Originally posted by angel7030:
Sina porean!!! wow! even foreigners is critising u with funny name and u still feel lucky hor.If singapore is so good, why when 80,000 PR are offered citizenship, no one take up.
No doubt one should alway said his/her own country good, even u ask a village gal from china, she will said the good about her village, and i will praise her, but then on the hindsight, i guess she needs some shaking up.
There is something that i admire about china and their citizens..their loyalty to country..they grew up there and they love their country no matter what..their loyalty to their country is existence no matter where they are..that is the spirit that is worth keeping and praising..don't blame Singapore for the PRs not taking up the citizenships..look at it the other way..
"Every man for his actions"
Question the citizen why he gave up his citizenship of his homeland...
Are u a Clone??
no i'm not..i onli have one account..and it's under the onli email address that i have..
Originally posted by skythewood:when the world revolves around you, your problem is the most important one in the world, and the only one that matters.
now i like this answer..thank you skythewood...the micro view of points..
this is likely y the government has put so much resources into educating its citizens on crime issues..therefore..the citizens and everybody have a part to play in prevent crime..not onli for others..but also for oneself.
now the onli thing that everyone even the SPF(till they catch th culprit) can say to the victim is..."be more cautious"..
Originally posted by harrymushroom:
There is something that i admire about china and their citizens..their loyalty to country..they grew up there and they love their country no matter what..their loyalty to their country is existence no matter where they are..that is the spirit that is worth keeping and praising..don't blame Singapore for the PRs not taking up the citizenships..look at it the other way.."Every man for his actions"
Question the citizen why he gave up his citizenship of his homeland...
Hi clony, yo, PRC are really loyal to their country, but not to their govt political system.
He who give up his homeland citizenship is because he cannot find a decent living in an overcrowded place, he needs a stepping stone to progress as he is a third of fourth tier talents who stand no chance in the progression of China
Originally posted by harrymushroom:no i'm not..i onli have one account..and it's under the onli email address that i have..
but i smell red ink here
Hi clony, yo, PRC are really loyal to their country, but not to their govt political system.
He who give up his homeland citizenship is because he cannot find a decent living in an overcrowded place, he needs a stepping stone to progress as he is a third of fourth tier talents who stand no chance in the progression of China
Dear angel..i didn't say anything about the political system here...
and yes..question the citizen..not the country...thank you for making my point...
but i smell red ink here
and from juz now till now...i still don't understand y i need to clone myself for..it's all for u to imagine..but my conscience is clear..this acc and onli this acc has been used by me since 2003..5 years liao..i juz read and don't post...so happen that i'm on mc..so i have plenty of time..lolz..and i kena shoot for being a clone..nice...
Originally posted by harrymushroom:now i like this answer..thank you skythewood...the micro view of points..
this is likely y the government has put so much resources into educating its citizens on crime issues..therefore..the citizens and everybody have a part to play in prevent crime..not onli for others..but also for oneself.
now the onli thing that everyone even the SPF(till they catch th culprit) can say to the victim is..."be more cautious"..
Aiya, SPF is for window dressing only, when only there are events such as Mat escaping and F1 or NDP or other international events, they go around catching weak gals and pimps to clear the street so as to give a better image for Foreigners n tourism. But cannot even catch Mat a lame. SPF is only good in catching the poor and weak, on the road also the same, TP mostly go for lorry and truck who are earning a living, those BM, merc speed by at 110km also dun bother. Damn.
Can i employ 10 gukkas to protect me or not??
Originally posted by harrymushroom:and from juz now till now...i still don't understand y i need to clone myself for..it's all for u to imagine..but my conscience is clear..this acc and onli this acc has been used by me since 2003..5 years liao..i juz read and don't post...so happen that i'm on mc..so i have plenty of time..lolz..and i kena shoot for being a clone..nice...
5 years ago with only 63 posts..OMG u r really King of Clone
Originally posted by novelltie:
it is not wrong to 飲水�� and we must give credit to M.Mentor for his foresight and effort during the early years. this i presumed all do agree. we cannot forget his achievements just because there are many new unpopular policies that his party implemented on us.However, it is time for the next generation of Singaporeans, those who want to see changes and is daring enough to fight for change in the most diplomatic and civilised ways and get involved in the politics of this beautiful country.
LKY is like a father who nurtured us, taught us, fend for us and carried us during the early years of independence. but now we have grown up and our wings have developed. we know what we want and we know what is right. we want our voices heard but we complained that no one listens .
there are many ways to improve the political situations in Singapore. join the PAP and change them from the inside. it may take time but still, you are involved. or next, join an opposition and start the ball rolling. Set goals for yourself. Zig Zigler's formula to setting goals.
