Originally posted by MohamedF:!st... Allah is not a name of god... Its simply an arabic word for god... like Kami-sama for Japanese...
2nd... its kafir, not non-believers are going to hell... kafir are people who are openly and willingly commits crimes against islam, i.e. want to kill muslims, my friendly chinese auntie neighbour is is not a kafir, she's simply a non-muslim... Lee Kwan Yew is not a Kafir, he's simply a non-muslim...
3rd... Don't say Ummah, SPF will also "jihad" against people who wants to kill muslims...
4th... Jihad means a struggle not holy war... go google it...
5th... Ever shift, I jihad to keep singaporeans safe from robbers, rapist and murders so Singaporean can sleep soundly, I don't appretiate you group me and my fellow muslim officers with the same people we keep Singaporean safe from...
You can be a lawyer my friend
The thing is, the police have the authority to catch criminals and the courts the authority to punish them. Even then they operate under strict rules and regulations.
Even if we put aside whether muslims have the right to defend their faith, surely not just any muslims, just any ahmad, ahmina and modhammad can kill anyone to defend their faith.
This is like saying anyone can kill anyone that they think are murderers, rapists or crooks to defend society instead of leaving it to the police and the courts.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Hmmm.... pardon my ignorance.. but... I've never come across any Malays that is non muslim leh....
Actually, we call them Malay is because of Malaysia, but their descendent are most from arabs and indonesia and of course some native peoples,
When Admiral Cheng Ho and other great voyages visited the Malaysia centuries ago, the original people there are not even Muslim, then as trade flourish, Arab from Qatar, indian muslim and Oman traders came in, Muslim flourished.
Today, perhaps in Bali or Malacca or even Penang, you can find Malays who are muslim but called themselves BABA. The nonyas who created Bengawan solo cakes and pastries, laksa, lontong, and all good stuffs...yeah!!
Originally posted by angel7030:Actually, we call them Malay is because of Malaysia, but their descendent are most from arabs and indonesia and of course some native peoples,
When Admiral Cheng Ho and other great voyages visited the Malaysia centuries ago, the original people there are not even Muslim, then as trade flourish, Arab from Qatar, indian muslim and Oman traders came in, Muslim flourished.
Today, perhaps in Bali or Malacca or even Penang, you can find Malays who are muslim but called themselves BABA. The nonyas who created Bengawan solo cakes and pastries, laksa, lontong, and all good stuffs...yeah!!
Got malay buddhist anot ? Cheng Ho not Chinese meh ? why only muslim flourished leh ? Why no Malay catholic har ?
Oh wait.. Malay catholics are called Hispanics where I live..
Baba or nana are mix blood lah.. some are still catholic wor..
Very confused...
More BEER !!
Originally posted by jojobeach:Got malay buddhist anot ? Cheng Ho not Chinese meh ? why only muslim flourished leh ? Why no Malay catholic har ?
Oh wait.. Malay catholics are called Hispanics where I live..
Baba or nana are mix blood lah.. some are still catholic wor..
Very confused...
More BEER !!
Aiyo, Madame, Monsieur Cheng Ho is a Chinese Muslim lah, actually there are malay catholic and buddhist, just that once you changed religion, the race was also changed, so when you see a Malay priest, his name will be Joseph ... and the race will be non malay.
As for Malaysia, being a malay got alot of privileges, my dad call it the bumiputra, got housing loan interest free, car loan interest free, free children school fees...etc etc
Malay itself is a mixed up group, got the jawa, bugis, sarawak,,i also dunno lah, so you see some white, some dark, some black, some very caucasian type, some very pure white type..Aiya, me also blur blur liao
U want tequila or not, on the house.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
The thing is, the police have the authority to catch criminals and the courts the authority to punish them. Even then they operate under strict rules and regulations.
Even if we put aside whether muslims have the right to defend their faith, surely not just any muslims, just any ahmad, ahmina and modhammad can kill anyone to defend their faith.
This is like saying anyone can kill anyone that they think are murderers, rapists or crooks to defend society instead of leaving it to the police and the courts.
Shit, forget to add melamine into my uncle syrup.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Aiyo, Madame, Monsieur Cheng Ho is a Chinese Muslim lah, actually there are malay catholic and buddhist, just that once you changed religion, the race was also changed, so when you see a Malay priest, his name will be Joseph ... and the race will be non malay.
As for Malaysia, being a malay got alot of privileges, my dad call it the bumiputra, got housing loan interest free, car loan interest free, free children school fees...etc etc
Malay itself is a mixed up group, got the jawa, bugis, sarawak,,i also dunno lah, so you see some white, some dark, some black, some very caucasian type, some very pure white type..Aiya, me also blur blur liao
wth?
Originally posted by youyayu:wth?
