However I always ponder that are Singaporeans worth fighting for in the first place?
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:6 months ago, I saw JBJ selling book outside the MRT. Most people just walk past him like he never existed. When he needed help to get out of bankruptcy, where were all the people? When the govt jail him, nobody protested everyone was silent. When he spoke up, he was put down by the press the Stratits Times as a dangerous man of bad ideas.
Yet when he died, there was an outpouring of grief. The word hero was used - people said he is respected. The Straits Times called him a man of integrity. Even PAP MPs called him a great fighter. Bloggers wrote great tributes to a great man......
I've never seen so much hippocrisy in my life. Men who crushed him, destroyed him then turned around to say they respect him. The Singaporeans who were silent when he was unjustly jailed, suddenly speak of him as a great man whom they respect and loved. Where were all of you when he was bankrupted and jailed by this regime.
Its not about politics. it was about universal humanity. JBJ did not fail. He was indeed a great man .....failed and betrayed by the people of Singapore.
Uncle, are u one of the silencer?? if yes, diam diam go home see Auntie, she asked me to inform you to buy 2 kg of rice home ya
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:let me tell you, the end of humanity is the end of the world.
The fact that freedom fighters do come around from time to time is what is keeping humanity still alive.
Woei! Uncle dun confuse me leh, i just finish a paper on Evolution in my prehistoric science subject, Darwin said for billion of years, the world has been around without humanity, so without humanity, the world will still go on..u never think of animals, micro organisam, orgasm, virus, etc etc one huh?? Darwin said, Humanity is only a passing stage of evolution of the universe, compare to the universe, it took about 0.000000001 second of the universe time.
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:6 months ago, I saw JBJ selling book outside the MRT. Most people just walk past him like he never existed. When he needed help to get out of bankruptcy, where were all the people? When the govt jail him, nobody protested everyone was silent. When he spoke up, he was put down by the press the Stratits Times as a dangerous man of bad ideas.
Yet when he died, there was an outpouring of grief. The word hero was used - people said he is respected. The Straits Times called him a man of integrity. Even PAP MPs called him a great fighter. Bloggers wrote great tributes to a great man......
I've never seen so much hippocrisy in my life. Men who crushed him, destroyed him then turned around to say they respect him. The Singaporeans who were silent when he was unjustly jailed, suddenly speak of him as a great man whom they respect and loved. Where were all of you when he was bankrupted and jailed by this regime.
Its not about politics. it was about universal humanity. JBJ did not fail. He was indeed a great man .....failed and betrayed by the people of Singapore.
Finally there's a real MAN here who is not blind.
And it's not hippocrisy....you think this is some kind of zoo is it?
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:let me tell you, the end of humanity is the end of the world.
The fact that freedom fighters do come around from time to time is what is keeping humanity still alive.
What you have said earlier is right but the fact is that Singapore is not like Myanmar where monks can KPKP with baseball bats.It is a country where those who choose to talk hard against the Garmen could end up a broken and forgotten hero.We can only respect people like JBJ who dared to be in the line of fire while the rest of us took cover.That's the least we could do now for this man.I dont see LKY even showing the same respect cuz he hated JBJ guts but people like GCT and LHL ought to be ashame.
honourable man ? not to me - I remember when the time, he was selling his party paper walking around the market. I politely decline - hey it cost decent money which i do not have for spare that time .... he give me such a nasty look - which i will alway remember !!! - so i do question hourable ? haha not to me
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
What you have said earlier is right but the fact is that Singapore is not like Myanmar where monks can KPKP with baseball bats.It is a country where those who choose to talk hard against the Garmen could end up a broken and forgotten hero.We can only respect people like JBJ who dared to be in the line of fire while the rest of us took cover.That's the least we could do now for this man.I dont see LKY even showing the same respect cuz he hated JBJ guts but people like GCT and LHL ought to be ashame.
of course u cannot compare SG and MYm lah, Mynamar is a matter of shortage of jobs and deprive citizen of foods by increasing price tremedously, in other words, their citizens especially the kampong side will be starve to death..it is a matter of life and death, whether to protest or not to protest, still hv to die, might as well protest and hope for the best.
