I propose carry out review of NS policy and reduce NS term to 18-20 months.
Georgia plans to amend law on military service
the 18 year old will eventually become 21 year old, and 21 year old is generally more matured than 18 year old. if NS is the main issue for 18 year old to vote opposition, than it is clearly not a good idea to let them do that.they are free to do that when they are 21, and still think NS is not a good idea.
the voting age was 21 around the world, but most of the countries reduce it to 18 le. so it is not a smart move, but rather a smart non move.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:
I knew one of them, they can swim in the water the whole day. I am happy is i have 20% of their fitness. just don't know how long they can keep that fit.
Once out of NS, most pple's fitness usually go on a roller coaster ride... down
nothing against SDP but is not going to work....
After you asked Shotgun how many standing troops he thought SAF would need, you posted a few statistics ranking Singapore. What are you trying to say?
Just give some data so that people can compare our SAF with other militaries.
We can see from the comparison, that for so small a state, Singapore invests a huge amount on its military.
Wonder where does all the money go.
The army is no good if the morale is low. The way i see it is in NS you may have lifelong friendships or blood enemies, unlike what they say in the SS textbooks
Originally posted by dadeadman1337:The army is no good if the morale is low. The way i see it is in NS you may have lifelong friendships or blood enemies, unlike what they say in the SS textbooks
Morale has to do with how much the soldiers know about what they are fighting for.
In Bands of Brothers, the E company soldiers finally had that strong feeling that they were fighting for a good course when they discovered the concentration camp.
We will need to handle morale issue if we are sending our men to fight in Somalia. But if some countries are trying to swallow up the little red dot, then I believe we are not likely to have much problem with morale problem, unless, or except those who have long tried to migrate out of Singapore.
Morale has to do with how much the soldiers know about what they are fighting for.In Bands of Brothers, the E company soldiers finally had that strong feeling that they were fighting for a good course when they discovered the concentration camp.
We will need to handle morale issue if we are sending our men to fight in Somalia. But if some countries are trying to swallow up the little red dot, then I believe we are not likely to have much problem with morale problem, unless, or except those who have long tried to migrate out of Singapore.
well said
This has always been the case for ancient China.
æ£ä¹‰ä¹‹å…µ
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Just give some data so that people can compare our SAF with other militaries.
We can see from the comparison, that for so small a state, Singapore invests a huge amount on its military.
Wonder where does all the money go.
because we are small, with no land, we need to spend money for our soldiers to be trained overseas.
because we are small, with fewer people, we need to call up reservists and pay them their civilian pay, even if they are only coporal or private soldiers.
because we are small, with no land to depend, we need to be equipped to stop any hostility from landing in Singapore.
you know how much it is to achieve the above?
did CSJ serve NS?
he served as NS police inspector
So sgdiehard, in your opinion, how many standing troops does SAF need?
Originally posted by sgdiehard:The law was not passed in fairness to the oil companies in Singapore, it was to protect the tax on petrol collected by the government! Many oil companies, such as exxon mobil supply petrol to JB from Singapore refineries.
The fact that checks are not enforced on all vehicles today because manpower are deployed to check on terrorists, and smuggled cigarettes!
With high oil prices now, government's tax collection has already increased. Besides, if the malaysian government is subsidizing their petrol sales, why not let them subsidize the singaporean cars as well. The government won't rescind the law because they dont want cars from the whole singapore jamming the causeway just to buy petrol, that would worsen the traffic already jamming the place.
Protect the tax on petrol collected by the government? What talking you???
You really think the government cared about your few cents per litre petrol tax (A few % of your petrol/litre goes to the government tax)? Or do you think government cared more about how much tax they are collecting from the petrol companies?
Petrol tax % per litre will still be imposed regardless of whether the petrol companies are operating in Singapore or not. It's more important to retain the petrol companies in Singapore rather than to discourage them to all move over to Malaysia and other cheaper neighbouring countries.
How much MANPOWER are you talking about? Do you see a group of people checking for terrorist and drugs and cigarettes (SHEN JING BING!!!)? Singapore Customs will be overcrowded if your so-called manpower for checking vehicles were really diverted to check for terrorist/drugs/cigarettes.
And only KIASU IDIOTS like you will go jammed up the causeway for your few dollars petrol discount. Do you even drive at all???
OMG....nowadays retards are jamming up this Speaker's Corner. Can we change the forum name to Childcare Corner please????????? ![]()
Boys should go play Arcade, or come watch me complete DDR ok?
Originally posted by eagle:Still diverting.
Really hopeless
This should be the part where you admit your retardiness.
I can understand if you can't cos you're SG Guy? ![]()
And you rather be looking dumb and stupid than to know when it's time to die silently?
go malaysia get petrol good what... eat their subsidy money.
why singapore want to put in effort for the 3/4 tank rule? just for show only lah, or else malaysia kao bei kao bu
because we are small, with no land, we need to spend money for our soldiers to be trained overseas.
