Dear lionnoisy,
you've got your living examples of ppl living well in OZ without problems.
Or does the examples, clearly not in-favour of your arguement is being strike off by your see only what you want to see, listen to only what you want to hear, type of approach?
Originally posted by leilan84:Dear lionnoisy,
Or does the examples, clearly not in-favour of your arguement is being strike off by your see only what you want to see, listen to only what you want to hear, type of approach?
Dear leilan,
5% is the chance that u would be a victim of oz personal crime, in 2005!!
So what u have read were the lucky 95%.
http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/[email protected]/mf/4509.0
For personal crime, the victimisation prevalence rate for 2005 remained unchanged from the 2002 figure of 5.3%.
CRIME VICTIMISATION RATES
@@@@@@@@@@
u can know more about crime rate in your future neighbour in NSW
http://www.lawlink.nsw.gov.au/lawlink/bocsar/ll_bocsar.nsf/pages/bocsar_crime_stats
| Local government area crime maps - 2006 to 2007 |
LGA Crime Maps |
In NSW ,with a population of 6.9 million,like HK,25 ATM
were blown up in 2008!!This kind of robbing banks in hard core way still
continue.
The explosion follows a string of ATM blasts in NSW and Queensland over the past few months, including two in Sydney's North Shore in February.
On February 11, a bank and buildings around it were seriously damaged after an ATM blast at a shopping centre on Mona Vale Road, St Ives.
On February 4, masked bandits escaped with cash after an ATM was blown up at Military Road in Neutral Bay.
There were 25 ATM blasts in NSW last year, where millions of dollars were stolen, police said. But they said most of the explosions were unsuccessful
http://www.smh.com.au/national/bomb-bandits-blow-up-lane-cove-atm-20090415-a6f3.html

ATM blast ... a police officer investigates. Photo: Nick Moir
@@@@
NSW offers a reward of A$100,000!!
u can read the spate of crime here.
http://www.police.nsw.gov.au/news/media_release_archives
search ATM.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
If the figures are there,some one HAVE to be victims to materliase
the figures,.Right?
I am always wandering why no international medias report series
of crimes,like ATM blown up, and serious crimes in oz,like drive by shooting,
in oz.
If not the airport killing case ,u never read news of crime in oz.
If the bureau chief of western news agencies in oz dunt allow the dispatch
of crimes in oz?Or the HQ of news agencies dunt allow?
Do they think the crimes news in oz dunt fit the image of oz?
@@@@@@@@@@@@
REKO RENNIE 9:40am | Grandmother describes terror after home in Melbourne's north blasted six times
@@@@@@@@@@@@@2
i think you have flogged your atm blast rubbish to death already. it is in fact a lump of pulp.
pls use new e.g. to humor us.
Originally posted by lionnoisy:
Dear leilan,
5% is the chance that u would be a victim of oz personal crime, in 2005!!
So what u have read were the lucky 95%.
http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/[email protected]/mf/4509.0
CRIME VICTIMISATION RATES
@@@@@@@@@@u can know more about crime rate in your future neighbour in NSW
http://www.lawlink.nsw.gov.au/lawlink/bocsar/ll_bocsar.nsf/pages/bocsar_crime_stats
Local government area crime maps - 2006 to 2007
LGA Crime Maps
Now do you know why you've been pwned so badly?
you asked for examples of ppl living in OZ, you got them now.
Yet you refuse to accept it and try to force your view on me/us?
It is a total waste of time to talk to someone as thick headed as you.
Originally posted by leilan84:Now do you know why you've been pwned so badly?
you asked for examples of ppl living in OZ, you got them now.
Yet you refuse to accept it and try to force your view on me/us?
It is a total waste of time to talk to someone as thick headed as you.
I agree and trust that our frens here did not experience crimes in oz.
But it is a number game.with abt 7500 cases per 100,000 of populations
in major cities in oz,some pple have to suffer to make up the number.
how do u feel when the bikie gangs get AK 47,Sub machine guns,
police uniforms ,badge,army helmets and drugs etc!!
They are really prepareing for a war--with police?
Gallery: What the police found
Machineguns found in bikie raid
http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/story/0,22049,25416131-5001021,00.html
ll

NSW Police Force and the Australian Crime Commission have seized a cache of weapons and prohibited items including a Thompson sub-machine gun, handguns, military assault rifles and ballistic vests, during a raid at Kogarah in Sydney¿s south today. Pic. Media Police

,,,,kk
The chance that a Singaporean or ex Singaporean will be attacked by the bikie gang in Australia is about the same as a Singapore woman getting raped in Singapore....
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:The chance that a Singaporean or ex Singaporean will be attacked by the bikie gang in Australia is about the same as a Singapore woman getting raped in Singapore....
any one stay in any where is subject to the crime rate,disregard of citizenships!!
Originally posted by lionnoisy:I agree and trust that our frens here did not experience crimes in oz.
But it is a number game.with abt 7500 cases per 100,000 of populations
in major cities in oz,some pple have to suffer to make up the number.
how do u feel when the bikie gangs get AK 47,Sub machine guns,
police uniforms ,badge,army helmets and drugs etc!!
They are really prepareing for a war--with police?
Gallery: What the police found
Machineguns found in bikie raid
http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/story/0,22049,25416131-5001021,00.html
ll
NSW Police Force and the Australian Crime Commission have seized a cache of weapons and prohibited items including a Thompson sub-machine gun, handguns, military assault rifles and ballistic vests, during a raid at Kogarah in Sydney¿s south today. Pic. Media Police
,,,,kk
So you're agreeing with me? but yet playing the number game? Do OZ have workers who don't get their pay on time? and have protest in their M.O.M(i don't know what it is called in OZ).?
Do OZ citizens need to starve when they're out of Job?
Do OZ citizens get priority compared to foreigners?
Do OZ citizens male citizens need to spend 2 years of cheap labours?
Do OZ citizens need to be pwned so badly by their government telling them that their wages is too high and thus uncompetitive?
etc etc....
you want to compare? compare everything!
FM 93.3: Hear only the good things
lionnoisy: Hear only the bad things
Where is the best place to be a pedophiles?
U and i may have different ideas on how to punish a pedophiles.
Or we may have a different yard stick to define a pedophiles.
Read this news carefully .I am sick of this kind of justice system.
Just protect the criminals!!Therefore i copy and paste this sick news
http://www.news.com.au/story/0,,25189125-2,00.html
Sunday Herald Sun
March 15, 2009 12:00am
And not one sex offender found guilty of rape received a maximum sentence in the five years to mid-2006.
The
Crime Victims Support Association wants more done, including compulsory
sex offenders programs, electric bracelet monitoring on release and
optional surgical castration for recidivist sex criminals.
A Sunday Herald Sun investigation in Victoria can reveal:
TWO-THIRDS
of offenders convicted of sexual penetration of a child aged between 10
and 16 -- or 109 criminals - received no custodial sentence.
THE
average sentence given for a number of different violent sex crimes was
five times shorter than the maximum possible sentence.
AND
pedophiles jailed for attacking children under 10 received an average
sentence of three years, seven months - less than one-sixth of the
25-year maximum.
The data come from the most recent five-year snapshot by the Sentencing Advisory Council of the county and supreme courts for convicted offenders whose principal offence was rape or penetration of a minor.
The shocking revelations come after Chief Commissioner Simon Overland said some sex predators should be locked up for life.
Victoria's
"kid gloves" treatment of sex criminals has come under consistent fire
from crime victim advocates, who say notorious offenders have been
given soft treatment, including:
DAVID Leslie Sims, the rapist
chef, who walked from court after being convicted of breaking into a
Melbourne woman's home and raping her twice.
PEDOPHILE
Catholic school principal Marist Brother Gerard Joseph McNamara, 67,
was spared jail for sexually abusing seven male pupils aged 11 to 14 in
the early 1970s.
KEITH George Ryrie, who was sentenced to hang
for raping and killing a girl, 5, in 1966, but whose sentence was
commuted to 50 years, then a 26-year minimum, and who has been back in
the community since 1993.
SERIAL rapist William Craig Forde,
whose victims include a mother he raped 22 times, was given an
indefinite sentence to be reviewed in 17 years.
Rape has a
25-year maximum jail sentence, sexual penetration of a child aged 10 to
16 under the offender's care has a 15-year maximum, and offences while
not in offenders' care have a 10-year maximum.
But for the five years to 2005-06, the most anyone has received for rape as a principal offence was 20 years.
And 12 per cent of those, or 21 convicted rapists over the period, received no jail time.
The average jail time for rapists given a custodial sentence was five years - or one-fifth of the maximum sentence.
The average sentence given for pedophilia offences was also one-fifth or less of the maximum.
more sick news
Crimes rate of Oz metro are few times higher than New York,LA,Las Vegas etc
We have been taught ,through US movies and TV series,
that US metro cities,like NY,LA,Las Vegas are crime infested.
