Parliamentary debates aside, what have you all really done?
The occasional walkabouts aside, what have you all really done?
Your website is not as vibrant as the SDP's, your activities are seldom heard of and seen. Knowing the uphill task against mainstream media, you guys should put more effort into being seen and heard.
Are you just going to "appear out of nowhere" again in 2011 elections? If you hadn't done so, you might have nicked Aljunied in 2006. I voted for you all and I'm disappointed to have seen such low profile from WP ever since.
Are you Mr Low, just content running a town council? Perhaps your pay of $200,000 a year as MP has made you gone slack.
so, you'd rather they discontinue their quiet and useful ways of helping the people?
and abandon everything including their credibility they won, to become like the useless and incompetent attention whores of SDP?
that'll set the opposition back another 20 years...
Your website is not as vibrant as the SDP's, your activities are seldom heard of and seen. Knowing the uphill task against mainstream media, you guys should put more effort into being seen and heard.
I agree.
They are not making themselves heard.
That is fatal in politics.
What counts in politics is ability to mobilise people and public opinion.
After they witness the sarpok(or lack of) for Steve Chia & esp Chee/s, why do they wanna screw themselves up for the SG ppl ?
why do they wanna screw themselves up for the SG ppl ?
Then join opposition politics for fuck?
Famous mah! do things also easier. & if becom minister got more $$$ ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:so, you'd rather they discontinue their quiet and useful ways of helping the people?
and abandon everything including their credibility they won, to become like the useless and incompetent attention whores of SDP?
that'll set the opposition back another 20 years...
Not discontinue their activities but do more to be seen and heard. Neither become like SDP either.
I agree that WP need to be on full alert now.
Before, there were not many opposition parties.
Only WP and Chiam are accepted by the people so far.
Now, time has changed.
There could be new players in the market.
Depending on which Party the Activists or Independents join (or not join), the outcome can be shocking. There are also conspiracy theories for the rise of these characters.
not until the last minute, no one knows which party these Activists will join or not join.
The Opposition's future is more uncertain than ever.
1. more opposition parties joining the fray could possibly mean less votes go to one particular Opposition party.
2. more surprises in the last minute could change the game entirely. I recall the interesting character called Gomez.
Yes, I am convinced beyond doubt , there is more uncertainty than ever before.
So brace yourselves! Question! wiper your eyes !
You never know, they could be preparing to launch an offensive attack soon. "All is calm and quiet before the storm."
They are preparing, they are observing, they are studying, they are getting their stuffs into places.
You never know. Its too quiet to be true.
Originally posted by likedatosocan:1. more opposition parties joining the fray could possibly mean less votes go to one particular Opposition party.
wouldn't that be funny? i mean if they're already struggling to gain any ground in the elections wouldn't it be counter productive to campaign against each other instead of against PAP?
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:wouldn't that be funny? i mean if they're already struggling to gain any ground in the elections wouldn't it be counter productive to campaign against each other instead of against PAP?
I am discouraged. My hidden message was too well hidden. Sir, you have missed just 1 of my points. But indirectly, you have answered your own question. ;)
The key thing to note is which party these new characters 'will join or not join'.
The other key thing to note is why they pop up.
Last but not least, remember the Gomez effect. ;)
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Parliamentary debates aside, what have you all really done?
The occasional walkabouts aside, what have you all really done?
Are you just going to "appear out of nowhere" again in 2011 elections? If you hadn't done so, you might have nicked Aljunied in 2006. I voted for you all and I'm disappointed to have seen such low profile from WP ever since.
Are you Mr Low, just content running a town council? Perhaps your pay of $200,000 a year as MP has made you gone slack.
No. Think about it for a moment, if our dear Mr. Low parades around holding banners and dressing themselves in anti-PAP T-shirts, they'll most probably get sued for whatever restrictions the government comes up with nowadays.
Now, what use will Mr. Low be sitting in solitary confinement? Have you not thought of how much more helpful he will be out than in?
