I saw a lady about 50++yrs old at opp Sengkang Compassvale a few hrs ago shouting and screaming at her maid saying she hated the noodles the maid bought and threw it damned hard onto the grass patch behind the bus-stop. The maid lowered her head and humbly picked them up again and walked a few metres behind that old woman. I strongly feel that one should treat another with respect regardless of nationality, status etc. If the maid is so-called "stupid" or does something wrong, why can't we tell them nicely? Why must some of us behave in such a babaric manner? I've heard of employers complaining the maid's stupid and so on. To put in more crudely, if the maid is not "stupid" or clever enough, would she still be working as a maid? If they are not good enough for them; very simple, don't employ any maids la!
I wonder if this is the reflection of typical type of treatment and behaviours local employers treat their maids? The maids got to abandon their families and go overseas to help support their families with some at young age of 20++ where most of our locals are still studying and need not worry on financial or other aspects of life. When these maids arrive in a foreign land, they face the uncertainty of how their future employers are going to treat them, got to stay with the employers, work long hours, unable to resign when they cannot tahan their employers, got despised by some people, etc etc. Imagine the tremendous stress they are facing! No wonder i read of maids killing their employers and so on. I wonder if employers treat them humanely in the first place, would our newspapers would still be flooded with news of employers got murdered by maids and so forth? And for that miserable few hundred of dollars worth of salary, the maids got to work extra hard, denied leave and benefits that we ordinary citizens would normally get from our employers?
And when sporeans go abroad for study or work, i often hear people complaining of racial discrimination etc. But do we ask ourselves how some of us treat our foreign workers?
it's the government's fault... it's always their fault ![]()
Originally posted by pigsticker:it's the government's fault... it's always their fault
Yes you are right. They are supposed to be the "leaders", you know the people that the "followers" imitate?
Look at the way they behave, so dishonorably, taking massive amounts of public money for their own pockets and persecuting dissidents and opposition; not to mention putting their relatives and cronies in positions to take even more public money.
Mainly it is the fault of that old dying despot with a wife suffering an extended death and a son with cancer. Now we wait and see what happens to his grandchildren.
ok coz will angry wat.
my mummy eberitime cooks the food not nice.
i eberitime scold her.
Wow Andyboy, you have a great sense of humour - NOT.
It's heartening to see that the TS is concerned by a sight like this. Some other people simply close both eyes and gag their conscience. Standing up for the servant on the spot would have been even better.
Yeah ,you can save a lot of money on therapy that way.
Well said, original poster. This is one of my pet peeves, and representative of how Singaporeans have no idea how lucky they have it. It is basically a result of having no respect for the maid as an equal human. I think one of the way it starts is when they allow kiddies to address the maids on first name basis, and the kiddies treat the maids like they are the masters too. What happened to calling their elders XX zeh zeh or Auntie XX?? I thought it was suppose to be a basic asian trait to respect our elders.
And seriously, got some pathetic people on this board huh. Have been here all of a couple of weeks already can identify liao.
"I saw a lady about 50++yrs old at opp Sengkang Compassvale a few hrs ago shouting and screaming at her maid saying she hated the noodles the maid bought and threw it damned hard onto the grass patch behind the bus-stop. The maid lowered her head and humbly picked them up again and walked a few metres behind that old woman. I strongly feel that one should treat another with respect regardless of nationality, status etc. If the maid is so-called "stupid" or does something wrong, why can't we tell them nicely? Why must some of us behave in such a babaric manner? I've heard of employers complaining the maid's stupid and so on. To put in more crudely, if the maid is not "stupid" or clever enough, would she still be working as a maid? If they are not good enough for them; very simple, don't employ any maids la!" by TS
Aiya, first hor, u must understand why the old auntie was frustrated, we cannot judge thing just by our view, there are many reason behind it, maybe she asked the maid to buy roti prata, but instead she bought the mee...and also she may had lost money in the mini bonds, or her hubby, usual old singapore uncle, is with a prc gal etc etc, so there are many problem behind each negative reaction. Vice versa, i hv also seen maid bring man into her boss house, party with a group of people when boss went overseas, slap child under her care when parents not around, spat siliva into drinks and foods for her boss to eats...etc etc..
So, it both side of the coin we are talking about here, the best is, if you can work harder, dun get a maid, it made you more angrier, poor in health, get fat and lazier due to dependency on maid.
I saw a lot of this case too, sometime it is just too much, some serious case, they don't even allow their maid to share the meal with them or share the dish. I got a maid as well, but we treat her like family, we share dishes and eat together at the same table. Both me and my brother and her are like friends. Although I don't know what other people might think like, but I think this is what each family should be.
Let's put yourself into the maid's shoes for a moment and think about how you'd want to be treated if you were working for someone else, in a foreign land. Yes, that's exactly how your maid wants to be treated as well. Don't abuse them just because you pay them a "salary" every month. You aren't paying them big bucks to take shit from you so please, some respect and humility there.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:
It's heartening to see that the TS is concerned by a sight like this. Some other people simply close both eyes and gag their conscience. Standing up for the servant on the spot would have been even better.
I agree with this..and just a minor addition...its "maid"...not "servant".There is a difference.![]()
I treat my maids well but my wife sometimes shouts and nags at them cuz they like to act blurr and I have no complain with that as long as she takes out her frustration on someone else and treat me X-tra good>LOL.As for maids,they sort of accept this kind of fate/life especially when they are wrong but be careful not to bully and over punished them for nothing or you could end up in the next morning orbituary.