- Write your goal down
- Put a date to it
- List down the obstacles you have to face and overcome
- Identify the people, groups and organisation that you have to work with
- Spell out a plan of action
- Set the time limit in there
- Identify all the benefits to yourself and your country
we can sit down in front of the computer and curse the government but nothing can be achieved. instead, make the action, do the deed and start to change Singapore. who knows, one of us here could be next Prime Minister?
agree 50/50 with u bro, Wah abit talk about gov only arr....Brainwash, Brainwash... how to brainwash other people head aar. I also want to do it so i can became next P.M that novelltie mention.
Aiya, SPF is for window dressing only, when only there are events such as Mat escaping and F1 or NDP or other international events, they go around catching weak gals and pimps to clear the street so as to give a better image for Foreigners n tourism. But cannot even catch Mat a lame. SPF is only good in catching the poor and weak, on the road also the same, TP mostly go for lorry and truck who are earning a living, those BM, merc speed by at 110km also dun bother. Damn.
Can i employ 10 gukkas to protect me or not??
think about it..y the SPF didn't clear out the illegal stuffs on geylang or wherever..the more u clear and restrict them..the more these things will come and will be harder to control..now at least geylang is still within their control and everything is concentrated there...have u not comprehend strategies before..?sometimes to gain power is to grant power..ponder upon it..
i'm a driver..and i drive and speed too..but look on the roads..have u gone on the roads..?don't u know that it's harder to spot a speeding merc than a speeding truck..?a truck's limit is 60km/h..if it's travelling at 90..u will know it straightaway..but a merc travelling at 110..10km/h above the "catchable" speed for TP...i'm a driver for so long and i still can't realli judge it at all...and have u drove a heavy vehicle before..?u know the physics of it..?i drove a fully loaded van before..it doesn't have the computerized braking system..suspension system..nor airbags...a speeding truck is like an unstoppable train..which one will u catch..~?
5 years ago with only 63 posts..OMG u r really King of Clone
hahaa...nah..it's King Of Readers..
brainwashing goes both ways
Gov brainwash people to be loyal to their countries
Western media brainwash people to think everything about them is good and all the countries should follow them
If u talk about political system, I cannot name one democratic country in asia tat is doing good governance. Taiwan is in a way declining after they democratise. Japan politics is also in trouble. South korea also become more turbulent now too. If u look at history. Taiwan used to be under a one party rule till recently. South korea is a military country until 1979. If u look at Thai, Indo, Phillipines, India, they r not doing pretty well too.
Two days ago, I googled for a Singapore's community site to post birthday greetings to our Singapore Founding Father Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew and chanced upon this site.
Emailed my friend Joyce Tan yesterday to share her insights in this forum and appended below is excerpts of her response and the article she would like to share with everyone:
When I was a little child, we live in a small rented flat in Toa Payoh. My parents could only afford to buy chicken and new clothings/shoes for the children during Chinese New Year. Never tasted prawns before during my childhood days. My dad cycled to work everyday, regardless of the weather....no TV, fridge, washing machine, telephone.....Due to the foresight and leadership of MM Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore was transformed from a poor, smelly, chaotic country into one of the cleanest, safest, richest, and most efficient big cities in the world. I and my family are grateful for the vision shown by our beloved wise leader and the PAP for the harmonious and wonderful lives we now lead... Many people from other countries still have to go overseas to work as labourers to earn a living...
http://www.articlediscovery.com/blog/2007/02/09/leadership-in-singapore-lee-kuan-yew/
While watching a Discovery Channel presentation of The History of Singapore a few days ago I was once again impressed about the vast difference in results that are obtained by visionary leadership.
One of the great leaders of the 20th century was Lee Kuan Yew, former Prime Minster of Singapore from 1965 until 1990. Under Mr Lee’s leadership Singapore was transformed from being a sleepy third world island nation with rather dismal prospects of even surviving as a city nation state into a thriving Asian tiger economy.
How was this accomplished? Can the effort be duplicated by larger more populated nations?
The answer to the first question is that from the beginning of Lee Kuan Yew’s term in office he insisted that whatever economic activity that Singapore engaged in must make economic sense and rather quickly make profits. He insisted that Singapore find it’s own way and not blindly follow in the footsteps of other nations. Thus while Singapore was in many ways run as a socialist society the state owned enterprises had to quickly prove themselves by being profitable.