Unlike Singapore, MacDonalds, Kuay teow me, meepok, laksa, durians, jack place, crystal palace, etc etc etc..no food problem, plenty of jobs..good life..or at least better life than most other third world countries that even our bread can talk
Originally posted by storywolf:honourable man ? not to me - I remember when the time, he was selling his party paper walking around the market. I politely decline - hey it cost decent money which i do not have for spare that time .... he give me such a nasty look - which i will alway remember !!! - so i do question hourable ? haha not to me
You kwailan he also kwailan lah.One time I also jee siow him by wanting to buy all his papers but he refused and politely told me to buy only one cuz he wanted others to read....At that time I wore a PAP dog collar.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
You kwailan he also kwailan lah.One time I also jee siow him by wanting to buy all his papers but he refused and politely told me to buy only one cuz he wanted others to read....At that time I wore a PAP dog collar.
oh ya, i remember when i was young, a guy in those full PAP white attire with a Dog wearing a PAP dog collar came and bought paper from him
Originally posted by angel7030:
oh ya, i remember when i was young, a guy in those full PAP white attire with a Dog wearing a PAP dog collar came and bought paper from him
Now I more handsome in black
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Now I more handsome in black
old dog highlighted black from silver fur
A dedicated space has been built for this great man at The Tranquil World Dot Com... You may pay your homage to him and post relevant materials of him there. Visit www.thetranquilworld.com
Guess like we have a PAP supporter in this thread.
But unfortunately, I have to admit I have not done anything for this great man. I never had the chance to vote for him as I was not eligible to vote when he was running in the GE last time. Whether or not you like the man or not, it is there for all to see that the man had guts and backbone and was willing to fight for his beliefs. Can't really say the same about most of the MPs and ministers in parliament these days.
Originally posted by parn:
Don't talk nonsense, this thread is clearly an insult to JBJ and family.You think these condolences are sincere? What did they do FOR JBJ when he was still alive? Nothing at all...now when he is dead and lying cold, then they all start to pour all their crocodile tears in here.....PUI!!! SUPER PUI!!!!
How come there wasn't a JBJ topic started by any of those SINCERE rebels?
None of these rebels showed any sense of remorse and regret for not appreciating him when he were still alive.
Until that happens, these ungrateful rebels shall be entitled to have the same type of hypocrisy condolences as JBJ when they are DEAD in the future.
You should open your eyes and start to see people for who they are instead of all the wayang actions that they do to express their unsincere righteousness. It's call detecting hypocrites. Can you even detect any hypocrites in here?
No you can't, cos you're too blind.
I admit I am one of the coward who don't dare to speak out against the gov. Even sub-consciously self-censoring whatever I type now for fear that the gov maybe tracking the forum.
Which is why the more I admire JBJ for his courage and commitment to Singapore.
My Condolences to the Jeyaretnam's family
You could have make it big, you could have been very rich
But you have gave it all up, to what is your belief.
You could have given in, you could have given up, to all the troubles and the fights
But for the love of your country, it a thought you have neither haboured nor take flight.
Alas, a son of Singapore had left us with honour and dignity
But his name and his spirit will always be in our history.
Lin Yu (May you be well and happy wherever you are)
Any of the CSJ fans want to go and say their condolences to him first while he's still alive and kicking, Or you all want to wait long long until he picha liao then come here and start another similar topic for you all to pour your crocodile tears?
The only people who are able to give sincere condolences are NICE & KIND people.
Are you all nice & kind now? If yes, let me test ok?
Originally posted by Go:He dedicated more than a third of his life fighting for what he believes. Finally, he can rest in peace.
I can see that he is a great father. At least, he is able to segregrate his political fight away from his family.
are u comparing to someone else bro?
How come the Chee soon juan letter thread got deleted?
anyway here it is....
Originally posted by Evangel on 3rd october 4:48pm.
