Originally posted by annoy-you-must:
pls lah, everyone must do die at some point of time, right? not every death in s'pore must be linked to a conspiracy theory one mah. besides, if I'm not wrong, JBJ is already over 80 years old...which is indeed quite old already.and for those who wondered if the doctors did their best to save him. Well...given s'poreans political awareness in the first place, I seriously wonder if the doctors would even recognise or know who JBJ is in the first place.
yes. ya right. but sometimes must see the situation one mah.all the scenario i stated makes it a perfect opportunity. somemore his 'head' is valuable mah. do u tink govt would wanna waste time/effort on any tom dick and harry?
how can it be as a educated person, more or less they should have read alot what.
To the True Father of Singapore Mr JBJ,
I salute you.
Rest in Peace.
R.I.P
Originally posted by Fantagf:Indeed, I was hoping to see him back to parliament. What a waste! I was near to tears when I heard about his death. To date, nobody is close to what JBJ is, definitely not LTK. LTK is too quiet as an opposition, it is as good as not having opposition in parliament.
Not only many people are upset at the sudden demise of JBJ. It was raining in the evening. The heaven cried with us.
Even the stones cried out. Sad.
Originally posted by googoomuck:Not only many people are upset at the sudden demise of JBJ. It was raining in the evening. The heaven cried with us.
Even the stones cried out. Sad.
Rained heavily during lunch hours and have been raining for hours on Tuesday. Indeed, the heaven is crying, his demise is a loss for us. JBJ is the most respected opposition.
该æ»ä¸�æ»ï¼Œä¸�该æ»å�´æ»äº†ã€‚
so sudden..... sighz.... RIP....
ya lor, those deserving death are still living. yee ni mini mineny more, Lee ah loong shall go next. lee ah loong is wasting taxpayers' $$. Cho bo kang, keeps "sucking" money from us.
Originally posted by Fantagf:His response to his death was positive without evil connotation like his son. Lee Hsien Loong takes the chance to slam JBJ. Must he be so vindictive as PM?
CONDOLENCE LETTER FROM PRIME MINISTER LEE HSIEN LOONG ON
DEMISE OF JB JEYARETNAM
30 September 2008Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam
Mr Philip JeyaretnamDear Kenneth and Philip Jeyaretnam
I was sad to learn that your father, Mr Joshua Benjamin Jeyaretnam, has passed away. Mr JB Jeyaretnam was a Member of Parliament for Anson constituency from 1981 till 1986, and a Non-Constituency Member of Parliament from 1997 till 2001. He used to engage in heated debates in the House. Perhaps it was because he and the PAP never saw eye to eye on any major political issue and he sought by all means to demolish the PAP and our system of government. Unfortunately, this helped neither to build up a constructive opposition nor our Parliamentary tradition. Nevertheless, one had to respect Mr JB Jeyaretnam¡¯s dogged tenacity to be active in politics at his age.
However, our differences were not personal. In 1993, one of you (Kenneth) wrote to Mr Goh Chok Tong, who was then Prime Minister, to say that you found employers in Singapore reluctant to offer you a job, and your only explanation was that the employers felt the authorities would not welcome your employment because of your name. Mr Goh replied with a letter which could be shown to prospective employers, to say that the government did not hold anything against you, and that employers should evaluate you fairly on your own merits, like any other candidate, because Singapore needed every talented person that it could find. Mr Goh had previously made the same point to your brother Philip, whom he had invited to lunch. I am therefore happy that both of you have established yourselves in Singapore.
Please accept my deepest condolences.
Yours sincerely
Lee Hsien Loong
+++++++++++++++++++++++++
Lee Hsien Loong, JBJ is a much more respectable man compared to you. There will be fewer people speaking well of you when you die in the future. You have recovered from cancer but never have repented unlike other former cancer patients. We are ashame to have you as our PM.
when they revealed the content of the letter, i was like "wtf?!".
harloh, isn't dis @#$%^&* one of the leaders of our nation?
an uncivilised barbarian can write a betta condolene letter!