An example of this is Singapore Airlines. Singapore Airlines was profitable against all odds because even thought state owned it made it’s own rules for operating and frequently did things totally out of the ordinary compared to airline industry norms.
Singapore replaced it’s aircraft fleet far earlier in the operation cycle compared to other airlines. And people the world over preferred to fly on Singapore Airlines because for one thing it’s fleet was fresh and extremely well maintained.
The cabin crews were trained longer than at other airlines. They were young, attractive, could speak several languages, and attentive. The “Singapore Girl” with their excellent service became the standard for excellence in the airline industry.
Another example of Lee Kuan Yew’s enlightened leadership is that while the majority of housing in Singapore was build by state owned enterprises rental of the properties was discouraged. Instead the apartments were sold to Singapore residents and the decline so often seen in the condition of state owned rental properties worldwide was completely avoided. The new home owners took pride in their homes, their communities, and in Singapore.Â
Lee Kuan Yew knew that to attract world leaders in business to set up operations in Singapore you needed a well trained disciplined work force, a friendly business regulatory environment, the free exchange and ability to repatriate currencies, English speaking workers, and a viable banking system and good infrastructure, especially in transportation and communications. With great foresight and careful planning all of these things were provided by Singapore.
Can Singapore’s and Lee Kuan Yew’s example be followed by other nations? Of course, it is possible, even on a much larger scale. But first you need excellent enlightened leadership.
Unfortunately, the world of today seems to have a critical shortage of qualified leadership along with enough competent bureaucrats to help plan and to oversee the implementation of the necessary efficient government infrastructure.
In order for economic development to take place that is up to the standard set by Singapore you must not politicize the development process. Ministers and high ranking bureaucrats must be empowered because of their competence, not their political connections. Witness the mess that the US has made out of their occupation of Iraq to see the truth behind that statement.
Today Dubai, UAE is probably the world’s leading center for new economic development. I feel certain that Dubai’s leaders spent a considerable amount of time researching the progress made by Singapore under the leadership of Lee Kuan Yew.
it's all about mindset. there are 2 kinds of people. those who think either the cup is half-full or half empty.
if you feel that Singapore is a horrible place to live in and want out. you are entitled to your opinions.
if you feel Singapore is a nice place to live in and you want to contribute, the are many avenues for you to get involved with nation development.
yes angel7030, you can employ Gurkkas to protect you just like those International Schools but you have to go through the police to get their services. you have to explain what threats do you face and why the need for such an elite team. also, the cost is not cheap.
i also can use red ink ![]()
Originally posted by stupidissmart:brainwashing goes both ways
Gov brainwash people to be loyal to their countries
Western media brainwash people to think everything about them is good and all the countries should follow them
If u talk about political system, I cannot name one democratic country in asia tat is doing good governance. Taiwan is in a way declining after they democratise. Japan politics is also in trouble. South korea also become more turbulent now too. If u look at history. Taiwan used to be under a one party rule till recently. South korea is a military country until 1979. If u look at Thai, Indo, Phillipines, India, they r not doing pretty well too.
and dr chee brainwash the guilible to think that he is their saviour.
Originally posted by Hua.jiamin:Two days ago, I googled for a Singapore's community site to post birthday greetings to our Singapore Founding Father Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew and chanced upon this site.
Emailed my friend Joyce Tan yesterday to share her insights in this forum and appended below is excerpts of her response and the article she would like to share with everyone:
When I was a little child, we live in a small rented flat in Toa Payoh. My parents could only afford to buy chicken and new clothings/shoes for the children during Chinese New Year. Never tasted prawns before during my childhood days. My dad cycled to work everyday, regardless of the weather....no TV, fridge, washing machine, telephone.....Due to the foresight and leadership of MM Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore was transformed from a poor, smelly, chaotic country into one of the cleanest, safest, richest, and most efficient big cities in the world. I and my family are grateful for the vision shown by our beloved wise leader and the PAP for the harmonious and wonderful lives we now lead... Many people from other countries still have to go overseas to work as labourers to earn a living...
http://www.articlediscovery.com/blog/2007/02/09/leadership-in-singapore-lee-kuan-yew/
While watching a Discovery Channel presentation of The History of Singapore a few days ago I was once again impressed about the vast difference in results that are obtained by visionary leadership.
One of the great leaders of the 20th century was Lee Kuan Yew, former Prime Minster of Singapore from 1965 until 1990. Under Mr Lee’s leadership Singapore was transformed from being a sleepy third world island nation with rather dismal prospects of even surviving as a city nation state into a thriving Asian tiger economy.
How was this accomplished? Can the effort be duplicated by larger more populated nations?
