Originally posted by Fantagf:that is not true. A good eg is that show on ch8, the hdb dwellers in the rented flat, the characters in the show were praising that the govt in sg are good a few times. Some people know how to tell if it is propaganda but there are still many who just simply are brainwashed.
fact is, I don't watch Ch 8 much....
many such series are sponsored... maybe civil defence, maybe HDB, maybe police (they want you to sign on), blah blah....
I prefer National Geographic....![]()
so it goes to show not ALL MEDIA is PAP controlled.
I am talking about Singapore mainstream media Chin Eng.
TV, Print and Radio.
Not internet media.
In Singapore mainstream media, all is under PAP regime control.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Singapore mainstream media is nothing but the propaganda mouth piece of PAP regime to me.
It is nothing but state propaganda.
It exists to spread state propaganda.
but you said you are ok with it....
Not okay with PAP regime monopoly of mainstream media.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I am talking about Singapore mainstream media Chin Eng.
TV, Print and Radio.
Not internet media.
In Singapore mainstream media, all is under PAP regime control.
here's the point.... you have defined internet media as NOT to be mainstream media.
but you also said that you are ok when state media exist to have propanganda.... and I am totally confused with your stand....
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Don't see anything wrong with that.
They are under control of PAP regime, so their job is to spread state propaganda and promote state policies.
They are controlled by PAP regime, you can't expect them to go and criticise PAP regime on why must increase population to 6.5 million. That is clearly not possible for them.
It doesn't bother me because I keep a clear distance away from mainstream media.
.... never mind...
You don't understand monopoly of mainstream media by PAP regime?
I am saying PAP regime can own TV stations, Radio channels and newspaper to spread their propaganda, but they cannot monopolise the entire mainstream media industry.
Are you still confused Chin Eng?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:You don't understand monoploy of mainstream media by PAP regime?
I am saying PAP regime can own TV stations, Radio channels and newspaper to spread their propaganda, but they cannot monopolise the entire mainstream media industry.
Are you still confused Chin Eng?
no, I don't disagree with you that the PAP controls mainstream media....
unless there's a guy like maybe Rupert Murdoch or Ted Turner, we are not going to see anyone threatening the hold of PAP in the mainstream....
i think the problem with the confusion is the way you express some of your points (do not mean as an insult, please).
point is, subscribe to SCV.![]()
point is, subscribe to SCV.
No point they don't cover Singapore politics.
Originally posted by Chin Eng:
fact is, I don't watch Ch 8 much....many such series are sponsored... maybe civil defence, maybe HDB, maybe police (they want you to sign on), blah blah....
I prefer National Geographic....
I hardly watch local TV programmes, too. Usually, while waiting for the cable programme to start I will switch and browse the local channels.
Many series are sponsored by civil defence and some other govt depts and this is good enough to tell us that they the govt has a lot of influence in the media.
Originally posted by Fantagf:I hardly watch local TV programmes, too. Usually, while waiting for the cable programme to start I will switch and browse the local channels.
Many series are sponsored by civil defence and some other govt depts and this is good enough to tell us that they the govt has a lot of influence in the media.
which is why I watch SCV.... I dislike CH8 dramas....
I am currently chasing The Royal Tramp on Channel U.
Originally posted by Chin Eng:
which is why I watch SCV.... I dislike CH8 dramas....I am currently chasing The Royal Tramp on Channel U.
The Royal Tramp? What kind of show is that? I am being super selective in watching local channels.
Originally posted by Fantagf:The Royal Tramp? What kind of show is that? I am being super selective in watching local channels.
Lu Ding Ji.... the last novel by Louis Cha aka Jing Yong.....
... but fact remains that all of Louis Cha's novels has plenty of political undertone.
Prefer Chow Sing-Chi.
I like to see Melissa Hyak , Melvin Yong be interviewed by other than MSM people and hear them answer some questions.
Other veterans include Chua Mui Hoong and Lydia Lim.
Why am I summoned to pay tv and radio licence when i am 24 hrs cable vision and dun listen to radio.???
Third warning letter liao
Originally posted by angel7030:Why am I summoned to pay tv and radio licence when i am 24 hrs cable vision and dun listen to radio.???
Third warning letter liao
Why you never tell them you don't have radio?
Your fault.
All your fault.
Yes, that is what they will tell you with a straight face if you complain. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Why you never tell them you don't have radio?
Your fault.
All your fault.
Yes, that is what they will tell you with a straight face if you complain.
Look charlie chaplin,
I paid tv tax for channel 5, 8 extra extra, i paid cable vision also got all these channels +++ those paid channels that i can choose. Why then should i pay TV licence again all with Gst...it is a double taxation can charging???
Collectively Mediacorrk takes in 111 millions dollars thru licence fee per years, and with advertisment that we paid to watch, they get more money???
Originally posted by angel7030:Look charlie chaplin,
I paid tv tax for channel 5, 8 extra extra, i paid cable vision also got all these channels +++ those paid channels that i can choose. Why then should i pay TV licence again all with Gst...it is a double taxation can charging???
Collectively Mediacorrk takes in 111 millions dollars thru licence fee per years, and with advertisment that we paid to watch, they get more money???
Why you never tell them you subscribed to cable?
Your fault.
All your fault.
Yes, that is what they will tell you with a straight face if you complain. ![]()
Originally posted by skythewood:Why you never tell them you subscribed to cable?
Your fault.
All your fault.
Yes, that is what they will tell you with a straight face if you complain.
OMG, clone, clone, clone...again me conned by clone and govt...ok, it my fault, it my fault....it my fault to be a Singaporean
Originally posted by angel7030:
OMG, clone, clone, clone...again me conned by clone and govt...ok, it my fault, it my fault....it my fault to be a Singaporean
pwned.
Ya, every news agency out there is biased and fallible!
Let's just screw them all and imagine what things happened instead. We'd probably all be right and all of them wrong!
is alan greenspan responsible for these mess? but i do know that i hate to see him talking on tv...nothing gd comes out of his mouth... he tinks he's the best in the world wide world.
Originally posted by Shotgun:Ya, every news agency out there is biased and fallible!
Let's just screw them all and imagine what things happened instead. We'd probably all be right and all of them wrong!
Good try but no cigar smart alex.
2 wrong does not make 1 right.
You are saying gun can cause accidental deaths and thus ban all guns.
Sweeping statement at best.
There should be MSM and non-MSM media existing side by side.
singaporeans are claimed to be highly educated on average.
Do you not expect them to have the small IQ to tell what is right or wrong?
Come on, are you saying having more information / options is wrong ? Not asking much anyways, we need 1 or 2 non-MSM to provide alternative information to the net savvy and highly educated singaporeans.
ok, talk to you in long time later. got to feed my kangaroos some peanuts.
Yah sure, they are all biased and therefore what is need are opposing views instead of views and perspectives skewered to benefit some people at the expense of everyone else.
Melissa and Melvin reported today. The news is CNA is doing well by way of viewership leh.
What is impressive about these news anchors is they read the news and tell it to you without blinking (much) . ;) that means to say they present themselves very well. u believe me or not?
You see, no wonder people say everyone buys the news at 80cents a pop.