State Times is mostly state propaganda, so while no one can be politicised or really be aware of anything by reading it, it at least does not have some of the conspiracy nonsense flying around on the internet.
Internet has political material and a diverse range of information but it also has a huge amount of rubbish and disinformation flying around.
So some people who are inexperienced in sorting out trash from quality info might be confused or hoodwinked or misled by false information or propaganda on the internet.
For example quite a few people here have been misled by so-called Illuminati/NWO propaganda on the web.
They did not use their critical and analytical skills to analyse the propaganda and blindly believe, so in the end misled and confused by the propaganda.
So that is one bad point about internet.
Illuminati/NWO propaganda:
Have you been misled or confused by above propaganda?
Originally posted by Rock^Star:
Is there anything new that u can post besides posting dumb shit one liners?
Agreed
Originally posted by googoomuck:Business Times - 12 Jul 2006
GIC's Average Annual Return 9.5% Over 25 Years
MM Lee discloses figure for first time, saying GIC has grown in size, breadth and depth
By Chuang Peck Ming And Wong Wei Kong
(SINGAPORE) Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew disclosed for the first time last night that the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation (GIC) made a 'good' annual return averaging 9.5 per cent in US dollar terms over the past 25 years.Who said 4.5%? Is he asking for trouble?
If mm lee said that the sky is red, then all must agree that the sky is red.
He can say whatever he wants but can we be believe him when they refuse to open up the books. Moreover, do we benefit from all those good returns? i only know i have to pay more for transport, ERP and GST specifically to help the poor.
And today's sub-headlines goes along the lines of "high population growth due to foreigners, fueled by the buoyant economy".
Now, the govt is attributing foreigner growth to a buoyant economy, which in theory is not wrong. However, it seems to dilute the importance of foreign entrants who in the first place, spurred the buoyant economy!
Another attempt to self-glorify? How much misleading shit have singaporeans been reading for 50 years??
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:State Times is mostly state propaganda, so while no one can be politicised or really be aware of anything by reading it, it at least does not have some of the conspiracy nonsense flying around on the internet.
Internet has political material and a diverse range of information but it also has a huge amount of rubbish and disinformation flying around.
So some people who are inexperienced in sorting out trash from quality info might be confused or hoodwinked or misled by false information or propaganda on the internet.
For example quite a few people here have been misled by so-called Illuminati/NWO propaganda on the web.
They did not use their critical and analytical skills to analyse the propaganda and blindly believe, so in the end misled and confused by the propaganda.
So that is one bad point about internet.
aiya, uncle, why u like to go into propaganda site, go other websites lah. So stupid one.
News and internets can be misleading and propagandas on certain columns or sites, there fore, it is the skills and the intellectualities of the readers the differentiate it smartly. If You can differentiate between the differences, like you Uncle, then you sure get brain washed..then God bless you.
Locals are becoming more and more insignificant to the ruling party. To the govt for those locals who migrated foreigners can easily replace them. We see the pay and pay value the foreigners more than the locals. the hopeless pm told the locals to help the foreigners to settle in here, be kind to them, be gracious to them. Never has he and his gang mentioned about with foreigners they contribute nuisance to the locals. They have not even once told the foreigners to do what the Romans do in Rome. They obviously favour the foreigners.
It is sad that we have come to such a state in singapore, thanks to despots, lee hsien loong, lee kuan yew and PAP. Singaporeans, pack up and go if you can afford.
It's amazes me how SPH has been glorifying the success of the F1 and it's superb organisation of the event.
This blog entry sums it all up.
http://www.mrbiao.com/blog/90-million-from-taxpayers-funds-to-show-off.html
Just learnt about Syu Ying Kwok's letter to the ST. Anyway, nothing's really new about self-glorification letters in the forum page.
It just reinforces my already steel view that the recent opening up of the internet is just a defensive measure to retain it's already eroding support from citizens.
It's amazes me how SPH has been glorifying the success of the F1 and it's superb organisation of the event.
But it's their job to glorify.
It is their job.
States Times bashes JBJ to the end, continues to criticise and attack:
Veteran opposition politican J. B. Jeyaretnam, died early on Tuesday just days before a constitutional challenge he hoped would propel him back into parliament, his family said.
Mr Jeyaretnam, 82, died at about 1.30am from a heart attack at his son's home in Singapore, a relative told the AFP from the family home in Johor Bahru, Malaysia.
Earlier, he had complained of breathing difficulty.
He was rushed to Tan Tock Seng Hospital where he was pronounced dead.
Mr Jeyaretnam, a lawyer, recently formed the Reform Party to challenge the more than 40-year rule of the People's Action Party, which was founded by former Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew.
One of the rare few to speak out against the Government, he made political history in 1981 when he became the first opposition politician elected to parliament.
