Originally posted by Shiqi:correct me if i am wrong, currently cpf pay 2.5% per annum, if our cpf were to peg to temasek or GIC....defintely better right, by the way, does anyone knows where GIC and temasek got the money in the first place, can anyone confirm its CPF money?
and 4% if u keep it after retirement
do u think LKY will use his own money to invest in GIC and temasek??? do you think that he is so stupid to take loans from financial insitutions who charges high interest rate and more importantly, the need to declare your financial status and account.
if there is a venue whereby you dun hv to seek approval, no interest, no committment, no individual lost and still can get plently of it, u go for it..and that is the CPF. Tell me, how do they paid you the interest of 2.5 or 4% if they dun invest in it??
A humongous miracle need to happen.
else. nothing. absolutely nothing.
Originally posted by likedatosocan:A humongous miracle need to happen.
else. nothing. absolutely nothing.
nothing is the begining of something
so it is our cpf money that GIC used right? In that case, we should have the right to request for higher interest returns....looking at the track record...it seem they never lose money before...so its seem to be a good bet...
Originally posted by Shiqi:so it is our cpf money that GIC used right? In that case, we should have the right to request for higher interest returns....looking at the track record...it seem they never lose money before...so its seem to be a good bet...
Your Highness, the honorable Dowager Shiqi of the Qing Dynasty,
Please be assured that the money gain will be plough back into our reserve fund with the providence to help the below averages and poors. We noted you concern, but your highness, please looks at the bigger picture rather than individual self interest. Let the Emperor and his son decide for the future, you just sit back, relax and enjoy your time here.
LOL....well relax is never part of my virtues....i think it will be great if the reserve fund is plough back to the below averages and poors...can you confirm? i think GICs have to be more transparent in that sense.....
I just noticed one thing too!! The ST forums hardly feature letters that are political. I have been reading these two weeks and there's nothing political in nature at all. Mostly are someone's gripe about someone or something.
ST is trying to breed political apathy. That also brings less limelight to the opposition while PAP continue their daily self promotion and glorification.
I just noticed that Sun rises from east.
political? I think one has to stand on what is right and one's principles. What the government says may not always be right and likewise for the oppositions. But whatever it is the truth will prevail.....
The mouth piece of pap is putting words into the mouth of Sporeans,in the singtel fixed line hike article captioned as follows :
SINGTEL FIXED LINE RATE RATE INCREASE -( IN SMALL PRINT )
MAJORITY LIKELY TO ACCEPT RATE HIKE - (IN VERY BIG PRINT)
=========================================
What a heck does the statement 'MAJORITY LIKELY TO ACCEPT RATE HIKE' mean ??
The article also did not highlight the fact that Singtel actually "forced' singnet broadband customers to hold on the fixed line service when u are already paying for the internet services.
MAJORITY LIKELY TO ACCEPT RATE HIKE
If majority don't accept, is Lee Kuan Yew going to quit?
when was it published....i have to see it...electricity bill increase and now singtel rate also increase....it is getting out of hand and what's next! Sure hope somebody put and end to this....nonsense...unless tomorrow newspaper headline would be everyone's salary increase 10-20%....
thank goodness it is friday 12/12/08 or is it ? friday edition of the mouth piece is usually the field day for their political masters. at least one fullpage must be 'offered' weekly.
these 'new action men' they are so lucky to enjoy the privilege of the media advantage they take for granted.
BUT their media is still heartbroken that 'one is struck by the paucity of views that are pro-pap' on many socio-political blogs, websites.
blame yourself for it OLD MEDIA![]()
Ladies and Gentlemen,
There was a joke in the former Soviet Union which goes like this. In Pravda, there is no "truth" and in Isvestia there is no "news", which by the way were the 2 main newspapers in
Soviet Russia.
In Russian, Pravda meant "truth" and Izvestia meant "news". Both, of course, were state owned and controlled newspapers in the former Soviet Union. But what you got was neither truth nor news, just plain propaganda.
