Originally posted by FirePig:I am surprised there's only 20+ replies in this thread till now. Singaporeans cant be bothered that they are being sucked dry by the singapore government?
they didnt see it yet la...
this electricy increase will also lead to other increase...like hawker saying electricity increases so must increase price of food...
it is a neverending cycle...
-.-
ki siao liao lah, everything also increase. cigarettes, daily products and even electricity -.-
Time to dun use so much electricity...
cut down on air cond...use fans instead...
but weather too hot le sometimes....
Originally posted by sunnytv:But the government rebates of $310 to $330 will more than cover the increases for these homes.
What kind of rebates? One time rebate or monthly rebate?
Btw, apparently the top management of Singapore Power had a pay increase earlier this year.
http://www.singaporepower.com.sg/pdf/pdf0708/SP_AR_07_Financial_Summary.pdf
The only constant is increase.
Singaporeans deserve every bit of this, that's what you get for voting in an unscrupulous dictatorship.
Originally posted by kilua:Public listed CLP Power in Hong Kong cuts tariffs
Govt owned Utilities?
Source
http://www.istockanalyst.com/article/viewiStockNews+articleid_2649915.html
CLP Power to Reduce Electricity Tariff By 3%Thursday, September 25, 2008 3:53 AM
(Source: Datamonitor)Electricity network operator CLP Power Hong Kong has announced that its electricity tariff will be reduced by 3% for all its customers in Hong Kong, starting October 1, 2008, when the new scheme of control takes effect.
The 3% total tariff reduction, which will be realized in customers' electricity bills, is a result of a reduction of 10% in its net basic tariff, moderated by the effect of fuel clause charge increases.
CLP's tariff is made up of two major components. Basic tariff is a cost of service to customers for investments and operating costs necessary to keep the supply of power running to meet customers demand. The fuel clause charge, however, reflects the cost of fuel used for generating electricity and is directly passed through to customers.
Betty Yuen, managing director of CLP Power, said: "At a time when energy prices have been surging up across the world, CLP has been working hard to control the effects on our customers. Despite fuel price increases of about 200% in the past few years, the increase in fuel charges passed on to our customers has been limited to a level that is more than offset by a cut of 10% of the net basic tariff."
dun envy mi hor.... mi on my aircon for at leasy 12hrs a day every day... and bill is about sgd150 for every 2 mth nia....and my water bill is usually zero.. and i dun use gas all use electric cooker...
Originally posted by maurizio13:Singaporeans deserve every bit of this, that's what you get for voting in a dictatorship.
The problem is, not everyone had the chance to vote.
Gonna shut down my Lappy to save electricity liew.. Shall check this thread tmw agn at office.. Heehee..
Walau... F1 race the whole fricken place lit up like a sun.... u see the surrounding so dark is not because buildings not lited, its the whole fricken circuit to too bright, the power conusmption on that night race alone would be astronomical.... but who to foot the bill?
Did natural gas prices spike by 21% har? How they forecast oilprices will rice till 155?
Damn it la cut down cut down... THere is only this much u can cut, I have no Aircon. use energy saving bulbs liao never on TV... still how to cut down??? Everytime increase tell us to cut down.. how cut when there is nothing left to cut?
now midnight feeling very tulan... cannot sleep... bloody hell
well nothing raised ever come down mah.. troublesome to re-adjust the prices down cause no incentive ($$$).. in fact there's a disincentive..less profit margin..
like playing game..increase until your pain threshold uplevel.. you will be able to take on more painful bloodsucking.. wait for sgreans to forget or get tired of complaining.. end of the day.. cannot change anything..
wait till the people see their electrical bill lor... feel their pocket kanna burn a hole.. they haven see only..
Yah.. so many people didn't get to vote.. i dun recall giving them the mandate wat so ever... its bull s*..
Hopefully there will be once that all singaporeans can unite together and step forward to fight for a better future...with the way things are going... it is already not a matter of saving more money already...its about earning more money...but how are u going to earn that more money??? Are we going to do part time besides our normal job? or are we going to do other sidelines like being bookies? pimps? drug pedlers? Just 1 normal job has already caused us to work from morning 8am to at night 10pm...u look at the number of people going out to work early in the morning and coming back from work at wat time... if we still work another job, i think we no need to slp and rest anymore...all the hard work that we put in is just to pay some a*h*l*s and let them live in their comfort...damn pathetic for us...![]()
what type of lives will we have if we have to work 2 or 3 jobs? i prolly think i will die before 50years old lor.. so stressful...and thats probably what will happen to a lot of sgreans.. my cousin's husband already hold 2 jobs and spend very little time with his kids.
i was waiting for a bus at yew tee mrt and saw this ah mah picking out cans from the bin.. its not the first time i saw her doing that.. sometimes during midnight.. these are real people.. but sadly forgotten.. there are people really trying to make ends meet with the bare minimum.. its sad.......