U may be right,until u read official info.
The average crime rate of Oz metro cities is about
7500 cases per 100,000 population.
u can see here
PR-
219-08
June 9, 2008
MAYOR BLOOMBERG AND POLICE COMMISSIONER KELLY ANNOUNCE NEW YORK CITY
REMAINS THE SAFEST BIG CITY IN AMERICA ACCORDING TO FBI UNIFORM CRIME
The following chart shows where New York City ranked in the Total Crime Index for the nation's largest cities.
| Rank Year End 2007 | City | Crimes per 100,000 people |
| 1 | Dallas | 7,845.20 |
| 2 | San Antonio | 6,946.00 |
| 3 | Houston | 6,816.60 |
| 4 | Phoenix | 6,550.20 |
| 5 | Philadelphia | 5,780.10 |
| 6 | Las Vegas | 5,408.60 |
| 7 | San Diego | 4,004.10 |
| 8 | Los Angeles | 3,339.60 |
| 9 | San Jose | 2,976.90 |
| 10 | New York | 2,432.30 |
It is really none of our business whether their crime rates are high.
bo liao
u can read from my opening post in this thread that--
Summary
In Victoria of Australia,a state of about 5 million,
the average crime rate for
2006/2007 and 2007/2008 is 7,256/100,000 population.
ie (7327 + 7185)/2.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@
So,the Oz crime rate is on the upper band of US cities!!
To be precise,Victoria in Oz,for example,is the second highest city
in crime rate if she is situated in USA!!
See to believe?
to lionnoisy:
i take it u intend to go to oz n become rapist or robber.that also needs skills n experience!but dunno if they would be lenient to u in prison.mebbe the prisoners will bash u up inside fer takin away their jobs.
I invite Sg Ty continue our friendly and open discussion here from
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/352851?page=6#post_9136295
Loansharking : PAP govt's brilliant solution
6,514 posts since Jan '03---03 june 2009.. 12.26 am
Times are bad and the number of loanshark harassment cases has climbed sharply. Police had to deal a total of 4000 cases in the first 3 months of this year. But don't worry our Home Affairs Minister has come up with a brilliant solution to reduce the number of cases our police have to handle:
"The ministry will also consider making borrowing from loansharks an offence."- DPM Wong Kan Seng.[Link]."This would be good news for us. If the police arrest those who borrow, they won't dare to report us when we harass them," - Loanshark who welcomes the move[Link],If you still don't understand how brilliant this solution is, let me explain. The police has to handle so many cases of loansharking because the victims go to the police for help. By criminalising borrowing from loansharks, the victims of loanshark harassment now cannot go to the police for help because they themselves will be arrested for borrowing from the loansharks. The police will see a sharp drop in the number of cases and the govt can say the problem is solved! Briliant! Bravo! Now victims of loansharks have to suffer quietly. This will free up vast amounts of resources - there will be more police to handle those pesky opposition members and peaceful protestors who break our new our public order laws. I thought sending our old folks to JB was the best idea for the year -I was wrong.... this one is a lot more brilliant!
posted by LuckySingaporean at 6:59 PM
<!-- End .post --><!-- Begin #comments -->
59 Comments:
Wow MHA solve problem by punishing the people who were facing the problem.
Now wonder Mas Selamat can escape so easily for more than 1 year now.By
Onlooker, at 7:28 PM
hmm... filming an illegal event is criminalized, borrowing money from illegal loansharks may be made a criminal offense.. What's next? Maybe they'll penalize victims from rape, theft, murder.. etc in future.
By
Anonymous, at 8:14 PM
This reminds me of those Hong Kong period soaps where corrupt and lazy magisrates would whip a complainant first before he gets to present his case - for disturbing the magistrate. Sigh...
By
Anonymous, at 8:29 PM
Brilliant idea indeed. Only the highest paid ministers in Singapore can come up with such brilliant ideas!
By
Anonymous, at 8:39 PM
I liken this to "blaming female rape victims for dressing sexily" it is their fault and we should make it illegal for victims to dress sexily.
By
Anonymous, at 8:47 PM
Worse FT(esp those with the dish washing talent) killing Locals Got reduced Sentence.
Soup Spoon. Remember.....By
Onlooker, at 11:00 PM
Everytime i see wong kan seng, it reminds me of mas selamet. Truely a very competant guy, manage the 'great escape'.... pushing the blame all the way down...
By
Anonymous, at 12:07 AM
dont you envy ministers salary now?
not that they are better people. they just pay themselves well enough so they don't get into trouble with the laws they have brilliantly carved on stones for ....lesser imortals
just beat people up with laws and everything solved?
brilliantBy
Anonymous, at 1:42 AM
Why not extend this superb idea to all cases?
Make everyone who makes a police report post a bond of $10k. It will be returned to the victim only when the perpetrator has been found guilty by the courts.
A more brilliant solution is to charge a fee for using law enforcement services. Want that robber caught? Pay $3k to the police. Want loanshark caught? Pay $5k. Can pay by CPF and installments also.
These solutions will reduce the official crime rates and make Singapore the safest city in the world!By
John, at 1:50 AM
Gotta be careful who you borrow money from next time ... later your friend betray you and say he is loanshark then you kenna sai.
By
Chee Wai Lee, at 2:11 AM
As long as there is 50% walkovers, 66% mandate and 98% seats for PAP, you can expect even more brilliant solutions in future.
Not just from Wong Kan Seng but also other ministers to solve other problems.
Because the people and opposition are brilliant to give them this opportunity.
Or is it they are brilliant to make you people and opposition to do this?By
Anonymous, at 2:15 AM
Dr Ong Seh Hong who borrowed 60K (the equivalent of an annual pay of an ordinary Singaporean) from Ming Yi. He probably delayed the payment to the hospital until he knew he has been exposed by Ming Yi.
Bravo of Ming Yi to drag this greedy PAP MP into the dirt. He knew that the PAP wants to take over his hospital organization to service the lucrative healthcare tourism (same reason for Khaw to want to kick old Singaporeans out to JB).
Ming Yi should do the next best thing: to declare himself as a loanshark who cannot say 'NO' and kill this greedy MP Ong once and for all.By
Anonymous, at 3:04 AM
Had the impression that in the majority of these cases, the loansharks were harassing the wrong people?
They have this weird habit of identifying debtors not by name, but by their addresses.Lets be honest.
Every time you see or hear about Wong Kan Seng, you DO NOT think of Mas Selamat.
You just think of the toilet bowl.By
Lim Chin Siong, at 4:16 AM
Every time I see WKS I'm reminded of Snow White and The Seven Dwarves. He's the one named Dopey.
I wish there was an eighth dwarf named Stupid Idiot. Then I'd pick him and save Dopey for Khaw Boon Wan.
Grrr!By
move along please, at 7:49 AM
It is like curing the disease by killing the patient!
thanks for picking this up. i din think of this angle, the suggestion seemed innocuous enough.
gosh, i must be a simpleton. which makes me wonder, is the multi-millionair minister a simpleton or a hard hearted person oblivious to our plight?By
Anonymous, at 10:03 AM
Yo Lucky
Sinkees consistently rant against CSJ.
The one madman who dares speaks up.
Sinkees getting what they deserve no?By
Anonymous, at 10:12 AM
i think, hor, the gahmen think sinkies borrow $$$ only for fun e.g. buy air-con, buy handphone, go french cuisine holidays.
therefore to help us save money, they make it illegal to borrow lor. oso help police save some work.
watch out for 154th spin on why sinkies borrow money fr loan sharksBy
Anonymous, at 10:35 AM
PREVIOUSLY:
Borrower: Please give me more time to pay up.
Loanshark: Pay up now or there'll be trouble for you !
Borrower: Better leave, or I'll call the police.
(Loanshark runs away)
NOW:
Loanshark: Pay up now or I'll call the police !
(Borrower pays up immediately)By
i have a good idea.
reduce the workload and most importantly make big money by imposing a service fee for calling the police. they can then employ more staffs to collect the fees; a brillant win-win idea, yes?By
Anonymous, at 10:49 AM
Making borrowing from loanshark illegal, I see.
What a clever way to free PAP from its responsibility to the society without finding out why more and more are resorting to this type of credit.
Better solution for Wong Kan Seng is since loansharks are doing a roaring business, lets beat them to it ... just like PAP beats illegal 4D operators hands down.
Well if you don't remember, in the 70's illegal 4D operators were rampant and PAP constantly raided them. Then a brilliant idea came to PAP, lets create state-run 4Ds betting franchises.
Now you can see them all around. And PAP and some critics are worried the IRs will bring a gambling scourge to Singapore.
Open ya eyes! For that matter, these 4D outlets partly or even largely explain why loanshark business is booming in Singapore.
