SINGAPORE: The government is revising Singapore's water pricing structure and this could be introduced next year.
Responding to questions on Singapore's water policies in Parliament on
Tuesday, Minister for Environment and Water Resources Dr Yaacob Ibrahim
said Singapore has been pricing water to reflect its scarcity and the
high incremental costs of additional water supplies.
Potable water and used water are also priced separately.
But with NEWater, used water is channelled back into the system.
Dr Yaacob explained: "With the development of NEWater, we have now
closed the water loop by channelling and treating used water for
consumption purposes. As potable water and used water are now part of
the same water loop, it is timely to view both as a single product. We
will therefore consider moving towards charging a single price, as this
better reflects the holistic manner in which we manage our water
resources."
As for the Water Conservation Tax, the Minister said this is charged to encourage prudent use of water and is still relevant.
Dr Yaacob added: "An important aspect of our pricing reviews has always
been the impact on users. We will therefore study carefully the effect
of pricing changes to the water bills of all household types, including
those with large families. We will strive to minimise the impact on
households such that on average, water users will not be worse off with
the revised price structure."
In the past year, Singapore's per capita domestic water consumption has
fallen from 160 litres a day in 2005 to 158 litres last year.
This follows several initiatives to promote water conservation.
With NEWater and desalination coming onstream to boost water supply, Dr Yaacob said Singapore has enough water.
But he also emphasised that this is only sustainable if Singaporeans continue to use water wisely.
Dr Yaacob also announced that Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong will open
the country's fourth and largest NEWater plant next Thursday, March 15.
The plant in Ulu Pandan has a production capacity of 32 million gallons a day.
- CNA/so
Is water bill going to increase?????
Hahaha...........
More increases!!!!
Hurray!!!!
More goot years.
soon GST= 9% for 2009
66.6% its all your fault.
so many "good" news recently....
the hikes ah...
the recession ah...
the pay cut and retrenchment ah....
i thought the sub prime crisis is screwing the world and singapore..
but now i think it's more like singapore screwing herself and her ppl...
I am speechless.
its more like Cows being milked dry.
in fact we are the cows. And even when no one buy the farmer milk still want milk us.
KNN . cannot wait for 2011.
*maeh maeh*
Please fleece us.
Hike, hike, hike. ![]()
Originally posted by whiskers:I am speechless.
You can Meow if you want..... ![]()
although we have used less water.. the opening of the new plant will increase the cost of water.. so we have absolutely no choice but to raise the price of water..
but the most important lesson here is that we must continue to reduce our usage of water.. if u can reduce ur use, no matter how high we charge, u still can save money!
Originally posted by purpledragon84:although we have used less water.. the opening of the new plant will increase the cost of water.. so we have absolutely no choice but to raise the price of water..
but the most important lesson here is that we must continue to reduce our usage of water.. if u can reduce ur use, no matter how high we charge, u still can save money!
Do you work in the government? ![]()
Originally posted by Keii:
Do you work in the government?
Oh no, I see someone tio sexposed le. ![]()
Originally posted by Keii:
Do you work in the government?
im getting good at it huh..? ![]()
my aim is nothing less than 3.8m/yr![]()
Originally posted by Beaten_And_Damned:More goot years.
soon GST= 9% for 2009
66.6% its all your fault.
Who the F*rk is the 66.6%? thank you ![]()
Originally posted by purpledragon84:although we have used less water.. the opening of the new plant will increase the cost of water.. so we have absolutely no choice but to raise the price of water..
RED ALERT!!
If anything, i would expect them to decrease the price of water in general and if needed a price increase/unchange in "excessive" use of water. It'll make no sense to increase price is there is going to be a larger supply.
...gonna lose more votes....
Originally posted by kramnave:If anything, i would expect them to decrease the price of water in general and if needed a price increase/unchange in "excessive" use of water. It'll make no sense to increase price is there is going to be a larger supply.
First day living in Singapore? ![]()
Yeah!! more subjects for my Uncle Andrew, Poh etc etc to talk about liao!!!
Thank you Mr Yaacob,
Eating Jacob so tar biscuit dip in milo with granny
he istelling us to be prepared
over here, nothing decrease, everything is increasing
Originally posted by Dead_Man_Inc:he istelling us to be prepared
over here, nothing decrease, everything is increasing
does the opposition votes increase?
Originally posted by charlize:First day living in Singapore?
Or under the heavy influence hallucinogenics. ![]()
Originally posted by Zecyan88:does the opposition votes increase?
Of course, it's just that the number of votes for PAP increases even faster, proportional to the rate at which FTs are coming into our country. ![]()