I wonder why are they talking about tranport fare increases right now. Oil was $150 per barrel when they conceived the idea, now oil is $100 and with the impending global economic issues, it seems unlikely that oil will hit $150 anytime soon.
Now they are telling us that the new public transport fare price is beneficial to most of us. ![]()
So what is their basis for increasing public transport fares during this time? To shore up Temasek's account from recent losses in overseas investments?
Seems like we are the proverbial sheep, therefore we have to be fleeced occasionally by the farmer.
its now benefitical to those taking mulitple transfers... from 25 cents rebates to 40 cents for transfers.....
They have to be accountable to the shareholders. Here in Singapore provision of public transport is more of profit earning rather than providing public service.
They can claim that when they submitted proposal it was during the time when the price was high.
Originally posted by Fantagf:They have to be accountable to the shareholders. Here in Singapore provision of public transport is more of profit earning rather than providing public service.
They can claim that when they submitted proposal it was during the time when the price was high.
Makes no sense right, their reason for increase then was high oil price, but now oil dropped $50 to $100 per barrel. Still they want to increase to help the poor people. ![]()
Originally posted by maurizio13:
Makes no sense right, their reason for increase then was high oil price, but now oil dropped $50 to $100 per barrel. Still they want to increase to help the poor people.
INcrease to help themselves. They did mention about making profits to be accountable to their shareholders (should have stored that piece of article).
rmb last year they mention they will slowly increase the fares over the next few years so that people are able to accept the increase rather than a sudden huge increase. they already told you will increase liao. those proposals are for show.
Originally posted by freedom4ever:rmb last year they mention they will slowly increase the fares over the next few years so that people are able to accept the increase rather than a sudden huge increase. they already told you will increase liao. those proposals are for show.
vote pay and pay out.
someone will go on tv and say, "its only a few cents. so its ok."
Originally posted by dragg:someone will go on tv and say, "its only a few cents. so its ok."
of cos must show there are people ok with the increase mah. propaganda.
i rather they 5 years increase 1 time 15% than every year increase 3%.
Originally posted by Fantagf:vote pay and pay out.
my vote alone cant win the majority. now waiting for the next election to come because that is where the 1988 dragon babies are able to vote.
pai seh. got a typo. is 1988. not 1998.
Originally posted by dragg:someone will go on tv and say, "its only a few cents. so its ok."
This is the crux of the problem, the media has failed us miserably. Of late they have been repeating like a broken record, petty issue like Sporeans not clearing their plates.
The whole thing from a PTC that ok every hike since inception, to the increase of fare despite billons of dollars of reserve by GLC transport in 2006 and to an obliging media is a testimony that the system need an overhaul pretty badly.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
INcrease to help themselves. They did mention about making profits to be accountable to their shareholders (should have stored that piece of article).
Who are the shareholders? More like themselves.
Originally posted by freedom4ever:my vote alone cant win the majority. now waiting for the next election to come because that is where the 1998 dragon babies are able to vote.
That is why we need to share with as many as possible about the ways of pay and pay to encourage them to vote them out. Buying annuity compulsory is the issue many will not agree. think of more to tell people. Many are still ignorant and not updated on what is going on.
which country on earth make $$$ from public transport.
they dun even know meaning of Public Transport.
Let mi advice U pig Public transport is to help the
public the poor n middle class people. not to make
from them n pay u people gd salary n seat in office.
IS time we change them .
Originally posted by sunnytv:Who are the shareholders? More like themselves.
People are the shareholders. YOu can buy the shares. If they are able to get funds thru this why are they still so money minded to increase the fares every year.
Originally posted by Tigosing:which country on earth make $$$ from public transport.
they dun even know meaning of Public Transport.
Let mi advice U pig Public transport is to help the
public the poor n middle class people. not to make
from them n pay u people gd salary n seat in office.
IS time we change them .
Vote pay and pay out. Go spread the word.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
People are the shareholders. YOu can buy the shares. If they are able to get funds thru this why are they still so money minded to increase the fares every year.
Who the major shareholders? Can common people afford it? or else you can see a lot of Singaporeans talking about buying shares on the streets oredi. Didn't they say they will increase it bit by bit so that some stupid Singaporeans cannot feel the big differences. A great strategy indeed. Plus when appetite get bigger, sure need more funds. So must we wait until it reach $3 -$5 and start complain, isn't it too late. You don't see coffin, you don't cry.
Originally posted by sunnytv:Who the major shareholders? Can common people afford it? or else you can see a lot of Singaporeans talking about buying shares on the streets oredi. Didn't they say they will increase it bit by bit so that some stupid Singaporeans cannot feel the big differences. A great strategy indeed. Plus when appetite get bigger, sure need more funds. So must we wait until it reach $3 -$5 and start complain, isn't it too late. You don't see coffin, you don't cry.