So you see that's how PAP "resolved" the betting problem by making it legal, hehe. No wonder it is praised around the world for being such a great government.
So I am sure PAP with its brilliant advisers will come up with something like that.
The news already reported that permits have been issued to high interest money lenders when formerly such permits were refused.
PAP just have to impose a high licence fee or even get DBS into the same act to reap from this business and thus PAP will also have "resolved" this loanshark problem.
Hey in the US it was such high-interest loans through credit cards that did their economy in; here PAP might well think otherwise.By
Anonymous, at 11:05 AM
Simple but yet brilliant analysis by lucky ! lol
And perhaps PM,MM and SM should pool their wealth and start a scheme that provides loans to PAP MPs and grass-roots supporters. Their combined wealth should be more than 200M $ ! The other multi Million $ ministers can also contribute to make loans available to all PAP members. Such loans should be interest-free, repayable over 20 to 30 years and of course whilst serving party interests.
This is a lot better than having PAP members borrowing from monks or loansharks which is not good for PAP's image and it is perfectly LEEgal. lolBy
PAP golden loan, at 11:30 AM
Whether or not it is a good idea depends on the composition of borrowers. Are they mostly irresponsible spenders/gamblers or genuinely needy people?
If it is the former, then I support criminalizing borrowers. As for the needy, once they borrow from loan sharks, it is very unlikely they will be able to repay. In fact, I would imagine the debt will grow because of the ridiculous interest rates (correct me if I am wrong). So, this source of borrowing should not be encouraged in order to prevent them from falling further into the pit.
However, for the needy, criminalizing them is no fair because loan sharks are probably their last resort.
So, if there is a way to separate the irresponsible ones from the needy, it would be great. Also, more thought has to go into how to prevent the needy from borrowing from loan sharks or helping them repay the sum.
As for existing borrowers, if it is possible, maybe they can decide on a cutting-off date, so only those who borrow after the implementation will be charged.
The only concern I have is that loan sharks may resort to trickery to trap people into borrowing because they have to keep their income channel alive.By
Anonymous, at 11:54 AM
I actually support the idea of making borrowing from loansharks an offenseJust recently, a neighbour of mine had his window poured with red paint. He claimed he lost his IC and it was used to make an illegal loan with the loansharks.
What have we here in this senario?
1. Vandalism
2. People not relating to the borrower suffering from the consequences
3. People related to the borrower suffering from the consequences
If I'm in charge of passing this law, I'll pass it instantly without blinking an eye.
About people suffering in silence? They are already suffering whether or not they report to the police.
How about preventing more people in the future suffering in silence?there must be plenty of money to be made in the loansharking business.
then it is more reason for this greedy govt to catch these loansharks who have failed to declare their real source of income to Inland Revenue Dept.
afterall these buggers are the ones who are cash rich, right ?
just give better incentives to our SPF / men-in-blue. lolBy
Anonymous, at 12:11 PM
Anon @10:49 and Parka ... exacta!
I have a better idea ... the police can help collect for a percentage of the fees.
The poor gets their loans!
Loansharks get their profits!
No vandalism!
MHA turns a profit and meet their KPIs!
thats what i call "win-win" :-)By
Anonymous, at 12:26 PM
"If I'm in charge of passing this law, I'll pass it instantly without blinking an eye." - Parka
No so fast, Parka, try the Resident Committee first.By
Anonymous, at 12:28 PM
In the US, there's all kind of money lending/borrowing business, such as payday loan. Just that in Singapore, the credit market's so tightly controlled that avenues for credit do not flourish aboveground, and you have to go underground sometimes, in times of need.
Parka wants to criminalize PAP MP Dr Ong Seh Hong without blinking his eye. He's on the same boat as me.By
Anonymous, at 1:16 PM
Maybe MHA did not do enough research before releasing this news.
Drawing a decision tree will help to know possible decision that will be made by the people who is directly or indirectly involved.
This policy, I think it will make matter worse.
For example, if I am in deep shit and need money, what would I do? Borrow first then decide what to do next.
Next, if I do not report my ”crime”, there won’t be any case on me. I believe my family will not report loan sharks cases to the police because I will get into trouble. What’s next? Suffer in silence.(Just think that most families won’t want their members to put in jail.)
Lucky, by now the loan sharks must be celebrating!! There is no way or hardly a way the police can track them down without the borrower's family reporting it.
The loan sharks will just have to pick on the right family. I think this is obvious.
Lesser number of loan sharks case might just be an illusion. The number of loan sharks might increase. The only difference is, the cases are not recorded.
Nail down the loan sharks and eliminate them should be the only way to solve the problem.
Agree totally agree with lucky's post.By
tiredman, at 1:17 PM
Tiredman said "Maybe MHA did not do enough research before releasing this news."
I am wondering if any research was carried out at all by the incompentent MHA ! PAP policies have time and time again proved they lack due diligence, and we are paying millions to these elite for doing what morons also can do !By
Anonymous, at 1:35 PM
similarly. set up casinos as stumbling blocks for people who want to bet for instant riches. but then, how do you deal with social problems that may arise from gambling?
the authorities have to decide...how to make more money and avoid being blamed for social problems
make money is still the government chief priority than social well being.
so same tactics. let people walk into these places of temptations. enact laws to punish people who failed to contain themselves and become social liabilities than use laws to slam them
in other words, for money, they'll tempt the people within the legal boundaries.
what they are saying is: i want to stroke your cock for money. but if you cock stand up, i am going to use the laws to cut off your cock.By
Anonymous, at 2:20 PM
this reminds me of another recent law from MHA.
There's been a rise in contraband cigarettes in singapore. So instead of better policing at the borders, they decided to mark every single cigarette in Singapore with the duty paid logo.
Citizens, well smoking ones, get punished, instead of working harder to to catch the smugglers.
Now we'll likely go into a slippery slope argument.. if borrowing money from loansharks is illegal, then we should then make everything that leads to debts illegal too eg addictive gamblers should be fined or jailed.
or every form of vice in our society should also be made illegal like alcoholism.
it must be the MHA - the same people who say that ONE person gathering can be deemed an illegal gathering.
absurd, absolutely absurd.By
Anonymous, at 3:53 PM
Wow, now I can sabotage anyone by scribbling their unit no. on the wall "O$P$ #-----", and then call the police saying that this person has borrowed from loansharks.
So instead of using their precious resources to catch real criminals i.e. loansharks, police now have to waste resources investigating innocent victims.
Maybe this is what they want because sitting ducks borrowers are easier to catch than elusive loansharks. They can justify their hefty salaries and bonuses by increasing the number of "solved cases".By
Hurray!, at 4:32 PM
Wow, now I can sabotage anyone by scribbling their unit no. on the wall "O$P$ #-----", and then call the police saying that this person has borrowed from loansharks.
Donch be so "aw sim" lah.
Anyway, who will be so "jia ba ka eng?"
Only those with a never ending axe to grind.
What if you get caught for sabotage? Will be joke of the year :DBy
Anonymous, at 6:30 PM
"...if I am in deep shit and need money, what would I do? Borrow first then decide what to do next."
That is the most vulnerable state (desperation and panic) for the loan sharks to exploit and after that you might regret. Might be better for you to be stopped from falling into the pit.
"...if I do not report my ”crime”, there won’t be any case on me."
The loan sharks will use it to blackmail you to extort more until you tak boleh tahan and report yourself.
"Nail down the loan sharks and eliminate them should be the only way to solve the problem."
Definitely, this should be the priority. I believe making borrowing a criminal act in meant to be supplementary.By
Anonymous, at 6:39 PM
And it will only get worse when the IR open kopishop.
All the loanshark will flock under their skirt.By
Anonymous, at 8:55 PM
Btw, Lucky, are you going to write about this editor who got off from killing (due to dangerous driving, she was talking on the phone while driving)?
some more, the learned judge said this was to be a "one-off" sentence, not to be used as precedent.
got such thing one meh? seems like one rule for elites, one for peasants.By
Anonymous, at 8:56 PM
to people who support this idea feeling that irresponsible people should not be saved:
what if u borrow ah long and ur daughter or wife was forced to or out of love sell herself secretly help u pay off ur debt???
don't be too quick to condemn other people ok?
the fact that many people actually support it shows singaporeans really have no compassion.By
Anonymous, at 11:37 PM
Just got this feeling that everything the people in SIN does will become offence against the State one day !
By
Anonymous, at 11:49 PM
Lucky, you called this brilliant solution? Pls take a look at this video clip :http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mLLBJ8ZCnhc. If you were right Ah Nan can be our cabinet minister.
By
Anonymous, at 12:37 AM
LUCKY,
This has been happening for a very long time;
Under the Act, if the Ministries send you a bill for $XXXXXXXXX dollars, you have to prove to them why you didn't owe the money. HOW TO?
