Originally posted by Chin Eng:
reality of the matter is, politics is never meant to be fair.... give me a country where dirt is not dug up of the oppositions.... or the ruling party.... when that is possible.anyone thinking that politics is fair is outright naive.
look at Sarah Palin.... one day she's an unknown, the second day she's world famous, the third day, troopergate....
Yes, politics is not fair but does not mean I will have to condone whatever crap that the politicians are doing and implementing.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Lee Kuan Yew is a special case Chin Eng.
He is special.
You can't expect me to show respect towards him.
I will respect him if he steps down.
But he does not.
actually your respect for him or not does not matter to him....
even if he steps down, his critics will not stop.... so it is quite immaterial.
I am not talking about him, nor am I defending him....
I am talking about you and how you manifest yourself....
.... but it's ok, you don't need to agree with me.![]()
Not everyone like you, can tahan Lee Kuan Yew's face on TV and listen to his cock talk.
Originally posted by Fantagf:Yes, politics is not fair but does not mean I will have to condone whatever crap that the politicians are doing and implementing.
no you don't have to.... but unless you have the ability to do something about it.... lanlan lor.
seriously, what can be achieved here in sgforums? at the end of the day, it's "i feel shiok because i posted some anti-P4P messages"...
you don't condone, i don't condone.... so what....
i don't condone my wife spending money at the spa.... so what....![]()
actually your respect for him or not does not matter to him....even if he steps down, his critics will not stop.... so it is quite immaterial.
I am not talking about him, nor am I defending him....
.... but it's ok, you don't need to agree with me.
People are the same, so there is no issue here at all. Whatever, LKY is not spared from "exemption" where judgement is concerned. He will have to face judgement upon his arrival in the other world.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Not everyone like you, can tahan Lee Kuan Yew's face on TV and listen to his cock talk.
up to you lah
i prefer to watch SCV.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
People are the same, so there is no issue here at all. Whatever, LKY is not spared from "exemption" where judgement is concerned. He will have to face judgement upon his arrival in the other world.
that's between him and the creator..... it's not part of the equation.
no you don't have to.... but unless you have the ability to do something about it.... lanlan lor.seriously, what can be achieved here in sgforums? at the end of the day, it's "i feel shiok because i posted some anti-P4P messages"...
you don't condone, i don't condone.... so what....
i don't condone my wife spending money at the spa.... so what....
Forum is a place for people to participate, let out steam, discussion. So I don't understand why there are people taking it so seriously to tell the people who come here to let off steam off. What is the problem man!!! Live and let live lah. Those who take it as an issue can always don't come here if they read that people here are voicing negatives views about PAP.
i prefer to watch SCV.
See why I despise state controlled mainstream media?
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Forum is a place for people to participate, let out steam, discussion. So I don't understand why there are people taking it so seriously to tell the people who come here to let off steam off. What is the problem man!!! Live and let live lah. Those who take it as an issue can always don't come here if they read that people here are voicing negatives views about PAP.
personal opinion only....
i don't come to sgforums to let off steam... no point, counterproductive. i live by the principle that if there's nothing i can do about something, get it off my mind, no point getting all pissed off....
that's between him and the creator..... it's not part of the equation.
Umm, excuse me, he has no creator. LKY is god. He is the 'GREAT I AM".
I've read a financial forecast in late 2007, before the price of petrol soared to its peak, and the mortage woes in the US was little heard of. True enough, the economic depression will continue to get worse until end of this year perhaps.
Well, don't put all your eggs in one basket they say. The guy is dumb enough to lose more than he can afford...and 30K isn't that much of a loss anyway. To some, its just the price of a wedding ring. :)
China economy was still going strong due to being the host of 2008 Olympics. They're already starting to feel the impact of the US market crash. Coupled with the typhoons in our neighbouring countries, the falling trust of China manufactured goods resulting in lower foreign investments, and the poor politicial image portrayed by the Chinese government, I'd not be surprised when they're hit badly soon. Singapore will be affected a lot too, and while our government will say we're fine to encourage more consumer spending, they themselves know the truth after being burnt badly in failed foreign investments.
My 2 cents
SOME local investors of a product linked to bankrupt investment giant Lehman Brothers have received late-night phone calls from DBS Bank warning them that their entire stake may be wiped out.
personal opinion only....i don't come to sgforums to let off steam... no point, counterproductive. i live by the principle that if there's nothing i can do about something, get it off my mind, no point getting all pissed off....
Letting off steam is a healthy way to maintain our sanity but of course after letting off we have to cool down and start thinking.
Actually with all the education we have nowadays we should start to participate in issues that affect our lives. We should let our views and unhappiness with the various issues or policies be known so that the authorities can't take us for granted.
who point a gun at their head to investment?? if so scared keep ur money under ur pillow or in the tin can under ur bed lor.. knn......i lost 70-80k also never blame anyone... cb...
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:In the area of foreign policies that is true.
Anything wrong with that?
Until now you don;t seemed to realizes that the Chinese and the American are much alike.
You seemed to ignore the fact that the chinese will go to any extense including sacrifice human lives for that extra Buck. U think babies milk powder were some sorry ass mixed up and not realized it will affect babies?
Remember last year PET Foods scare when melamine contamination? high lead contamination?
Until you unclog your emotion you will only selectively see what you want to see.
In any case everyone is motivated by GREED. Its a fair game.
Until now you don;t seemed to realizes that the Chinese and the American are much alike.
