people's actions have not proven to be very honourable in any way. It's so depressing I'm laughing hysterically here.
I stated before that I woul die for my fellow Singaporean, that includes his family. Will you not die for mine? You say you live for your family, well so do I...so will you not live for mine, and I for your's? You call me naive, but yet you show me no better example. True enough I've been inspired by Braveheart and Gladiator...but these people especially for Braveheart did exist...Braveheart as William Wallace of scotland who is their national hero, and by the way, Scotland gained it's freedom after William Wallace died and then a Scottish king at on the English throne, some time later, joining the two countries. To this day, the scottish do not call themselves "English", but "Scots". Honour, courage exists and it does pay to have them.
We are the citizens of Singapore, and I will be twenty one next year, old enough to vote. Tell me, should I be "realistic" and vote for the PAP then? I am lost, to tell the truth, I have the stories of great men as examples, but no one I can follow. Tell me then, what should I do?
William Wallace is fictional lah dude. Vote for PAP if u like paying money and u desire 6 million pple staying here as envisioned by them.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
eh... it is more like, those that survive and make good in Singapore leave to enjoy their hard work instead of having to pay through their noses for despots to take their (public) money...
Although it may sounds like a really cool thing to do as Singaporeans to migrate after they have really make good in Singapore.
But as a Singaporean yourself and living among Singaporeans, would you leave and migrate when you're doing good in Singapore? Not many Singaporeans have that kind of exploration spirits as mentioned by you, most are insecure and will be happy to stay on and enjoy their lives with their loved ones in Singapore IF they are doing good here.
It may looked like a valid argument point you have there, but it's just not a sensible point worthy of mentionng it in the first place.
Originally posted by parn:Although it may sounds like a really cool thing to do as Singaporeans to migrate after they have really make good in Singapore.
But as a Singaporean yourself and living among Singaporeans, would you leave and migrate when you're doing good in Singapore? Not many Singaporeans have that kind of exploration spirits as mentioned by you, most are insecure and will be happy to stay on and enjoy their lives with their loved ones in Singapore IF they are doing good here.
It may looked like a valid arugment point you have there, but it's just not a sensible point worthy of mentionng it in the first place.
His "argument" is neither valid nor sensible, it's a whole lot of barking.
And not everyone who's from Singapore is either trash or insecure...the world and the opportunities out there are much, much bigger. People have the right to fulfill their dreams elsewhere if they cannot be realised here. I know that when I graduate, my field here is too small and not paid enough attention. ![]()
those singaporean just expects much from the government...they expect the government to serve them with pillows to sit on
just like how indonesians expect alot and like to complain about their government except they are too poor to migrate...
Originally posted by angel7030:
That is what our govt plan to do, give you no option
LOL..agree loh. Just stay and rot here loh.
Originally posted by Deino:those singaporean just expects much from the government...they expect the government to serve them with pillows to sit on
just like how indonesians expect alot and like to complain about their government except they are too poor to migrate...
Singapore government also expect alot for Singaporean, They everytime want pay raise..and they get it loh.
I think is fair to demand better improvement between government and citizen.
Originally posted by angel7030:
If you keep thinking of monie, monie dun come in, try to think of creating monie than making monie.
Read carefully. I said think of making monie. Not just think about monie.
Originally posted by Genie99a:So those migrating are trash lol. You are so jealous I don't even know where to begin.
Singapore should look into the pull factors that result in migration and address them..... if its not realistically possible let the people understand that and point out the qualities of Singapore that competitor nations can't offer. Don't avoid the issue, address it publicly and let the public know the steps taken to improve the current standard of living.
That would at least assure the people that the govt knows and cares about their well being and the countries shortcomings.
Trash are referring to people who are not able to survive in Singapore and have no choice but to migrate in hope of doing better elsewhere.
I mentioned "socially convince" which is only meant for trash. So if a person migrates because their friends/environment/society makes them feel rejected, and they are encouraged by these factors to migrate.....then yes, that person is a trash.
Not all Singaporeans who migrated are trash, hence I provided the explaination above.
I believed you're a guy, cos like the rest of them who flame me because they choose NOT TO UNDERSTAND my post, only proves one point.
Guys...they just don't get it with girls. ![]()
Originally posted by yamizi:Read carefully. I said think of making monie. Not just think about monie.
In Africa, we called it making "MULA". ![]()
It is common for someone to leave from state 1 to state 2 in big countries. Singapore is such a small place with limited resources. Even if one leaves for another countries, will their existence ( here or not here ) make a difference in the homeland?
Cheers...this is some constructive discussion....then just reply for the sick of replying..
Rock^star
Please do your research before you attempt to correct me. William Wallace is a historical figure in case you didn't know, go wiki it if you doubt me. You seem to only provide me with information that I already know, as in regarding the state of affairs in singapore. Unlike certain people, I'd rather stay and change things here than to flee, simply because it is alot easier to run away than to face the problem.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:yes, the foreign workers here work hard then go back home to enjoy the fruits of their hard work.
You envy them? but do you have what it takes to join them?
Have you heard of FTs recruited to be trained and work in Singapore but eventually are being poached by other countries like the Persian Gulf states or Australia? You think that Singapore's PR or citizenship is more prestigious than the green card?
PAP's FT policies are a joke.
Originally posted by parn:
Trash are referring to people who are not able to survive in Singapore and have no choice but to migrate in hope of doing better elsewhere.
what so hard about surviving in Singapore when 80% of the population cant speak properly ?
Originally posted by googoomuck:Have you heard of FTs recruited to be trained and work in Singapore but eventually are being poached by other countries like the Persian Gulf states or Australia? You think that Singapore's PR or citizenship is more prestigious than the green card?