If the Income Tax Department revalue your property, or claim you made a few millions last year when you did not, you have to pay first and argue later. You have stashed funds?
Where to get the money to pay first? borrow from the loanshark?
If you do not want your organs and skin remove from your temporary diabled body, you better opt out.
Criteria for confirming brain dead,
1. your pupil does not response to light (temporary lose of eyesight pengsa).
2. your fingers does not response to needle pricking (temporary paralysis pengsa).
3. 2 doctors confirms you are brain dead (pengsa if some politician/millionaire has matching requirements).
Where are all the modern equpments?
The passport of the Pathetic Singaporean is the only valuable and useful object of being a Pathetic Singaporean!!By
Anonymous, at 6:52 AM
"what if u borrow ah long and ur daughter or wife was forced to or out of love sell herself secretly help u pay off ur debt???"
It is your irresponsibility that causes your wife's or daughter's "suffering" and you blame others for being heartless?
No wonder they have to criminalize borrowing - some people just do not have conscience and they expect everyone else to tolerate that (including being victims of ah long's debt collection tactics when you do not pay up and waste of police resources that can be deployed for better uses).By
Anonymous, at 7:49 AM
"I am wondering if any research was carried out at all by the incompentent MHA !"
They purposely don't do it, throw the idea around and let netizens/citizens debate and do research for them?
Because they have no idea?By
Anonymous, at 7:53 AM
the way i see it: the main reason is to protect innocent pple who are harassed by the loansharks when real borrowers clear out of the old place. however even with the new law, the loan sharks will still continue to harass the new owners what.
the question is why polic cannot catch these loan sharks - why are they so elusive even when security cameras are installed by the new owners? the police shld tell us.
the other angle we can do, is for hdb or relevant authorities to keep new owners advised of the new hdb address of the real borrowers. this transparency is only fair, not just in the case of loan shark harrassment. it also helps if there is a hidden defect in the unit for which the previous owner is accountable for.
if you ask me, the real reason why wks wants this is because of the coming ir. they anticipate a lot of social problems, and they simply want to wash their hands of it. this is "you die, you business" - the same strategy in healthcare, housing and law and order.By
Anonymous, at 9:46 AM
I got a better solution lah.
Death penalty for loan sharks.
Guarantee all the wannabes will be shocked out of the business. The die-hards maybe will switch to smuggling drugs since they figure both will get death anyway. Pronto, problem solved.Actually I don't see what's wrong with making borrowing from loansharks an offense. If providing an illegal loan is an offense, why shouldn't taking the illegal loan be an offense as well? For those people afraid of this new law, here's a simple solution: Don't take money from loansharks.
"If providing an illegal loan is an offense, why shouldn't taking the illegal loan be an offense as well?"
You may make anything illegal and there are always good selective l
This post shall be posted in Vic crime rate is 10 times of SG.
Crime rate in Victoria,10 times more than SG per 100,000 pax last
this thread attracts 34,000 hits,one of the highest in Speaker corner.
so many pple concern abt Oz and SG.
2.Do u think there is no loan shark in oz?The guys down under do not spray
paint.They spray live bullets!!
Times are bad and the number of loanshark harassment cases has climbed sharply. Police had to deal a total of 4000 cases in the first 3 months of this year. But don't worry our Home Affairs Minister has come up with a brilliant solution to reduce the number of cases our police have to handle:
posted by LuckySingaporean at 6:59 PM ![]()
<!-- End .post --><!-- Begin #comments -->
Wow MHA solve problem by punishing the people who were facing the problem.
Now wonder Mas Selamat can escape so easily for more than 1 year now.
By
Onlooker, at 7:28 PM
hmm... filming an illegal event is criminalized, borrowing money from illegal loansharks may be made a criminal offense.. What's next? Maybe they'll penalize victims from rape, theft, murder.. etc in future.
By
Anonymous, at 8:14 PM
This reminds me of those Hong Kong period soaps where corrupt and lazy magisrates would whip a complainant first before he gets to present his case - for disturbing the magistrate. Sigh...
By
Anonymous, at 8:29 PM
Brilliant idea indeed. Only the highest paid ministers in Singapore can come up with such brilliant ideas!
By
Anonymous, at 8:39 PM
I liken this to "blaming female rape victims for dressing sexily" it is their fault and we should make it illegal for victims to dress sexily.
By
Anonymous, at 8:47 PM
Worse FT(esp those with the dish washing talent) killing Locals Got reduced Sentence.
Soup Spoon. Remember.....
By
Onlooker, at 11:00 PM
Everytime i see wong kan seng, it reminds me of mas selamet. Truely a very competant guy, manage the 'great escape'.... pushing the blame all the way down...
By
Anonymous, at 12:07 AM
dont you envy ministers salary now?
not that they are better people. they just pay themselves well enough so they don't get into trouble with the laws they have brilliantly carved on stones for ....lesser imortals
just beat people up with laws and everything solved?
brilliant
By
Anonymous, at 1:42 AM
Why not extend this superb idea to all cases?
Make everyone who makes a police report post a bond of $10k. It will be returned to the victim only when the perpetrator has been found guilty by the courts.
A more brilliant solution is to charge a fee for using law enforcement services. Want that robber caught? Pay $3k to the police. Want loanshark caught? Pay $5k. Can pay by CPF and installments also.
These solutions will reduce the official crime rates and make Singapore the safest city in the world!
By
John, at 1:50 AM
Gotta be careful who you borrow money from next time ... later your friend betray you and say he is loanshark then you kenna sai.
By
Chee Wai Lee, at 2:11 AM
As long as there is 50% walkovers, 66% mandate and 98% seats for PAP, you can expect even more brilliant solutions in future.
Not just from Wong Kan Seng but also other ministers to solve other problems.
Because the people and opposition are brilliant to give them this opportunity.
Or is it they are brilliant to make you people and opposition to do this?
By
Anonymous, at 2:15 AM
Dr Ong Seh Hong who borrowed 60K (the equivalent of an annual pay of an ordinary Singaporean) from Ming Yi. He probably delayed the payment to the hospital until he knew he has been exposed by Ming Yi.
Bravo of Ming Yi to drag this greedy PAP MP into the dirt. He knew that the PAP wants to take over his hospital organization to service the lucrative healthcare tourism (same reason for Khaw to want to kick old Singaporeans out to JB).
Ming Yi should do the next best thing: to declare himself as a loanshark who cannot say 'NO' and kill this greedy MP Ong once and for all.
By
Anonymous, at 3:04 AM
Had the impression that in the majority of these cases, the loansharks were harassing the wrong people?
They have this weird habit of identifying debtors not by name, but by their addresses.
Lets be honest.
Every time you see or hear about Wong Kan Seng, you DO NOT think of Mas Selamat.
You just think of the toilet bowl.
By
Lim Chin Siong, at 4:16 AM
Every time I see WKS I'm reminded of Snow White and The Seven Dwarves. He's the one named Dopey.
I wish there was an eighth dwarf named Stupid Idiot. Then I'd pick him and save Dopey for Khaw Boon Wan.
Grrr!
By
move along please, at 7:49 AM
It is like curing the disease by killing the patient!
thanks for picking this up. i din think of this angle, the suggestion seemed innocuous enough.
gosh, i must be a simpleton. which makes me wonder, is the multi-millionair minister a simpleton or a hard hearted person oblivious to our plight?
By
Anonymous, at 10:03 AM
Yo Lucky
Sinkees consistently rant against CSJ.
The one madman who dares speaks up.
Sinkees getting what they deserve no?
By
Anonymous, at 10:12 AM
i think, hor, the gahmen think sinkies borrow $$$ only for fun e.g. buy air-con, buy handphone, go french cuisine holidays.
therefore to help us save money, they make it illegal to borrow lor. oso help police save some work.
watch out for 154th spin on why sinkies borrow money fr loan sharks
By
PREVIOUSLY:
Loanshark: Pay up now or there'll be trouble for you !
Borrower: Better leave, or I'll call the police.
(Loanshark runs away)
NOW:
Loanshark: Pay up now or I'll call the police !
(Borrower pays up immediately)
By
i have a good idea.
reduce the workload and most importantly make big money by imposing a service fee for calling the police. they can then employ more staffs to collect the fees; a brillant win-win idea, yes?
By
Anonymous, at 10:49 AM
Making borrowing from loanshark illegal, I see.
What a clever way to free PAP from its responsibility to the society without finding out why more and more are resorting to this type of credit.
Better solution for Wong Kan Seng is since loansharks are doing a roaring business, lets beat them to it ... just like PAP beats illegal 4D operators hands down.
Well if you don't remember, in the 70's illegal 4D operators were rampant and PAP constantly raided them. Then a brilliant idea came to PAP, lets create state-run 4Ds betting franchises.
