Do you think MINDEF will cover up the commanders who made this NS man do exercises when he was on MC? ![]()
SINGAPORE: 20—year—old Private Joe Foo Wei Rong who died at Lim Chu Kang Camp on Tuesday morning had been given three days of medical leave on Sunday for a hamstring strain.
Relatives and friends learnt of this as they paid their last respects to the full—time National Serviceman at the Ubi Teochew Parlour on Wednesday afternoon.
Private Foo collapsed while doing chin—ups at Lim Chu Kang camp. The Ministry of Defence said he was brought to hospital where he died shortly after.
It’s learnt that Mindef is investigating why Private Foo was training while on medical leave.
Private Foo will be cremated at Mandai Crematorium on Thursday morning.
Many remember him as an athletic young man who liked to play basketball.
Clifton Seah, the cousin of Private Foo, said: "I’m very shocked. He was a fine young man. My brother was on the phone with him barely 12 hours before he died. It’s a great loss." — CNA
Will they examine policies and Standard operating procedures? Will they just take action against the platoon commander and cover up cock ups in higher management? Can MINDEF be trusted?
Or is Pte Foo expendable.......just another person to be stepped on by those who grow fat on their superscale salaries?
i have seen it during NS, when a private in under MC , he is asked to come back and do SOC, IPPT ect and such stuff.
So what if Mindef investigates, the NSF's officers will get punishment and part of negligence or abuse of authority?
U cant bring back a son's life to the family. A family has lost their son.
Originally posted by Dr Who:Do you think MINDEF will cover up the commanders who made this NS man do exercises when he was on MC?
SINGAPORE: 20—year—old Private Joe Foo Wei Rong who died at Lim Chu Kang Camp on Tuesday morning had been given three days of medical leave on Sunday for a hamstring strain.
Relatives and friends learnt of this as they paid their last respects to the full—time National Serviceman at the Ubi Teochew Parlour on Wednesday afternoon.
Private Foo collapsed while doing chin—ups at Lim Chu Kang camp. The Ministry of Defence said he was brought to hospital where he died shortly after.
It’s learnt that Mindef is investigating why Private Foo was training while on medical leave.
Private Foo will be cremated at Mandai Crematorium on Thursday morning.
Many remember him as an athletic young man who liked to play basketball.
Clifton Seah, the cousin of Private Foo, said: "I’m very shocked. He was a fine young man. My brother was on the phone with him barely 12 hours before he died. It’s a great loss." — CNA
Will they examine policies and Standard operating procedures? Will they just take action against the platoon commander and cover up cock ups in higher management? Can MINDEF be trusted?
Or is Pte Foo expendable.......just another person to be stepped on by those who grow fat on their superscale salaries?
can a person die suddenly from a hamstring injury?I dunno...I am not the expert...but assuming the death is unrelated to the hamstring... then it seems pretty suay to be investigated on SOP when the MC has got nothing to do with the death...I am quite sure we all know that procedures arent always followed...both in SAF and elsewhere.
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:i have seen it during NS, when a private in under MC , he is asked to come back and do SOC, IPPT ect and such stuff.
So what if Mindef investigates, the NSF's officers will get punishment and part of negligence or abuse of authority?
U cant bring back a son's life to the family. A family has lost their son.
last time my coy practice is to come back and endorse MC by MO...then go back home and start ur Att C....troublesome...but cover backside lor...
Damn, one more handsome young guy gone...me less chance again..left behind all ah pek and uncles for what....woei!!! SAF, dun waste our young guys life, we mei mei already had a hard time finding the right guys..hv to compete with prc gals ok!!
Can MINDEF be trusted ? by Dr who.
How do i know, never go to war before leh, maybe war really come, Mindef first to run lor.
i tink they are just covering it up
Mindef shared before
that during NS training must be realistic ya
durning war time also got many RIP
so......
Originally posted by icyboiz:i tink they are just covering it up
what covering up??, he already covered, and as for them, they already pack up liao
Every now and then some bad and unexpected do happen in the SAF and someone would be held responsible but how high??You know the answer already.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Every now and then some bad and unexpected do happen in the SAF and someone would be held responsible but how high??You know the answer already.
i wonder if he report his MC to his superior or not?? if not, no one is the blame.
Originally posted by angel7030:
i wonder if he report his MC to his superior or not?? if not, no one is the blame.
Wah you know about Army law also ah.Corright but tell me which NS guy with MC won't show his? My guess is he was told to do his regular chin ups before the could endose his MC.Who the hell thought someone could die from trying to bend the chin up bar.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Wah you know about Army law also ah.Corright but tell me which NS guy with MC won't show his? My guess is he was told to do his regular chin ups before the could endose his MC.Who the hell thought someone could die from trying to bend the chin up bar.
what to do, there is something wrong with today young sg guys, my Dad and Brother told me last time, more tough training and discipline, everyone also can tarhan and never die, now little march and up only, die liao...is our bringing up of guy not enuf ginseng or our food got problem??
