Originally posted by Medicated Oil:The formula one race was a success.
Some one have reaped the rewards.
Time to pay the electricity bills.
Some one posted the question about the electricity bill before the F1.
Now, the answer is the PEOPLE PAY.
At my Pub, a group of Ang Mo from F1 facilites crews came in for few drinks yesterday night, our business had gone up 20% over the week ends, but the damn electricity goes up 21%, we still loose out 1%, damn govt very clever.
I asked a handsome young ang mo who controlled the lighting, he told me the light energy and electricity use at F1 cos more than a million dollars per night, so for roughly 4 to 5 nights, you get about 6 millions dollars of electricity bills, these are sponsored by Singapore govt to promote F1 here, then after F1 finished, they increase our electricity by 21% out of 2 millions households and factories, let say they get another $21 more for every households, it will be 21 x 2millions per month, equal $4.2 millions, so within a few months, they should able to recover back the F1 lighting and electrical bills + next year event + increment of MP salaries + LKY funeral ceremony, hopefully is enough.
Originally posted by eagle:One thing I find puzzling that Mr Khoo said
40% of all households use above monthly average, so there's a lot of room to cut
First part of the sentence, isn't that duh???? It's monthly average leh, what is he thinking???????? And from that sentence, he comes up with the conclusion that there's room to cut????? Wow
if thats the case they should set a household limit based on national average for each room type. anyone who surpasses the limit gets 'punished' by paying more.
Because it is the national average, there will always be pple surpassing the limit.
And if the average is such that only 10% of the households are above the monthly average, then it means these 10% are really using much much more electricity than the rest to skew the national average upwards... And thus you will have a case to say that these means there's a lot of room to cut... But that isn't the case...
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:The formula one race was a success.
Some one have reaped the rewards.
Time to pay the electricity bills.
Some one posted the question about the electricity bill before the F1.
Now, the answer is the PEOPLE PAY.
it's always the people pay de mah. need money, take from the people. lose money also take from the people.
it is like a worthless son coming home and beat up his parents and demand money whenever he need money or lose his money in gamble.
average is about 40% use more, 40% use less, 20% use somewhere in between.
Originally posted by skythewood:average is about 40% use more, 40% use less, 20% use somewhere in between.
Ya lor, and imagine from there, this minister sort of concluded that there's room to cut.... -.-"
And after the 40% who use more cut, and thus the average drops, in the end, there will still likely be about 40% use more, 40% use less, 20% use somewhere in between.
Or if the 40% who use less suddenly increased usage, such that the average increases, in the end, there will still likely be about 40% use more, 40% use less, 20% use somewhere in between.
I still wonder how he made that derivation. Maybe someone can enlighten me :(
Originally posted by eagle:One thing I find puzzling that Mr Khoo said
40% of all households use above monthly average, so there's a lot of room to cut
First part of the sentence, isn't that duh???? It's monthly average leh, what is he thinking???????? And from that sentence, he comes up with the conclusion that there's room to cut????? Wow
It took 4 pages of discussion for someone to point this out... I think laymen reading the papers would not have realize it.. ANd they will have scored another success in fooling most Singaporeans.
Angel7030:
>At my Pub, a group of Ang Mo from F1 facilites crews came in >for few drinks yesterday night, our business had gone up 20% over >the week ends, but the damn electricity goes up 21%, we still >loose out 1%, damn govt very clever.
Sorry, Angel7030, i dun get your point, u r like mr.Khoo, 20% increase in your business could be $2000 more, and 21% increase in utitlities could be only $200 more.
Also, side track, 40% of households use above monthly average, that does not mean the average singaporeans. Many CEO, rich and higher-middle class people have HDB also, and maybe they make up the 30% of households. The rest 10% maybe is becos kids and students nowadays play PS2 overnights
Originally posted by whiskers:It took 4 pages of discussion for someone to point this out... I think laymen reading the papers would not have realize it.. ANd they will have scored another success in fooling most Singaporeans.