Now you can see them all around. And PAP and some critics are worried the IRs will bring a gambling scourge to Singapore.
Open ya eyes! For that matter, these 4D outlets partly or even largely explain why loanshark business is booming in Singapore.
So you see that's how PAP "resolved" the betting problem by making it legal, hehe. No wonder it is praised around the world for being such a great government.
So I am sure PAP with its brilliant advisers will come up with something like that.
The news already reported that permits have been issued to high interest money lenders when formerly such permits were refused.
PAP just have to impose a high licence fee or even get DBS into the same act to reap from this business and thus PAP will also have "resolved" this loanshark problem.
Hey in the US it was such high-interest loans through credit cards that did their economy in; here PAP might well think otherwise.
By
Anonymous, at 11:05 AM
Simple but yet brilliant analysis by lucky ! lol
And perhaps PM,MM and SM should pool their wealth and start a scheme that provides loans to PAP MPs and grass-roots supporters. Their combined wealth should be more than 200M $ ! The other multi Million $ ministers can also contribute to make loans available to all PAP members. Such loans should be interest-free, repayable over 20 to 30 years and of course whilst serving party interests.
This is a lot better than having PAP members borrowing from monks or loansharks which is not good for PAP's image and it is perfectly LEEgal. lol
By
PAP golden loan, at 11:30 AM
Whether or not it is a good idea depends on the composition of borrowers. Are they mostly irresponsible spenders/gamblers or genuinely needy people?
If it is the former, then I support criminalizing borrowers. As for the needy, once they borrow from loan sharks, it is very unlikely they will be able to repay. In fact, I would imagine the debt will grow because of the ridiculous interest rates (correct me if I am wrong). So, this source of borrowing should not be encouraged in order to prevent them from falling further into the pit.
However, for the needy, criminalizing them is no fair because loan sharks are probably their last resort.
So, if there is a way to separate the irresponsible ones from the needy, it would be great. Also, more thought has to go into how to prevent the needy from borrowing from loan sharks or helping them repay the sum.
As for existing borrowers, if it is possible, maybe they can decide on a cutting-off date, so only those who borrow after the implementation will be charged.
The only concern I have is that loan sharks may resort to trickery to trap people into borrowing because they have to keep their income channel alive.
By
Anonymous, at 11:54 AM
I actually support the idea of making borrowing from loansharks an offenseJust recently, a neighbour of mine had his window poured with red paint. He claimed he lost his IC and it was used to make an illegal loan with the loansharks.
What have we here in this senario?
1. Vandalism
2. People not relating to the borrower suffering from the consequences
3. People related to the borrower suffering from the consequences
If I'm in charge of passing this law, I'll pass it instantly without blinking an eye.
About people suffering in silence? They are already suffering whether or not they report to the police.
How about preventing more people in the future suffering in silence?
there must be plenty of money to be made in the loansharking business.
then it is more reason for this greedy govt to catch these loansharks who have failed to declare their real source of income to Inland Revenue Dept.
afterall these buggers are the ones who are cash rich, right ?
just give better incentives to our SPF / men-in-blue. lol
By
Anonymous, at 12:11 PM
Anon @10:49 and Parka ... exacta!
I have a better idea ... the police can help collect for a percentage of the fees.
The poor gets their loans!
Loansharks get their profits!
No vandalism!
MHA turns a profit and meet their KPIs!
thats what i call "win-win" :-)
By
Anonymous, at 12:26 PM
"If I'm in charge of passing this law, I'll pass it instantly without blinking an eye." - Parka
No so fast, Parka, try the Resident Committee first.
By
Anonymous, at 12:28 PM
In the US, there's all kind of money lending/borrowing business, such as payday loan. Just that in Singapore, the credit market's so tightly controlled that avenues for credit do not flourish aboveground, and you have to go underground sometimes, in times of need.
Parka wants to criminalize PAP MP Dr Ong Seh Hong without blinking his eye. He's on the same boat as me.
By
Anonymous, at 1:16 PM
Maybe MHA did not do enough research before releasing this news.
Drawing a decision tree will help to know possible decision that will be made by the people who is directly or indirectly involved.
This policy, I think it will make matter worse.
For example, if I am in deep shit and need money, what would I do? Borrow first then decide what to do next.
Next, if I do not report my ”crime”, there won’t be any case on me. I believe my family will not report loan sharks cases to the police because I will get into trouble. What’s next? Suffer in silence.(Just think that most families won’t want their members to put in jail.)
Lucky, by now the loan sharks must be celebrating!! There is no way or hardly a way the police can track them down without the borrower's family reporting it.
The loan sharks will just have to pick on the right family. I think this is obvious.
Lesser number of loan sharks case might just be an illusion. The number of loan sharks might increase. The only difference is, the cases are not recorded.
Nail down the loan sharks and eliminate them should be the only way to solve the problem.
Agree totally agree with lucky's post.
By
tiredman, at 1:17 PM
Tiredman said "Maybe MHA did not do enough research before releasing this news."
I am wondering if any research was carried out at all by the incompentent MHA ! PAP policies have time and time again proved they lack due diligence, and we are paying millions to these elite for doing what morons also can do !
By
Anonymous, at 1:35 PM
similarly. set up casinos as stumbling blocks for people who want to bet for instant riches. but then, how do you deal with social problems that may arise from gambling?
the authorities have to decide...how to make more money and avoid being blamed for social problems
make money is still the government chief priority than social well being.
so same tactics. let people walk into these places of temptations. enact laws to punish people who failed to contain themselves and become social liabilities than use laws to slam them
in other words, for money, they'll tempt the people within the legal boundaries.
what they are saying is: i want to stroke your cock for money. but if you cock stand up, i am going to use the laws to cut off your cock.
By
Anonymous, at 2:20 PM
this reminds me of another recent law from MHA.
There's been a rise in contraband cigarettes in singapore. So instead of better policing at the borders, they decided to mark every single cigarette in Singapore with the duty paid logo.
Citizens, well smoking ones, get punished, instead of working harder to to catch the smugglers.
Now we'll likely go into a slippery slope argument.. if borrowing money from loansharks is illegal, then we should then make everything that leads to debts illegal too eg addictive gamblers should be fined or jailed.
or every form of vice in our society should also be made illegal like alcoholism.
it must be the MHA - the same people who say that ONE person gathering can be deemed an illegal gathering.
absurd, absolutely absurd.
By
Anonymous, at 3:53 PM
So instead of using their precious resources to catch real criminals i.e. loansharks, police now have to waste resources investigating innocent victims.
Maybe this is what they want because sitting ducks borrowers are easier to catch than elusive loansharks. They can justify their hefty salaries and bonuses by increasing the number of "solved cases".
By
Hurray!, at 4:32 PM
Donch be so "aw sim" lah.
Anyway, who will be so "jia ba ka eng?"
Only those with a never ending axe to grind.
What if you get caught for sabotage? Will be joke of the year :D
By
Anonymous, at 6:30 PM
"...if I am in deep shit and need money, what would I do? Borrow first then decide what to do next."
That is the most vulnerable state (desperation and panic) for the loan sharks to exploit and after that you might regret. Might be better for you to be stopped from falling into the pit.
"...if I do not report my ”crime”, there won’t be any case on me."
The loan sharks will use it to blackmail you to extort more until you tak boleh tahan and report yourself.
"Nail down the loan sharks and eliminate them should be the only way to solve the problem."
Definitely, this should be the priority. I believe making borrowing a criminal act in meant to be supplementary.
By
Anonymous, at 6:39 PM
And it will only get worse when the IR open kopishop.
All the loanshark will flock under their skirt.
By
Anonymous, at 8:55 PM
Btw, Lucky, are you going to write about this editor who got off from killing (due to dangerous driving, she was talking on the phone while driving)?
some more, the learned judge said this was to be a "one-off" sentence, not to be used as precedent.
got such thing one meh? seems like one rule for elites, one for peasants.
By
Anonymous, at 8:56 PM
to people who support this idea feeling that irresponsible people should not be saved:
what if u borrow ah long and ur daughter or wife was forced to or out of love sell herself secretly help u pay off ur debt???
don't be too quick to condemn other people ok?
the fact that many people actually support it shows singaporeans really have no compassion.
By
Anonymous, at 11:37 PM
Just got this feeling that everything the people in SIN does will become offence against the State one day !
By
Anonymous, at 11:49 PM
Lucky, you called this brilliant solution? Pls take a look at this video clip :http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mLLBJ8ZCnhc. If you were right Ah Nan can be our cabinet minister.
By
Anonymous, at 12:37 AM
LUCKY,
This has been happening for a very long time;
Under the Act, if the Ministries send you a bill for $XXXXXXXXX dollars, you have to prove to them why you didn't owe the money. HOW TO?