Check it out, u got no chinese relative in malaysia meh???
Originally posted by angel7030:Actually, we call them Malay is because of Malaysia, but their descendent are most from arabs and indonesia and of course some native peoples,
You've got everything mixed up in your brain
And by the way the lady who stole the pandan cake from my aunt is the owner of Begawan Solo and she aint no BABA for sure.
Tequila is cheap alcohol lah.. always makes me headache the next morning.
Ah .. so hor.. Malay is muslims lah.. why you keep trying to confuse us ?
Chinese also very mixed up group lah. got hokkien.. teochew.. canto..
Some big some small.. some long some short ah ?
Ok.. now i get the concept.. very abstract.. but i get it ..
Chardonnay !!
Originally posted by Short Ninja:You've got everything mixed up in your brain
Look dude, me hv to mix alots of drink here, and also need to taste here and there, so many kinds of alcohol in my brainy, and if you will to excuse me, pass me the red bulls drink.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Tequila is cheap alcohol lah.. always makes me headache the next morning.
Ah .. so hor.. Malay is muslims lah.. why you keep trying to confuse us ?
Chinese also very mixed up group lah. got hokkien.. teochew.. canto..
Some big some small.. some long some short ah ?
Ok.. now i get the concept.. very abstract.. but i get it ..
Chardonnay !!
Then take samsu lor, more cheap and more headache, one slip only, u can sleep at the pavement till the next day.
Malay are not muslim, Malay is a race, Muslim is a religion ok.
yo, Madame, Yam SEng!!! Kan ah!!!
Islam =religion and Muslim=the person who practices Islam
Your drink very strong one can I have two of what you are drinking?
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Islam =religion and Muslim=the person who practices Islam
Your drink very strong one can I have two of what you are drinking?
Right, Muslim = the one that comes into the fold of Islam, the religion
Originally posted by youyayu:i really don't give a damn..
after how muslim killed my uncle family and grandparents after breaking in their house.
steal things and kill.. and after they got caught they say allah ask them to do it..
wow.. if police officer is monitoring in this forums. why not go and do more monitoring outside around private estate and hdbs
Where and how did this happen? (Dont have to talk about it if you dont want to)
Check it out, u got no chinese relative in malaysia meh???
all killed by some pissed of muslim
Noam Chomsky: Economic Crisis Will Not End USA Hegemony
Two months ago,
two clerics of a world religion were
accidentally killed while assembling a bomb inside their house of worship. They won’t tell you which
religion, but let’s just say that absolutely no one was
surprised.![]()

Jewish extremists attempt pogrom against Arabs in Akka
http://www.thepeoplesvoice.org/cgi-bin/blogs/voices.php
Jewish extremists suspected in attack on Israeli peace activist
Originally posted by gigabyte14:my previous gf from america worrrrrrr
maple gf ar.
Originally posted by MohamedF:[2:62] Surely, those who believe [in Islam], those who are Jewish, the
Christians, and the converts; anyone who believes in GOD, and believes
in the Last Day, and leads a righteous life, will receive their
recompense from their Lord. They have nothing to fear, nor will they
grieve.
One of the four categories of Jihad:
Jihad as-sayf - Jihad of the sword
Compulsion to force people to accept Islam, or else:
"Fight those who believe not in Allah nor the Last Day, nor hold that forbidden which hath been forbidden by Allah and His Messenger, nor acknowledge the religion of Truth, (even if they are) of the People of the Book, until they pay the Jizya (taxes) with willing submission, and feel themselves subdued." (Qur'an: 009.029)
Originally posted by googoomuck:One of the four categories of Jihad:
Jihad as-sayf - Jihad of the sword
Compulsion to force people to accept Islam, or else:
"Fight those who believe not in Allah nor the Last Day, nor hold that forbidden which hath been forbidden by Allah and His Messenger, nor acknowledge the religion of Truth, (even if they are) of the People of the Book, until they pay the Jizya (taxes) with willing submission, and feel themselves subdued." (Qur'an: 009.029)
there is no compulsion in religion according to what i have learn maybe the below will clear up your misunderstanding of the verse you quote
There are two kinds of jihad. The first is known as the lesser jihad and this is the duty incumbent upon all Muslims to fight in defense of what is right. This is defensive and it means fighting back where there is injustice or oppression.
Such jihad must be called for by the legitimate authority. In other words, it cannot be called for just by any man in the street or even any Sheikh in the street.
Also, and very importantly, there are strict rules which apply to this kind of jihad. For example, the Muslims must stop fighting as soon as their enemies call for peace. Similarly, no civilians may be hurt. Not even plants can be damaged in such fighting.
The other jihad is known as the greater jihad. This would suggest how important it is compared to the other jihad. It means that each Muslim must struggle daily and exert his utmost efforts to struggle inwardly to combat all those things in his life and in his personality which keep him from being a good Muslim.
