ELECTRICITY bills for Singapore households will go up by about 21 per
cent from Wednesday - the highest one-time increase in seven to eight
years - due to higher oil prices.
With this latest tariff revision, families living in one- to three-room
Housing Board flats will see their utilities bills for this year rising
from $90 to $223, said the Energy Market Authority (EMA), which
regulates the electricity and gas industry here on Monday.
But the government rebates of $310 to $330 will more than cover the increases for these homes.
Those living in larger homes will face higher monthly bill ranging from $316 to $433.
The government rebates for these households range from $130 to $295,
hardly enough to cover the increase for half of these homes.
Chief executive of EMA Mr Khoo Chin Hean, said at a press briefing on
Monday that the higher tariffs have been due to the increase in oil
prices.
EMA said the projected fuel oil price for the next three months is set
to jump to $155.14 a barrel, up 38 per cent from $112.35 for the
current quarter.
Fuel costs make up about 60 per cent of electricity tariffs, which are
reviewed quarterly and adjusted according to changes in the cost of
electricity.
The other 40 per cent includes the cost of generating electricity, maintenance and equipment.
Since 2004, electricity tariffs here have been pegged to projected oil
prices for the next three months instead of current oil prices.
Mr Khoo said the old practice made the cost of electricity very volatile.
For households, the new tariff will be about 30 cents per kiloWatt-Hour, up from about 25 cents.
http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_284015.html
Govt owned Utilities?
Source
http://www.istockanalyst.com/article/viewiStockNews+articleid_2649915.html
The 3% total tariff reduction, which will be realized in customers' electricity bills, is a result of a reduction of 10% in its net basic tariff, moderated by the effect of fuel clause charge increases.
CLP's tariff is made up of two major components. Basic tariff is a cost of service to customers for investments and operating costs necessary to keep the supply of power running to meet customers demand. The fuel clause charge, however, reflects the cost of fuel used for generating electricity and is directly passed through to customers.
Betty Yuen, managing director of CLP Power, said: "At a time when energy prices have been surging up across the world, CLP has been working hard to control the effects on our customers. Despite fuel price increases of about 200% in the past few years, the increase in fuel charges passed on to our customers has been limited to a level that is more than offset by a cut of 10% of the net basic tariff."
fucking bastards
oil prices went up meh?
i thought it went down?
hanor... pump price went down by 20 cents since september ![]()
SPServices Misleading Electricity Chart
http://sgenergycrisis.blogspot.com/2008/07/electricity-tariffs-to-rise-498-from.html

i think a log based graph would have been more accurate. It would then accurately reflect the percentage change rather than the absolute change. Its not honest when it tries to mislead Singaporeans with statistical tricks.
Yalor.. Oil prices as of form 29th Sep 2008, 9.54pm is $101.12 (ref "nymex.com").. How did Singpower got the amount $155? This is extortion man.. Tmw who want to go Hong Lim Park to KPKB?
Give you chicken wing, take back half chicken. Then you think give you $275 for wat?
Hahahaha..................
They give you chicken wings, now take back a chicken lor.
With so much losses in the markets due to their screwed up investment doctrine, they need to recover the losses from elsewhere, else inflation will go up higher.
Likewise for their SMRT fare increases.
Originally posted by Manager433:Give you chicken wing, take back half chicken. Then you think give you $275 for wat?
Best part is, not everyone got $275. ![]()
I think they made back (plus interest) all the handouts from SMRT and Electricity increases.
Fare increase may not be cause by increase of electricity tariff. Dun blame fully on the transportation co.
haiz
Time to use less washing machine liao. Manual wash.....
Originally posted by Manager433:Time to use less washing machine liao. Manual wash.....
Time to turn off your PC now, it's less of a necessity than washing machine. ![]()
wat a crap reason for increase... its jz projected.... wat if fuel price din increase? they gng refund us the $$$? something needs to b inplace to ensure these ppl cant jz hapihapi make changes to the price...![]()
again lor .....rebate to help the poor.
no better excuse. Y ? Y ? must we have
these people to decide for us.......
Originally posted by BrUtUs:wat a crap reason for increase... its jz projected.... wat if fuel price din increase? they gng refund us the $$$? something needs to b inplace to ensure these ppl cant jz hapihapi make changes to the price...
bo bian leh. the 66.6% no complain, so we cant complain also. majority wins.
aiya.....what can we do.....only power supplier.....even if they charge up to $20/kwh, we oso no choice have to accept.....
sigh...
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/379056/1/.html
Khoo Chin Hean, chief executive, EMA, said: "There is a lot of
use which can be curtailed. There is probably quite a bit of wasteful
usage. It is this kind of usage we can be more mindful of and take
measures to manage our consumption.”
The authority said if the forward fuel prices come down next month,
the electricity tariff from January to March 2009 will be reduced
accordingly. - CNA/vm
What are the possibilities of that happening? Even if electricity bills are reduced accordingly, I doubt the rates will return to 25 cents again.
Originally posted by PeanutBoy:aiya.....what can we do.....only power supplier.....even if they charge up to $20/kwh, we oso no choice have to accept.....
Why should we?
I am surprised there's only 20+ replies in this thread till now. Singaporeans cant be bothered that they are being sucked dry by the singapore government?
Now 21%
If jump 9% more, I'll lead a protest.
Originally posted by FirePig:I am surprised there's only 20+ replies in this thread till now. Singaporeans cant be bothered that they are being sucked dry by the singapore government?
Im surprise too.. Response lukewarm only for this thread..Hee..
Coz the 21% is no peanuts lor.. It adds up to quite a tangible amount in daily expenses..