If the Income Tax Department revalue your property, or claim you made a few millions last year when you did not, you have to pay first and argue later. You have stashed funds?
Where to get the money to pay first? borrow from the loanshark?
If you do not want your organs and skin remove from your temporary diabled body, you better opt out.
Criteria for confirming brain dead,
1. your pupil does not response to light (temporary lose of eyesight pengsa).
2. your fingers does not response to needle pricking (temporary paralysis pengsa).
3. 2 doctors confirms you are brain dead (pengsa if some politician/millionaire has matching requirements).
Where are all the modern equpments?
The passport of the Pathetic Singaporean is the only valuable and useful object of being a Pathetic Singaporean!!
By
Anonymous, at 6:52 AM
"what if u borrow ah long and ur daughter or wife was forced to or out of love sell herself secretly help u pay off ur debt???"
It is your irresponsibility that causes your wife's or daughter's "suffering" and you blame others for being heartless?
No wonder they have to criminalize borrowing - some people just do not have conscience and they expect everyone else to tolerate that (including being victims of ah long's debt collection tactics when you do not pay up and waste of police resources that can be deployed for better uses).
By
Anonymous, at 7:49 AM
"I am wondering if any research was carried out at all by the incompentent MHA !"
They purposely don't do it, throw the idea around and let netizens/citizens debate and do research for them?
Because they have no idea?
By
Anonymous, at 7:53 AM
the way i see it: the main reason is to protect innocent pple who are harassed by the loansharks when real borrowers clear out of the old place. however even with the new law, the loan sharks will still continue to harass the new owners what.
the question is why polic cannot catch these loan sharks - why are they so elusive even when security cameras are installed by the new owners? the police shld tell us.
the other angle we can do, is for hdb or relevant authorities to keep new owners advised of the new hdb address of the real borrowers. this transparency is only fair, not just in the case of loan shark harrassment. it also helps if there is a hidden defect in the unit for which the previous owner is accountable for.
if you ask me, the real reason why wks wants this is because of the coming ir. they anticipate a lot of social problems, and they simply want to wash their hands of it. this is "you die, you business" - the same strategy in healthcare, housing and law and order.
By
Anonymous, at 9:46 AM
I got a better solution lah.
Death penalty for loan sharks.
Guarantee all the wannabes will be shocked out of the business. The die-hards maybe will switch to smuggling drugs since they figure both will get death anyway. Pronto, problem solved.
Actually I don't see what's wrong with making borrowing from loansharks an offense. If providing an illegal loan is an offense, why shouldn't taking the illegal loan be an offense as well? For those people afraid of this new law, here's a simple solution: Don't take money from loansharks.
"If providing an illegal loan is an offense, why shouldn't taking the illegal loan be an offense as well?"
You may make anything illegal and there are always good selective l
Drug problems still in Singapore, not talked about in local media:
Party Drugs A Hit With Wealthy In Singapore
SINGAPORE, Dec 10 (Reuters) - It is Friday night. Ling, a bank analyst in Armani heels, pops a small, blue pill into her mouth and dances to the thumping beat. Later she heads to a house party with her friends where they snort cocaine off tabletops.
Singapore’s party drug scene used to be the domain of high-flying foreign bankers and other expatriates who would take ecstasy and snort cocaine in defiance of the city state’s drug laws which, with a mandatory death sentence for drug trafficking, are among the toughest in the world. But these days, the drug scene for foreigners is not as pronounced as among well-to-do locals in a country which has the world’s fastest-growing number of high net worth individuals, totalling some 67,000 in 2006.
And fast cars and fancy clothes are not the only things young, hip and rich Singaporeans want to buy.
“In general, you go for ‘trippy’ drugs, drugs that make you feel good as well as make you dance harder,” said a student from a wealthy family, who declined to be identified.
With one gram of methamphetamine costing S$300, it is an expensive habit that not everyone can feed.
Singaporean authorities say drug use is low, but anecdotal evidence tells of the emergence of an underground party drug scene mostly at night clubs frequented by the wealthy.
Singapore is Asia’s second-richest country, with a 2006 GDP per capita of $29,000, on a par with Italy and Spain. The booming economy, driven by manufacturing and financial services, has made the city-state a playground for the rich.
And with money to throw around, some of these rich Singaporeans are spending it on drugs smuggled from neighbouring Indonesia, Malaysia and the Philippines.
They are taking a big risk.
In Singapore, anyone caught carrying more than 15 grams of heroin, 30 grams of cocaine, 500 grams of cannabis or 250 grams of methamphetamines faces a mandatory death sentence by hanging.
Penalties for consumption are also strict, including up to 10 years in jail, a S$20,000 fine, or both.
“There are definitely a lot of people doing drugs in the party scene, but it doesn’t get reported because there’s no way to really catch them since the circle is closed,” said bank analyst Ling, who would only give her first name.
Drugs and Gangs
With its borders closely monitored by vigilant authorities, it is not clear how drugs enter Singapore. But former gang members say some drugs are brought in on row boats from nearby Indonesian islands, or are smuggled along the causeway separating Singapore from Malaysia.
“Don’t think it’s elaborate trucks with hidden compartments - sometimes the drugs are just in a motorcycle front basket and driven through,” said Jonathan, who spent 7 years as a gang member before entering a drug rehabilitation program.
According to Singapore’s Central Narcotics Bureau (CNB) figures, 1,127 drug users were arrested in 2006 compared to 793 in 2005. Forty-nine percent of those arrested took drugs such as ecstasy, ketamine and Nimetazepam.
In 2004, the CNB carried out a raid which exposed a glitzy underground drug scene. The cocaine drug bust saw 23 people arrested, including the former editor of high-society magazine Singapore Tatler, an award-winning French chef and an oil broker.
Three of those arrested jumped bail and left the country. They are still wanted by the Singapore police and Interpol. Nigel Simmonds, the editor of Singapore Tatler, was jailed for two years.
“Every couple of years, they (the police) go out and get people so everyone is way too scared to do drugs,” said a British lawyer, who declined to be named. “The drugs of choice here (for foreigners) really are women and alcohol.”
The city-state, which executed two Africans and an Australian in recent years, has faced pressure from rights groups and governments to end its mandatory death penalty for drug smuggling.
Singapore defends its position by saying it needs tough laws to deter drug traffickers. But some believe the death penalty is ineffective as a deterrence against drug smuggling.
“When you hang a drug courier, you are only killing the small fry. The kingpins are the ones you don’t see,” said Sinapan Samydorai of rights group Think Centre.
According to Amnesty International, about 400 people have been sentenced to death in Singapore since 1991, most of them for drug trafficking. This gives Singapore the highest execution rate per capita in the world, the human-rights group said.
But tough laws are still not enough to stop some drug users. “It’s the same as having unprotected sex. You do it because it feels better. But if you get caught it’s the worst high ever,” said the wealthy student who declined to be named.
(Additional reporting by Annika Breidthardt; editing by Neil Chatterjee and Megan Goldin)
Stop violence, and gang and crimes in singapore
Anyone with information on the incidents can call the police hotline at 1800-2550000.
<!--[if gte vml 1]><v:shapetype id="_x0000_t75" coordsize="21600,21600" o:spt="75" o:preferrelative="t" path="m@4@5l@4@11@9@11@9@5xe" filled="f" stroked="f"> <v:stroke joinstyle="miter" /> <v:formulas> <v:f eqn="if lineDrawn pixelLineWidth 0" /> <v:f eqn="sum @0 1 0" /> <v:f eqn="sum 0 0 @1" /> <v:f eqn="prod @2 1 2" /> <v:f eqn="prod @3 21600 pixelWidth" /> <v:f eqn="prod @3 21600 pixelHeight" /> <v:f eqn="sum @0 0 1" /> <v:f eqn="prod @6 1 2" /> <v:f eqn="prod @7 21600 pixelWidth" /> <v:f eqn="sum @8 21600 0" /> <v:f eqn="prod @7 21600 pixelHeight" /> <v:f eqn="sum @10 21600 0" /> </v:formulas> <v:path o:extrusionok="f" gradientshapeok="t" o:connecttype="rect" /> <o:lock v:ext="edit" aspectratio="t" /> </v:shapetype><v:shape id="_x0000_i1025" type="#_x0000_t75" alt="" style='width:231pt; height:421.5pt'> <v:imagedata src="file:///C:/DOCUME~1/SHIANW~1/LOCALS~1/Temp/msoclip1/01/clip_image001.jpg" o:href="http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/image/20080215/ST_IMAGES_PEHCANING1_8m.jpg" /> </v:shape><![endif]--><!--[if !vml]--><!--[endif]-->
BLACK ski masks. Long parang knives. Black-shirted men.
The gang attacked and slashed Ash on his head, which required stitches, as well as his shoulder and back. - Picture: KENNETH KOH
They looked like they belong in a fight scene in a Hong Kong movie on triads.