The shares are expensive. Was lower when it first started. Voice out our unhappiness about it, others will complain. Don't voice out, they the greedy evil take it that we accept it. On the whole, this ruling party is just only interested to earn more and more money out of us. The best solution is still to vote them out.
It will reach $3 in time to come. Whatever it is we have the right to voice out, we are citizens of this land. Prob is when the pay and pay wants something out of it, they choose to ignore the voice from the people. Very evil greedy toads they are.
Look at todays CNA news... Look at its title "Commuters generally welcome bus, train fare changes" WTF...Of course, this coming from a reputable news agency in Singapore, you will expect them to substantiate how they derived at this conclusion, but they didnt.
THis is really strange because, either many of the people who are unahppy are not commuters, or CNA have some really wrong method of sampling.
THis is singapore, I remember sometime ago, some people say that in this island of his, he can travel from east to west in 20mins? yes since this island so small who the hell needs a transfer?
Guys if u dun tink this is blatant propaganda, I dunno what is.
SINGAPORE: Public response to the forthcoming public transport fare adjustments has generally been positive.
But one transport analyst cautioned that there could be a higher fare increase next year.
"Okay lah, what to do?" said a man, when asked about how he felt about the fare adjustments. That generally summed up the sentiment of most commuters.
While commuters welcomed the higher rebates for transfers to get to their destinations, some said they would not mind paying more for direct journeys as transfers are too troublesome.
"I don't really like taking multiple trips, because it wastes a lot of time. So I'd rather pay a few cents more, take a direct trip," said a commuter.
Others felt that the fare hike came at a time when prices are rising.
"I hope (they) don't increase anymore, because right now, (it is) very hard to find (a) job, some of them (the people have) financial problem also," said a Malay woman.
Concession fares for children and students will remain the same, as will the cost of monthly passes for students and National Servicemen. As for senior citizens, concession hours on weekdays have been extended to include the evening rush hour for train services run by SMRT.
"Sometimes, we go and visit our son, no need to rush to come back. Save money also," said an old man.
The government and transport operators, SBS Transit and SMRT Corp, are spending over S$5m to help low income families cope with the fare hike. They have jointly set aside S$5.2 million to fund an additional 130,000 public transport vouchers for low-income families.
A transport analyst said that removing the transfer penalty is an important step towards a hub-and-spoke transport system. But the issue is how to split the cost between operators and commuters.
"There's always some sharing of the burden, and there'll be winners and losers. All of these numbers are relatively small, so the winners are not big winners, and the losers are not big losers," said Professor Paul Barter from the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy.
He noted that this year's inflation numbers will likely factor into next year's fare review.
Prof Barter said: "One feature of the formula is that the inflation that is put into the formula is last year's inflation. So we see that the fare increase that was allowed this year is only 3 per cent, and in actual fact the Public Transport Council has only allowed 0.7 per cent on average.
"Because inflation has been higher this year, we would anticipate that next year the formula may allow for a higher increase." However he added that the burden of increase on commuters is likely to remain low.
- CNA/ir
PCB..
oh.. how much was one barrel of oil back in e last fare revision?
Originally posted by maurizio13:
I wonder why are they talking about tranport fare increases right now. Oil was $150 per barrel when they conceived the idea, now oil is $100 and with the impending global economic issues, it seems unlikely that oil will hit $150 anytime soon.
Now they are telling us that the new public transport fare price is beneficial to most of us.
So what is their basis for increasing public transport fares during this time? To shore up Temasek's account from recent losses in overseas investments?
Seems like we are the proverbial sheep, therefore we have to be fleeced occasionally by the farmer.
"To shore up Temasek's account from recent losses in overseas investments?"
hmmmm.... if Wall Street journal ask this question, they will be sued by the dishonorable despots....
Looks like only Dr Chee who is willing to be a martyr can ask these type of questions. Don't forget to support his cause and give his cause some of the increase in progress package that he help won for you..
Really ah, I dont know how much more such insult of intelligence and disrespect I can take.
Originally posted by whiskers:Look at todays CNA news... Look at its title "Commuters generally welcome bus, train fare changes" WTF...Of course, this coming from a reputable news agency in Singapore, you will expect them to substantiate how they derived at this conclusion, but they didnt.
THis is really strange because, either many of the people who are unahppy are not commuters, or CNA have some really wrong method of sampling.
THis is singapore, I remember sometime ago, some people say that in this island of his, he can travel from east to west in 20mins? yes since this island so small who the hell needs a transfer?
Guys if u dun tink this is blatant propaganda, I dunno what is.
They sample from P4P grassroots members?
And you can expect even more increases when they have to implement the new smartcard. ![]()