The Government is pumping millions of dollars every year into Research such as media, water and energy. This is supposedly to provide training and boost research and development in singapore. However, most people (the PhDs) that are hire under this fund are not singaporeans. The foreign PhDs tend to come to singapore for a short period of employment and then return back to their country after the contract is over. These people usually dun plan to stay in singapore and so it is hard to justify how much of research effort is really put back into the singapore economy.
Even though it is hard to get the sufficient Singapore PhDs for the research positions, I do seriously think that it is better to have more Singaporeans instead of foreigners since utimately we are the ones supporting singapore economy for life. The government should carefully consider giving more protection to singaporean.
...the assdogs lick the asspots asses and the asspots lick the foreigners asses... it has been going on for a while... just that the assmedia does not report it....
...I am cloning edible mushroom, do you think the assdogs employed by the asspot will fund me? I don't think so, since I refuse to be one of the assdogs that lick the asspot asses...
nice?

hahahaha.. if you are also into mushroom cloning, you will get the joke (inherent in this picture)... otherwise, just admire the asthetics...
Uncle, didn't know u also like mushroom head. I thot only gal like.
our govt is into shortcuts, form without substance, results over process, short term gain over long term problems.
Originally posted by mistyblue:
our govt is into shortcuts, form without substance, results over process, short term gain over long term problems.
paying china girls to win olympics medals instead of developing the Singapore youths... the asspots like to lick foreign asses...
Originally posted by mistyblue:our govt is into shortcuts, form without substance, results over process, short term gain over long term problems.
they also build underground road for you to travel short cut from TPE to ECP by KPE, so shortcut. Good lor. Earn first, talk later.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
paying china girls to win olympics medals instead of developing the Singapore youths... the asspots like to lick foreign asses...
Munching my Delifrance sandwich with starbuck coffee while reading Assuncle post. Hmmm..got some point, you know Uncle, if you dun pay china gals, they will end up in chinatown and geyland looking for asshole Uncles, then more problem lor, better pay them lah.
These people usually dun plan to stay in singapore and so it is hard to justify how much of research effort is really put back into the singapore economy.
Actually hor, to be objective, the research info and results do stay in Singapore.
From my 1-year stint in Institute of Micro Electronics (IME), what I observed is that as much time is spent on doing research as on preparing presentations, writing papers. This is to 'store' the information within Singapore, and to apply for patents under Singapore's name. Eg, for my FYP, my main supervisor comes from Taiwan, my other supervisors are from China and India. My main supervisor goes overseas very frequently to give presentations on our project, and the project is currently underway for a patent. But the documentations are still in Singapore; their work is owned by IME.
That way, even if these foreign researchers leave, and new ones come, they can very easily get into the same/similar project with all these documentations. The patents do stay, the results get shared worldwide.
Originally posted by eagle:Actually hor, to be objective, the research info and results do stay in Singapore.
From my 1-year stint in Institute of Micro Electronics (IME), what I observed is that as much time is spent on doing research as on preparing presentations, writing papers. This is to 'store' the information within Singapore, and to apply for patents under Singapore's name. Eg, for my FYP, my main supervisor comes from Taiwan, my other supervisors are from China and India. My main supervisor goes overseas very frequently to give presentations on our project, and the project is currently underway for a patent. But the documentations are still in Singapore; their work is owned by IME.
That way, even if these foreign researchers leave, and new ones come, they can very easily get into the same/similar project with all these documentations. The patents do stay, the results get shared worldwide.
it is good to have someone in the known to give us some input.
Originally posted by angel7030:
they also build underground road for you to travel short cut from TPE to ECP by KPE, so shortcut. Good lor. Earn first, talk later.
then they put erp on it. thanks but no thanks. think before you talk. keep to the topic.
Best Joke of all is these PHD holders spent most of their time Studying and come to Singapore with the least of work and relevant Field Experience.
Yup , they are Qualified to say they don't really know the topic until they are shown what to do ? (Are they here to do research or to Copycat and receive payment to feed their multiplying children back in their own countries?)
for themselves....
and also for us....so that we continue working for them.
research?? just pay mi 3 bowl or rice with Maling brand luncheon meat everyday lor.. i will research for u... my aim will be world peace, enough food for everyone, and everyone can do what they wish to do, dun need to work for money... they just work for their interests.......any taker???
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):research?? just pay mi 3 bowl or rice with Maling brand luncheon meat everyday lor.. i will research for u... my aim will be world peace, enough food for everyone, and everyone can do what they wish to do, dun need to work for money... they just work for their interests.......any taker???
Will you still be alive to collect your NOBLE award or not? ![]()
Originally posted by parn:
Will you still be alive to collect your NOBLE award or not?
can lah.. trust mi.. i will change the world if u guys believe in me...
But seriously, how many Singaporean natives do you know of go into post grad research and academia? The money is going to go somewhere, so if there are not enough Singaporeans in the relevant research areas then the money is definitely going to foreign talent.
Sounds like a chance to go to grad school for free to any takers.
Originally posted by OH-FF:
Best Joke of all is these PHD holders spent most of their time Studying and come to Singapore with the least of work and relevant Field Experience.
Yup , they are Qualified to say they don't really know the topic until they are shown what to do ? (Are they here to do research or to Copycat and receive payment to feed their multiplying children back in their own countries?)
yes its absolutely true. These PHD holders are only good at delegating tasks and they have no expereince whatever. They apply textbook principles and they are only the overseer of things. the real work gets done by people with the technical skils so much lower down the rank and yet they get paid less. wtf?
long time ago i had a boss who was from O levels went up to an MBA and as a result got the rank and promotion. But he was a very fair and down to earth person. There are no airs about him. He even does the work of subordinates as he was doing it in the past. Now that is a humble and hardworking man .
Meritocracy is a big scam. it is meant to control people and rip off from others work. Singapore is a victim of the negative effects of meritocracy.
Actually hor, to be objective, the research info and results do stay in Singapore.
That way, even if these foreign researchers leave, and new ones come, they can very easily get into the same/similar project with all these documentations. The patents do stay, the results get shared worldwide
when this China and india PHD do goes back to their native country. copy and duplicate their research finding for use in India/china. What can we do to them? fighting court case in India and china? maybe we can see the outcome in indonesia and thailand.
To be on the fair side, not many singaporean want to become PhD either.
i think GLCs have some kind of lawfully binding agreement revolving around information leakage pertaining to projects which cant be duplicated in other countries in case the person goas back to his own country. I am very sure.
Not sure about private sector though.