He was unable to contest the 2006 general election after he was made bankrupt in 2001 for failing to pay S$265,000 in defamation damages to then Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong. He was discharged from bankruptcy in May last year.
Mr Jeyaretnam was to appear in the High Court on Oct 15 to seek an order that a by-election be held for a seat that is currently vacant.
Ms G. K. Pamela, another of Jeyaretnam's relatives, said the court challenge was related to Jeyaretnam's desire to enter parliament again.
'That was his wish,' she told AFP in tears.
'Such a good man. Why did God take him?'
Singapore Democratic Party activist Chee Siok Chin said she was shocked at the veteran opposition figure's death.
'There's no doubt about it. Mr Jeyaretnam has been the icon of the opposition here and it's a great loss,' she said.
Mr Jeyaretnam made his final political comeback earlier this year to form the new opposition party.
He left the Workers' Party (WP) after years at its helm and was succeeded by Mr Low Thia Khiang, who is now MP for Hougang.
When he broke the PAP's 15-year monopoly of the Parliament in 1981, most of today's young Singaporeans were not even born yet.
After losing his parliamentary seat in 1986 for making a false declaration of the WP accounts, he spent a month in jail and was fined S$5,000. Mr Jeyaretnam spent most of the last two decades battling outside the legislature.
Of the five General Elections since then, he has contested only once, in 1997.He finished as top loser through the bruising Cheng San GRC bout, earning a 45.2 per cent of the valid votes.
That brought him back into the House as a Non-Constituency MP, a brief tenure that ended in 2001, when he was declared a bankrupt for failing to pay after losing a defamation suit against five Indian PAP MPs, among others.
When he left his 30-year-long WP vehicle in that same year, after accusing his successor Low of not helping him clear his debts, he was effectively banished to the margins of the opposition scene here.
Yet, the old warhorse refused to believe that he was irrelevant to Singaporeans.
Mr Jeyaretnam's niece, who gave her name only as Kavinia, said he had not been feeling well for the past three weeks.
But as recently as July, when he hosted a dinner to launch his new party, Mr Jeyaretnam still appeared strong.
Sporting his usual lamb-chop style sideburns, Mr Jeyaretnam stood before the crowd and, in typical style, spoke for almost an hour.
'Come, walk with me, let us walk together... for peace, justice, truth... fearing no one except God,' he had urged the gathering. -- With additional reporting from AFP.
http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking
LKY thinking, hmmm..one gone liao, few more to go, must outlive CSJ.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:States Times bashes JBJ to the end, continues to criticise and attack:
Veteran opposition politican J. B. Jeyaretnam, died early on Tuesday just days before a constitutional challenge he hoped would propel him back into parliament, his family said.
Mr Jeyaretnam, 82, died at about 1.30am from a heart attack at his son's home in Singapore, a relative told the AFP from the family home in Johor Bahru, Malaysia.
Earlier, he had complained of breathing difficulty.
He was rushed to Tan Tock Seng Hospital where he was pronounced dead.
Mr Jeyaretnam, a lawyer, recently formed the Reform Party to challenge the more than 40-year rule of the People's Action Party, which was founded by former Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew.
One of the rare few to speak out against the Government, he made political history in 1981 when he became the first opposition politician elected to parliament.
He was unable to contest the 2006 general election after he was made bankrupt in 2001 for failing to pay S$265,000 in defamation damages to then Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong. He was discharged from bankruptcy in May last year.
Mr Jeyaretnam was to appear in the High Court on Oct 15 to seek an order that a by-election be held for a seat that is currently vacant.
Ms G. K. Pamela, another of Jeyaretnam's relatives, said the court challenge was related to Jeyaretnam's desire to enter parliament again.
'That was his wish,' she told AFP in tears.
'Such a good man. Why did God take him?'
Singapore Democratic Party activist Chee Siok Chin said she was shocked at the veteran opposition figure's death.
'There's no doubt about it. Mr Jeyaretnam has been the icon of the opposition here and it's a great loss,' she said.
Mr Jeyaretnam made his final political comeback earlier this year to form the new opposition party.
He left the Workers' Party (WP) after years at its helm and was succeeded by Mr Low Thia Khiang, who is now MP for Hougang.
When he broke the PAP's 15-year monopoly of the Parliament in 1981, most of today's young Singaporeans were not even born yet.
After losing his parliamentary seat in 1986 for making a false declaration of the WP accounts, he spent a month in jail and was fined S$5,000. Mr Jeyaretnam spent most of the last two decades battling outside the legislature.
Of the five General Elections since then, he has contested only once, in 1997.He finished as top loser through the bruising Cheng San GRC bout, earning a 45.2 per cent of the valid votes.