Politicians are to think rationally before speaking, not attract unwanted attention like Dr. Chee and his group of attention-seeking maters. Of course, I'm not trying to say that what Dr. Chee did was wrong. He was, doubtlessly trying to create awareness of what tyrants we have as governers in the most... peculiar fashion.
I'm sure if Dr. Chee were to be elected, he would concentrate on his political zone instead of marching before the Istana or the High Court.
Just because Mr. Low doesn't have a vibrant, colourful website doesn't necessarily mean that he isn't doing a job.
Perhaps he is counting to Dr. Chee to fall the current monarchy before taking action?
yeah i agree WP has been too low profile. i am not sure whether it is the mainstream not broadcasting some of their activities or no activities from them at all.
i most disappointed that when being question by LHL, about whether Wong kan seng should be sack, he refuse to answer the question directly.
i am not sure whether opposition has gone forward or backward since the last election. i wonder when will another JBJ, CSJ emerge in singapore.
Originally posted by Vendettus:No. Think about it for a moment, if our dear Mr. Low parades around holding banners and dressing themselves in anti-PAP T-shirts, they'll most probably get sued for whatever restrictions the government comes up with nowadays.
Now, what use will Mr. Low be sitting in solitary confinement? Have you not thought of how much more helpful he will be out than in?
Politicians are to think rationally before speaking, not attract unwanted attention like Dr. Chee and his group of attention-seeking maters. Of course, I'm not trying to say that what Dr. Chee did was wrong. He was, doubtlessly trying to create awareness of what tyrants we have as governers in the most... peculiar fashion.
I'm sure if Dr. Chee were to be elected, he would concentrate on his political zone instead of marching before the Istana or the High Court.
Just because Mr. Low doesn't have a vibrant, colourful website doesn't necessarily mean that he isn't doing a job.
Perhaps he is counting to Dr. Chee to fall the current monarchy before taking action?
Bro, verbosity not necessary here lol. I agree with you and I never said WP shd apply those of CSJ's tactics. Do more walkabouts - simple. Organise more activities, let it be known thru their webpage. Re-design their drab looking website. Update with political news (Singapore, regionals or the world) daily. This will arouse interest and jolt apathetic Sinkies out of their domain. Do podcasts etc etc.
Politics is about image....they may do a good job but it has to be SEEN and HEARD.
44% of Aljunied GRC voted for YOU!! Account for to us pls. We haven't seen Slyvia since 2006 nor any WP members.
Don't leave us little choice but to vote for PAP or spoil our votes.
Come to my Jurong GRC.
I ain't going to vote for the motherfucking PAP.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Come to my Jurong GRC.
I ain't going to vote for the motherfucking PAP.
You Can alway vote for Lim Boon Heng.
Originally posted by reyes:yeah i agree WP has been too low profile. i am not sure whether it is the mainstream not broadcasting some of their activities or no activities from them at all.
i most disappointed that when being question by LHL, about whether Wong kan seng should be sack, he refuse to answer the question directly.
i am not sure whether opposition has gone forward or backward since the last election. i wonder when will another JBJ, CSJ emerge in singapore.
get voted, get 10k per month as MP not including their own business, can go on like this for 4 to 5years, why want to mess up the seat...so simple, then if get voted again, can take money again for another 4 to 5 years, maybe increase to 15k liao. Like this hor, even if dun get voted after 10 years, also gain alot liao, so why opposition MPs need to bother, they are not stupid ok, if they go hard on PAP, they loose everything and can even go bankrupt, so just guai guai sit there and play a movie role can liao mah.
PAP will send Slumberland Pillows and bed for them to sleep too
get voted, get 10k per month as MP not including their own business, can go on like this for 4 to 5years, why want to mess up the seat...so simple, then if get voted again, can take money again for another 4 to 5 years, maybe increase to 15k liao. Like this hor, even if dun get voted after 10 years, also gain alot liao, so why opposition MPs need to bother, they are not stupid ok, if they go hard on PAP, they loose everything and can even go bankrupt, so just guai guai sit there and play a movie role can liao mah.