But foreign policy agenda, China and USA is different.
USA is for global hegemony, China is for multi-polar world.
I support multi-polar world, so I back China.
I oppose USA global hegemony agenda.
If USA is for multi-polar world, I will support them, but USA is for global hegemony.
London Protesters Demand an End to USA Coups
http://www.venezuelanalysis.com/news/3816
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Not everyone like you, can tahan Lee Kuan Yew's face on TV and listen to his cock talk.
wah!!!, serious or not?? his cock can talk..wow!!! fainted....
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:But foreign policy agenda, China and USA is different.
USA is for global hegemony, China is for multi-polar world.
I support multi-polar world, so I back China.
I oppose USA global hegemony agenda.
If USA is for multi-polar world, I will support them, but USA is for global hegemony.
London Protesters Demand an End to USA Coups
http://www.venezuelanalysis.com/news/3816
Uncle, very chiam lor, what is multi polar world, anything to do with polar bears...and what is global hegemony??
GIC admits it fucked up?!![]()
A Singapore sovereign wealth fund that bought large stakes in banks UBS AG and Citigroup Inc. warned Tuesday that the worst of the U.S. financial crisis may not be over even if Washington implements a US$700 billion bailout plan.
The Government of Singapore Investment Corporation, or GIC, said the current turmoil in the U.S. banking system will likely undermine the future earnings of the fund, which manages more than US$100 billion.
"The proposal put forth by the U.S. Treasury should stabilize the markets to some extent," said GIC Deputy Chairman and Executive Director Tony Tan at a news conference. "But we should not assume the worst is over. Financial markets and the economic situation have deteriorated significantly in the last five months."
GIC also regretted the timing of its investment in the two banks — US$9.75 billion in UBS in December and US$6.9 billion in Citigroup in January — said Chief Investment Officer Ng Kok Song.
"We would have liked the timing of the investments to be better," Ng said. "But these are long-term investments."
"We were surprised by the onset and magnitude of the market turmoil starting in July 2007," Ng said in a statement. "What seemed like a contained problem of delinquencies in U.S. sub-prime mortgages quickly spread to other segments of the credit markets."
GIC, which began investing Singapore's reserves in 1981, said its annual profit for the last 20 years averaged 7.8 percent in U.S. dollar terms. Tan refused to say what the fund's earnings were last year or specify how much it manages.
"Given the present challenging conditions and the problems in the world economy, it is unrealistic to expect that we will achieve such high returns going forward as in the past," Tan said.
Singapore's other sovereign wealth fund, Temasek Holdings, said last month that earnings doubled to US$12.8 billion in its fiscal year ending March 31, bringing total assets to US$131 billion.
GIC said it invests 44 percent of its portfolio in public equities, 26 percent in bonds and 10 percent in real estate. It invests 35 percent in Europe, 34 percent in the U.S. and 23 percent in Asia.
Former Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew is GIC's chairman and his son, current Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, is a deputy chairman.
Originally posted by googoomuck:GIC admits it fucked up?!
Singapore GIC: financial turmoil may not be over
A Singapore sovereign wealth fund that bought large stakes in banks UBS AG and Citigroup Inc. warned Tuesday that the worst of the U.S. financial crisis may not be over even if Washington implements a US$700 billion bailout plan.
The Government of Singapore Investment Corporation, or GIC, said the current turmoil in the U.S. banking system will likely undermine the future earnings of the fund, which manages more than US$100 billion.
"The proposal put forth by the U.S. Treasury should stabilize the markets to some extent," said GIC Deputy Chairman and Executive Director Tony Tan at a news conference. "But we should not assume the worst is over. Financial markets and the economic situation have deteriorated significantly in the last five months."
GIC also regretted the timing of its investment in the two banks — US$9.75 billion in UBS in December and US$6.9 billion in Citigroup in January — said Chief Investment Officer Ng Kok Song.
"We would have liked the timing of the investments to be better," Ng said. "But these are long-term investments."
"We were surprised by the onset and magnitude of the market turmoil starting in July 2007," Ng said in a statement. "What seemed like a contained problem of delinquencies in U.S. sub-prime mortgages quickly spread to other segments of the credit markets."
GIC, which began investing Singapore's reserves in 1981, said its annual profit for the last 20 years averaged 7.8 percent in U.S. dollar terms. Tan refused to say what the fund's earnings were last year or specify how much it manages.
"Given the present challenging conditions and the problems in the world economy, it is unrealistic to expect that we will achieve such high returns going forward as in the past," Tan said.
Singapore's other sovereign wealth fund, Temasek Holdings, said last month that earnings doubled to US$12.8 billion in its fiscal year ending March 31, bringing total assets to US$131 billion.
GIC said it invests 44 percent of its portfolio in public equities, 26 percent in bonds and 10 percent in real estate. It invests 35 percent in Europe, 34 percent in the U.S. and 23 percent in Asia.
Former Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew is GIC's chairman and his son, current Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, is a deputy chairman.
oh..oh...there goes my money...tomorrow must withdraw my govt bonds
Originally posted by angel7030:oh..oh...there goes my money...tomorrow must withdraw my govt bonds
Don't give up on the Govt's long term investment just yet. By long term, the govt probably means 30 years and beyond.
By saying that it's long term,, if the returns were to be negative, they would have been fertilizers already.
On the positive side, If the returns were to be good, you'll be a granny by then.![]()