"
Dear Mr Jeyaretnam,
I visited you one last time on Tuesday. I've never seen you so
peaceful and contented.
This is such a change from all the years that we've been working
together. I remember how bitter we felt sitting in your rented
apartment at Orange Grove Road after the 1997 elections. The place
has since been turned into swank, upscale serviced-apartments. We
were drafting a letter to the United Nations to ask for the
monitoring of future elections here.
It was a tedious job recounting everything that had happened: the
hounding of Tang Liang Hong, the threats made against voters, and
the gatecrashing of polling stations by ministers. The task was
made lighter only with the delightful combination of the savoury
Indian vadai and Earl Grey you served.
I remember also asking you about the copy of Long Walk to
Freedom by Nelson Mandela sitting on your coffee table. You
said that once in a long while, there comes a man who achieves
greatness without having to cause the suffering of others.
On another occasion, my wife and I visited you at another rented
house. From the outside, we could see a few of your shirts hanging
by the window ledge on the upper floor. Mei said that she felt
sorry that you had to do your own laundry at your age without
anyone sharing those chores with you.
This reminds me of the time when we were driving along Serangoon
Road and you wanted to stop by to pick up a bunch of flowers. I had
asked you what the occasion was. You said it was your wedding
anniversary and that your late wife, Margaret, would have liked the
bouquet.
Then there was the time when we visited New York City. I was
surprised when you mentioned that that was the first time you had
set foot in the US. We had checked into this small hotel and
struggled with our luggage along the narrow and dingy corridor. And
as I fumbled for the key to open the door, I heard you mutter to
yourself: "Oh Ben, what have you gotten yourself into?"
My heart sank when I heard you say that. I was feeling a little
depressed myself and I was hoping to get some cheer from you.
Seeing you so despondent made my own morale wobble.
But I knew that you were feeling depressed and anxious because of
yet another lawsuit. As we put our weary heads on the emaciated
pillows, you said that they didn't just want to win politically but
were determined to also crush us personally.
We made a pact that night that while we may not yet be able to beat
them politically, we would not allow them to defeat us on the
personal front. They may take away all our possessions, but they
will never take away our will to speak up. And then you said that
we needed to rest as “tomorrow's another day that we have to
fight.”
The next morning I came out from the shower and saw you reading the
Bible. We talked a little about the Book of Ecclesiastes. Then you
knelt down by the bed to say a prayer and I joined you. We prayed
for strength and sustenance.
Rejuvenated, we went down to what New Yorkers call a “deli” for
breakfast. I remember you asking me what a bagel was and I said
that it was the American version of the vadai. You
chortled and we mouthed down a couple of Ham and Cheeses. Actually,
I did. You found the bagels a little too hard.
During breakfast we talked about setting up an NGO to advocate
transparency and democracy in Singapore. When we came back, we had
a bit of a laugh seeing how the gentleman at the Registry of
Companies squirmed as he tried to handle our application for the
"Open Singapore Foundation".
After rejecting the term "Foundation", "Institute" and a couple of
others, the ROC finally allowed the use of "Centre". Thus was born
the first human rights NGO in Singapore.
We left New York and you headed south to Florida to visit your son.
When you returned, you bought my daughter a little pink teddy bear.
It squeaks when you press its tummy. When she was a little older,
we told her who bought it for her. She named it “JB Bear" because
she couldn't quite pronounce your name.
My wife said that it was funny to think of this cute little pink
bear and picture you at the same time, a big elderly man with bushy
hair and your trademark "mutton chops". You always made her jump a
little whenever your voice boomed through the phone: "Is that you,
Mei?"
Several months later, your worst nightmare came true. You were
found guilty of defamation again and you now had to vacate your
seat in Parliament for the second time. I remember talking to you
on the phone after your appeal was rejected. You sounded so
crestfallen.
I had asked you if you wanted to talk, but you said that you just
wanted to be "alone for a while." The next day we met for lunch
near your office at North Bridge Road. We got into a heated
argument. I had asked you not to continue paying the money and
playing into the hands of Lee and his people.