Sry, I only bothered to read that papers this morning ![]()
Originally posted by posttoday:
Angel7030:
>At my Pub, a group of Ang Mo from F1 facilites crews came in >for few drinks yesterday night, our business had gone up 20% over >the week ends, but the damn electricity goes up 21%, we still >loose out 1%, damn govt very clever.
Sorry, Angel7030, i dun get your point, u r like mr.Khoo, 20% increase in your business could be $2000 more, and 21% increase in utitlities could be only $200 more.
Also, side track, 40% of households use above monthly average, that does not mean the average singaporeans. Many CEO, rich and higher-middle class people have HDB also, and maybe they make up the 30% of households. The rest 10% maybe is becos kids and students nowadays play PS2 overnights
u dun understand me do you, i mean over the F1 weekend, once a year event, so for the rest of the month i hv to paid 21% more even with no or less customers as the lightning, aircon and neon still hv to go on. So for next 53 week i hv to control the electricity or i will make a lost, nevermind, in order to attract customers, i go topless
Originally posted by angel7030:u dun understand me do you, i mean over the F1 weekend, once a year event, so for the rest of the month i hv to paid 21% more even with no or less customers as the lightning, aircon and neon still hv to go on. So for next 53 week i hv to control the electricity or i will make a lost, nevermind, in order to attract customers, i go topless
Topless? Wait you lagi lose license!
Originally posted by yamizi:Topless? Wait you lagi lose license!
Aiya, midnight lah, ask someone to watch out can liao mah, anyway if police come in, just said i accidentally lost my bra. In this kind of entertainment line, no daring cannot make money.
intelligent posts please...
and do not go off topic...
please go to Bar forum if u wanna talk about ur bra and topless shit...
this thread is abt the 21% hike in electricity...

Originally posted by GHoST_18:intelligent posts please...
and do not go off topic...
please go to Bar forum if u wanna talk about ur bra and topless shit...
this thread is abt the 21% hike in electricity...
what not intelligent, becos of the 21 % hike i have to take off my bra,....u tell that to PAP, isn't it relevant in a sense that people have to do crazy stuff to survive their 21% increase that will lead to more and more roller coaster increase in other goods and products.
nice try
Originally posted by skythewood:
I am still in the topic, i quote the example of taking off bra is equivalent to old people said PAP suck until take out trouser
Originally posted by angel7030:I am still in the topic, i quote the example of taking off bra is equivalent to old people said PAP suck until take out trouser
original topic
21% thingie
current topic
talking about whether we are on topic.
Originally posted by skythewood:
what's csf?
wth? topless.....DAREDEVIL =D
Because of ur electric.....the goverment need to burn more waste to get electric
and...burn waste = PLASTIC
Burn plastic = WORLD END.....gobal warming....
damn i hate this........
what pub you open? i can ask one of my SS division
Leibstandarte SS Adolf Hitler to patronise.
oh, relli?
then how?
wat are u going to do?
yes u r right, there is nothing much we can do abt? does that mean we cannot KPKB? that is better than u pouring cold water.
have a opinion, get a life!!
Is there any logic for a 21% increase to the Electrical Rates, at a time when global oil prices have been sliding for the last three months, and going lower in the light of the U.S. financial crisis ?
Is this 21% increase part of the deal not told to Singaporeans when Temasek sold Senoko Power to a Japanese Consortium for S$4 Billion in September 2008 ?
Has Singapore been short changed again in the corporate dealings of Temasek Holdings ?
Will the S$4 Billion picked up by Temasek Holding see its return to the State Treasury, or will it be used for Temasek's overseas financial adventures ?
Everytime using Oil as reason or what ?
when oil price dropped, what happened?
singaporeans are really something.
Originally posted by whiskers:It took 4 pages of discussion for someone to point this out... I think laymen reading the papers would not have realize it.. ANd they will have scored another success in fooling most Singaporeans.
never forget that those comments came from an MP who probably does not have to worry about the electticity bill.