SINGAPORE: Lehman Brothers Holdings will develop a 450 million Singapore dollar, or $298 million, office complex in Singapore as a shortage of space pushes up rents.
The 280,000-square-foot, or 26,000-square-meter, building in the central business district will be completed in the second quarter of 2009, Lehman said Wednesday. Lehman is developing the complex in a venture with Kajima Overseas Asia, which will own 50 percent of the building.
One plus one = two?
...and
Welcome to the Merrill Lynch site for career opportunities in Singapore. We are expanding our already significant business presence in Singapore with the establishment of a new facility for Merrill Lynch Global Services and are seeking exceptional candidates to fill positions in our Operations group and our Technology group. Merrill Lynch Global Services Why Join Merrill Lynch Review the Operations and Technology information in the Opportunities section of this site. If you decide one of the opportunities is a match for your career aspirations and you would like to submit an application, follow the directions on the How to Apply page of this site. Merrill Lynch
Singapore Careers
Merrill Lynch Global Services is a cross-regional operation with multi-faceted capabilities, providing superior service to the firm's clients globally. Our current Global Services office in Singapore is located at HarbourFront and is the first phase in Merrill Lynch's expansion plans. By 2009, we plan to have 900 Global Services employees working in Singapore.
This is an ideal time to consider the opportunities we offer in Singapore. Given our aggressive expansion plans over the next few years, you will be joining a growing organization and acquire the knowledge base and experience to grow with it.
Merrill Lynch is one of the world's leading wealth management, capital markets and advisory companies, with offices on six continents. The company is a leading global trader and underwriter of securities and derivatives across a broad range of asset classes and serves as a strategic advisor to corporations, governments, institutions and individuals worldwide. Merrill Lynch owns just under half of BlackRock, one of the world's largest publicly traded investment management companies.
Lay offs and fire sale of Merrill Lynch's properties?
...the damned despots' policies of greed are coming home to roost big time, this time.... but do they care when they are taking such massive amounts of public money for their own pockets?
i think what would be the next that needs to pay attention would be "Insurance company"
the correction and adjustment to market reality would continue.
Originally posted by Arapahoe:i think what would be the next that needs to pay attention would be "Insurance company"
the correction and adjustment to market reality would continue.
Bank deposits insurance going down?
Top Economist: Americans Should Worry About Bank Deposits if Congress Doesn't Act- Tech Ticker
Life and general insurance companies going down?
NY allows AIG to borrow from subsidiaries, shares fall 50%
Wow, ONE OF THE WORLD'S BIGGEST INSURANCE COMPANY....
'Currently Illiquid' !!!!?????

Cash in your insurance policies before it is too late?
yeah knees jurking insurance companies....
the minutes you hit insurance it affect the long term loss of asset value.
I think property would properly hold for another 6 months in SG. what do you think? The kind of price from SG cannot continue to hold.
poor Man U.....
Originally posted by Arapahoe:yeah knees jurking insurance companies....
the minutes you hit insurance it affect the long term loss of asset value.
I think property would properly hold for another 6 months in SG. what do you think? The kind of price from SG cannot continue to hold.
The rentals that come from the massive influx of foreigners will help support the prices to a certain extent. If jobs for the foreigners start to diminish then they will leave. If the foreigners leave (not those that live in dormitories for workers) then rentals will fall.
In such a situation, where there is uncertainty, the prices cannot go up but as long as rentals are there to support the property loans, it might not come down.
There are other factors like foreign money flowing in (or flowing out) and it looks like we can expect money from the US, Japan and the West generally to dry up (or even reverse).
Singaporeans cashing in their CPF and bringing it overseas would be another factor.
If there are race riots in Malaysia, then the money belonging to the Malaysian Chinese might come here. If there is a smooth transition from the government to the opposition, then money Malaysians parked here at the moment might go back, for it shows that Malaysia can do democracy and that will strenghten the country.
Indonesia, with so many candidates vying for the presidency and nobody being sued for defamation to stop them from standing, bodes well for the country. So money from Indonesia is unlikely to come here in the foreseeable future and might even reverse.
Singapore is so dependent on foreigners and foreign money, and that is the greatest failure of the PAP for not building up a home grown, Singaporeans based economy (due to many varied reasons like resources going into the hands of their relatives and cronies and resources going into paying for exorbitant property prices... )
...and not forgeting Singapore resources lost as a result of supporting foreign banks....
Singapore is so dependent on foreigners and foreign money, and that is the greatest failure of the PAP for not building up a home grown, Singaporeans based economy (due to many varied reasons like resources going into the hands of their relatives and cronies and resources going into paying for exorbitant property prices
....Are you insane? A country of only 4.59 million(2007) and 273 sq meters with no natural resources whatsoever and you want us to depend on home grown economy?
We are always going to be dependent on foreigners and foreign money, that's what globalisation is. What sort of world do you live in? Malaysia and Indonesia have a much better chance of surviving on its own than we would ever hope to achieve.