The answer to the first question is that from the beginning of Lee Kuan Yew’s term in office he insisted that whatever economic activity that Singapore engaged in must make economic sense and rather quickly make profits. He insisted that Singapore find it’s own way and not blindly follow in the footsteps of other nations. Thus while Singapore was in many ways run as a socialist society the state owned enterprises had to quickly prove themselves by being profitable.
An example of this is Singapore Airlines. Singapore Airlines was profitable against all odds because even thought state owned it made it’s own rules for operating and frequently did things totally out of the ordinary compared to airline industry norms.
Singapore replaced it’s aircraft fleet far earlier in the operation cycle compared to other airlines. And people the world over preferred to fly on Singapore Airlines because for one thing it’s fleet was fresh and extremely well maintained.
The cabin crews were trained longer than at other airlines. They were young, attractive, could speak several languages, and attentive. The “Singapore Girl” with their excellent service became the standard for excellence in the airline industry.
Another example of Lee Kuan Yew’s enlightened leadership is that while the majority of housing in Singapore was build by state owned enterprises rental of the properties was discouraged. Instead the apartments were sold to Singapore residents and the decline so often seen in the condition of state owned rental properties worldwide was completely avoided. The new home owners took pride in their homes, their communities, and in Singapore.Â
Lee Kuan Yew knew that to attract world leaders in business to set up operations in Singapore you needed a well trained disciplined work force, a friendly business regulatory environment, the free exchange and ability to repatriate currencies, English speaking workers, and a viable banking system and good infrastructure, especially in transportation and communications. With great foresight and careful planning all of these things were provided by Singapore.
Can Singapore’s and Lee Kuan Yew’s example be followed by other nations? Of course, it is possible, even on a much larger scale. But first you need excellent enlightened leadership.
Unfortunately, the world of today seems to have a critical shortage of qualified leadership along with enough competent bureaucrats to help plan and to oversee the implementation of the necessary efficient government infrastructure.
In order for economic development to take place that is up to the standard set by Singapore you must not politicize the development process. Ministers and high ranking bureaucrats must be empowered because of their competence, not their political connections. Witness the mess that the US has made out of their occupation of Iraq to see the truth behind that statement.
Today Dubai, UAE is probably the world’s leading center for new economic development. I feel certain that Dubai’s leaders spent a considerable amount of time researching the progress made by Singapore under the leadership of Lee Kuan Yew.
Yeah, Long LIVE LEE KUAN YEW!! LONG LIVE PAP!! LONG LIVE Lee Kuan YEW!!! our leader!! our hero!! our savior!!!...take my student red EZlink card and flash up on my right hands, ok all together,...LOVE LEE kuan Yew!!! flash your red linkcard, damn it getting expensive to own this card. I still prefer the Chinese Red little book
Originally posted by novelltie:it's all about mindset. there are 2 kinds of people. those who think either the cup is half-full or half empty.
if you feel that Singapore is a horrible place to live in and want out. you are entitled to your opinions.
if you feel Singapore is a nice place to live in and you want to contribute, the are many avenues for you to get involved with nation development.
yes angel7030, you can employ Gurkkas to protect you just like those International Schools but you have to go through the police to get their services. you have to explain what threats do you face and why the need for such an elite team. also, the cost is not cheap.
i also can use red ink
Please lah, color cartridge very expensive you know, i print most of you people post to read at nite, if u use red ink, me hv to buy cartridge everytime, so try use B n W ya.
Yeah, Long LIVE LEE KUAN YEW!! LONG LIVE PAP!! LONG LIVE Lee Kuan YEW!!! our leader!! our hero!! our savior!!!...take my student red EZlink card and flash up on my right hands, ok all together,...LOVE LEE kuan Yew!!! flash your red linkcard, damn it getting expensive to own this card. I still prefer the Chinese Red little book
no school today???
Originally posted by Chin Eng:
no school today???
got, corresponding thru net can liao, attend lecture can fall asleep.