I knew you were angry at me for saying so, but I also knew that you
wanted me to be honest with you. Through the years, we have had our
clashes and disagreements. But we always knew that we were locked
in spirit and that we would always remain true to each other and to
what we believed in. No matter how serious our disagreements, we
always stood on the same side.
As you lay down to rest, democracy is not yet at hand. But don't
you ever believe those who say that your fight on earth was
irrelevant and personal. Nothing could be further from the truth.
You have inspired an entire generation of Singaporeans and we will
keep the fight going.
We will keep on reaching for that star in the black sky, that
shimmering distant star of liberty. If we are closer to touching
it, it is because we stand on your shoulders.
Your legacy and walk on earth will not only remain but it will
grow. You have left a void that cannot be filled.
I think of that night in New York when we pledged not to let them
defeat our persons. You've kept your end of the pact. They may
still have the power but, boy, you sure showed them what a fighter
for truth is. You leave us with honour and dignity, no one could
buy you over and no one did. And even though you did not possess
millions in your bank account, the treasure which you have stored
is with you today and forever.
Goodbye, Ben, I will miss you.
But even as I mourn your death, I celebrate your life because it
has touched mine. You have fought the good fight and now you have
been called home to rest. They cannot hurt you anymore. Until we
meet again, dear friend, I will always remain
Yours in Justice and Freedom,
Soon Juan
After reading this very
sincere letter, my vision blurred...
"
Originally posted by whiskers:How come the Chee soon juan letter thread got deleted?
anyway here it is....Originally posted by Evangel on 3rd october 4:48pm.
"Dear Mr Jeyaretnam,
I visited you one last time on Tuesday. I've never seen you so peaceful and contented.
This is such a change from all the years that we've been working together. I remember how bitter we felt sitting in your rented apartment at Orange Grove Road after the 1997 elections. The place has since been turned into swank, upscale serviced-apartments. We were drafting a letter to the United Nations to ask for the monitoring of future elections here.
It was a tedious job recounting everything that had happened: the hounding of Tang Liang Hong, the threats made against voters, and the gatecrashing of polling stations by ministers. The task was made lighter only with the delightful combination of the savoury Indian vadai and Earl Grey you served.
I remember also asking you about the copy of Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela sitting on your coffee table. You said that once in a long while, there comes a man who achieves greatness without having to cause the suffering of others.
On another occasion, my wife and I visited you at another rented house. From the outside, we could see a few of your shirts hanging by the window ledge on the upper floor. Mei said that she felt sorry that you had to do your own laundry at your age without anyone sharing those chores with you.
This reminds me of the time when we were driving along Serangoon Road and you wanted to stop by to pick up a bunch of flowers. I had asked you what the occasion was. You said it was your wedding anniversary and that your late wife, Margaret, would have liked the bouquet.
Then there was the time when we visited New York City. I was surprised when you mentioned that that was the first time you had set foot in the US. We had checked into this small hotel and struggled with our luggage along the narrow and dingy corridor. And as I fumbled for the key to open the door, I heard you mutter to yourself: "Oh Ben, what have you gotten yourself into?"
My heart sank when I heard you say that. I was feeling a little depressed myself and I was hoping to get some cheer from you. Seeing you so despondent made my own morale wobble.
But I knew that you were feeling depressed and anxious because of yet another lawsuit. As we put our weary heads on the emaciated pillows, you said that they didn't just want to win politically but were determined to also crush us personally.
We made a pact that night that while we may not yet be able to beat them politically, we would not allow them to defeat us on the personal front. They may take away all our possessions, but they will never take away our will to speak up. And then you said that we needed to rest as “tomorrow's another day that we have to fight.”
The next morning I came out from the shower and saw you reading the Bible. We talked a little about the Book of Ecclesiastes. Then you knelt down by the bed to say a prayer and I joined you. We prayed for strength and sustenance.