I'm not denying PAP needs decent opposition to make it wake up its ideas but i don't see the value in trying to blame the slump in the economy on them. Especially when it's affecting the world.
It's irresponsible and childish.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:
....Are you insane? A country of only 4.59 million(2007) and 273 sq meters with no natural resources whatsoever and you want us to depend on home grown economy?
We are always going to be dependent on foreigners and foreign money, that's what globalisation is. What sort of world do you live in? Malaysia and Indonesia have a much better chance of surviving on its own than we would ever hope to achieve.
I'm not denying PAP needs decent opposition to make it wake up its ideas but i don't see the value in trying to blame the slump in the economy on them. Especially when it's affecting the world.
Oh please, way back in June 2006 I wrote an article about the dangers that we are facing now. If I can see it coming, so can the despots but they chose to enrich themselves and their cronies instead of doing the decent thing.
see:
Property Prices Rise at our expense
By Andrew PK Yap
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
One plus one = two?
uncle,
One plus One = Three lah. why u dunno math meh??
What "only" a few million people?
Nokia (pronounced [ˈnokiÉ‘]) is a city on the banks of the Nokianvirta River (Kokemäenjoki) in the region of Pirkanmaa and the province of Western Finland, some 15 km west of Tampere. As of February 2008 it has a population of 30,524.
Finland - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
-
2008 estimate
5,319,401[1] (111th)
-
2000 census
Population
They had a government that was more interested in developing the nation rather than lining their own pockets.
Pardon my Uncle remarks and comments, the matter of facts is that he is not well and is still on medication.
It is true that since industrialistion and globalisation, MNC and FDI is critical in our GDP growth, but we need to train entrepreuers and inventor to churn our own MNC, just like Creative, so that we are able to face a tough Global business arenas. However presently, our young like me are trained to manage and engineer things for other only, we lack of our own bosses. And also most of our Uncles n Aunties are whiners and pro NATO citizens, so i agree with you that most of us still depend on Foreign Investment, so much so that we should upgrade ourselves, work smart and hard so as to make them dependent of Us too.
Originally posted by angel7030:Pardon my Uncle remarks and comments, the matter of facts is that he is not well and is still on medication.
It is true that since industrialistion and globalisation, MNC and FDI is critical in our GDP growth, but we need to train entrepreuers and inventor to churn our own MNC, just like Creative, so that we are able to face a tough Global business arenas. However presently, our young like me are trained to manage and engineer things for other only, we lack of our own bosses. And also most of our Uncles n Aunties are whiners and pro NATO citizens, so i agree with you that most of us still depend on Foreign Investment, so much so that we should upgrade ourselves, work smart and hard so as to make them dependent of Us too.
Go and suck your aunt's nipples, little kid, and since you claim to be just a stupid kid, why do you bother to comment? hahahahaha....
Uncle, me no aunt too, aiya, comment abit cannot meh, u took yr medication already or not?? Guai guai, be a good uncle and listen to Doctor ok.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Uncle, me no aunt too, aiya, comment abit cannot meh, u took yr medication already or not?? Guai guai, be a good uncle and listen to Doctor ok.
ai yo, no muther, no aunteee, no wonder you are so queer.... hahahaha....
but got uncles, queer uncle like you..hehehehe
but one aspect is true SG govt had use their resources to expand state own enterprise and crowding out private resources and talent. As such you don;t seriously see a sizeable SG incorporate global companies.
SG domestics market - by that I mean domestics solution for domestics consumption (other than hawker food). we have none.
The entire concept of feeding the top tier talent with higher salary feed into the current situation we are in? --- Look at the US top tier income had their Tax reduce.
essentially allow the rich to reinvest, but where do they reinvest in? They did not take the money to open a new production lines. They put it into property converting their new found cash into Asset and yield higher return on Asset, higher salary allow them to contract bigger loans.
Down to the secondary channel such as loan agencies, speculators, property developers are simply opportunist and it is every walk of RACE.
Originally posted by Arapahoe:but one aspect is true SG govt had use their resources to expand state own enterprise and crowding out private resources and talent. As such you don;t seriously see a sizeable SG incorporate global companies.
SG domestics market - by that I mean domestics solution for domestics consumption (other than hawker food). we have none.
The entire concept of feeding the top tier talent with higher salary feed into the current situation we are in? --- Look at the US top tier income had their Tax reduce.
essentially allow the rich to reinvest, but where do they reinvest in? They did not take the money to open a new production lines. They put it into property converting their new found cash into Asset and yield higher return on Asset, higher salary allow them to contract bigger loans.
Down to the secondary channel such as loan agencies, speculators, property developers are simply opportunist and it is every walk of RACE.
...and the asspot cronies run state own enterprises just keep on raising prices for Singaporeans to show good profits. In the international markets, they show their true useless-ass characters....