Hi,
I am a diploma student doing assignment in Economics. My topic of interest is the recession in Singapore. I am trying to assess:
1. Why Singapore is the first in Asia to go into recession?
2. Is the fundamental economics of Singapore really sound?
3. How long and deep will the recession be?
4. Will the IRs have a strong impact to boost economic growth and bring us out of recession?
5. How much Singapore is still relying on the US market for its growth and how much dependence from Asia itself?
geez...project period liaos...more n more ppl want ask for free tips.
my tip 4 u is. wads de definition of a recession? the rest. maybe u can try MAS customer service. they may revert back 2 u.
That is a good question.
Our ministers are paid the highest in the world and our government has SM and MM to mentor, but still first in Asia to fall into recession.
Strange hor?
I need tips because can't get good data out of the internet. Very few detailed analysis of this recession can be found as well. I read this forum and found that some discussion is quite sound with stats given.
Easy... People don't want spent money...cos of price hikes...
you earning 5k a month but u buying a cup of coffee and wear some cheap clothings..
save in bank...
but what do u not know is that.. u are causing the economy to react badly..
true that you should save some money for backup.. but then again... the money is stuck in the bank.. and its not going else where.. even if bank loan that money its still stuck there!
I think he wants an answer from a neutral point of view, and i don't really think TS wants this thread to get into another political argument between opposition supporters and PAP lovers either
i give u some words to ponder.
Export. Import. Currency. liquidity. Banks. Consumer Mentality. Revenue (the inter-bank links are impt too)
and ya. check up the definition of recession.
Yes, the topics are technical and not political in nature. So its not meant for any partisan views.
sai lah.. look at our economy..
what part does finance play in our economy?
what is the percentage of the financial sector in our whole economy..
and most of all, forget about what the idiots who are trying to turn this shit into a political flamewar.. they're worse than idiots coz even experience teaches a fool.. they've not learnt a thing...
Pay Low, Price High
for example.. anew HDB in some kuku area cost 650k 1st hand from Govt
no idea
2-3 years
4. Will the IRs have a strong impact to boost
economic growth and bring us out of recession?
NO
5. How much Singapore is still relying on the US market for its
growth and how much dependence from Asia itself?
Not too much
And i said all this based on absolutly nothing
Why Singapore first into the recession in asia? This is absolutely very interesting question that i guess that has not gone through many people mind. Even highest paid politicians like LKY and some some ministers had miscalcalated and thought that we could continue to have their so called golden period and not be affected.
I suggest that you should post this question on ST newspaper's forum to allow million of local readers to ask, contribute and let those who are responsible to brainstorm it and enlighten Singaporeans.
I believe Singaporeans are interested to know why highest paid so called talents can make us first to go into recession in asia. Isn't it?
Originally posted by potatoaddict:Hi,
I am a diploma student doing assignment in Economics. My topic of interest is the recession in Singapore. I am trying to assess:
4. Will the IRs have a strong impact to boost economic growth and bring us out of recession?
5. How much Singapore is still relying on the US market for its growth and how much dependence from Asia itself?
...are you interested in propaganda or economics? hahahaha... You come to sgforums to ask, you write the truth, what if your lecturer reports you and you get kicked out of school or worse? If your lecturer does not report you, what if the school kicks him/her out or worse? hahaha... better go to some "safe" forums and ask.
If you are not afraid of that outcome and want to take the risk, then you should start the paper with:
"The Economy in Singapore is, unlike many other countries, manapulated and directed by dishonorable people in power, hell-bent on taking as much public money as possible for themselves, their relatives, their cronies and their assdogs even if it destroys the country."
lol..
haha
Does being the 1st in Asia to be in RECESSION! mean
sg is most Robust economy or
Most Vulnerable economy of Asia ? (tharmy if u got see this, reply asap)
Luckily, I read the news and feel good after that ;)
no worries! Full Transparency. 1st world and solid bombastic.
HK gov help their investors.
we buy the news now at 90cents a pop.
If Poh Ah Pak or AndrewPKYap were your lecturer, the anwer is very clear. Singapore is first in recession because of LKY and the PAP; the fundamentals of Singapore is not sound because there is no absolute freedom of speech; the recession will be as long as PAP is in power or as long as LKY lives; the IRs will not have any impact because this was the idea of the LHL; and Singapore will doom regardless of US or Asia, because our ministers salaries are very high.
