Originally posted by Jrz:he take ur money, u live in small peaceful singapore (compared to other countries) so why complain?
ah,...sori,..fyi my uncle Andrew lives in IMH, all fully sponsor and served by PRC nurses in private room. He dun even need to pay a single cent.
unless we can prove it. otherwise it is no point to land blame and accusation on personal attack.
i never like PAP, but i rather attacked its policy than personal attack which is kinda third world politics and i think we are better than tthat.
So in conclusion my dear Andrew, if you have so much problems with our current government, do something about it. You quote Thailand, let me ask you, can you walk around in Thailand at night without the fear of bing robbed, rapped or even murdered? Use your brains, you and Mr Poh seem to think that alot of Singaporeans are brainwashed, i think you're the ones brainwashed. And whats more, you're brainwashed by men who can't even run in the elections. to be honest, i don't give a damn who rules my country as long as i live in a safe, secure community. And as for giving my money to them, they do a relativel good job, so why should i complain? Its not as if i, you or even chee soon juan can do a better job. Whats Chee Soon Juan gonna do once he's in power? Lower all the ministers salaries? Abolish ERP and CPF? Think about it, these policices might hurt now, but in the long run, they'll do more good than bad.
Originally posted by Chris88110:So in conclusion my dear Andrew, if you have so much problems with our current government, do something about it. You quote Thailand, let me ask you, can you walk around in Thailand at night without the fear of bing robbed, rapped or even murdered? Use your brains, you and Mr Poh seem to think that alot of Singaporeans are brainwashed, i think you're the ones brainwashed. And whats more, you're brainwashed by men who can't even run in the elections. to be honest, i don't give a damn who rules my country as long as i live in a safe, secure community. And as for giving my money to them, they do a relativel good job, so why should i complain? Its not as if i, you or even chee soon juan can do a better job. Whats Chee Soon Juan gonna do once he's in power? Lower all the ministers salaries? Abolish ERP and CPF? Think about it, these policices might hurt now, but in the long run, they'll do more good than bad.
Aiyo bros, how many times i hv to explain to you, save your breath lah, how can you explain logic to peoples living in IMH, if you go further argueing with them, i think you also go IMH, so please hor, just bear with it. Let me handle them, cos i also IMH liao
Originally posted by reyes:unless we can prove it. otherwise it is no point to land blame and accusation on personal attack.
i never like PAP, but i rather attacked its policy than personal attack which is kinda third world politics and i think we are better than tthat.
My dearest Fuller,
In this world, whose citizens like their govt?? Sure got complains and comments about govt one lah. For critising and commenting are as easy as ABC, but to do it. All run away.
The impetus to commit crime is weighed against the benefits of escape and punishment of capture, if punishment is very high, it acts as a deterrent to commit crime as compared to a country or system that values civil liberties.
Compare a system which values civil liberties with jail sentences of 1 year for theft as compared to a system with 10 years jail for theft, both countries having same efficiency in the police force. Citizens of which country would be more liable to commit crime? If the former country wishes to decrease the level of crime, all it needs to do is impose 20 years jail term for theft and consequently crime rates will fall.
An error committed at the spur of the moment should not in anyway condemn a person to perpetual damnation, if the person knows the error of his ways. We are not perfect beings as such we are prone to errors and mistakes, it's only when we learn from our mistakes that we become better persons.
Obviously this concept of civil liberties has obscured many Singaporeans with a limited view of the world, as such, to them a draconian form of punishment is the only way to go. Don't we need to discover the plight and intentions of the criminal and apply a little compassion for our fellow human beings. Thievery could be due to financial circumstances, afterall who would commit such acts unless driven to the edge.
If you don't know already, Singapore has one of the largest prison inmate population in the world, comparable to prison inmates in the USA. Why is that so? Is it due to the lengthy jail sentence by the courts?
I agree crime rates are lower in Singapore, but it's only slightly better than Hong Kong, both being small cities, makes better comparison. But compare the level of civil liberties, I think Hong Kong will outrank Singapore, though being a satelite of the Communist China, but it has a long historical British past, unlike Singapore, where human rights and civil liberties were demolished by LKY to further his personal political machinations.
In authoritarian, totalitarian regimes, the deterrent is much higher than in any Western country and crime rates are indeed lower.
http://www.thestar.com/comment/article/467691
Originally posted by Stevenson101:And ? Their public money is still being misappropriated.Don't see how that changes anything.