In the earliest days of Islam, when Muslims were constantly under threat of being wiped out, Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) showed the early Muslim community how they should act towards those of other faiths.
In the city of Madinah, for example, which became the very first Muslim state, he drew up a treaty between the Muslims and the other two groups who lived there: the polytheists and the Jews. Each group was free to practice its own religion and each group was to defend the other under attack.
There are also many quotations in the Qur'an which show how the Muslims have much in common with the "People of the Book," namely Christians and Jews, and even enjoin the Muslims to fight in their defense if they are being persecuted, or if their religious buildings or holy men are under attack.
However, in those first days of Islam, not everyone kept to the terms of treaties they had signed. Different groups banded together to attack the early Muslim community, as they saw in it a great threat.
In such a circumstance, the polytheists and the Jews attacked the Muslims. On other occasions, Christian armies marched against the early Muslim community. In such particular circumstances, it was revealed that the Muslims should fight back against these groups. Therefore, the verse which reads:
*{Fight those who believe not in Allah nor the Last Day.}* (At-Tawbah 9: 29)
refers specifically to such circumstances. It most certainly does not mean that Muslims should always be at war with Christians and Jews. It was revealed for a particular situation. For it to mean otherwise would contradict everything the Prophet had done.
If you look at what is known as the "Golden Age" of Islam in Southern Spain, where Muslims ruled for nearly eight hundred years, you will not only see a very refined civilization in which education and learning were promoted, but you also see that Christians, Muslims and Jews lived together in peace. Christians and Jews were free to practice their own religion.
It was only in 1492, when the Catholic monarchs Ferdinand and Isabella finally defeated the Muslims, that persecution began. Muslims and Jews were forced to convert and mosques and synagogues were ransacked and burned.
Similarly, when Jerusalem was taken by Caliph `Umar ibn Al-Khattab he signed a treaty with the Christian Patriarch guaranteeing the rights of the Christians there to their lives, their property and their worship. No lives were lost.
It was only when the Crusader armies retook the city that 70,000 men, women and children were indiscriminately slaughtered.
So, you see, there are people who have deliberately chosen to twist the facts to make it seem as though Muslims are forever called upon to fight Christians and Jews. The quote the verse which reads:
*{And slay them wherever ye catch them.}* (Al-Baqarah 2: 191),
but this is to quote out of context. It referred to the Muslims under attack and the same quote goes on to say:
*{and turn them out from where they have turned you out.}* (Al-Baqarah 2: 191)
In travelling around the world to speak about the sweet and gentle message of Islam, you can be assured, in speaking with your family and friends, that Islam does not ask us to fight those who believe something different to us.
How could the world's religion of peace do otherwise? The meaning of the word Islam in Arabic comes from the lexical root s-l-m, from which the Arabic word meaning "peace" is derived.
for more info you can refer here
http://www.islamonline.net/servlet/Satellite?pagename=IslamOnline-English-AAbout_Islam/AskAboutIslamE/AskAboutIslamE&cid=1188043914402
Originally posted by slowmover:there is no compulsion in religion according to what i have learn maybe the below will clear up your misunderstanding of the verse you quote
There are two kinds of jihad. The first is known as the lesser jihad and this is the duty incumbent upon all Muslims to fight in defense of what is right. This is defensive and it means fighting back where there is injustice or oppression.
Such jihad must be called for by the legitimate authority. In other words, it cannot be called for just by any man in the street or even any Sheikh in the street.
Also, and very importantly, there are strict rules which apply to this kind of jihad. For example, the Muslims must stop fighting as soon as their enemies call for peace. Similarly, no civilians may be hurt. Not even plants can be damaged in such fighting.
The other jihad is known as the greater jihad. This would suggest how important it is compared to the other jihad. It means that each Muslim must struggle daily and exert his utmost efforts to struggle inwardly to combat all those things in his life and in his personality which keep him from being a good Muslim.
In the earliest days of Islam, when Muslims were constantly under threat of being wiped out, Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) showed the early Muslim community how they should act towards those of other faiths.
In the city of Madinah, for example, which became the very first Muslim state, he drew up a treaty between the Muslims and the other two groups who lived there: the polytheists and the Jews. Each group was free to practice its own religion and each group was to defend the other under attack.
There are also many quotations in the Qur'an which show how the Muslims have much in common with the "People of the Book," namely Christians and Jews, and even enjoin the Muslims to fight in their defense if they are being persecuted, or if their religious buildings or holy men are under attack.
However, in those first days of Islam, not everyone kept to the terms of treaties they had signed. Different groups banded together to attack the early Muslim community, as they saw in it a great threat.