Want extra points, use red ink for answers to AndrewPKYap, add a lot of insult to the American for answers to Poh Ah Pak, sure score.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:If Poh Ah Pak or AndrewPKYap were your lecturer, the anwer is very clear. Singapore is first in recession because of LKY and the PAP; the fundamentals of Singapore is not sound because there is no absolute freedom of speech; the recession will be as long as PAP is in power or as long as LKY lives; the IRs will not have any impact because this was the idea of the LHL; and Singapore will doom regardless of US or Asia, because our ministers salaries are very high.
Want extra points, use red ink for answers to AndrewPKYap, add a lot of insult to the American for answers to Poh Ah Pak, sure score.
But the MSM news says no problemo! and people still buy the news....at 90 cents (hiked from 80cents) a pop.
Huat Ah!
Crasssssss 90......55555 fffff mmmmm
Originally posted by sgdiehard:If Poh Ah Pak or AndrewPKYap were your lecturer, the anwer is very clear. Singapore is first in recession because of LKY and the PAP; the fundamentals of Singapore is not sound because there is no absolute freedom of speech; the recession will be as long as PAP is in power or as long as LKY lives; the IRs will not have any impact because this was the idea of the LHL; and Singapore will doom regardless of US or Asia, because our ministers salaries are very high.
i think if it was not for pap, we would have collapsed liek long ago. look at all the economies around us. why are we more stable and safe, more first world than the rest. every country has their politics and corruption be it inside or outside. there will always be anti and pro supporters. i remain neutral till today but it clearly sees the depth in which you look at things. just maybe because your probably on the lower end, makes you feel that people on the higher end are spending what could be yours.
it would be nice to see pap topple, but the effect on us would be great. i look forward to poverty. everyone is self-centered to an extent. you think you as part of the government. you dont want a high salary?
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:i think if it was not for pap, we would have collapsed liek long ago. look at all the economies around us. why are we more stable and safe, more first world than the rest. every country has their politics and corruption be it inside or outside. there will always be anti and pro supporters. i remain neutral till today but it clearly sees the depth in which you look at things. just maybe because your probably on the lower end, makes you feel that people on the higher end are spending what could be yours.
Where got kangaroo t-shirt ah? I mean of course legal ones not those with kangaroo in a shirt.
We are Safe - MSK not a threat lah hor. MSK TERRRORRRISTTT LEADER ON THE LOOSE AT LEAST NO OFFICIAL REPORT HIS WHEREABOUTS...still Spore is SAFE wan. I agree with you.
Every country got corruption - so its ok to have?
You are neutral - I am mutual.
Your believe is strong and good - but like to learn from you, if you cannot know some info, should assume nothing rotten hidden inside right? I no no wan.
We should Trust, Believe and Assume all is well. Huat Ah! If dont know, assume can be the right approach?
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:i think if it was not for pap, we would have collapsed liek long ago. look at all the economies around us. why are we more stable and safe, more first world than the rest. every country has their politics and corruption be it inside or outside. there will always be anti and pro supporters. i remain neutral till today but it clearly sees the depth in which you look at things. just maybe because your probably on the lower end, makes you feel that people on the higher end are spending what could be yours.
it would be nice to see pap topple, but the effect on us would be great. i look forward to poverty. everyone is self-centered to an extent. you think you as part of the government. you dont want a high salary?
How can you even consider that what is in your mind is your own when you are subjected to so much propaganda? You are thinking exactly what the despots wantyou to think but is it REALITY or propaganda? You don't know, you have never been exposed to the other side.
Live in Bangkok for a while, not just as a tourist and you will soon realise what a fool you are for thinking such thoughts, put there by dishonorable people and reinforced by their assdogs.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
How can you even consider that what is in your mind is your own when you are subjected to so much propaganda? You are thinking exactly what the despots wantyou to think but is it REALITY or propaganda? You don't know, you have never been exposed to the other side.
Live in Bangkok for a while, not just as a tourist and you will soon realise what a fool you are for thinking such thoughts, put there by dishonorable people and reinforced by their assdogs.
I think he is sober and knows full well what he is saying.
He is a ..... ;)
singapore everything also first
How come yr economic research is all about Singapore, i got my diploma in economics studying economic terms and world economic instead of solely Singapore economics, if u study singapore economic, you study nothing, cos singapore economic is influenced by the global economy and control by the fiscal policies of our loved Govt.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
Why must live in bangkok, why not mynmar, nepal, cambodia, or Germany?? All along, i knew you like thais gals..hmmm..go tell aunty
Originally posted by NG QIBO AARON AUBREY:singapore everything also first
no leh, our sgguys got last in sex, romanticism and machoism.