Oh, since we are small, we should learn to protect as small, where go overseas, are we trained to defend oversea land or our land?? And i dun understand why my bf hv to go jungle training where there is no jungle in Singapore. Are we train to total defence or total offence??? Our soldier should train to defend HDB, geyland, joo chiat, telecom, Ministers properties and our power stations
for your information, there is alot of jungle in singapore, you would be surprised by the vast jungle, the scenery found there is really great, i was fascinated by how i didnt know that such a huge area of undeveloped land was set aside, and for you information, the saf does not train mainly to fight in singapore, we go out to fight before the enemy reaches the island, the day we fight in singapore, its most likely the beginning of the end
Originally posted by codexboy:for your information, there is alot of jungle in singapore, you would be surprised by the vast jungle, the scenery found there is really great, i was fascinated by how i didnt know that such a huge area of undeveloped land was set aside, and for you information, the saf does not train mainly to fight in singapore, we go out to fight before the enemy reaches the island, the day we fight in singapore, its most likely the beginning of the end
Really? You all NS guys so brave and good?
Then why do I always see the weekends shoutbox got a particular lonely wussy begging for people's attention to listen to his accumulated whine?
Talk about fighting in WAR........none of the SG Guys are even proud to do their NS, so do you think they will be fighting when WAR comes?
They can all hide under my dress.
Originally posted by codexboy:for your information, there is alot of jungle in singapore, you would be surprised by the vast jungle, the scenery found there is really great, i was fascinated by how i didnt know that such a huge area of undeveloped land was set aside, and for you information, the saf does not train mainly to fight in singapore, we go out to fight before the enemy reaches the island, the day we fight in singapore, its most likely the beginning of the end
You go out, then who protect the gals and childrens here, singapore got jungle meh, i thot only woods and parks. Actually, singapore very easy to fight, just bomb down one HDB flats and all fall like dominos liao. I still dun think our army are capable of defending us, most will be crying ...MOmmy!!! and in the end we may become comfort gals,...cham liao!!!
Originally posted by parn:
Really? You all NS guys so brave and good?Then why do I always see the weekends shoutbox got a particular lonely wussy begging for people's attention to listen to his accumulated whine?
Talk about fighting in WAR........none of the SG Guys are even proud to do their NS, so do you think they will be fighting when WAR comes?
They can all hide under my dress.
out of 300,000 army forces, i predict 180,000 will not turn up when war really come, but of course during normal time, all will turn up for recall.
Originally posted by angel7030:
I don't mind if the enemy is brad pitt looks-alike. *wink wink* ![]()
Originally posted by angel7030:
out of 300,000 army forces, i predict 180,000 will not turn up when war really come, but of course during normal time, all will turn up for recall.
I predict none will turn up, all will think they won't be missed even if they're absent and happily making one LAST horrific love to their girlfriends. ![]()
I predict the price of your joo chiat counter will rise higher than sgx index.
This should be the part where you admit your retardiness.I can understand if you can't cos you're SG Guy?
And you rather be looking dumb and stupid than to know when it's time to die silently?
I guess you already know how most people think of you here
I stated a fact, and you are giving a great reaction all of a sudden, to the point you have to tell me there's retardiness from me, and that I'm looking dumb and stupid. It's not even about whether I'm a SG guy or what.
You are getting really hopeless.
Well, if you just want to win, you can win. I won't stop you from further displaying your tiny IQ number around.
Protect the tax on petrol collected by the government? What talking you???You really think the government cared about your few cents per litre petrol tax (A few % of your petrol/litre goes to the government tax)? Or do you think government cared more about how much tax they are collecting from the petrol companies?
Petrol tax % per litre will still be imposed regardless of whether the petrol companies are operating in Singapore or not. It's more important to retain the petrol companies in Singapore rather than to discourage them to all move over to Malaysia and other cheaper neighbouring countries.
How much MANPOWER are you talking about? Do you see a group of people checking for terrorist and drugs and cigarettes (SHEN JING BING!!!)? Singapore Customs will be overcrowded if your so-called manpower for checking vehicles were really diverted to check for terrorist/drugs/cigarettes.
And only KIASU IDIOTS like you will go jammed up the causeway for your few dollars petrol discount. Do you even drive at all???
OMG....nowadays retards are jamming up this Speaker's Corner. Can we change the forum name to Childcare Corner please?????????
Boys should go play Arcade, or come watch me complete DDR ok?
Check your facts
Is petrol tax only a few cents?
And is petrol tax in terms of percentage?
I don't mind if the enemy is brad pitt looks-alike. *wink wink*
then years later, when i am old, can ask for compensation too, i hope the enemy are those jap n korea actors, so handsome..