But there they were, at the void deck of Block 13, Eunos Crescent on Friday night.
And they confronted a group of five friends gathered there.
At first the group of friends were puzzled at the sight of seven men, who suddenly appeared in front of them.
Then trouble struck.
At around 9pm, the men attacked them with the weapons, causing them to scatter in different directions.
The attackers split up and chased the victims, slashing them viciously with the parangs and knives after catching up with them in what appeared to be an unprovoked attack.
All five victims were later sent to the hospital, where two received outpatient treatment and three have been hospitalised since then.
<!--[if gte vml 1]><v:shape id="_x0000_i1026" type="#_x0000_t75" alt="" href="http://carefreeworld.files.wordpress.com/2008/02/pb240080.jpg" style='width:3in; height:162pt' o:button="t"> <v:imagedata src="file:///C:/DOCUME~1/SHIANW~1/LOCALS~1/Temp/msoclip1/01/clip_image003.jpg" o:href="http://carefreeworld.files.wordpress.com/2008/02/pb240080.jpg" /> </v:shape><![endif]--><!--[if !vml]--><!--[endif]-->
And it was not the only such attack that night.
Over at Tampines at around 8.15pm, an 18-year-old boy was assaulted and seriously injured. (See report on facing page).
When contacted, police spokesman ASP Stanley Norbert said they are investigating if both incidents are linked.
SHAKEN
Ahmad (not his real name), 24, was the most seriously injured among the five at the Eunos attack, suffering slash wounds on both arms and his head.
The other two, who were also warded, suffered slash wounds on their hand and stomach respectively.
Still looking shaken from the attack, Ahmad told The New Paper yesterday at Changi General Hospital (CGH), where he is warded, that it was an unprovoked attack.
He claimed that he and his group have no enemies nor have they offended anyone.
That was why when he first saw the armed, masked men, he thought they were going to attack others, not their group.
Ahmad said: 'I first saw about seven men, who appeared from behind the walls. They were wearing ski masks and each one was carrying either a parang or a sword.
'I thought they were looking for others. We had no time to react or run away at all before they attacked us.'
Ahmad said he and his friends, whose ages range from 17 to 24, fled in different directions with the assailants in hot pursuit.
Ahmad himself ran to Block 16 where he was pounced upon at the void deck by two attackers.
He said: 'Then three other men, also wearing ski masks and carrying parangs, appeared and also started attacking me.'
He tried to protect his head by using his hands to cover it.
'But when I did so, I heard the (hacking) sounds,' he recounted.
'I knew that the parang had hit me.'
Ahmad then tried to run into a lift.
A middle-aged man was about to exit and was threatened by the attackers.
Ahmad said: 'They warned him to get out of the way or they would also chop him.'
The five attackers then tried to force their way into the lift as Ahmad kept kicking them out.
He succeeded only after one of them told the gang 'enough' in Malay and they left.
By then, Ahmad's hands were soaked with blood, with bones visible from the wounds.
'I thought I was going to die,' he said. 'If they had managed to enter the lift, I think I would have been dead by now.'
Taking the lift to the sixth floor, he sought help from a household, whose main door was open.
'I told them that I had been attacked by a gang and asked them to help call for an ambulance.'
The family also helped dress his wounds and gave him drinks.
Ahmad said they also kept talking to him because he told them he was going to faint. Later, the police and ambulance arrived to take him to hospital.
Ahmad's elder sister, 33, said she was distraught to see him badly injured.
She said: 'I don't know why they attacked my brother. He isn't the sort to mix with bad company.
'I hope the police will step up patrols and also arrest these people soon.'
Ahmad is now fearful of returning to Eunos Crescent, the neighbourhood where he had lived for nearly 20 years.
He moved out of the area five years ago, but would return there almost daily to hang out with his childhood friends. He said his family had plans to move back there next year because they like the area so much.
'But now, I'm not so sure.'
One of his injured friends, who is still warded at CGH, said Ahmad was the worst hit.
Requesting not to be named, he added: 'We do not know who these guys are and we have never offended anyone before.'
Police spokesman ASP Stanley Norbert said that so far, there have been no arrests and those injured in both the cases are being interviewed.
'The two cases are being investigated as rioting armed with dangerous weapon,' he added.
Those convicted of the offence face a jail term of up to seven years and caning
Terror Road Rage Case in Singapore
HANGING on to the bonnet of a speeding car as it kept swerving to throw you off is something that happens only in the movies.
For two minutes yesterday afternoon, he did just that.
The reason he ended up on the bonnet is even more shocking - it was an argument over a scratch.
Luckily for Mr Koh, 36, he escaped with only abrasions.
The sales executive was walking back to his Toyota Wish which was parked on Tembeling Road, near Joo Chiat.
He recalled: 'I had just collected a cheque from a client and was walking back to my car to drive off for lunch.
'From a distance, I saw a man walking pass the right side of my car.
'I thought I saw him scratching the right passenger door with his car keys.'
When Mr Koh reached his car, he found a 15cm scratch on his silver Wish which he bought new two years ago.
The man who scratched Mr Koh's car got into a black Nissan Cefiro which was parked behind Mr Koh's.
Both cars were in parallel parking lots.
Mr Koh said: 'By the time I reached my car, the man was already trying to get out of the parking lot.
'I tapped on the bonnet to get the driver's attention.
'But he kept inching his car forward even though I signalled to him to stop. I had to keep stepping back in order not get hit.
'All of a sudden, the driver surged forward and I had no time to react. As a result, I slumped forward on the car's bonnet.'
The car did not stop and Mr Koh had to hold on to the bonnet so as not to fall off.
The Nissan drove about 15m towards the junction of Tembeling Road and East Coast Road.
There, the driver slowed down to make a left turn to get on to East Coast Road.
Mr Koh said: 'I kept yelling at the driver to stop. But it was no use. I couldn't really see his face because of the glare from the front windscreen.
'The windows were shut, so I don't think he could hear me.'
After the Nissan got on to East Coast Road, the driver tried to shake Mr Koh off.
Mr Koh said: 'He kept swerving left and right after he turned left on to East Coast Road.
'I couldn't do anything except to grip the bonnet very tightly and shouted at him to stop.
'I remembered turning my head back as he sped on. I saw the back of a lorry and the Nissan slowed down to avoid hitting the lorry.'
About 200m after getting on to East Coast Road, the Nissan brushed against a motorcycle which was travelling on the left lane of the two-lane road.
Mr Koh said: 'The driver continued moving ahead even after the Nissan brushed against a motorcycle. Then, it turned left towards Still Road.
'After that, I couldn't hang on to the car any more and I fell off the bonnet.'
Mr Koh landed on the road and rolled onto the middle lane of Still Road and almost got hit by a despatch rider when he rolled into his lane.
The despatch rider, Mr Mohd Shahril, 32, thought that an 'object had came into his path'.
Mr Shahril, who was on Still Road travelling towards Eunos, said: 'I was surprised when I found out that the 'object' was actually a man. If I had not braked in time, the both of us would surely be hurt.'
Mr Koh finally came to a stop near a bus stop.
Mr Koh said: 'My chin hit the ground even though I tried to use my arms to cushion the fall. It was very painful and I couldn't move.
'Luckily, a motorcyclist came by to help me. Some other people from the bus stop also came to help.'
Mr Shahril said he does not know who was more crazy - the driver of the fleeing car or the man who held on to the bonnet.
He said: 'From the corner of my eye, I could see and hear the screeching sound the speeding car was making. The driver didn't even slow down as he entered the filter lane.
'The driver is crazy because the man could have been dragged under the wheels of his car.'
Those who had helped Mr Koh took him to the bus stop and called for an ambulance. He was taken to Changi General Hospital.
Mr Koh suffered abrasions to both his arms and his knees. His left shirt pocket was torn and his pants were also torn at the knees.
Mr Koh recalled that the driver of the Nissan wore a blue T-shirt with blue shorts, but couldn't make out his appearance as he only saw the driver from a distance.
But Mr Koh said the driver was a short and plump man in his 40s.
Mr Koh said: 'Scratching my car was a small matter. I only wanted to talk to him about it. But what he did could have cost me my life.'
He made a police report at the accident and emergency ward of CGH.
Mr Koh's wife, Madam S Chong, 36, said the Nissan driver's behaviour was 'outrageous'.
She was having lunch when her husband called her while he was in the ambulance to CGH.
Madam Chong said: 'At first, I thought he was joking as my husband likes to joke a lot. As he could still talk to me on the phone, I knew he wasn't too badly hurt.
The Kohs have two children aged 4 and 8.
A passer-by gave Mr Koh the licence plate number of the Nissan.
He said: 'It all happened so fast that I didn't have time to see the car plate number.
'Luckily, there were witnesses who saw what happened.'