Originally posted by meltz:F1 lightning waste to much electricity .. so the cost is divert to the poor citizen to pay
ya la. cb. i heard the news say the lighting is 4 times the intensity of kallang stadium lor!!
i thought the price of oil has just drop to $90++ over the past month, and they are pricing our electricity based on the price of $155?
thats a difference of $60.
Originally posted by deathmaster:i thought the price of oil has just drop to $90++ over the past month, and they are pricing our electricity based on the price of $155?
thats a difference of $60.
You know what's the best part?
Our electricity is not even generated from crude oil, it's 80-90% generated from natural gas.
"Competition in the electricity market has motivated generation companies to seek more efficient ways of generating electricity, such as using natural gas. Today, about 80% of Singapore's electricity demand is generated from natural gas. As gas becomes a competitive and major source of fuel for power generation, the gas industry is being positioned as a competitive industry to support competition in the electricity market."
http://www.ema.gov.sg/gas/history.php
Using crude oil to overcharge us is bad enough. Now they using futures crude oil price, which is not even the current spot price of oil. ![]()
It's alright I guess, most Singaporeans are stupid and they will accept whatever crap the government tells them from the propaganda news. ![]()
Originally posted by Detached:Now 21%
If jump 9% more, I'll lead a protest.
Even if jump 100%, I doubt you dare to do it (unless you are Chee Soon Juan).
Originally posted by FirePig:I am surprised there's only 20+ replies in this thread till now. Singaporeans cant be bothered that they are being sucked dry by the singapore government?
What to do? Come here and complain, complain, complain, but nothing will change. Still have to pay at the end of day mah. Is not that Singaporeans can't be bothered, but very sian already.
Happen so many times already, GST increase, transport fare increase, taxi fare increase, ERP increase, transport fare increase again, ...
PAP suck, but unfortunately, the opposition not strong enough to take over yet (sign, even WP chief commented PAP).
Originally posted by soleachip:The problem is, not everyone had the chance to vote.
Correct lor, I so old already, but ever get to vote mah. Always walkover in my area. >.<
Originally posted by 333225520:What to do? Come here and complain, complain, complain, but nothing will change. Still have to pay at the end of day mah. Is not that Singaporeans can't be bothered, but very sian already.
Happen so many times already, GST increase, transport fare increase, taxi fare increase, ERP increase, transport fare increase again, ...
PAP suck, but unfortunately, the opposition not strong enough to take over yet (sign, even WP chief commented PAP).
Why do you think opposition is weak? It's because P4P suppress the opposition, so the status quo will not change unless voters are willing to bite the bullet and vote out P4P despite the opposition having weak candidates.
Else the vicious cycle will just continue.
P4P suppress opposition ==> No good opposition candidates ==> Nobody votes for opposition ==> Power still retained by P4P ==> P4P suppress opposition [Go to start of loop.] ![]()
Originally posted by maurizio13:
Why do you think opposition is weak? It's because P4P suppress the opposition, so the status quo will not change unless voters are willing to bite the bullet and vote out P4P despite the opposition having weak candidates.
Else the vicious cycle will just continue.
P4P suppress opposition ==> No good opposition candidates ==> Nobody votes for opposition ==> Power still retained by P4P ==> P4P suppress opposition [Go to start of loop.]
Even if opposition is to take over, it will not happen soon. (at least not be in the next election). I think more will vote for opposition in the next election but believe most Singaporeans don't want a change in gov so soon (as they are unsure if the opposition is ready yet).
Originally posted by meltz:F1 lightning waste to much electricity .. so the cost is divert to the poor citizen to pay
did you take a good look at the skyline?
many lights were on.
u kn what's call "ma mu" liao?? ![]()
used to it....or cant be bother....
Wah lao.. give you a chicken wing and take back a chicken is an understatement in this case. They're taking back the chicken, chicks, eggs, ducks and cows... plus the feathers they drop on the ground.
This is too much! How to cast a vote of no-confidence on our government?
Tomorrow's headline:
"Singaporeans generally favour electricity price hikes" ![]()