PAP will send Slumberland Pillows and bed for them to sleep too
please ask PAP to sent the seahorse brand, coz it is harder.
be seen or vocal doesnt necessary need to be in trouble. like someone mention, more talks, sharing of information of WP progress, walk about at the coffeeshop at the weekends to meet and thanks ppl for giving them the 40%+ mandate. If they put in more effort, i bet the next election can be won at ajunied especially ppl will swing their vote due to the FW dormitory.
Originally posted by reyes:get voted, get 10k per month as MP not including their own business, can go on like this for 4 to 5years, why want to mess up the seat...so simple, then if get voted again, can take money again for another 4 to 5 years, maybe increase to 15k liao. Like this hor, even if dun get voted after 10 years, also gain alot liao, so why opposition MPs need to bother, they are not stupid ok, if they go hard on PAP, they loose everything and can even go bankrupt, so just guai guai sit there and play a movie role can liao mah.
please ask PAP to sent the seahorse brand, coz it is harder.
be seen or vocal doesnt necessary need to be in trouble. like someone mention, more talks, sharing of information of WP progress, walk about at the coffeeshop at the weekends to meet and thanks ppl for giving them the 40%+ mandate. If they put in more effort, i bet the next election can be won at ajunied especially ppl will swing their vote due to the FW dormitory.
Hike Fuhrer,
I think it time to change the old horses liao, most of the oppositions are either getting use to enjoying life here, and some are getting sick and some even died, by sending seahorse will only aggravate the situation, may i, my fuhrer suggest sending them Kingcoil instead, the only mattress that give u multi bouncing with one time doing.
Low Thia Khiang urges affected investors not to file class action suits against banks
By Hwee Goh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 22 October 2008 1448 hrs
Photos 1 of 1
WP's Low Thia Khiang
SINGAPORE: Opposition Member of Parliament Low Thia Khiang has urged investors who have lost money on Lehman bonds not to file class action suits against the financial institutions.
In a statement to the media on Wednesday, the Hougang MP said he is concerned that such investors may end up paying huge legal bills.
He feels investors should only resort to legal redress after they have taken their cases to the Financial Industry Disputes Resolution Centre, and despite that, are still unhappy.
The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) has advised investors to file a complaint with the financial institutions involved, and then with the Centre.
Mr Low has asked the MAS to issue detailed guidelines to financial institutions on how to handle the complaints, with a set time frame for the whole process.
He hopes that affected investors will then have greater certainty as they weigh their options.
- CNA/yb
the wise man say, "morning dont say ppl, nighttime dont say ghost".
there we complain no action from WP, today Mr low come out and advice on the lehman minibonds issues.
cheers!!
Hmmm....seems like SgForums is having some influence over political affairs.
Start a thread complain a bit, suddenly WP wake up, make a bit of noise.
See TOC's viewer comments on WP's response:
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2008/10/wp-concerned-about-class-action-suitby-investors/#comments
here's an interesting one:
1) Oh No on October 22nd, 2008 4.55 pm
Originally posted by reyes:the wise man say, "morning dont say ppl, nighttime dont say ghost".
there we complain no action from WP, today Mr low come out and advice on the lehman minibonds issues.
cheers!!
Still no refund
Cheers!!!
Hi, I am Ramseth from WP.
I believe Mr Low has just made a comment on the minibonds issue.
Not another jumper on Mr Tan’s wagon.
Now that everyone knows it is safe to say something on issue (no midnight knocks), we have WP and SIAS saying something on their concerns.
Betcha CASE and SDP and Chiam will now have their say.
Where were you before last fri (before MAS MD media conference)?
Only TKL has balls of brass. Waz WP, SIAS, CASE, SDP and Chiam’s balls made of? They got any