The police said they were informed of the incident at about 1pm.
They are investigating the matter which involves a car driver, a motorcyclist and a pedestrian.
A similar incident happened on 9 Apr. Mr Alex Lim was driving his girlfriend home for dinner, but along Paterson Road, his red Mazda was involved in a minor collision with a taxi.
Both drivers then parked along Scotts Road and got out of their vehicles. An argument followed.
Cabby Lee Yuet Kong, who was carrying a passenger at the time, allegedly got back into his taxi and tried to drive off.
Mr Lim, a finacial adviser, wanting to get Lee's particulars, stood in front of the cab, but Lee reportedly drove away, throwing him onto the bonnet.
He later allegedly braked abruptly, causing Mr Lim to fall backwards and hit his head on the ground.
Mr Lim died on 13 May.
Lee, a 68-year-old relief driver, has been charged with causing grievous hurt with a rash act.
<!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--> <!--[endif]-->
Rising suicide rate: Do something when we see someone in need of a helping hand <!-- headline one : end -->
<!-- more than 7 paragraphs --><!-- story content : start -->I READ with dismay the article, 'Suicide figures up - 419 deaths last year' (ST, Aug 13).
Nevertheless, I am not surprised at the rising suicide figures and believe that it will continue to climb in the near future as I see many people facing difficulty coping with a stressful lifestyle deprived of much support.
People belonging to the sandwiched generation especially face mounting pressures, mainly financial, and if they fail to see a way out of their problem, may attempt suicide. To them, living is tortuous and death seems like a permanent relief to all their problems which is but a myth. They will leave behind loved ones who not only will miss their presence but also have to live on with doubts of whether they are the ones at fault.
It is common knowledge that our population faces mounting work pressure. Many work long hours and only go home to sleep. Weekends are also confined to indoor activity as they recuperate from a long week at work. There is hardly any work-life balance here. Most people's lives revolve around work.
As families get smaller, the supportive reach of an extensive family network is also remote. Many also fail to have time to establish any meaningful friendships and may miss out on opportunities to confide their problems in someone. Many who have problems, especially men, will not seek out counsellors from nearby neighbourhood family service centres for counselling support, further compounding the issue.
A close classmate of mine committed suicide at the tender age of 21. He suffered from an inferiority complex and family members also failed to understand him. After being discharged from the mental hospital, he hanged himself outside a church. As his classmates who helped him along the way, we were devastated and blamed ourselves for not doing enough to help him.
<!-- show media links starting at 7th para -->I often questioned the quality of our counsellors in family service centres (FSCs), having worked in one myself a few years back as a social-work aide.
Most workers there are young and trained in social work. It will be difficult for them to identify with the issues a middle-aged person is going through and also how he can earn the respect of the counsellee who is much more seasoned in life.
FSCs need to deploy properly trained counsellors who are mature enough to deal with the issues of this critical age group. Hopefully, this will take some load off the suicide-prevention group Samaritans of Singapore (SOS) which continues to face manpower shortages.
As Singapore progresses, many will also struggle to keep pace in a modern fast-paced society. Let us offer our shoulder if we see someone in need of a helping hand. You never know that your kind words of comfort may dissuade someone from thoughts of ending his life. It is when we take time to care for one another that we can say we are a First World nation.
Gilbert Goh Keow Wah
Originally posted by leilan84:So you're agreeing with me? but yet playing the number game? Do OZ have workers who don't get their pay on time? and have protest in their M.O.M(i don't know what it is called in OZ).?
Do OZ citizens need to starve when they're out of Job?
Do OZ citizens get priority compared to foreigners?
Do OZ citizens male citizens need to spend 2 years of cheap labours?
Do OZ citizens need to be pwned so badly by their government telling them that their wages is too high and thus uncompetitive?
etc etc....
you want to compare? compare everything!
Yes .i cant agree with out anymore.I have said some where in this forum
that u have to see ''staying in any single country as a WHOLE package.''
U cant expect a very low crime rate when u are so lenient to criminals,
and not so effective to prevent guns etc entering the country illegally.
Thats ,u have to pay the price.Like u cant expect to pay a 70 cents ice cream
in a 5 star hotel,like u pay In McDonalds!!
2.The points u raise are correct.Some of them may not happen in oz.
Yes I agree.But pl take note that somethings happen in oz also
hard to happen in SG.
The serious and unbelievable problems in Oz drugs,public health etc
may not happen in SG in the near future,after PAP ruling for 50 years
continously!!
For example,the Oz government Illegal Drugs Injection
Room ,as happened in Sydney!!
B.The endless guns shots in metro cities.I am tired to put links here.
u just go to polices web site of Oz metro cities to check guns ,shots,shoots,
fire arms or firearms.Oz police really know how to hide the crimes.
They wont list out the crimes easily.u have to dig out!!
C.The horrible public health sys---NOT my assessments,But Australians' assessments!!If u are in NSW.prepare to pay 2 times more if u want a
better services!!
Chair’s Foreword
…simply being an inpatient in an Australian acute-care hospital is forty times more dangerous than being in traffic, and only ten times safer than leaping out of an aircraft equipped with a parachute.2
as quoted by Revd Dr Gordon Moyes AC, MLC
Committee Chair
in
LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
Report 17 - June 2004
General Purpose Standing Committee No. 2
Complaints handling within
NSW Health
http://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/prod/PARLMENT/committee.nsf/0/d7658c3fd2f0476cca256ebd00043a73/$FILE/Complaints%20handling%20within%20NSW%20Health%20Report.pdf
[PDF]
æ–‡ä»¶æ ¼å¼�: PDF/Adobe Acrobat
On 23 January, 2003 the Daily Telegraph reported the alleged euthanasia of a ...... Assoc Professor Deborah Piccone, Administrator, South Western Sydney ..
http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/story/0,27574,25589380-5006009,00.html
Hospital wings bankroll health
@@@@@@@@@@@@@2
Based on the current situation,i think better stay put in this tiny island
to avoid paying sky high health price,in NSW (incd Sydney)!!
LN no speak anglish, me ried lionnoisy's post got idea. tok nevber like run dog got tirez liao, sleep on job now say too sian 2 post. walzo eh. lik ngot pzie sie spar.
Oh I mean this is my assessment.I am NOT appealing u guys follow.
I am not able to tell u settle here or there.NO.
Just settle anywhere u like,after u do your homework.
U ,together with your loved one,are the ONLY one to enjoy and /or
suffer from your decisions.
U need not thank anyone if u enjoy,nor blame any one if u suffer.
DO NOT depend on assumptions and hear says!!\
I am suprised to hear one SG pple staying in Oz telling me
that there was no water shortage in oz metro cities!!
2.List down your top 5 priorties for your dream country.
Education,good public order,environment for raising kids,
etc.Do your home work and check against wat your frens and relatives say.Think.Think.Think.
3.I am still suprised so many people using raising kids in a better environment
as a reason for migrating .But in the new dream country of their choice,
u can get drugs,like heroin,as easy as buying a Coke.
Drive by shooting is a way of life..
I cant see how life is better there to raise a kid!!
Originally posted by fishbuff1:LN no speak anglish, me ried lionnoisy's post got idea. tok nevber like run dog got tirez liao, sleep on job now say too sian 2 post. walzo eh. lik ngot pzie sie spar.
any link to translate your post?
Originally posted by leilan84:Dear lionnoisy,
There are many living in Oz happy forever.But some do not,as i read the news.
Who?Health care sys is a joke.Drugs.Drive by shootings...
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
I am always wandering why so amny pple migrating OUT of Oz!!
There are some 150,000 pple migarting to Oz a year.
But in past 10 year,there are pple,who are already staying in Oz,
leaving from Oz.The figure is half of the amount of new comers.
Out of 75,000 ,abt half were born in Oz!!
So,if oz is a perfect place.why the 75000 are leaving a year?
u can see the proof here.
so u can see 2 in, but one out.
Pl tell me any survey results asking pple the reasons leaving Oz
PERMANENLY!!
5.1 PERMANENT ARRIVALS AND PERMANENT DEPARTURES, Australia
http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/[email protected]/Latestproducts/3412.0Feature%20Article22006-07?opendocument&tabname=Summary&prodno=3412.0&issue=2006-07&num=&view=
Abt half of pple leaving Oz were born in oz!!
5.3 PERMANENT DEPARTURES, Australia - Country of birth
Simply rememebr 4, 2, 1.In any year
4 people migrating to Oz.
2 leaving Oz (those alreday staying in oz).
1. out of the 2 pple leaving Oz,one was born in Oz.
BTW,u can read Ambulance services here--
http://www.ambulance.nsw.gov.au/docs/090505government.pdf
NSW Government Response to the
Legislative Council General Purpose Standing Committee
No.2 inquiry into the Management and Operations
of the Ambulance Service of NSW
May 2009