PAP's FT policies are a joke.
its not as prestigious as... but...
call it a springboard citizenship status so as to jump ship to western countries... application made more easier, more speedier, and the relevance reference checks, protocols processes...etc.
I have listened to both sides of the story and staying in Singapore and living overseas both have their benefits and flaws. I have often asked myself and my friends their point of view and would like to relate the benefits of living and working in Singapore as compared to living and working overseas. This is an important decision for Singaporeans studying overseas to make when the Graduation approaches. It's really up to the individual to decide for himself but the best way to find out is try out both experiences and determine what is best for you.
Living in Singapore
Advantages
1) Close to family members and childhood friends
2) Takeaways are convienient and taste good
3) Excellent Job Prospects if you are in an industry supported by the Goverment at the moment.
5) Lower Tax and Better Healthcare System
Disadvantages
1) Have to work long working hours to stay competitive in the business
2) Singaporean Salaries are lower than other leading countries (US, Europe) . This explains why FTs are paid more in order to bring them over.
3) Preference by the Goverment to support certain industries only (Research, Biotech)
4) High inflation cost
5) Most Singaporeans tend to lack assertiveness and take offence to positive criticism.
Living Overseas
Advantages
1) Good salaries, and working for established organisations recognised by the world.
2) 37-40 hours work week on average (shorter working hours)
3) Healthier Homecook Meals
4) More free speech, as a result of this, I have learnt more about how gays and lesbians get persecuted in Singapore and they have no choice but to work overseas.
Disadvantages
1) Being apart from the family
2) Going back to Singapore becomes a holiday (a real holiday!)
3) Overseas foreigners believe that there is a glass ceiling that prevents them from reaching Senior Management Post in big MNCs.
4) Most local food delights are available overseas but not all. (Like Hokkien Mee)
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Its your ancestors who left China for singapore, not your descendents.
ever ask your parents why your ancestors left China for Singapore, and not Australia from the very beginning?
Lol i stand corrected .... most embaressing yes i meant ancestors.
Yes I have ... cause they were farmers and life was harsh in China back then so they decided to try their luck in Singapore.
not that I don't want to remain in singapore.... I love my country, I will never give up my citizenship. I dun need big house big car big space, hdb is good enough for me. But my field is almost nonexistent in Singapore (although me and some close buddies are trying to change that). After going all the way to foreign country and studying there it would be a waste to just return to singapore and try and fit myself into a 'lucrative niche' market at home when I can gain more experience overseas. Then after gaining that experience I can return and impart what I have learnt, which would be more worthwhile than coming back as a fresh grad just to try and get more money cuz of overseas paper.
I dunno bout other people but this is just my perspective as 'one of those 'leaving singaporeans'.
Originally posted by Vaor:not that I don't want to remain in singapore.... I love my country, I will never give up my citizenship. I dun need big house big car big space, hdb is good enough for me. But my field is almost nonexistent in Singapore (although me and some close buddies are trying to change that). After going all the way to foreign country and studying there it would be a waste to just return to singapore and try and fit myself into a 'lucrative niche' market at home when I can gain more experience overseas. Then after gaining that experience I can return and impart what I have learnt, which would be more worthwhile than coming back as a fresh grad just to try and get more money cuz of overseas paper.
I dunno bout other people but this is just my perspective as 'one of those 'leaving singaporeans'.
You could for example, think, "This is my country, even if "my field is almost nonexistent in Singapore " I will stay to serve this country."
But the fact is, you will never think like that because, this is not "your country" this country has been taken over by despots enriching themselves with public money and their as-snifing dogs. I support your decision, if it does not benefit you to stay, get out.
Trash are referring to people who are not able to survive in Singapore and have no choice but to migrate in hope of doing better elsewhere.I mentioned "socially convince" which is only meant for trash. So if a person migrates because their friends/environment/society makes them feel rejected, and they are encouraged by these factors to migrate.....then yes, that person is a trash.
Not all Singaporeans who migrated are trash, hence I provided the explaination above.
Your original post did not define your explanation of "trash" and i had made a wrong assumption as you have claimed i do apologize.
I believed you're a guy, cos like the rest of them who flame me because they choose NOT TO UNDERSTAND my post, only proves one point.
Guys...they just don't get it with girls.
Lol yer cute ... yes i'm a guy.
I did not *choose* to not understand .... I did not understand period lol. You used the word trash loosely and the readers inteprated it wrong. Nobody's fault.
Girls..... If only they just came out and said what they want instead of anticipating guys to imagine their needs.
Trash are referring to people who are not able to survive in Singapore and have no choice but to migrate in hope of doing better elsewhere.I mentioned "socially convince" which is only meant for trash. So if a person migrates because their friends/environment/society makes them feel rejected, and they are encouraged by these factors to migrate.....then yes, that person is a trash.
Guys...they just don't get it with girls.
Ow! now then u know guys dun get it with us, since the begining of time, they never get it with us...so nowaday, they prefer to get along with each other rather than with gal.
Originally posted by Genie99a:
Girls..... If only they just came out and said what they want instead of anticipating guys to imagine their needs.
Girls only drop hint, if we are to just said it, no more fun for you.
Originally posted by Deino:those singaporean just expects much from the government...they expect the government to serve them with pillows to sit on
Indo govt is different from Sing govt, for sg govt, we should hv the rite to complain about them as we paid them damn high salary you know, so if they are not performing, dun tell me we are going to keep quiet huh.
Originally posted by HyperionDCZ:
what so hard about surviving in Singapore when 80% of the population cant speak properly ?
the problem is that the other 20% who thot they speak properly are squeezing the other 80% of their money and status.