All you hypocrites better don't insult a dead person with your hypocrisy.
You think it's going to make people think better of you all? You all are so going to get the same amount of hypocrisy that you have shown to him.
How come I don't see people like you all going up to give him a HUG when he was distributing pre-election pamphlets at MRT stations? Too smelly for you all to hug or you all too SHY to do so?
It's the ultimate insult to the deceased if the condolences are from hypocrites like you all here.
If you really respect him and want to honor him, please do so silently and solemnly.
Else, you all should go suck his cock and call him DADDY ok?
Stupid rebels.....no wonder you all are not even good enough for the political dungeons. All should half-boiled and thrown to the lions.
This generation of Singaporean Guys cum Rebels is a disgrace to the nation. So go kill yourself if you still want to talk about your pride, democracy and loyalty to your country, cos as far as I can see, you all are still not good enough to talk about those pure motives.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:
when they revealed the content of the letter, i was like "wtf?!".
harloh, isn't dis @#$%^&* one of the leaders of our nation?
an uncivilised barbarian can write a betta condolene letter!
That letter was obviously doctored and terribly altered. Politicians and especially Prime Minister, have better command of ENGLISH and is able to write a more professional and formal condolences letter.
Even though he himself may not be the one who crafted the wordings in the letter. He will not put his position at risks at all times.
Fantagf is always super full of shit one, you should know that by now.
Originally posted by parn:That letter was obviously doctored and terribly altered. Politicians and especially Prime Minister, have better command of ENGLISH and is able to write a more professional and formal condolences letter.Even though he himself may not be the one who crafted the wordings in the letter. He will not put his position at risks at all times.
Fantagf is always super full of shit one, you should know that by now
THAT LETTER is in the newspaper (http://www.todayonline.com/articles/278944.asp). Now I know that our PM indeed need to polish up his command of English.
Originally posted by parn:All you hypocrites better don't insult a dead person with your hypocrisy.
You think it's going to make people think better of you all? You all are so going to get the same amount of hypocrisy that you have shown to him.
How come I don't see people like you all going up to give him a HUG when he was distributing pre-election pamphlets at MRT stations? Too smelly for you all to hug or you all too SHY to do so?
It's the ultimate insult to the deceased if the condolences are from hypocrites like you all here.
If you really respect him and want to honor him, please do so silently and solemnly.
Else, you all should go suck his cock and call him DADDY ok?
Stupid rebels.....no wonder you all are not even good enough for the political dungeons. All should half-boiled and thrown to the lions.
This generation of Singaporean Guys cum Rebels is a disgrace to the nation. So go kill yourself if you still want to talk about your pride, democracy and loyalty to your country, cos as far as I can see, you all are still not good enough to talk about those pure motives.
The best way to support him is to vote for him and his party during election. I don't think "normal" people will go around hugging people you respect, afterall, we are asian.
Originally posted by 333225520:The best way to support him is to vote for him and his party during election. I don't think "normal" people will go around hugging people you respect, afterall, we are asian.
So you voted for him? You sure you voted for him??
At least if you don't want to hug him but don't find excuses for not showing your support for hiim when he is still alive.
You got buy him a drink or help him to distribute his pamphlets or not?
Want to help doesn't means you have helped you know.
Talk is cheap and easy, and Singaporean "rebels" are super active in cheap and easy talks.
Originally posted by parn:
So you voted for him? You sure you voted for him??At least if you don't want to hug him but don't find excuses for not showing your support for hiim when he is still alive.
You got buy him a drink or help him to distribute his pamphlets or not?
Want to help doesn't means you have helped you know.
Talk is cheap and easy, and Singaporean "rebels" are super active in cheap and easy talks.
My GRC was a walkover. So I never get to vote (unless I move house?). But I will definitely vote for him IF I can cause I believe he will truthly represent our voice in parliament (unlike the current batch of wayang MP).
