since you guys can comment on PAP why not comment on SDP? Politics itself is ugly...
Originally posted by parn:
It's necessary for the passing mark to be 100%, so that TRASH got nothing else to whine about.
Then why are you still whining?
The article seems to be just playing on anti-NS sentiments to further his political campaign.
I don't think so, debate on NS is legitimate.
Originally posted by eagle:Lady, please note your sentence. It is you who is planting the law-breaking suggestion in your earlier post.
It's of little use if you are attempting to push the blame away by twisting. I've merely stated the fact of your post to you, not encouraged anyone else.
Please be mindful of your imaginations.
What you thought I THINK may not be what I think, IT's still all what you think I thought.
Your thoughts are your own, you can go Buangkok if you want to be FBI..."tee too tee too...." ![]()
Originally posted by RatFink:Use your brain? Don't know if want to pity you or slap you.
You use your brain first. We talking about by law and you say decide at your own discretion? What should be doing or should not be doing?
Don't have police on every corner. Go break into neighbour's house and take their tv lah? Why go buy your own? Can save money. Use your brain.
Have you actually opened the shrink-wrap packaging covering your brain?
Your response tells me your brain has long gone passed it's expiration date.
Go get a PhD also ok? Alot of people realised their brain has expired and faster gan chiong go and take PhD/Post-Graduate courses, so that they could at least change the wrapping paper around their brain and re-market themselves to their next unsuspecting employers as "Talents".
Unfortunately not all employers in the world are dumb. Sadly most in Singapore are, cos they're Singaporeans who also agrees with the changing of brain-wrappers = talent.
If one item cannot sell well, change the advertisment/wrapping paper/outlook of the item. But too bad, the item is still the same........Expired is still = Expired no matter how many times you change the wrapping paper.
Pure intellect does not require wrapping papers, Fake ones always need to change their wrapping paper every now and then PhD is one wrapper for brain dead people to look and re-market themselves again as "Talents". So what difference is there between Singapore Talent and Foreign Talent if they both also got PhD? No difference.
ur reserves are also included as part of SAF overall manpower wad. reducing the number of yr of full time NS doesn't mean that there will be a reduction in number of reserve forces.
do we really need such a big standing army? it is not as if all 60000 will be mobilise and sent off to the frontline within hours of any invasion. i estimated that at best, there will be only thousands of men sent off as an immediate response to invasion. there are alot of logistical preparations which need to be done before you can send off that many troops. during that waiting time, there is ample time to summon up reservist forces.
so, there's no actual need to have such a large standing army. we are not like Malaysia, which has a large terrain to defend and garrison. this is not the case in singapore, where we can traverse the entire island within 40 minutes.
furthermore, the bulk of the forces of our standing army lies in the army, the most "redundant" of the 3 arms of the SAF. the navy and the air force have an active presence 24/7, and if there's invasion, they would be literally the first line of defence. they are able to/ suppose to buy us time to mobilise our land forces.
so, why do you need to maintain such a large standing army? army as in land units.
if you reduce NS to 1 yr, and 1yr ++ for officers, , you will still have around 40000 troops available. and 40,000 is still quite large. in the iraq war, the US led coalition forces took 100,000 men to invade iraq, which is hundreds of time larger than singapore. singapore has a larger concentration of full time active troops than the US forces,( using the figure of 40000 men.)
in addition, when someone wants to launch an invasion, we would be blind if we are not able to notice enemy preparatory activities, and not respond in accordance to it.
in other words, we have more than ample time to summon our reserves, without requiring a large standing army to be garrison all of the time.
That law is was passed in fairness to the oil companies in Singapore. They're considered foreign investors you know....so of course Government have to also take care of them.Those companies paid more taxes to the Government than you can possibly earn in your lifetime. So you get the drift?
The fact that checks wasn't enforced on all vehicles already tells the people the reason why that law was passed. Just that the people were not smart enough yet...even until now.
The law was not passed in fairness to the oil companies in Singapore, it was to protect the tax on petrol collected by the government! Many oil companies, such as exxon mobil supply petrol to JB from Singapore refineries.
The fact that checks are not enforced on all vehicles today because manpower are deployed to check on terrorists, and smuggled cigarettes!
With high oil prices now, government's tax collection has already increased. Besides, if the malaysian government is subsidizing their petrol sales, why not let them subsidize the singaporean cars as well. The government won't rescind the law because they dont want cars from the whole singapore jamming the causeway just to buy petrol, that would worsen the traffic already jamming the place.
Originally posted by NowWhatDoIDo?:The way the PAP uses fear, gerrymandering, threats and out right bullying to further theirs?
if PAP abandoned NS, will you then support them?
