I am so grateful and proud to be born a Singaporean. I love Singapore with all my heart and soul.
When I was a little child, my parents taught us to 飲水��, always remember in our heart and appreciate the courage, effort, hardwork and fortitude putforth by Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew and his team to build Singapore from a poor backward country without any natural resources to what it is today.
I will never forget what he has done for singapore, thanks alot. Just want to correct u He and his team biuld singapore? So singaporean do what? build Baby only. I as a singaporean also do my part as a nation builder, I do my NS, income Tax, Porperty Tax, radio and tv tax, Conservative tax, GST, road tax plus ERP, CPF, inside PUB bill there is water tax and forget what tax some more.... for me it is also part of nation building also what, I am the natural resourcers?
It's a group effort, man, group effort.![]()
Originally posted by googoomuck:It's a group effort, man, group effort.
Well said,its group effort.But the thing now is,Lee Kuan Yew n his son take all the credits and assume that they are the one,or perhaps should put it this way,"They" are the only one who built up this nation.So how now?
They say opposition party cannot takeover PAP,and must remain minor party in the parliament,or best,totally no opposition party.So how now?
Let me tell you guys,if Lou Lee and his son is going to continue acting like a 'big fuk",there is no way Singapore is going to achieve anything in future.After Casinos built up,if Singapore PAP government remain so arrogant like now,the most 20-30 years,Singapore is going to get ruined by dictatorship.
There is no way LKY's method is ging to work for Singapore,his view is totally out-dated,and too narrow-minded.Now his thinking is going back to communist theory,there is absolutely no way his method can work for Singaporeans in future.
lol. if singapore got war, who will leave first? of course, the PAP..
we're just like their dogs...
tell us to do this and that..
what kind of leaders is that?
PM urge Singaporeans to donate..
but he got donate before? lol.
greedy bustards. ![]()
Even Goh Chok Tong also know LKY's method is not feasible for Singapore,coz he himself also get "raped" by LKY before.But sadly,he dont have the guts to oppose LKY,what a sad ass....
Originally posted by Ajen:lol. if singapore got war, who will leave first? of course, the PAP..
we're just like their dogs...
tell us to do this and that..
what kind of leaders is that?
PM urge Singaporeans to donate..
but he got donate before? lol.
greedy bustards.
of cos they run first lah. u expect them to fight together with you meh?
rmb the mas selamat case? how long did he take to make his first appearance on TV to reassure the public?
Originally posted by Hua.jiamin:I am so grateful and proud to be born a Singaporean. I love Singapore with all my heart and soul.
When I was a little child, my parents taught us to 飲水��, always remember in our heart and appreciate the courage, effort, hardwork and fortitude putforth by Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew and his team to build Singapore from a poor backward country without any natural resources to what it is today.
Hua.jiamin
Since they are so great and you are so thankful and proud of them, Please be proud that they make you pay more and more.
One side track mind people will think that the nation did not, do not contribute, only the PAP, the lee kuan yew contributed. pui lah.
Originally posted by Hua.jiamin:I am so grateful and proud to be born a Singaporean. I love Singapore with all my heart and soul.
You must be... LKY ?
Originally posted by Cullen[10]:You must be... LKY ?
Sounds more like a kid who is brainwashed.
sure sure, I just hate elections, my area has been getting walkovers for ages (Tg Pagar GRC).. thats what i dont like.. i think LKY needs to be a little lax, and increase wages not of his ministers and such, but of the workforce as well.
Originally posted by JJxJJ:sure sure, I just hate elections, my area has been getting walkovers for ages (Tg Pagar GRC).. thats what i dont like.. i think LKY needs to be a little lax, and increase wages not of his ministers and such, but of the workforce as well.
The PAP already said increase wages does not help, so that is why the tharman told companies not to increase wages of the staff.
it is not wrong to 飲水�� and we must give credit to M.Mentor for his foresight and effort during the early years. this i presumed all do agree. we cannot forget his achievements just because there are many new unpopular policies that his party implemented on us.
However, it is time for the next generation of Singaporeans, those who want to see changes and is daring enough to fight for change in the most diplomatic and civilised ways and get involved in the politics of this beautiful country.
LKY is like a father who nurtured us, taught us, fend for us and carried us during the early years of independence. but now we have grown up and our wings have developed. we know what we want and we know what is right. we want our voices heard but we complained that no one listens .
there are many ways to improve the political situations in Singapore. join the PAP and change them from the inside. it may take time but still, you are involved. or next, join an opposition and start the ball rolling. Set goals for yourself. Zig Zigler's formula to setting goals.
we can sit down in front of the computer and curse the government but nothing can be achieved. instead, make the action, do the deed and start to change Singapore. who knows, one of us here could be next Prime Minister?
To some, yes. To most, no...
The fact that the country is in the state where everything is labelled with a price tag, who would? If you wanna have a tv or radio, you need to pay tax. If you wanna work, you need to pay tax. If you wanna buy a house, you need to pay tax. If you wanna have a car, you need to pay road tax, COE, ERP and a lot of misc expenses and tax... If you wanna ride public transport, you need to cope with the ever rising fee and the ever crowded transport units. Lucky for most, we still able to able live a life just above the poverty line...
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:To some, yes. To most, no...
The fact that the country is in the state where everything is labelled with a price tag, who would? If you wanna have a tv or radio, you need to pay tax. If you wanna work, you need to pay tax. If you wanna buy a house, you need to pay tax. If you wanna have a car, you need to pay road tax, COE, ERP and a lot of misc expenses and tax... If you wanna ride public transport, you need to cope with the ever rising fee and the ever crowded transport units. Lucky for most, we still able to able live a life just above the poverty line...