In such a circumstance, the polytheists and the Jews attacked the Muslims. On other occasions, Christian armies marched against the early Muslim community. In such particular circumstances, it was revealed that the Muslims should fight back against these groups. Therefore, the verse which reads:
*{Fight those who believe not in Allah nor the Last Day.}* (At-Tawbah 9: 29)
refers specifically to such circumstances. It most certainly does not mean that Muslims should always be at war with Christians and Jews. It was revealed for a particular situation. For it to mean otherwise would contradict everything the Prophet had done.
If you look at what is known as the "Golden Age" of Islam in Southern Spain, where Muslims ruled for nearly eight hundred years, you will not only see a very refined civilization in which education and learning were promoted, but you also see that Christians, Muslims and Jews lived together in peace. Christians and Jews were free to practice their own religion.
It was only in 1492, when the Catholic monarchs Ferdinand and Isabella finally defeated the Muslims, that persecution began. Muslims and Jews were forced to convert and mosques and synagogues were ransacked and burned.
Similarly, when Jerusalem was taken by Caliph `Umar ibn Al-Khattab he signed a treaty with the Christian Patriarch guaranteeing the rights of the Christians there to their lives, their property and their worship. No lives were lost.
It was only when the Crusader armies retook the city that 70,000 men, women and children were indiscriminately slaughtered.
So, you see, there are people who have deliberately chosen to twist the facts to make it seem as though Muslims are forever called upon to fight Christians and Jews. The quote the verse which reads:
*{And slay them wherever ye catch them.}* (Al-Baqarah 2: 191),
but this is to quote out of context. It referred to the Muslims under attack and the same quote goes on to say:
*{and turn them out from where they have turned you out.}* (Al-Baqarah 2: 191)
In travelling around the world to speak about the sweet and gentle message of Islam, you can be assured, in speaking with your family and friends, that Islam does not ask us to fight those who believe something different to us.
How could the world's religion of peace do otherwise? The meaning of the word Islam in Arabic comes from the lexical root s-l-m, from which the Arabic word meaning "peace" is derived.
for more info you can refer here
http://www.islamonline.net/servlet/Satellite?pagename=IslamOnline-English-AAbout_Islam/AskAboutIslamE/AskAboutIslamE&cid=1188043914402
It's always argument with the same reasons - either "quote out of context" or "do you understand Arabic?".
However, the Muslims who criticise the Bible and Christianity do not know Hebrew, Aramaic or Greek.
I'll use a quote from a Muslim philosopher.
<The doctrine of war was described by the great medieval philosopher Ibn Khaldun: "In the Muslim community, the holy war (jihad) is a religious duty, because of the universalism of the (Muslim) mission and the (obligation to) convert everybody to Islam either by persuasion or by force." (The Muqaddimah)>
Originally posted by googoomuck:It's always argument with the same reasons - either "quote out of context" or "do you understand Arabic?".
However, the Muslims who criticise the Bible and Christianity do not know Hebrew, Aramaic or Greek.
I'll use a quote from a Muslim philosopher.
<The doctrine of war was described by the great medieval philosopher Ibn Khaldun: "In the Muslim community, the holy war (jihad) is a religious duty, because of the universalism of the (Muslim) mission and the (obligation to) convert everybody to Islam either by persuasion or by force." (The Muqaddimah)>
there is really a lot of misunderstanding esp in western countries about islam and the muslims plus there is so many negative propaganda in the media so if i'm not converted and learn the pratices and teachings of islam.i will also think of lslam as a bad religion.america need a reason to invade iraq next is iran for the natural resoures so media always report that iraq is habouring terroist and iran for pocessing w.m.d.if one day saudi arabia decides to go against u.s policy u will see them next on the w.m.a+habour terrorist list
my personal experience when i travel to india and bangladesh to learn the religion every midnight many people in the mosque will wake up do the midnight salat(tahajud) supplicate while crying to the Lord of the worlds for guidance for the mankind to be save from the hellfire no matter if he/she is a atheist polytheist jews or chirstian.
Even the holy prophet duty is just to convey the message as shown in the below verses
“So if they dispute with you, say ‘I have submitted my whole self to Allah, and so have those who follow me.’ And say to the People of the Scripture and to the unlearned: ‘Do you also submit yourselves?’ If they do, then they are on right guidance. But if they turn away, your duty is only to convey the Message. And in Allah’s sight are all of His servants.” [Sûrah Âl `Imrân: 20]
“If it had been your Lord’s will, all of the people on Earth would have believed. Would you then compel the people so to have them believe?” [Sûrah Yûnus: 99]
“The Messenger’s duty is but to proclaim the Message.” [Sûrah al-Mâ’idah: 99]
so there may be a few black horses in the muslim world but i hope you won't have a1 bamboo make the whole boat sink mentality