Originally posted by sgdiehard:
if PAP abandoned NS, will you then support them?
provided they dun start a Brownie training for our guys

you know who are these guys? know how long it takes to train one of them? one year. are you sure you want to reduce their training time to one month?
these guys too....
anyone, anyone who talks about reducing the NS training time, and just extend it for officers... what about people in these unit? they go train, come out, and only get to use what they practice for so long during reservisit? which you will propose to cut?
and if officer serve longer, who will want to be officer? the best won't find the incentive to do it.
and for those who think just let all regular become officers, do you know the importance of the warrant officers?
think think think
Go only for searching dead body. Future swiming pool lifeguards
Wonder if these guys can match those 15yo Tamil tigers or other guerillas who got no basic training but got true war experiences. You can train anybody for years, but if you dun use it, you never know if your training effort and time is effective and efficient anot??
Originally posted by angel7030:
I cannot tell you for sure how is their training, but i can assure you that they are not playing around for the whole of one year. 15 y/o tamil tigers? what did they accomplised to impress you so much?
Originally posted by skythewood:
you know who are these guys? know how long it takes to train one of them? one year. are you sure you want to reduce their training time to one month?
these guys too....
anyone, anyone who talks about reducing the NS training time, and just extend it for officers... what about people in these unit? they go train, come out, and only get to use what they practice for so long during reservisit? which you will propose to cut?
and if officer serve longer, who will want to be officer? the best won't find the incentive to do it.
and for those who think just let all regular become officers, do you know the importance of the warrant officers?
think think think
Can they match those 15yo guerillas who got plenty of war and crisis experiences, you can train people for years, but without practical realisation, you may be training cuckoo without testing the effectiveness and efficiency.
I agree. so train more and longer to ensure they are not cuckoo.
Originally posted by skythewood:I cannot tell you for sure how is their training, but i can assure you that they are not playing around for the whole of one year. 15 y/o tamil tigers? what did they accomplised to impress you so much?
at least they fired and kill for the pride of their cause. Do u think when singapore is at war, out of the 100 so call red berets, how many will be deserters??
Originally posted by skythewood:I agree. so train more and longer to ensure they are not cuckoo.
and the problem is that, they may trained by goondno who train only cuckoo, isn't that a waste of time for both the person, the trainer and the tax payer's money
at least they fired and kill for the pride of their cause. Do u think when singapore is at war, out of the 100 so call red berets, how many will be deserters??
none.
how many do you think will desert?
and the problem is that, they may trained by goondno who train only cuckoo, isn't that a waste of time for both the person, the trainer and the tax payer's money
the solution is to train more.
that is the way to solve the problem.
the other way is to give up, and hope we won't need the special forces.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:list of countries by military expenditures, Singapore ranked 24, highest in southeast asia.
After you asked Shotgun how many standing troops he thought SAF would need, you posted a few statistics ranking Singapore. What are you trying to say?
While Singapore ranked 24 in military expenditures, I wonder why a small country like Netherlands rank 18, is it at war with somebody? and its neighbor Belgium, an equally small country, rank 34, why?
Australia, Canada are all isolated continents but their military spendings are all very high, are they at war? or military spending should be proportionate to the size of the country? in that case, Singapore, being a small red dot, should spend nothing, and Indonesia, with 3 thousands islands, should be among the top in military spending?
What is SDP trying to say, by quoting all the other countries? what are the points?
Originally posted by skythewood:
these guys too....
think think think
I heard that these guys damn bloody fit...
Think I can never reach their standards..... 1/2 of their standard I will be very happy le...
The main main aim is to let them be familiar with the weapons to be used.
In any case, even if they (or we guys) are cuckoos, it's still way better than knowing zero, nuts, about it. Imagine if there's really war, and your defenders do not even know how to load or fire a weapon properly. Die liao lor
Please be mindful of your imaginations.What you thought I THINK may not be what I think, IT's still all what you think I thought.
Your thoughts are your own, you can go Buangkok if you want to be FBI..."tee too tee too...."
Still diverting.
Really hopeless
those guerillas paid for war and crisis experiences with the lives of their comrades. why do you think the 15 yo have to become guerillas, I am sure they want to stay at home and play counter strike on their computer?
when there is a practical realisation, do you think your cuckoo can react better than the trained red berets?
We are training our 18+ so that our 15yo don't have to become guerillas.
Originally posted by eagle:
I heard that these guys damn bloody fit...
Think I can never reach their standards..... 1/2 of their standard I will be very happy le...
I knew one of them, they can swim in the water the whole day. I am happy is i have 20% of their fitness. just don't know how long they can keep that fit.
Now i know why the voting age is 21 in singapore, a smart move by the govt to stop people from voting the SDP when they are 18. But seriously, i don't think NS induces patriotism, why would anyone love a place where they are getting bullied everyday for 2 yrs? As for the deserter issue, modern Singapore has not been in a real war yet, so how to compare? As for the people who do not support SDP policy, how many are actually serving NS? Not doing anything can open mouth lah