How abt you, did you vote for him then? Did you give him a hug? Did you buy drink for him? Ya, talk is cheap.
Originally posted by reyes:what is your range of someone call uncle?
someone from your age onwards until 100?
if not uncle, then grandfather of democracy lor
Originally posted by innosaint:To the True Father of Singapore Mr JBJ,
I salute you.
Rest in Peace.
Howcome grandfather of Singapore not yet die, father die liao..
Originally posted by Fantagf:Will there ever be another JBJ in singapore????
No more in Singapore, but i think WWE RAW in america got a JBJ there, a good fighter too.
was sad to learn that your father, Mr Joshua Benjamin Jeyaretnam, has passed away. Mr JB Jeyaretnam was a Member of Parliament for Anson constituency from 1981 till 1986, and a Non-Constituency Member of Parliament from 1997 till 2001. He used to engage in heated debates in the House. Perhaps it was because he and the PAP never saw eye to eye on any major political issue and he sought by all means to demolish the PAP and our system of government. Unfortunately, this helped neither to build up a constructive opposition nor our Parliamentary tradition. Nevertheless, one had to respect Mr JB Jeyaretnam¡¯s dogged tenacity to be active in politics at his age.
Excerpt from LHL msg
...........................................................................................
Wee! how come people died already, he still call him dog??
Originally posted by 333225520:My GRC was a walkover. So I never get to vote (unless I move house?). But I will definitely vote for him IF I can cause I believe he will truthly represent our voice in parliament (unlike the current batch of wayang MP).
How abt you, did you vote for him then? Did you give him a hug? Did you buy drink for him? Ya, talk is cheap.
You talk only, people died liao than you said vote for him, why when he is alive, you dun join his team, i think you will tick PAP column even if your GRC was not walkover...many uncles and aunties talk talk and grumble about PAP, but when vote, all tick them, funny.
Originally posted by 333225520:My GRC was a walkover. So I never get to vote (unless I move house?). But I will definitely vote for him IF I can cause I believe he will truthly represent our voice in parliament (unlike the current batch of wayang MP).
I'm not a rebel like Princess Leia.
That's why rebels in Singapore are CMI.
Originally posted by Fantagf:His response to his death was positive without evil connotation like his son. Lee Hsien Loong takes the chance to slam JBJ. Must he be so vindictive as PM?
CONDOLENCE LETTER FROM PRIME MINISTER LEE HSIEN LOONG ON
DEMISE OF JB JEYARETNAM
30 September 2008Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam
Mr Philip JeyaretnamDear Kenneth and Philip Jeyaretnam
I was sad to learn that your father, Mr Joshua Benjamin Jeyaretnam, has passed away. Mr JB Jeyaretnam was a Member of Parliament for Anson constituency from 1981 till 1986, and a Non-Constituency Member of Parliament from 1997 till 2001. He used to engage in heated debates in the House. Perhaps it was because he and the PAP never saw eye to eye on any major political issue and he sought by all means to demolish the PAP and our system of government. Unfortunately, this helped neither to build up a constructive opposition nor our Parliamentary tradition. Nevertheless, one had to respect Mr JB Jeyaretnam¡¯s dogged tenacity to be active in politics at his age.
However, our differences were not personal. In 1993, one of you (Kenneth) wrote to Mr Goh Chok Tong, who was then Prime Minister, to say that you found employers in Singapore reluctant to offer you a job, and your only explanation was that the employers felt the authorities would not welcome your employment because of your name. Mr Goh replied with a letter which could be shown to prospective employers, to say that the government did not hold anything against you, and that employers should evaluate you fairly on your own merits, like any other candidate, because Singapore needed every talented person that it could find. Mr Goh had previously made the same point to your brother Philip, whom he had invited to lunch. I am therefore happy that both of you have established yourselves in Singapore.
Please accept my deepest condolences.