Rejuvenated, we went down to what New Yorkers call a “deli” for breakfast. I remember you asking me what a bagel was and I said that it was the American version of the vadai. You chortled and we mouthed down a couple of Ham and Cheeses. Actually, I did. You found the bagels a little too hard.
During breakfast we talked about setting up an NGO to advocate transparency and democracy in Singapore. When we came back, we had a bit of a laugh seeing how the gentleman at the Registry of Companies squirmed as he tried to handle our application for the "Open Singapore Foundation".
After rejecting the term "Foundation", "Institute" and a couple of others, the ROC finally allowed the use of "Centre". Thus was born the first human rights NGO in Singapore.
We left New York and you headed south to Florida to visit your son. When you returned, you bought my daughter a little pink teddy bear. It squeaks when you press its tummy. When she was a little older, we told her who bought it for her. She named it “JB Bear" because she couldn't quite pronounce your name.
My wife said that it was funny to think of this cute little pink bear and picture you at the same time, a big elderly man with bushy hair and your trademark "mutton chops". You always made her jump a little whenever your voice boomed through the phone: "Is that you, Mei?"
Several months later, your worst nightmare came true. You were found guilty of defamation again and you now had to vacate your seat in Parliament for the second time. I remember talking to you on the phone after your appeal was rejected. You sounded so crestfallen.
I had asked you if you wanted to talk, but you said that you just wanted to be "alone for a while." The next day we met for lunch near your office at North Bridge Road. We got into a heated argument. I had asked you not to continue paying the money and playing into the hands of Lee and his people.
I knew you were angry at me for saying so, but I also knew that you wanted me to be honest with you. Through the years, we have had our clashes and disagreements. But we always knew that we were locked in spirit and that we would always remain true to each other and to what we believed in. No matter how serious our disagreements, we always stood on the same side.
As you lay down to rest, democracy is not yet at hand. But don't you ever believe those who say that your fight on earth was irrelevant and personal. Nothing could be further from the truth. You have inspired an entire generation of Singaporeans and we will keep the fight going.
We will keep on reaching for that star in the black sky, that shimmering distant star of liberty. If we are closer to touching it, it is because we stand on your shoulders.
Your legacy and walk on earth will not only remain but it will grow. You have left a void that cannot be filled.
I think of that night in New York when we pledged not to let them defeat our persons. You've kept your end of the pact. They may still have the power but, boy, you sure showed them what a fighter for truth is. You leave us with honour and dignity, no one could buy you over and no one did. And even though you did not possess millions in your bank account, the treasure which you have stored is with you today and forever.
But even as I mourn your death, I celebrate your life because it has touched mine. You have fought the good fight and now you have been called home to rest. They cannot hurt you anymore. Until we meet again, dear friend, I will always remain
Soon JuanAfter reading this very sincere letter, my vision blurred...
"
A touching letter indeed.
Posted by admin on October 3, 2008
Written by Ng E-Jay
03 October 2008
My very first encounter with Mr Joshua Benjamin Jeyaretnam (JBJ) was at a small coffeeshop along Peck Seah Street in May 2007.
JBJ had rallied friends, supporters, and other interested parties to come together to discuss the formation of a new political party.
He spoke in great earnest, making sure everyone understood the urgent need to press on with the Opposition Cause.
JBJ looked at me in the eye and told me with a voice filled with conviction what needed to be done to reform Singapore’s political system. He carefully explained why he wanted to campaign for power to be restored to the people, why the concentration of unbridled power in the Executive was detrimental to Singapore.
That first encounter with JBJ was to become one of several, and each time I met him and each time he spoke at in-door seminars, I tried my best to learn something from him. His wisdom and his great many years of experience never failed to touch me every time I heard him speak.
Over time, I realized that my previous impressions of JBJ that I had garnered from the mainstream media were quite distorted, and the mainstream media never quite conveyed to the public the real values that JBJ stood for.