That the Soviet Union is doing well. Grain
production has gone up ten fold. The country cannot be in a better
shape. Everything is just perfect. Except that the Soviet Union in
truth was crumbling.
Which reminds me of the state owned and
controlled Singapore newspapers such as the Straits Times. And by the
way, the entire Singapore press and media is both owned and controlled
by Lee Kuan Yew and his government.
No one is allowed to print and publish any newspaper in Singapore without a permit from Lee Kuan Yew's government under the Newspapers and Printing Presses Act.
And you
guessed it. If you were going to write anything critical of him, you
not only would be denied that permit, but you will be sued for
defamation, crippling damages will be awarded and you will be promptly
bankrupted.
I have not been able to get any real news in the
state controlled Straits Times. For instance today's Straits Times
carried an article about a teenage boy who had sex with another
teenager; a prostitute was found precariously hanging from a high rise HDB flat and Walter Woon,
Singapore's Attorney General counters an argument of a lawyer who says
there is one law for the rich and another for the poor. But what news
is there about the Ministry of Home Affairs, the Ministry of Trade, the
Ministry of Manpower, the Foreign Ministry? Nothing.
And no one
can contradict anything put out by this state controlled press one way
or the other, for the simple reason that no one knows what is really
happening.
Which leaves me to guess as best I can, reading what
is out there in the foreign media. They tell us that Singapore has
turned into a tax haven for the rich from other countries, as a money
laundering center, like Vanuatu, a Pacific atoll.
A place where the
poor are no longer able to live due to unbearable costs. A place where
one person takes his life everyday mainly by jumping off high rise HDB flats and where the government uses the law courts to punish dissenters
by throwing them in jail, one of the victims being myself.
On
the whole, one thing is clear. The reputation of Singapore has been
irreparably tarnished. There is no doubt about it. The Washington Post
is the foremost and most highly respected newspaper in the United
States together with the New York Times.
And if the Washington Post
reports that Singapore is a country which uses its laws to suppress
legitimate criticism, then this must be the end for Singapore. And this
is exactly what they did in their report titled "Public enemy in
Singapore" dated Dec 9, 2008 when they described the shameful use of
the law courts to silence Dr. Chee Soon Juan.
Singapore
is not a self sufficient agricultural country that can ignore
international opinion. It is not Burma. Every aspect of Singapore's
existence depends on the goodwill of the world. Trade, education,
investment, banking and commerce.
Once it's reputation is sullied, it
can no longer pretend to be a place that one chooses to invest in, a
place where one gets educated in, a place where one does honest banking.
And
in the end, the truth always has a habit of surfacing. Tyrants and
dictators around the world will try to put up a good face in public,
but their lies and deceit must eventually begin to take a toll. As is
the case with Singapore's Lee Kuan Yew.
Another
report of significance is the Asian Wall Street Journal's article
titled "Democracy in Singapore" of June 26 2008 and the article titled
"Singapore maneuvers in response to Chee"
in the Far Easter Economic Review of Dec 9, 2008.
These are not papers
that one can easily dismiss. They are read by people of importance all
over the world. And what they say is the same thing. That Singapore's
attempt to show themselves as a democracy with the rule of law is
nothing but a front. That it is in fact plain and simply a dictatorship
with Lee Kuan Yew the dictator since 1959, as long a Fidel Castro of Cuba.
Dr. Chee Soon Juan is undoubtedly winning in this battle between democracy and
tyranny, between truth and falsity and between the rule of law and rule
by dictate. And with the Godsend, the Internet, Lee Kuan Yew cannot win in his desperate attempt to continue to keep criticism under wraps.
The
effect of this bad publicity will undoubtedly take a toll on the
Singapore dictator's ability to continue with business as usual. The
rot has already begun to spread. The edifice has to fall in due course.
This is the time for everyone who cares for Singapore to weigh in with
the truth and help to turn this place into a real democracy. Agitate,
write, protest, go to jail, do whatever you can. It cleanses the soul.
And you can look at yourself tomorrow and tell yourself, there was a
man. Not a dictator's lackey.
Gopalan Nair
The damage has already been done, we're screwed.