Yours sincerely
Lee Hsien Loong
+++++++++++++++++++++++++
Lee Hsien Loong, JBJ is a much more respectable man compared to you. There will be fewer people speaking well of you when you die in the future. You have recovered from cancer but never have repented unlike other former cancer patients. We are ashame to have you as our PM.
I don't know what kind of condolence letter was that, he tried to put in his last word against a dead person. Branded him as someone who wanted to destroy the government, a system of governance based on belittling democracy so that they can retain totalitarian power.
He also indirectly implied something with words such as "dogged", then discredit his inability to find employment as a consequence of his inability rather than political persecutions.
What a compassionate PM we have in LHL? Well, at least now he will have one less opposition to "fix", so he can devote all his time to increasing the GDP of Singapore by raising prices of necessities.
PM Lee, if you are unwilling to write a sincere condolence message, why bother to write?
Written by Ng E-Jay
01 October 2008
Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong yesterday wrote a condolence letter on the demise of JBJ, addressed to JBJ’s sons Kenneth and Philip Jeyaretnam.
However, I find PM Lee’s condolence letter insincere and unbefitting of his stature as head of Government and the ruling party.
PM Lee wrote that JBJ “used to engage in heated debates” in Parliament probably because “he and the PAP never saw eye to eye on any major political issue and he sought by all means to demolish the PAP and our system of government“.
PM Lee said that this “helped neither to build up a constructive opposition nor our Parliamentary tradition“.
I am deeply saddened that PM Lee has used the sorrowful passing of a great Opposition stalwart to make a personal attack on the late JBJ in an obvious attempt to press home a biased political message on behalf of the PAP.
The people will be the judge as to whether JBJ really sought to demolish the PAP and Singapore’s system of Government, or whether JBJ sought to provide a constructive and credible alternative to the PAP and reform our political system for the better.
At an election rally in 1988, JBJ challenged the PAP’s claim of being an open and transparent government, and asked whether any investigation had been conducted as to how the late Minister for National Development, Teh Cheang Wan, had obtained the tablets with which he had committed suicide, in the midst of being investigated for corruption.
For this, JBJ was sued by the then Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew and ordered to pay damages of SGD 260,000, together with interest on the amount and costs.
JBJ was sued twice for libel over an article he wrote in The Hammer, the Workers’ Party newspaper, in 1995, resulting in total damages of SGD 465,000 and SGD 250,000 in court costs.
Eleven defamation suits were also filed against JBJ over remarks he made at an election rally in 1997 concerning Mr Tang Liang Hong.
I wonder how PM Lee Hsien Loong can claim that JBJ had failed to work towards a constructive Opposition when in fact JBJ was financially crippled by numerous defamation suits brought against him by PAP leaders in an obvious attempt at keeping him out of Parliament and destroying his political career.
PM Lee also mentioned in his condolence letter than their differences were “not personal“.
Has PM Lee forgotten that after JBJ won the Anson seat in 1981, President Devan Nair recounted Lee Kuan Yew as telling him: “Jeyaretnam can’t win the infighting. I’ll tell you why. WE are in charge. Every government ministry and department is under our control. And in the infighting, he will go down for the count every time … … I will make him crawl on his bended knees, and beg for mercy.”
Does this sound personal or impersonal?
PM Lee also mentioned that Goh Chok Tong had previously helped JBJ’s son, Kenneth Jeyaretnam, find employment in Singapore by writing a letter explaining that the Government did not hold anything against him.
I am saddened that PM Lee has used his condolence message to glorify his own colleague, Goh Chok Tong. Worse still, Goh Chok Tong’s actions of writing a letter urging employers to evaluate Kenneth Jeyaretnam on his own merits only goes to illustrate the pervasive climate of fear generated by the dictatorial PAP.
PM Lee should not have used this sad event to drive home such a lop-sided political message. If PM Lee is unwilling to write a sincere condolence message for JBJ and keep party politics out of the equation, perhaps he should not have bothered to write.