In real life, JBJ was a passionate man who was filled with purpose and conviction, and he believed greatly in human rights, democracy, and civil rights for all Singaporeans. He believed in the need for independent trade unions, a free and independent media, and an independent Electoral Commission. JBJ also believed in the need for a independent judicial commission which would have the power to appoint judges, and that this power should be taken away from the prime minister.
In June this year, the Reform Party was officially registered, and the inauguration dinner was held on 11 July 08. The turnout at the dinner was very impressive, and all Opposition parties took part in the joy and the festivities. It was the most spectacular show of Opposition unity in a long time.
Now, with JBJ’s passing, the Opposition must continue to strengthen itself and make that unity shown at the inauguration dinner become a reality and a permanent fixture in our political landscape.
The Opposition should work hand-in-hand with NGOs to foster greater awareness of social, economic and political issues amongst the masses, and work to break the gridlock of fear generated by decades of high-handed PAP rule.
The Opposition should also develop the competency to address national issues and formulate effective, workable alternative policies to replace the policies of the Government that pay scant attention to the needs of the working class.
While JBJ has passed on to a better world, his work must continue. The legacy that he has left us will forever be an inspiration to us, a call for us to embrace the movement, to preserve and honour what has been done, and to finish what has been left uncompleted.
Originally posted by whiskers:How come the Chee soon juan letter thread got deleted?
"Dear Mr Jeyaretnam,
I visited you one last time on Tuesday. I've never seen you so peaceful and contented.
This is such a change from all the years that we've been working together. I remember how bitter we felt sitting in your rented apartment at Orange Grove Road after the 1997 elections. The place has since been turned into swank, upscale serviced-apartments. We were drafting a letter to the United Nations to ask for the monitoring of future elections here.
It was a tedious job recounting everything that had happened: the hounding of Tang Liang Hong, the threats made against voters, and the gatecrashing of polling stations by ministers. The task was made lighter only with the delightful combination of the savoury Indian vadai and Earl Grey you served.
I remember also asking you about the copy of Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela sitting on your coffee table. You said that once in a long while, there comes a man who achieves greatness without having to cause the suffering of others.
On another occasion, my wife and I visited you at another rented house. From the outside, we could see a few of your shirts hanging by the window ledge on the upper floor. Mei said that she felt sorry that you had to do your own laundry at your age without anyone sharing those chores with you.
This reminds me of the time when we were driving along Serangoon Road and you wanted to stop by to pick up a bunch of flowers. I had asked you what the occasion was. You said it was your wedding anniversary and that your late wife, Margaret, would have liked the bouquet.
Then there was the time when we visited New York City. I was surprised when you mentioned that that was the first time you had set foot in the US. We had checked into this small hotel and struggled with our luggage along the narrow and dingy corridor. And as I fumbled for the key to open the door, I heard you mutter to yourself: "Oh Ben, what have you gotten yourself into?"
My heart sank when I heard you say that. I was feeling a little depressed myself and I was hoping to get some cheer from you. Seeing you so despondent made my own morale wobble.
But I knew that you were feeling depressed and anxious because of yet another lawsuit. As we put our weary heads on the emaciated pillows, you said that they didn't just want to win politically but were determined to also crush us personally.
We made a pact that night that while we may not yet be able to beat them politically, we would not allow them to defeat us on the personal front. They may take away all our possessions, but they will never take away our will to speak up. And then you said that we needed to rest as “tomorrow's another day that we have to fight.”
The next morning I came out from the shower and saw you reading the Bible. We talked a little about the Book of Ecclesiastes. Then you knelt down by the bed to say a prayer and I joined you. We prayed for strength and sustenance.
Rejuvenated, we went down to what New Yorkers call a “deli” for breakfast. I remember you asking me what a bagel was and I said that it was the American version of the vadai. You chortled and we mouthed down a couple of Ham and Cheeses. Actually, I did. You found the bagels a little too hard.
During breakfast we talked about setting up an NGO to advocate transparency and democracy in Singapore. When we came back, we had a bit of a laugh seeing how the gentleman at the Registry of Companies squirmed as he tried to handle our application for the "Open Singapore Foundation".