That brought him back into the House as a Non-Constituency MP, a brief tenure that ended in 2001, when he was declared a bankrupt for failing to pay after losing a defamation suit against five Indian PAP MPs, among others.
When he left his 30-year-long WP vehicle in that same year, after accusing his successor Low of not helping him clear his debts, he was effectively banished to the margins of the opposition scene here.
Yet, the old warhorse refused to believe that he was irrelevant to Singaporeans.
Mr Jeyaretnam's niece, who gave her name only as Kavinia, said he had not been feeling well for the past three weeks.
But as recently as July, when he hosted a dinner to launch his new party, Mr Jeyaretnam still appeared strong.
Sporting his usual lamb-chop style sideburns, Mr Jeyaretnam stood before the crowd and, in typical style, spoke for almost an hour.
'Come, walk with me, let us walk together... for peace, justice, truth... fearing no one except God,' he had urged the gathering. -- With additional reporting from AFP.
Can we believe in "The States Times" - which is no better then a mouth piece of the LKY Government ?
The obvious development since LKY came into power was documented in a book entitled - Media enthralled – by Francis Seow - with the author being a former Solicitor-General in LKY's Administration from the late 1950s till the late 1970s, and doing all of LKY's biddings to persecute the political opponents during that period.
The wisdom of LKY:-
" Repression, Sir, is a habit that grows. I am told it is like making love - it is always easier the second time!
The first time there may be pangs of conscience, a sense of guilt. But once embarked on this course with constant repetition you get more and more brazen in the attack.
All you have to do is to dissolve organizations and societies and banish and detain the key political workers in these societies.
Then miraculously everything is tranquil on the surface.
Then an intimidated press and the government-controlled radio together can regularly sing your praises, and slowly and steadily the people are made to forget the evil things that have already been done, or if these things are referred to again they're conveniently distorted and distorted with impunity, because there will be no opposition to contradict."
- Lee Kuan Yew as an opposition PAP member during 1956 speaking to David Marshall
The mouth piece of the PAP is at it again. Two months after the national day speech its still dwelling on Sporeans not clearing the plates! WHY dont they comes to jurong west and see the MESS/-(including spitting and urination ) the foreign workers left behind every sunday.. ST is so biased against Sporeans.
Why dont they ask their political masters if they clear their plates in the restaurants?
I hope someone in authority can step out and publicly admit if there is any propaganda in the MSM. Either a yes or no answer. Ideally, I hope for the benefit of the people, if there is really any atom of propanda, can that article be indicated with a logo so that we can know? These are just questions that I have no concrete answers to. For all I know, maybe there is really zero propaganda in our MSM. I believe many believe what is to be believed. Proof of point, everyone everyday Pay and Pay and Buy the news. Cannot go without the news leh...people , you are stedi! future bright until cannot ler.
Originally posted by qpicanto:The mouth piece of the PAP is at it again. Two months after the national day speech its still dwelling on Sporeans not clearing the plates! WHY dont they comes to jurong west and see the MESS/-(including spitting and urination ) the foreign workers left behind every sunday.. ST is so biased against Sporeans.
Why dont they ask their political masters if they clear their plates in the restaurants?
They clear plates??? i thot they are served and cleared by philipino maids, guarded by Nepal Gukkas, drive around by Punjabi drivers and work thru Foreign talents. They dun even trust Singaporeans. So to speak.
Originally posted by angel7030:
They clear plates??? i thot they are served and cleared by philipino maids, guarded by Nepal Gukkas, drive around by Punjabi drivers and work thru Foreign talents. They dun even trust Singaporeans. So to speak.
we should invest our CPF in GIC investment. whether it is 4.5% or 9.5% defintely better than now....
Originally posted by Shiqi:we should invest our CPF in GIC investment. whether it is 4.5% or 9.5% defintely better than now....
Huh! r u crazy?? they will not allow u to invest in it, cos they can get access to your CPF anytime, why need to pay you 9.5% when they got CPF ready credits at their expenses.
And when they make a wrong investment with your CPF, they just prolong your withdrawer by extending the withdrawer age and enlarge the minimium sum requirements.
sad but true ....
correct me if i am wrong, currently cpf pay 2.5% per annum, if our cpf were to peg to temasek or GIC....defintely better right, by the way, does anyone knows where GIC and temasek got the money in the first place, can anyone confirm its CPF money?
Originally posted by Fantagf:the govt cannot be compared with the china govt on how they take care of their people.
All of countries have lost money in US market except USA,but as a poor country,china has lost most of money( $300 billion lost directly).
AI---v:v----
Today's headlines spell doom and gloom, gloom and doom but the country will sail thru becos of strong fundamentals. All this spoken by a PAP man. Trust the PAP to bring u thru these tough times.
Are we really under some dark cloud now? Is your job under threat?
from the 5% plunge...i think its doom's day guys