Lee Hsien Loong is not even fit to lick JBJ's foot.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:PM Lee, if you are unwilling to write a sincere condolence message, why bother to write?
Written by Ng E-Jay
01 October 2008Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong yesterday wrote a condolence letter on the demise of JBJ, addressed to JBJ’s sons Kenneth and Philip Jeyaretnam.
However, I find PM Lee’s condolence letter insincere and unbefitting of his stature as head of Government and the ruling party.
PM Lee wrote that JBJ “used to engage in heated debates” in Parliament probably because “he and the PAP never saw eye to eye on any major political issue and he sought by all means to demolish the PAP and our system of government“.
PM Lee said that this “helped neither to build up a constructive opposition nor our Parliamentary tradition“.
I am deeply saddened that PM Lee has used the sorrowful passing of a great Opposition stalwart to make a personal attack on the late JBJ in an obvious attempt to press home a biased political message on behalf of the PAP.
The people will be the judge as to whether JBJ really sought to demolish the PAP and Singapore’s system of Government, or whether JBJ sought to provide a constructive and credible alternative to the PAP and reform our political system for the better.
At an election rally in 1988, JBJ challenged the PAP’s claim of being an open and transparent government, and asked whether any investigation had been conducted as to how the late Minister for National Development, Teh Cheang Wan, had obtained the tablets with which he had committed suicide, in the midst of being investigated for corruption.
For this, JBJ was sued by the then Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew and ordered to pay damages of SGD 260,000, together with interest on the amount and costs.
JBJ was sued twice for libel over an article he wrote in The Hammer, the Workers’ Party newspaper, in 1995, resulting in total damages of SGD 465,000 and SGD 250,000 in court costs.
Eleven defamation suits were also filed against JBJ over remarks he made at an election rally in 1997 concerning Mr Tang Liang Hong.
I wonder how PM Lee Hsien Loong can claim that JBJ had failed to work towards a constructive Opposition when in fact JBJ was financially crippled by numerous defamation suits brought against him by PAP leaders in an obvious attempt at keeping him out of Parliament and destroying his political career.
PM Lee also mentioned in his condolence letter than their differences were “not personal“.
Has PM Lee forgotten that after JBJ won the Anson seat in 1981, President Devan Nair recounted Lee Kuan Yew as telling him: “Jeyaretnam can’t win the infighting. I’ll tell you why. WE are in charge. Every government ministry and department is under our control. And in the infighting, he will go down for the count every time … … I will make him crawl on his bended knees, and beg for mercy.”
Does this sound personal or impersonal?
PM Lee also mentioned that Goh Chok Tong had previously helped JBJ’s son, Kenneth Jeyaretnam, find employment in Singapore by writing a letter explaining that the Government did not hold anything against him.
I am saddened that PM Lee has used his condolence message to glorify his own colleague, Goh Chok Tong. Worse still, Goh Chok Tong’s actions of writing a letter urging employers to evaluate Kenneth Jeyaretnam on his own merits only goes to illustrate the pervasive climate of fear generated by the dictatorial PAP.
PM Lee should not have used this sad event to drive home such a lop-sided political message. If PM Lee is unwilling to write a sincere condolence message for JBJ and keep party politics out of the equation, perhaps he should not have bothered to write.
LHL message was written in the most inappropriate manner, esp coming from a Prime Minister.
If it is meant as a tribute, why the venom? If it is meant as a condolence, I don’t see a single word of comfort.
The man is dead and dead man cannot replies to accusation. The last thing JBJ wanted is a tribute or condolence from his most hated enemy.
PAP must learn not whip a dead horse. Leave the dead alone and leave the mourners to mourn their dead in peace.
I think the old man will strive to live longer.
JBJ got a headstart and will be able to start a party and bully the old man when he arrived.
The old man must be so scared that he is hiding and crying in his castle.
Originally posted by angel7030:When i was a young mei mei, I met him once at centre point at orchard Rd, he gave me a piece of kitkat chocolate and smile, i asked him what is the WP logo on his shirt mean??, he told me that is the future logo of Singapore. Then he gave my Dad a newspaper to read, my Dad never really read it, so i read it in our car while munching on kitkat, and from then on that changed my political view of Singapore. And also i started eating kitkat.
Angel
Former PAP kindergarden student
I was from PAP kindergarden too! Ang Mo Kio Ave 10 Block 415 de.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
I don't know what kind of condolence letter was that, he tried to put in his last word against a dead person. Branded him as someone who wanted to destroy the government, a system of governance based on belittling democracy so that they can retain totalitarian power.
He also indirectly implied something with words such as "dogged", then discredit his inability to find employment as a consequence of his inability rather than political persecutions.