Yes their public money is being misappropriated. But at least someone IS checking.
Is anyone checking over here?
Originally posted by Starseven:
Yes their public money is being misappropriated. But at least someone IS checking.Is anyone checking over here?
Yes there is!!!
Old man Lee checks on Younger Lee, then Younger Lee checks Wifey, Wifey checks on the 2nd Younger Lee.
Whoever said we don't have system of checks and balances are wrong.
Our system is 100% effective, there has been no cases of corruption since that HDB guy CW Teh committed suicide.
BTW, this system of checks and balances is similar to Chen Shui Bian before he was ousted as President.
You guys keep saying money is being stolen from you, i don't dispute that fact, but instead of sitting around and whining on sgforums do something about it, but i'm afraid most of you don't have the balls to. Its as simple as voting the opposition. Go ahead, i'd really like to see what will happen to Singapore when Dr Chee takes over. Stop whining, who gives a shit whether the government is stealing your money or not as long as they're doing a good job. Oh and if you've been to hong kong, you'll know that the living conditions there are no where near as good as Singapore. the streets are narrow and choked with cars thanks too the lack of ERP. And the air there is smoky. Do you really wanna compare? don't just look at the rich peoples houses, don't forget, many chinese millionaires and movie stars stay there. If you're poor, and you live in Hong Kong, good luck to you cause over there, the government does'nt give a shit about the people
I suppose our government gives a damn about her citizens?
FYI, the current Hong Kong government budget. All these perks come without having to increase any GST, ERP, Electricity, Property Tax (NAV), etc.
For Singapore, when they give you $200, they will find ways to squeeze out $400 from you.
Improving People's Livelihood and Supporting Disadvantaged Groups
To allocate $4.3 billion to inject into each domestic electricity account a subsidy of $1,800.
To inject $1 billion into the Samaritan Fund so as to relieve the financial burden on needy patients.
To support and take care of the elderly in need:
– To earmark $200 million to help elderly people without family support improve their home environment;
– To earmark $1 billion as a subsidy for the elderly in need to carry out maintenance or safety improvement works for their self-occupied properties;
– To conduct studies on how best to improve the Old Age Allowance Scheme and to reach a decision by the end of this year. The Government will provide each Old Age Allowance recipient with a one-off grant of $3,000;
– To increase funding by $60 million to provide additional places in day care centres, subvented homes and residential care homes for the elderly.
To provide families and children with additional support:
– To provide funding of $45 million over the next three years to strengthen day foster care services and promote child care services;
– To provide additional funding of $40 million to strengthen support to victims of domestic violence and families in need.
To support disabled people:
– To provide additional funding of $100 million to offer 300 more pre-school training places, 450 more day training places and 490 more subvented residential places;
– To make an additional provision of $35 million to establish 16 community support centres to strengthen services and support for disabled people as well as their family members and caretakers.
To make provision of $1 billion in the next three years to create 3 000 three-year jobs for young people.
To set up four support services centres to provide interpretation services and language courses for members of ethnic minorities.
To adjust the CSSA payment rates in accordance with the existing mechanism ahead of the normal schedule this year.
To provide one additional month of standard rate CSSA payments for CSSA recipients and one additional month of allowance for recipients of Disability Allowance. This proposal will involve an expenditure of about $1.2 billion.
To earmark $1 billion to pay for one-month's rent for lower income families living in public housing estates.
Leaving Wealth with the People and Sharing the Fruits of Prosperity
To lower the standard rate of salaries tax and personal assessment tax by one percentage point to 15%. This is reversion to the 2002-03 level and will cost the Government $960 million a year.
To offer a one-off rebate of 75% of salaries tax and tax under personal assessment assessed for 2007-08, subject to a ceiling of $25,000. This will cost the Government $12.4 billion.
To raise the basic personal allowance and single parent allowance from $100,000 to $108,000 and to increase the married person's allowance from $200,000 to $216,000. All the major allowances will revert to their 2002-03 levels. The child allowance, allowance for dependent parent/ grandparent will be even higher than the 2002-03 levels. All these will cost the Government $1.31 billion.
To widen tax bands from $35,000 to $40,000, making them wider than those in 2002-03. This will cost the Government $1 billion.
To lower the profits tax rate by one percentage point to 16.5%. This will cost the Government $4.4 billion a year.
To offer a one-off rebate of 75% of profits tax for 2007-08, subject to a ceiling of $25,000. This will cost the Government $1.73 billion.
