I can't believe some people is so happy saving a few cents on bus rides while some company is earning millions of profits by increase non-stop regardless of anything.
Originally posted by drawer:Actually last time,before the link card impost,the previous card(not link card) i used can last quite long,coz when i take buses,i can cheat abit by
today, you know who are the one who cheats on bus? foreign workers.
last friday, i took #980 from bugis to the north at about 10.30pm to meet with buddies for teh chino in sembawang, and quite a bunch of foreign workers (india, bangla, thais) boarded the bus near serangoon. what's amazing was they did not tap the ezlink card when they got in and when they alight; most of them at upper thomson and nee soon, they just got off just like that. the bus captain did diddly squat.
i am amazed they got away scot-free just like that.
the laws here are not observed and blatantly flaunted. tell u, one thing will lead to another....
Originally posted by sunnytv:I can't believe some people is so happy saving a few cents on bus rides while some company is earning millions of profits by increase non-stop regardless of anything.
every cent saved is a cent earned.
This is Singapore.
Singaporeans like GST to be increased. (It supposedly helps the poor)
Singaporeans like transport fares to increase. (It supposedly improves transport services)
Originally posted by charlize:This is Singapore.
Singaporeans like GST to be increased. (It supposedly helps the poor)
Singaporeans like transport fares to increase. (It supposedly improves transport services)
ERP => Help Singaporeans own more cars and improve safety in KPE ![]()

today, you know who are the one who cheats on bus? foreign workers.
last friday, i took #980 from bugis to the north at about 10.30pm to meet with buddies for teh chino in sembawang, and quite a bunch of foreign workers (india, bangla, thais) boarded the bus near serangoon. what's amazing was they did not tap the ezlink card when they got in and when they alight; most of them at upper thomson and nee soon, they just got off just like that. the bus captain did diddly squat.
the laws here are not observed and blatantly flaunted. tell u, one thing will lead to another....
I am also aware of that. The bus company even engaged inspectors during peak periods to squeeze these 'foreign workers' into the packed buses. So extra costs to help these free loaders to get their transport home. Ironical, ain't it?
Originally posted by maurizio13:
They sample from P4P grassroots members?
and from shareholders too.
Originally posted by redDUST:today, you know who are the one who cheats on bus? foreign workers.
Ya,i also saw that scene before.No wonder more n more Singaporeans left this "Uniquely Screwed Up" country for good.Who would want to pledge his/her loyalty to a country would keep on increasing daily expenses like hell without any curbing policy and take care of those "foreign workers" more than their own countrymen/women.
P.S.Fuk Lee Kuan Yew,Lee Hsien Loong and Boot-licker Goh Chok Tong.
Originally posted by drawer:Ya,i also saw that scene before.No wonder more n more Singaporeans left this "Uniquely Screwed Up" country for good.Who would want to pledge his/her loyalty to a country would keep on increasing daily expenses like hell without any curbing policy and take care of those "foreign workers" more than their own countrymen/women.
P.S.Fuk Lee Kuan Yew,Lee Hsien Loong and Boot-licker Goh Chok Tong.
the mention of Uniquely reminds me of one fat bootlicker feng dr said that "Uniquely Singapore" means You need Lee, Singapore.
Originally posted by likedatosocan:
I think the only way to find out if reporters or writers write propaganda is to quizz them on 'live' national tv with detectors.I am sure they very integrity and never lie in their whole live. that they serve the public honestly and not biased to any political party as they are not linked in anyway to partys ? As they never get any lobang or perks from them ?
Of course, u believe me right? ? ???? ??????? ??????????
Ooops, I don;t understand. Detectors on TV???
Public response to the forthcoming public transport fare adjustments has generally been positive?!
Ok lah, what to do?
"One feature of the formula is that the inflation that is put into the formula is last year's inflation.This year's inflation numbers will likely factor into next year's fare review.Because inflation has been higher this year, we would anticipate that next year the formula may allow for a higher increase."- Professor Paul Barter from the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy.

I kid you not...![]()
I love fare increases.
Repeat after me.
After 1000 times, you will really enjoy transport fare increases. ![]()
Crude oil is currently trading at US$92 a barrel.
Do you think the transport company will decrease fares if price of crude falls below US$80? ![]()
Originally posted by qpicanto:
The correlation is NO longer there between fare hikes and oil prices as in the 2007 hike, oil prices went down after the Lebanon war to around $80 and lower. the reason given by PTC : "There is no extenuating reason NOT to increase."
When oil is up they capitalise on it .