What a compassionate PM we have in LHL? Well, at least now he will have one less opposition to "fix", so he can devote all his time to increasing the GDP of Singapore by raising prices of necessities.
人在� 天在看 =)
Originally posted by bizzkit0102:Lee Hsien Loong is not even fit to lick JBJ's foot.
then lick where?
Originally posted by yamizi:I was from PAP kindergarden too! Ang Mo Kio Ave 10 Block 415 de.
Oh really, wow wee! my senior classmate hor. You remember Miss Lim or not, the sinister who keep teaching us to believe in PAP.
Originally posted by bizzkit0102:Lee Hsien Loong is not even fit to lick JBJ's foot.
Even you are fit to lick JBJ's foot, I still dare you to lick it.
If you also don't want to lick JBJ's foot, then please don't talk nonsense in here ok?
You want to lick my foot and call me madame in my dungeon?
Originally posted by 4sg:LHL message was written in the most inappropriate manner, esp coming from a Prime Minister.
If it is meant as a tribute, why the venom? If it is meant as a condolence, I don’t see a single word of comfort.The man is dead and dead man cannot replies to accusation. The last thing JBJ wanted is a tribute or condolence from his most hated enemy.
PAP must learn not whip a dead horse. Leave the dead alone and leave the mourners to mourn their dead in peace.
So, PAP must learn on how to sell their image better thru the dead of an opposition. Taking this opportunity, LHL excel in it very well.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Oh really, wow wee! my senior classmate hor. You remember Miss Lim or not, the sinister who keep teaching us to believe in PAP.
You from the same block? You which batch? I'm the 86-87 batch.
Originally posted by parn:
Even you are fit to lick JBJ's foot, I still dare you to lick it.If you also don't want to lick JBJ's foot, then please don't talk nonsense in here ok?
You want to lick my foot and call me madame in my dungeon?
but madame, i thot your hongkong feet is still not cure, it may harm his tongue
Originally posted by yamizi:You from the same block? You which batch? I'm the 86-87 batch.
me born in 89.....you uncle liao
Good ma then I can sian xiao mei mei.
Originally posted by parn:
That letter was obviously doctored and terribly altered. Politicians and especially Prime Minister, have better command of ENGLISH and is able to write a more professional and formal condolences letter.Even though he himself may not be the one who crafted the wordings in the letter. He will not put his position at risks at all times.
Fantagf is always super full of shit one, you should know that by now.
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/annex/condolence_letter.pdf
pls do not create a scene here.
the same goes for irrelevant bantering.
pls know your limits.
Originally posted by yamizi:Good ma then I can sian xiao mei mei.
i am not xiao mei mei, i am fully grow size woman already, if u want xiao mei mei, i hv 16 yo to 18 yo one, me 19 already. No more a rose
So which part of the condolence letter is incorrect?
These rebels are not happy because the truth is out?
if u have no idea, a condolence is not to be written in this manner.
it's as distasteful as how you & a few others are behaving in this condolence thread.
Originally posted by parn:So which part of the condolence letter is incorrect?
These rebels are not happy because the truth is out?
so they cannot handle the truth, and all this while they just live in hypocrisy in trying to evade the truth and choose the untrue.
i am not xiao mei mei, i am fully grow size woman already, if u want xiao mei mei, i hv 16 yo to 18 yo one, me 19 already. No more a rose
19 is a beautiful number =)
eh I got pm you you no see ah?
Originally posted by yamizi:
19 is a beautiful number =)eh I got pm you you no see ah?
PM jammed up with lots of junk liao, dun bother to see.
for a gal, sweet 16 and 18 is the best
PM jammed up with lots of junk liao, dun bother to see.
for a gal, sweet 16 and 18 is the best
lol okay tonight I drop by to see 19 =P
He is great man. The one of the only 2 opposition I admired and looked up to. I had the privilege to have him say one sentence to me when I bought his book in City Hall on my birthday many years ago and he kindly autographed on the book. I fear for the future of opposition in Singapore. WIll there be anyone who shows such committment with knowledge that everyone can respect.
Originally posted by yamizi:lol okay tonight I drop by to see 19 =P
u becareful, a lot of mafiaso here ya
Originally posted by gasband:He is great man. The one of the only 2 opposition I admired and looked up to. I had the privilege to have him say one sentence to me when I bought his book in City Hall on my birthday many years ago and he kindly autographed on the book. I fear for the future of opposition in Singapore. WIll there be anyone who shows such committment with knowledge that everyone can respect.
From the pathetic nos of people who attended his funneral at Mount V, you should know what the future opposition of Singapore will be, and some of those attending are PAP spies