To waive business registration fees for 2008-09. This will cost the Government $1.6 billion.
To offer a one-off rebate of 75% of property tax for 2007-08, subject to a ceiling of $25,000. This will cost the Government $680 million.
To waive rates for 2008-09, subject to a ceiling of $5,000 per quarter for each rateable tenement. This will cost the Government $11.2 billion.
Providing for the Future
To earmark $8.5 billion to provide people earning not more than $10,000 a month with a one-off injection of $6,000 into their MPF accounts.
To earmark $50 billion from the fiscal reserves to promote healthcare reform.
Alright i give up. No point arguing with you. You always answer only one of my points, the rest are ignored
Originally posted by Chris88110:Alright i give up. No point arguing with you. You always answer only one of my points, the rest are ignored
I am not arguing with you, I was merely pointing your errors, those I don't point out means I am just indifferent.
You said the Hong Kong government don't give a shit about her citizens, which I totally disagree. I think they care about their citizens more than the Singapore government.
In Singapore, the government only cares about their salaries, how to fleece more from the sheeps, keep friends and relatives in high positions in GLCs and GICs.
Originally posted by Chris88110:who gives a shit whether the government is stealing your money or not as long as they're doing a good job.
fuddle head.
haven't you heard? politics has nothing to do with moral.
the law, on the other hand, is another issue altogether.
Originally posted by methanol:haven't you heard? politics has nothing to do with moral.
the law, on the other hand, is another issue altogether.
i think we are talking governance here....
Originally posted by redDUST:
fuddle head.
These are the kind of folks that the P4P government adores.
Originally posted by redDUST:
i think we are talking governance here....
what's the difference between government and politics?
Originally posted by maurizio13:
Yes there is!!!
Old man Lee checks on Younger Lee, then Younger Lee checks Wifey, Wifey checks on the 2nd Younger Lee.
Our system is 100% effective, there has been no cases of corruption since that HDB guy CW Teh committed suicide.
BTW, this system of checks and balances is similar to Chen Shui Bian before he was ousted as President.
i think maurizio made a valid point there.
Originally posted by methanol:what's the difference between government and politics?
you are right that they are interlinked, but
one precede the other.....one process, the other functional in nature.
btw, your sentence politics has nothing to do with moral is referenced in the wrong context. the government do have a moral obligation to the people that voted them in, amongst others.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
Yes there is!!!
sbf just hired 2 convicted criminals, one of whom is ok'ed by an MP. aren't sbf a part of the government, albeit taking care of badminton?
Armchair critique, go out there and do something about it you whiny bitch.
Starting to lose hope in opposition liao. All they do is magnify on PAP's shortcomings like freedom of speech and embazzlement. LKY has transformed a slum, rural kampong island into a first world nation.
You can do that a not? Please lah we know what he's doing but he's the best man for the job. Yeah he takes things that rightfully does not belong to him. But he is the reason why we are living in the Singapore that it is today.
So FUCK OFF!
Jeyaratnam and Chiam See Tong are the only ones people respect. The rest of them are just town criers.
Originally posted by angel7030:
ah,...sori,..fyi my uncle Andrew lives in IMH, all fully sponsor and served by PRC nurses in private room. He dun even need to pay a single cent.
your uncle andrew, is he the fat fat one? Super duper heavyweight with specs?
Originally posted by xXBlack_RebelXx:Armchair critique, go out there and do something about it you whiny bitch.
Starting to lose hope in opposition liao. All they do is magnify on PAP's shortcomings like freedom of speech and embazzlement. LKY has transformed a slum, rural kampong island into a first world nation.
You can do that a not? Please lah we know what he's doing but he's the best man for the job. Yeah he takes things that rightfully does not belong to him. But he is the reason why we are living in the Singapore that it is today.
So FUCK OFF!
Jeyaratnam and Chiam See Tong are the only ones people respect. The rest of them are just town criers.
if mr X feeds and cloths you, does it give him the right to rape your mother and sister?
Originally posted by xXBlack_RebelXx:
Starting to lose hope in PAP liao. All they do is magnify
on Opposition's shortcomings like "form fillings" and "doing us in". LKY
has transformed a slum, rural kampong island into a first world
nation, but every dog has his day.
There, fix it for you.
Originally posted by redDUST:if mr X feeds and cloths you, does it give him the right to rape your mother and sister?
Well apparently Mr.X doesnt do that. He gives us alot and has taken little and that of insignificance. And we appreciate that.