Originally posted by novelltie:good morning, guess we have to go through this debate here again...
all i did was listed out the advantage of us Chinese, Indians, Malays, Others living here in Singapore. i did not say it's due to our government entirely. i never implied that we have no natural disaster because of PAP.
first issue; crime rate. Johor Bahru itself isn't 20 times bigger than Singapore but look at the crime rate. it's reputation precedes itself.
second; you mentioned SPF... guess you must have a bad experience with them but still, we are looking at a very safe country compared to our neighbouring countries.
third; i have not used Australia as a main competitor but seriously, though some areas are less prone to racism, we know we will be treated a little different there by the whites. i've been to Brisbane as a tourist and i can assure you, you can really feel the difference in treatment.
fourth; income taxation at 42% and GST at 10%? woah! if you earn less than $30,000 in Singapore, no tax. period.
fifth; "In sg is u can only do something if they allow you to. In Oz, u can do anything you want unless they say you can't." - i see no difference. if they don't allow you to steal in Singapore, are you saying that you can do that in OZ?
sixth; you mentioned that Singaporeans have no rights? then fight for it! if you feel that you have been wronged by the minions of the government, seek redress instead of letting them walk over you. but get your facts right first and if you feel you've been short-changed, go f*ck somebody in that chain of command. you can write to newspapers, forums, Stomp, see your MP and make lots of noise. i assure that you will be heard.
i am not saying Australia is not a good country. it's perfect for retirement! i am also planning to move there one day but not at our prime and not when there is work to be done here on Singapore's politics. if you read my posts, you will see that i'm calling for the youths of Singapore to get involved in politics and try to change our systems if they feel that some policies are not beneficial to the growth of Singapore.
well, its an open forum, and a friendly discussion :). What we say here won't improve or change anything.
I agree with you on the racism part.. in fact, i'm in oz currently. still quite new to how they do things... but its quite obvious, I can feel it sometimes from the way they talk. still, there are certain rights to protect. I can buy a printer, or a vacuum cleaner, and bring it back the next day saying I'm not satisfied with its performance, and they refund the money right on the spot regardless. In SG, don't mention refund. Just to claim warrenty also have to go thru so many procedures, then they give all sorts of excuse..
Regarding the "In sg is u can only do something if they allow you to. In Oz, u can do anything you want unless they say you can't.", to quote one example:
there was this woman who parked her car in a plot of unmarked land beside the road and got a summon for it. She brought it up to the town council, saying that since there was no sign that says she couldn't park, or that she needed to pay, then she shouldn't need to pay.
And her ticket got waivered, with a notice not to park there again. When will such things happen in SG? The last time I appealed for a parking fine, got rejected quite badly.
Another example is that its okay to U-turn anywhere so long as there's no sign. In sg is the opposite, can only u-turn when a sign says you can.
Also, its okay eat anywhere you like providing there's no sign that says you can't. In the library, on the trams, etc. No such thing as security guard says.. etc etc. unless there's a clearly written sign. When i saw on stomp, a rude library guard chasing ppl away for bringing bottled water in, i LOLed. These are the small things, but it goes to show the difference.
I've only been here for short while, so the above are just my observations. Although, i don't really feel a sense of belonging here compared to in sg, cuz i know that here i'm still a foreigner afterall.
I've no interest in economics nor politics, so i won't comment anything on that. More of an engineering person. ![]()
in sg, ppl follow examples...
elsewhere, ppl explore possibilities...
Originally posted by GHoST_18:in sg, ppl follow examples...
elsewhere, ppl explore possibilities...
this i will only point fingers at our heritage and upbringing. it's all in the mindset of the people.
there are only 2 kinds of people in this world. the leaders and the followers. which one are you? the leaders will explore possibilities and the followers, will as you've said follow examples. the percentage of "leader" mentality men are few but there are still nonetheless.
Broadtech Systems is founded by 1 simple man who felt the printer manufacturers are earning too much selling original ink. he started to sell "refurnished" ink cartridges suitable for many different brands. he may not make millions but he is not far away... an example of a leader.
Bread Talk is another example of a brand created by a "leader". High class bread.
Charles and Keith? Creative Technologies? Dian Xiao Er?
http://www.spba.com.sg/spba2007winners.htm
we are a population of 4.59 million... maybe only 1 entrepreneur out of 100,000 commoner but still, we are progressing slowly. remember, we are only 43 years old. we do not have any corporation that is 100+ years old like Lehman Brothers founded in 1844.
Originally posted by rockfire:I will never forget what he has done for singapore, thanks alot. Just want to correct u He and his team biuld singapore? So singaporean do what? build Baby only. I as a singaporean also do my part as a nation builder, I do my NS, income Tax, Porperty Tax, radio and tv tax, Conservative tax, GST, road tax plus ERP, CPF, inside PUB bill there is water tax and forget what tax some more.... for me it is also part of nation building also what, I am the natural resourcers?
Exactly. Singapore is being such an expensive country to live in. I'm certainly grateful for the sense of security that this country gives to us, yes, to a large extent, i'm proud to be a Singaporean...
BUT, i'm not exactly euphoric about the fact that we have to pay and keep paying and prices keep increasing.