The fares has NEVER never been reduced before unlike petrol, irregardless of oil prices, cheaper wages of foreign drivers, CUT in CPF wages ,market domination and huge reserves.
<reason given by PTC : "There is no extenuating reason NOT to increase.">
this is the most shamless excuse and it shows that they are all out to increase the fare!
Originally posted by redDUST:today, you know who are the one who cheats on bus? foreign workers.
This is Singapore. Almost everyone wants to leave this SIN city.
The excuse given is that "todays" oil is the stockpile purchased when oil was US$150 per Barrel.
Now that the “Oil hit below US$90 per barrel”. .. will we see prices change lower when the new stock kicks into the supply chain in about another 3 months ?
The present price adjustments to travel fares - made at a seemingly insignificant 2 OR 3 CENTs - will only add to the profit margins of the very profitable transport companies; and these will probably not be reduced when the new stock of US$90 per barrel oil enters the pipeline.
Amazingly, in Tuesday - 16 Sep 2008 - edition of the Straits Times, MOM has stated that wage increase has been negated by the increase in cost of living.
With Minister Mah claiming that reducing or removing government fuel tax is equivalent to government subsidies - can Singaporeans expect any help from this Government ?
I wonder why are they talking about tranport fare increases right now. Oil was $150 per barrel when they conceived the idea, now oil is $100 and with the impending global economic issues, it seems unlikely that oil will hit $150 anytime soon.
Now they are telling us that the new public transport fare price is beneficial to most of us.
So what is their basis for increasing public transport fares during this time? To shore up Temasek's account from recent losses in overseas investments?
Seems like we are the proverbial sheep, therefore we have to be fleeced occasionally by the farmer.
Prices of oil might have fallen, but our dollars against the USD is also probably weaker too. ![]()
Originally posted by parn:
Prices of oil might have fallen, but our dollars against the USD is also probably weaker too.
Means oil price fell about 40 to 50%
But did our dollar weakened against the USD within the same period by 40%~50% too? ![]()
Crude oil is currently trading at US$92 a barrel.
Do you think the transport company will decrease fares if price of crude falls below US$80?
No, what the govt will do is to give out transport vouchers thru their social agencies such as the Community Centre, RC, NTUC etc etc, these vouchers will be given to lower income peoples who earn less than $1,600 household income or $500 per capital.
These are psychology strategy that take from the rich and plough it to the poor, it gives them prestige and honour in doing something for the poors. It show that they are responsible and good govt.
So most of us are fool into it.
And for those surplus profit, it will be plough into their salaries and fat bonuses.
Rule of the thumb,
excluding salaries and asset worth, what goes up will never come back down again.
Rules of fingers
Including salaries and net asset worth, what goes around come around.
Originally posted by angel7030:
No, what the govt will do is to give out transport vouchers thru their social agencies such as the Community Centre, RC, NTUC etc etc, these vouchers will be given to lower income peoples who earn less than $1,600 household income or $500 per capital.
These are psychology strategy that take from the rich and plough it to the poor, it gives them prestige and honour in doing something for the poors. It show that they are responsible and good govt.
So most of us are fool into it.
And for those surplus profit, it will be plough into their salaries and fat bonuses.
Unfortunately, for a very long time this Government has been in denial mode that there are any destitute or any Singaporeans living in the poverty line.
They have yet to honestly declare the actual size or numbers of Singaporean households with less then $1,600 household income.
With coupons and vouchers printed, do these destitute know where to get these coupons and vouchers, or even know how to benefit from such a system ?
If at all, this is another round of propaganda exercise that the Government is helping Singaporeans - but the larger numbers that need help include those in lower and upper Middle Income Groups.
Seriously, this is really crap. I read the ST yesterday and they made it sound as though the fare increase was a positive happy thing! It showed how a pathetic family was actually not paying higher. What about the other millions of us who would be paying higher?
And seriously, all excuses given by the govt is because they want to "help the lower income". From subsidies to GST to transport vouchers increase. Have they forgotten totally who are the ones paying for the running of this country? So what do majority middle income citizens stand to gain from all these increases?
Its sad that the people are now taking all these price increases as though it is a annual tradition that should not be opposed. Is there anything else we can do to besides discussing it? Feelin so helpless...don't know what to do
2 day before the increase i hear a news about Public trnsport company going to buy new bus maybe 20 buses, so i say to myself they must be some hidden cost somewhere. 2 day later come the news of fare price increse, i laugh out loud. that is the news i waiting. Just Wandering if there any MP in parliment fight for this fare increase, people vote them to be Member Of Parliment not to seat, see or zip the mouth off they should bring the people problem help the people.