After rejecting the term "Foundation", "Institute" and a couple of others, the ROC finally allowed the use of "Centre". Thus was born the first human rights NGO in Singapore.
We left New York and you headed south to Florida to visit your son. When you returned, you bought my daughter a little pink teddy bear. It squeaks when you press its tummy. When she was a little older, we told her who bought it for her. She named it “JB Bear" because she couldn't quite pronounce your name.
My wife said that it was funny to think of this cute little pink bear and picture you at the same time, a big elderly man with bushy hair and your trademark "mutton chops". You always made her jump a little whenever your voice boomed through the phone: "Is that you, Mei?"
Several months later, your worst nightmare came true. You were found guilty of defamation again and you now had to vacate your seat in Parliament for the second time. I remember talking to you on the phone after your appeal was rejected. You sounded so crestfallen.
I had asked you if you wanted to talk, but you said that you just wanted to be "alone for a while." The next day we met for lunch near your office at North Bridge Road. We got into a heated argument. I had asked you not to continue paying the money and playing into the hands of Lee and his people.
I knew you were angry at me for saying so, but I also knew that you wanted me to be honest with you. Through the years, we have had our clashes and disagreements. But we always knew that we were locked in spirit and that we would always remain true to each other and to what we believed in. No matter how serious our disagreements, we always stood on the same side.
As you lay down to rest, democracy is not yet at hand. But don't you ever believe those who say that your fight on earth was irrelevant and personal. Nothing could be further from the truth. You have inspired an entire generation of Singaporeans and we will keep the fight going.
We will keep on reaching for that star in the black sky, that shimmering distant star of liberty. If we are closer to touching it, it is because we stand on your shoulders.
Your legacy and walk on earth will not only remain but it will grow. You have left a void that cannot be filled.
I think of that night in New York when we pledged not to let them defeat our persons. You've kept your end of the pact. They may still have the power but, boy, you sure showed them what a fighter for truth is. You leave us with honour and dignity, no one could buy you over and no one did. And even though you did not possess millions in your bank account, the treasure which you have stored is with you today and forever.
But even as I mourn your death, I celebrate your life because it has touched mine. You have fought the good fight and now you have been called home to rest. They cannot hurt you anymore. Until we meet again, dear friend, I will always remain
"
I don't really like CSJ on the personal level but this should be what a condolence letter about.
I am touched.
CONDOLENCE LETTER FROM PRIME MINISTER LEE HSIEN LOONG ON DEMISE OF JB JEYARETNAM
30 September 2008
Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam
Mr Philip Jeyaretnam
Dear Kenneth and Philip Jeyaretnam
I was sad to learn that your father, Mr Joshua Benjamin Jeyaretnam, has passed away.
Mr JB Jeyaretnam was a Member of Parliament for Anson constituency from
1981 till 1986, and a Non-Constituency Member of Parliament from 1997
till 2001. He used to engage in heated debates in the House.
Perhaps it was because he and the PAP never saw eye to eye on any major political issue and he sought by all means to demolish the PAP and our system of government. Unfortunately, this helped neither to build up a constructive opposition nor our Parliamentary tradition.
Nevertheless, one had to respect Mr JB Jeyaretnam’s dogged tenacity to be active in politics at his age.
However, our differences were not personal. In 1993, one of you (Kenneth) wrote to Mr Goh Chok Tong, who was then Prime Minister, to say that you found employers in Singapore reluctant to offer you a job, and your only explanation was that the employers felt the authorities would not welcome your employment because of your name.
Mr Goh replied with a letter which could be shown to prospective employers, to say that the government did not hold anything against you, and that employers should evaluate you fairly on your own merits, like any other candidate, because Singapore needed every talented person that it could find.
Mr Goh had previously made the same point to your brother Philip, whom he had invited to lunch. I am therefore happy that both of you have established yourselves in Singapore.
Please accept my deepest condolences.
