Originally posted by angel7030:
Only Dr Lee at IMH has the authority to release his medication.
so u are that dr lee?
Originally posted by Fantagf:
so u are that dr lee?
Me...no lah, me Lin, Angel Lin ok. U dunno that the Lees are given the high honour of Doctorate at NUS by the chief Dean of the University a few years ago meh?
Anyway, the Dean was promoted by him and also report to him, so what u expect the Dean to do, sure carry the boss lah
Foreigners are pulling money out of the entire emerging markets, esp the big ones like China and India.
Brown warned that a “bigger problem” than trade protectionism is the threat of financial protectionism, in which banks repatriate capital from abroad, especially from emerging markets, to satisfy government terms for emergency assistance. The Institute of International Finance predicted capital flows to emerging markets would slow to $165 billion in 2009 from a record $929 billion two years ago.
She is a shareholder of IMH
angel7030's mother probably delivered her there to account for such a strong fixation. Her childhood memories must all come from that place.
Who cares about "the entire emerging markets"? One only cares about what the dishonorable despots will be doing next, their next dishonorable act, put one's money in Thai and Japanese currency when one starts this thread and laugh all the way to the bank and laugh at the stupidity of the silliporeans trusting such idiots that can buy Barclays at 700 (now worth ~100) and Merrill Lynch at 48 then again at 26 (now worth ~5) at the height of the crisis!
Lucky for sgforums visitors there is still time aplenty to get out of the SINKAPORE Dollars (check with your financial advisors what's right for you, check with a few) because forex movements take time to play out.
The Chinese preferred US dollars, so are the indo china countries, so are the Arabs, the green backs is still much sought after in most of the countries. Peoples and their govt all over these countries like to keep US dollars, so if US dollars depreciated, it will be a great lost to them, so by hook or by cook, no one want US dollars to drop.
that why i said, the uSA will remain the economic power before and after this crisis. There is simply no one who could replace them the following:
1. biggest consumer market.
2. biggest military machine.
3. world trading currency, especially in crude oil.
4. they have the world best brands. The beauty of american is that is has the ability to attract the best talents from the world, ability and innovativeness to reinvent itself.
Banks might be ailiing but american still has the world best brands.
RIM, Apple, Google, coca cola, Mac D, KFC,
Originally posted by reyes:that why i said, the uSA will remain the economic power before and after this crisis. There is simply no one who could replace them the following:
4. they have the world best brands. The beauty of american is that is has the ability to attract the best talents from the world, ability and innovativeness to reinvent itself.
..and right now, their costs of doing business are getting lower and lower while it has not moved much in this despot run country with despots protecting their GLCs.
Therefore, expect the Sinkapore dollar to sink....
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
..and right now, their costs of doing business are getting lower and lower while it has not moved much in this despot run country with despots protecting their GLCs.
Therefore, expect the Sinkapore dollar to sink....
Singapore dollars will sink not becos of protectionism, we are pegged to US dollars, so if US $ not go now (in fact it is qetting stronger), it is very unlikely we will go down. Actually the despot (govt) is consider going down so as the make us more liquitable in our export, otherwise we may become an expensive place to trade with, but having said that, we hope all well, end well.
Originally posted by reyes:that why i said, the uSA will remain the economic power before and after this crisis. There is simply no one who could replace them the following:
A strong current does not totally present a good state of economy of any particular state. Yen and US $ when higher in bad economy, and most of the American MNCs are operating best in foreign countries rather than in America, goods are produced in foreign countries and ploughed back to be sold in America, and these is killing americans jobs and spending power.
i dunt know the spilt of local and foreign deposits in SG banks.
BUT damn it.The figures are increasing!!
Andrew,can u do some research before u write.
u are NOT a uncle killing time in coffe shop.
Pl show your knowledge,not just empty writings.
WE need concrete data,not BS.
Table I.3C Banks: Liabilities of Domestic Banking Units
https://secure.mas.gov.sg/apps/msb-xml/view.jsp
in millions S$
2008 | |
Jan | 315,433.7 |
Feb | 323,723.3 |
Mar | 330,849.0 |
Apr | 336,161.3 |
May | 334,251.6 |
Jun | 333,260.1 |
Jul | 337,695.1 |
Aug | 335,084.8 |
Sep | 341,702.3 |
Oct | 346,353.7 |
Nov | 345,892.9 |
Dec P | 347,507.4 |
S$ MILLION | |||
|
Originally posted by lionnoisy:i dunt know the spilt of local and foreign funds.
BUT damn it.The figures are increasing!!
able I.3C Banks: Liabilities of Domestic Banking Units
https://secure.mas.gov.sg/apps/msb-xml/view.jsp
2008 Jan 315,433.7 Feb 323,723.3 Mar 330,849.0 Apr 336,161.3 May 334,251.6 Jun 333,260.1 Jul 337,695.1 Aug 335,084.8 Sep 341,702.3 Oct 346,353.7 Nov 345,892.9 Dec P 347,507.4 S$ MILLION END OF PERIOD DEPOSITS OF NON-BANK CUSTOMERS TOTAL *
ZZzzzzzzzZzzz welcome to the Global Lion Bonds underwrite by OCBC.
economy gloomy, people saving $, so lionnoisy no business for his lion dance this year so very free, he sianz "beat" mosquitoes so come here makes lots of noise.
Send money to Japan and even Thailand is better because of the freee press there and you won't get surprises because everything is out in the open.
Thai--a not so wise advice!!
Open---yes openly committing crimes by handing out free,
but not demanded,SCARE TILL U death
programmes to tourists!!