That is the main reason why Pay and Pay comes into existence. Without this pay pay pay, the party would not be called Pay and Pay.
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:To some, yes. To most, no...
for we are born in this land, we are slave to this land. unless... you wish to be a master of this land too? if so, journey to be a master. the route is full of perils and deep valleys but the rewards are great.
i agree the cost of living over here is high, very high... but we have great advantages too.
Singapore is not perfect. there are still work to be done but let's not be disheartened for we are still young, very young in the eyes of the world.
your parents are brainwashed by PAP and you are brainwashed by your parents.
Originally posted by weewee:your parents are brainwashed by PAP and you are brainwashed by your parents.
happily brainwashed somemore. ha ha ha hah.
for your info, i have always maintained neutral opinions on PAP and the oppositions. even my post are not directly giving credit to our government but rather the facts. i do not support many of PAP's policies like thinking we are pigs that give birth just because they asked us to.
i do not like the increase in ERP gantries. i do not like some Ping Pong President who shamed us during Olympics. I do not like them implementing rules and policies without much hesitation like the IRs. the feedback is bullsh*t. how could they still continue with the IR plan when majority of Singaporeans were against it? however, facts are facts;
can you deny that we are safe at present from natural disasters?
can you deny the fact that we are somewhat safer than our nearest neighbours? i have walked alone from 12 am to 6 am the next morning before and i do feel safe. seriously, can you do that in KL? in Indonesia? in Australia?
can you deny the fact that our income tax is lower than Australia. (i only compared income tax... i did not include other taxes, be objective)
can you deny the fact that we have a lower unemployment rate compared to our neighbouring countries and Australia?
can you deny the fact that we are very fortunate to be able to speak 2 languages and our certifications are well received overseas?
give credit when credit is due.
Originally posted by novelltie:for your info, i have always maintained neutral opinions on PAP and the oppositions. even my post are not directly giving credit to our government but rather the facts. i do not support many of PAP's policies like thinking we are pigs that give birth just because they asked us to.
i do not like the increase in ERP gantries. i do not like some Ping Pong President who shamed us during Olympics. I do not like them implementing rules and policies without much hesitation like the IRs. the feedback is bullsh*t. how could they still continue with the IR plan when majority of Singaporeans were against it? however, facts are facts;
can you deny that we are safe at present from natural disasters?
can you deny the fact that we are somewhat safer than our nearest neighbours? i have walked alone from 12 am to 6 am the next morning before and i do feel safe. seriously, can you do that in KL? in Indonesia? in Australia?
can you deny the fact that our income tax is lower than Australia. (i only compared income tax... i did not include other taxes, be objective)
can you deny the fact that we have a lower unemployment rate compared to our neighbouring countries and Australia?
can you deny the fact that we are very fortunate to be able to speak 2 languages and our certifications are well received overseas?
give credit when credit is due.
I walked alone in KL, perth at 2 to 3 am and was so safe.
Originally posted by Fantagf:I walked alone in KL, perth at 2 to 3 am and was so safe.
you are very lucky then. even taxi drivers in KL reminded us not to walk around alone after midnight. Perth is a small part of Australia so we can't be sure of the statistics.
FEELINGS OF SAFETY
Approximately 82% of persons felt safe or very safe when at home alone during the day, compared with 72% feeling this way after dark. Conversely, 4.0% of persons felt unsafe or very unsafe when at home alone during the day, compared with 8.3% at home alone after dark.
Across the states and territories there were only slight variations in feelings of safety. The proportion of persons feeling safe or very safe during the day ranged from 80% in South Australia and Western Australia to 85% in Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory. Similarly, the proportion of persons feeling safe or very safe after dark ranged from 69% in South Australia and Western Australia to 76% in Tasmania.
Perceptions of safety varied between males and females, particularly after dark, when 80% of males compared with 64% of females felt safe or very safe when at home alone. Feelings of safety also varied according to age, with 84% of persons aged 15 to 19 years and 83% of persons aged 20 to 24 years feeling safe or very safe when at home alone during the day, compared to 78% of persons aged 65 years and over.
but seriously seriously, let's be honest. Singapore is considered very safe compared to many many other countries even to Australia.
Originally posted by novelltie:
you are very lucky then. even taxi drivers in KL reminded us not to walk around alone after midnight. Perth is a small part of Australia so we can't be sure of the statistics.FEELINGS OF SAFETY
Approximately 82% of persons felt safe or very safe when at home alone during the day, compared with 72% feeling this way after dark. Conversely, 4.0% of persons felt unsafe or very unsafe when at home alone during the day, compared with 8.3% at home alone after dark.
Across the states and territories there were only slight variations in feelings of safety. The proportion of persons feeling safe or very safe during the day ranged from 80% in South Australia and Western Australia to 85% in Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory. Similarly, the proportion of persons feeling safe or very safe after dark ranged from 69% in South Australia and Western Australia to 76% in Tasmania.
Perceptions of safety varied between males and females, particularly after dark, when 80% of males compared with 64% of females felt safe or very safe when at home alone. Feelings of safety also varied according to age, with 84% of persons aged 15 to 19 years and 83% of persons aged 20 to 24 years feeling safe or very safe when at home alone during the day, compared to 78% of persons aged 65 years and over.but seriously seriously, let's be honest. Singapore is considered very safe compared to many many other countries even to Australia.
Singapore is safe, but not as safe as before. Crime rate gone up.