Yours sincerely
Lee Hsien Loong
Never on a bended knee: a tribute to JBJ
by James Gomez
To be a genuine democrat in Singapore is to have been touched by JB Jeyaretnam. Whether as an individual, member of a civil society group or an opposition party one way or another we would all have come across or had some direct contact with JBJ. That`s why his loss in so personal to us and that`s why we feel his absence very directly.
My first direct contact with JBJ was in 1988 when as President, of the Philosophy Society and a first year undergraduate at NUS, I invited him to speak on Political Freedoms in Singapore on campus. You can only imagine what kind of university red tape and nay saying I had to face from fellow undergraduates in organising that talk. Nevertheless we succeeded, and he spoke to a full house at Lecture Hall 11.
In 2001, I had the opportunity to organise with others the Save JBJ Rally. More red tape again but again the organisers prevailed and we managed to pull the event off. Later in 2003, it was my pleasure and privilege to prepare and deliver the citation for JBJ when he received Think Centre`s Human Rights award.
Over the next years we had several more opportunities to interact.While saddened by his demise, I prefer to look ahead. He has done good work and this is something we need to build on. More importantly the tone of the struggle needs to be borne in mind. If you want to take on the PAP, it should never be on a bended knee. That much I have learnt from JBJ.
OPEN LETTER TO THE PRIME MINISTER AND HIS CABINET
30 September 2008
Dear Prime Minister & Cabinet Members
By all accounts, we have lost a figure of uncommon strength and conviction in Mr JB Jeyaretnam.
No
matter which side of the political fence we stand, it is undeniable
that Mr JBJ, as he will be fondly remembered, has fought long and hard
for what he believed was good for Singapore and, good for Singaporeans.
Mr
JBJ did all he could with all he could. In staying the course, he has
undoubtedly performed a public duty as a citizen of Singapore and,
amply demonstrated the public spirit, the commitment to country and,
the "nation before self" maxim that the government has sought to
propagate.
As Singaporeans we are proud that such a man as Mr
JBJ walked among us. We appreciate the sacrifices Mr JBJ has made for
his beliefs in serving the people of Singapore . We are equally proud
that the government, in spite of its political differences, has
acknowledged the same resilience and service to nation in Mr JBJ.
Mr
JBJ is an icon - an individual who stood up to serve the country and
who stood tall for his beliefs and principles. As citizens of Singapore
, we hope that Mr JBJ's public spiritedness and love of the law can be
preserved in the following manner:
1) a professorial chair in
the name of Joshua Benjamin Jeyaretnam be created in the Faculty of
Law, National University of Singapore and,
2) A scholarship fund
in the name of Joshua Benjamin Jeyaretnam for graduate studies in
political science and/or constitutional law and/or civil society
studies.
We also humbly ask the government to further
demonstrate its commitment to public spiritedness and active citizenry
by taking the lead to provide the seed fund for the above honours for
others to follow.
We look forward to your encouragement as we mourn the loss of one of Singapore's better sons.
Yours in good faith,
Dana Lam Yoke Kiew (SXXXXXXXH)
Braema Mathi (SXXXXXXXG)
Siew Kum Hong (SXXXXXXXE)
Au Wai Pang (SXXXXXXXJ)
Manohar P Sabnani (SXXXXXXXA)
Teri Teo Shiwen (SXXXXXXXI)
Constance Singam (SXXXXXXXE)
Cheng U Wen, Lena (SXXXXXXXD)
Lim Siew Wai, William (SXXXXXXXD)
Benedict Jacob-Thambiah (SXXXXXXXI)
T Sasitharan (SXXXXXXXZ)
Stephanie Chok (SXXXXXXXB)
Heng Hiang Khng (SXXXXXXXE)
Jacqueline Tan (SXXXXXXXC)
Serene Yap (SXXXXXXXG)
"Dear Mr Jeyaretnam,
"
for once, i'm touched by dis clown...
" We will keep on reaching for that star in the black sky, that shimmering distant star of liberty. If we are closer to touching it, it is because we stand on your shoulders."