If you think about it,
give MC = excused = no chin up = no death
Well, I know my view is optimistic and you will say "wah, bullshit how can someone die just from chin up, even if no chin up he may also die"
but, lets say even if he die, he won't die during NS (forgive me if I doesn't sounds right here). My point is the blame is on those people in NS who like to dig their grave and add one more tragedy into the history of NS. Why ask the guy with MC to do chin up?
like this also die, like that also die, lots of softie, aiya, next time, u go NS, sit down can liao
Originally posted by furb:If you think about it,
Well, I know my view is optimistic and you will say "wah, bullshit how can someone die just from chin up, even if no chin up he may also die"
but, lets say even if he die, he won't die during NS (forgive me if I doesn't sounds right here). My point is the blame is on those people in NS who like to dig their grave and add one more tragedy into the history of NS. Why ask the guy with MC to do chin up?
hard to say
2km walk also can die liao...
maybe it's the good brothers at the camp :(
Originally posted by eagle:hard to say
2km walk also can die liao...maybe it's the good brothers at the camp :(
SAF no celebrate 7th month one meh?? hmmm..i go tell my Uncle Rear Admire Teo, defence minister to set up a committee to look into it
if death comes looking for you, there is no way you can run.
we all know that if our time is up, we will die no matter what circumstances.
Originally posted by novelltie:if death comes looking for you, there is no way you can run.
we all know that if our time is up, we will die no matter what circumstances.
Oh, then i save so much money for what, then i so kiasu for what?? everyday rush with people and want to be the first in all Q for what??
during my last ICT. i already write in suggestion that NS men should have a different IPPT passing critieria compare to regulars and full time NSmen. the current system that base on age groups are irrelevant and fail to take consideration that while working and take care of family , we has limited time for keeping fit.
i bet it take a few more casualties before such opinion can be taken in by the MOD.
i felt sorry for the deceased NSmen.
Dr Who, may I have the link to your source of news?
I can't find any news article stating that the soldier was on MC.
Originally posted by Starseven:Dr Who, may I have the link to your source of news?
I can't find any news article stating that the soldier was on MC.
goto yahoo singapore
Another poor NS guy dies..number 4 dis year..but there are many more suffering outside. I urge all those who care to protest to the Government as death during NS is a Very Big issue. Since i am also a NSF, i know there are just so many gaps in the training. I took MC and was really sick..i must go to jalan Beser to submit the MC and go back home (stay in Tampines)as i am a scdf. During the moring training, the instructor will always ask who is not feeling well infront of 100hundreds of other trainnes..how can anyone dare to voice out??
I am really very angry with the Government as they only give the Family a little bit of $$ and shut their mouth up and bring the issue to an end.
Remember this is already the number 4 death..we NS guys a treated like Bangaldash worker.. i die die also have a Diploma. F the Government.Protest Prtoest Protest..The Ministry Of Defense pls step down..
u rather die than lose face?
if u dont own up , that means if something happen to you, nobody is going to be responsible.
How many more? I wonder, just wonder, how many more must die before Mindef bucks up? Literally, up their bucks so that people, DO NOT die unnecessarily.
Cover up stories or whatever, a screw-up is a screw-up right from the beginning. WHY didn't and DON'T they spend more, on medical screenings of new enlistees??? Too costly? Eating into operating costs? Too much work? Lack of expertise? WHAT? WTF?!?!
The previous death was also Cardiac related, and in the papers the 'relevant authorities' said that it would be TOO COSTLY to provide Cardiac Ultrasound scans to determine enlistee's cardiac health. Imagine, a First World and World Class country - and such attention to details on medical screenings for its own soldiers TOO COSTLY??? I know, so they say it is onto the parents to provide such high level high cost checkups. Hey man, what's new with this government we are perpetually stuck with?
I mean, lifestyle of the young these days are saturated with high cholesterol food; burgers, fries, fried chickens, bubble teas, etc etc. Academic excellence means liitle time to play, and play usually means seated in front of the PC gaming away the hours. Do you think young people are generally healthy now a days?
It is HIGH TIME Mindef wakes up their old stuffy ideas, and re-assess the general health of enlistees before they further reduce the population of True Blooded Singaporeans. Spend some money to advertise on TV encourage schooling teens who are at least 3 years to enlistment to watch their diets, & exercise often in order to have a strong heart so that they don't friggin drop dead during training. Generally EDUCATE the young society to prepare for NS and not let their health sink to a dangerous point.
Where the hell are the government's foresight??? Afterall this is not like the first case, or as they would love to phrase "isolated case". Friggin learn from it for once for Christ sake! Get it right for crying out loud.
People aren't Guinnea Pigs for Trial and Error approach to defense force buidling!
WTH...