SG shall teach would be tourist citizens how to
home coming in case airports in overseas cannot work.
The course sgall include--
how to contact embassy
how to stay away from crazy people
how to pray....
@@@@@@@@@
Japan--the aging country need care givers desperately!
economy gloomy, people saving $, so lionnoisy no business for his lion dance this year so very free, he sianz "beat" mosquitoes so come here makes lots of noise.
oh!!! i c, not only lion dance got no business, me bar top, laptop and stripe top dance also nobody come and see, what is happening??? not even a mosquito flying around??
angel, for the sake of your business, you volunteer do bar top dancing, pole dancing then may be business will flourish
me cannot get pole dancing permit, not approved, so me go lamp post and wait for bus lor.
my englissh is not very good.So i jus put facta nd figures.
Unlike u guys can write really damn good.u can say so many empty words.
Yes,empty words.
WTF foreigners are pulling money out of money?
Did we have to nationalise banks?
Does SG have to ask a cdreidt line from the impotent WB and IMF,
which are supposed to supervise world economy?
Did World bank or IMF give lessons to UK USA abt credit crunch,sub prime
in after the crisis floating to surface?
NO.Reasons is the CEO are controlled by UK and USA or are just American
or British!!
i have yet seen IMF boss supervising USA President and UK PM
to sign reform document like this----
''The image shows former Indonesian President Suharto signing a letter of agreement as IMF Director-General Michel Camdessus looked on. The letter spelled out major reforms and austerity measures linked to a massive bailout of the Indonesia economy. It kaboomed and Suharto became history soon after.''
Originally posted by lionnoisy:my englissh is not very good.So i jus put facta nd figures.
Yes,empty words.
or British!!
''The image shows former Indonesian President Suharto signing a letter of agreement as IMF Director-General Michel Camdessus looked on. The letter spelled out major reforms and austerity measures linked to a massive bailout of the Indonesia economy. It kaboomed and Suharto became history soon after.''
Huh?
Seriously, nobody understands you in here, but that's not a reason to stop whatever you are doing, keep up the good work.
We need some sort of reprieve from our mundane existence and it feels good to know that one is not at the decrepit strata of one's own species.
Originally posted by lionnoisy:my englissh is not very good.So i jus put facta nd figures.
Yes,empty words.
or British!!
So why did your beloved regime move to guarantee all non-FI bank deposits with their sacred reserves until 2010 after Hong Kong had made the same guarantee just shortly before?
Similarly, was it sheer coincidence that this regime had, for a long time, been pegging its corporate tax rate to Hong Kong's level?
I guess it must have been nothing but a benevolent act of charity, eh?
Originally posted by lionnoisy:Thai--a not so wise advice!!
Open---yes openly committing crimes by handing out free,
but not demanded,SCARE TILL U death
programmes to tourists!!
SG shall teach would be tourist citizens how to
home coming in case airports in overseas cannot work.
The course sgall include--
how to contact embassy
how to stay away from crazy people
how to pray....
@@@@@@@@@
Japan--the aging country need care givers desperately!
Even your beloved AUSTRALIAN DOLLARS with the carry trades unwinding, strengthen against the SINKAPORE DOLLARS, rising 2.79% in 24 hrs...
Singapore Dollar vs Australian Dollar
Originally posted by angel7030:Singapore dollars will sink not becos of protectionism, we are pegged to US dollars, so if US $ not go now (in fact it is qetting stronger), it is very unlikely we will go down. Actually the despot (govt) is consider going down so as the make us more liquitable in our export, otherwise we may become an expensive place to trade with, but having said that, we hope all well, end well.
SGD is not pegged to USD. Its allowed to float within a certain limit against a few other undisclosed currencies. There is no real gold backing the SGD as well, but rather "international assets."
Just pray that those "international assets" don't go poof in this slow down.
Even your beloved AUSTRALIAN DOLLARS with the carry trades unwinding, strengthen against the SINKAPORE DOLLARS, rising 2.79% in 24 hrs...
Singapore Dollar vs Australian Dollar
-0.02918 -2.79 1.01674
andrew,though life is short,we have also look for long term.
There is no point just to look at few days or few years.
The basic strengths and weekness determine the fate of a person,
a company and a nation.luck plays a small part in the outcome.
MAS records tell me since 1984,S$ appreciate 100% against the A$!!
Facts speaks louder for empty words and theory.
Dare u read the facts--
http://www.mas.gov.sg/data_room/Financial_Databases.html...go to exchange rate
https://secure.sgs.gov.sg/apps/msbs/exchangeRatesDisplay.jsp?tableName=exchangeRatesForm.jsp&startYear=1984&startMonth=00&endYear=2009&endMonth=11&frequency=M&displayType=Table&columns=04
Period .........S$ Per 100 Units of Australian Dollar
1984 | Jan | 195.62 |
1989 | Jan | 171.66 |
1994 | Jan | 113.48 |
so u can see oz$ has been dropping gradually against S$.
Why?u tell me lah.
FYI,our GDP @ PPP per capita currently is 30% higher
than Australia!!read below.
1999 | Jan | 106.33 |
https://secure.sgs.gov.sg/apps/msbs/exchangeRatesForm.jsp
from here,u can compare the trends of S$ against few currency at one go.
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/rankorder/2004rank.html
Rank
|
Country
|
GDP - per capita (PPP)
|
Date of Information
|
|
Singapore | $ 52,900 | 2008 est. |
|
United States | $ 48,000 | 2008 est. |