Malaysia will turn to nuclear energy to generate electricity by 2023 as supplies of fossil fuel eventually run out, a minister said according to Saturday news reports.
Energy, Water and Communications Minister Shaziman Mansor said the use of nuclear energy was also an alternative to counter high global oil prices, the Star newspaper reported.
"I will be briefing the cabinet in a fortnight. We have no choice but to start the ball rolling," he was quoted as saying.
"You cannot say you want to use nuclear power in the next few months, and expect everything to be in place," the minister said.
Malaysia in June raised electricity tariffs after coal prices surged but Shaziman said the price of coal was now much higher than the government's estimate of about 75 dollars per tonne.
"The increase in coal prices had been exceptional and we need to act now," Shaziman said.
State utility Tenaga has said it could construct the country's first 1,000 MW nuclear power plant at a cost of 3.1 billion dollars after being asked by the government to look at the option amid surging global oil prices and the country's limited supply of oil and natural gas.
Currently, half of Malaysia's power plants run on gas. Other sources include coal and hydropower.
The government last year said it would build Southeast Asia's first nuclear monitoring laboratory to allow scientists to check the safety of atomic energy programmes in the region.
And if something goes wrong?
Will Singapore build a nuclear powerplant too under the sea bed? Perhaps near Pedra Branca? ![]()
Originally posted by eagle:Will Singapore build a nuclear powerplant too under the sea bed? Perhaps near Pedra Branca?
if build, confirm one of the offshore island.
tekong, ubin, sister island, kusu, southern islands...etc.
But if boom we will still kenna sia...
Originally posted by crimsontactics:But if boom we will still kenna sia...
radioactive radius zone.
Originally posted by Rednano:
radioactive radius zone.
And do you know how far is that?
Are our offshore islands that far away to prevent any form of radiation from reaching the mianland?
Originally posted by crimsontactics:And do you know how far is that?
Are our offshore islands that far away to prevent any form of radiation from reaching the mianland?
only if we didnt sold off Christmas Island to Australia last time...
True...
what is christmas island?? we got this island before meh?? must be joking..
Originally posted by crimsontactics:But if boom we will still kenna sia...
no worry, me start digging my garden a huge undeground bunker liao, i think can complete by 2023, then i can hide inside.
we did not sell it... uk goverment sold it..
Originally posted by angel7030:
no worry, me start digging my garden a huge undeground bunker liao, i think can complete by 2023, then i can hide inside.
Must dig deep deep hor. Dig a little trench cannot protect you one.
Was jus thinking...Can Malaysia do it even? It isnt even practical...Major powers will start to cry father cry mother....
Pakistan can do it, so can they.
Does malaysia also produce Uranium which is needed to power the plant?
If they do, you keep getting that nagging feeling that they are trying to do something funny with it, like put it on a rocket and try to land it somewhere as a gift to some one,but it will somehow fail and land rather hard...I dunno maybe i am jus being paranoia.
If really jit pa boom, the radioactive wave could have get you even if you're underground I guess.
Why do I get this feeling that you flunk bad in History.
A Nuclear Malaysia..
cool. ![]()
the anti nuclear pact by UN is a ploy relating to NWO to keep the world dependent on oil and coal.
In fact nuclear energy is a far more sustainble source of enery than oil.
Who are members of NWO SPLIT SECOND?
Can you list down their names if any?
Thanks.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:
Ah Pak, for the first time I really find that you're funny!
Haha.