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:I saw a lady about 50++yrs old at opp Sengkang Compassvale a few hrs ago shouting and screaming at her maid saying she hated the noodles the maid bought and threw it damned hard onto the grass patch behind the bus-stop. The maid lowered her head and humbly picked them up again and walked a few metres behind that old woman. I strongly feel that one should treat another with respect regardless of nationality, status etc. If the maid is so-called "stupid" or does something wrong, why can't we tell them nicely? Why must some of us behave in such a babaric manner? I've heard of employers complaining the maid's stupid and so on. To put in more crudely, if the maid is not "stupid" or clever enough, would she still be working as a maid? If they are not good enough for them; very simple, don't employ any maids la!
I wonder if this is the reflection of typical type of treatment and behaviours local employers treat their maids? The maids got to abandon their families and go overseas to help support their families with some at young age of 20++ where most of our locals are still studying and need not worry on financial or other aspects of life. When these maids arrive in a foreign land, they face the uncertainty of how their future employers are going to treat them, got to stay with the employers, work long hours, unable to resign when they cannot tahan their employers, got despised by some people, etc etc. Imagine the tremendous stress they are facing! No wonder i read of maids killing their employers and so on. I wonder if employers treat them humanely in the first place, would our newspapers would still be flooded with news of employers got murdered by maids and so forth? And for that miserable few hundred of dollars worth of salary, the maids got to work extra hard, denied leave and benefits that we ordinary citizens would normally get from our employers?
And when sporeans go abroad for study or work, i often hear people complaining of racial discrimination etc. But do we ask ourselves how some of us treat our foreign workers?
Actually, I understand and can see the logic and sense in most of your points, except the one I highlighted.
This point we actually have our govt to blame. It's actually not that many of us don't want to give maids leave. But if we give them leave, and they disappear, go out get pregnant etc, we have to pay $5000 to the govt coz our maid is supposed to be our responsibility. This is not a small sum and seriously, the more we let maids go out, the more they get influenced by other maids and shit may start happening. If not, I'm sure my folks wouldn't have any problems letting our maid go out every weekend.
I remember some human rights group have voiced out that we as employers do not give enough welfare to our maids. However, I personally feel they are barking up the wrong tree as they do not dare to bark up the right tree :)
i feel sad for those who have to 离乡背井, especially the domestic helpers.
Shall we order one gang of Bangala to rape the Lady.
I feel that if employers treat their maids well and as a human in the first place, would they still try all out to take revenge on their employers by spitting saliva onto their food, practice black magic etc etc? After all, i suppose they are here to make a living and not here to create trouble for anyone.
If your employer were to vent his frustration on you simply because he's in bad mood, how would you feel? And imagine yourself in a foreign land all by yourself, facing your abusive employer the entire day for everyday and unable to quit your job and change employers! Worse still, the whole family treat you like dirt! How would you feel?
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:I feel that if employers treat their maids well and as a human in the first place, would they still try all out to take revenge on their employers by spitting saliva onto their food, practice black magic etc etc? After all, i suppose they are here to make a living and not here to create trouble for anyone.
If your employer were to vent his frustration on you simply because he's in bad mood, how would you feel? And imagine yourself in a foreign land all by yourself, facing your abusive employer the entire day for everyday and unable to quit your job and change employers! Worse still, the whole family treat you like dirt! How would you feel?
No Lah, formerly, Dad get one filipino maid for us, she works only 5 days a week, and also work from 7 to 6pm only. She can go in and out during her free time, she also use our telephone alots, but we never bother so much, then after 8months, she got pregnant, I thot my Daddy do with her, but he spanked me when i mentioned it. Then we found out that she got lots of bangalas, filipinos, indians, mynamar boyfrens, she also dunno who the father is, so we sent her back lor, lost $5k for nothing taking care of her.
Recently she send a postcard with a photo of the baby, look abit like me leh, so beautiful gal....my Dad remain silent and still cursing for the lost of 5k
Originally posted by dragg:i feel sad for those who have to 离乡背井, especially the domestic helpers.
I really see with my own eyes when i sent my nephew to kindergarden, i see maids slapping the kids when they disturb their maids conversation, and some are indonesia maids speaking in Malay which i understand,...saying urine on soup and milk for baby...and then they laughed and then talk about bfs here and there, big small all kind of dirty stuff.
I pity the kids under such maid care lor
I definitely couldn't agree more. These select employers treat their maids like dipshit, and in turn give a bad name to the employers who don't. It's just really rubbish behaviour.
Then i got an indonesian maid who stole my grandma jewelleries and bake it inside a cake.
She was good in bakery, we adored her, she is also hardworking, we even let her family from indonesia to stay with her for a few days and i brought them sight seeing too.
After 4 years with us, she decided to go back, Dad gives her some token of money too, since she lives in Yogjakarta, we send her to changi, but before that she told me she wanted to bake a cake for her family back home, she dun hv an oven in her native house, we said, go ahead, no problem.
Then she baked the cake, put in a box for hand carry, she bids goodbye to my grandma, me and Dad sent her to changi airport. At the airport, my grandma called and said that her jewellleries went missing, i scolded her to search throughly, then i told my Dad, my Dad asked the maid if she see those jewelleries, maid said no, but in a shaky manners, my six sense told me something was wrong.
Once reached airport, she was desparate to check in, I told her i need to check her language, she said no problem. After checking, we found nothing, so then we thot she is innocent, we should not suspect her, we hugged and say goodbye.
Luckily that time was the peak period of terrosim, at the entrance, the ICA office already start scanning all parcel, bags and hand carry stuff, and immediately they saw the jewelleries inside the cake. And we will standing outside waving her goodbye, when she was led out into the police office.
Then i got an indonesian maid who stole my grandma jewelleries and bake it inside a cake.
wah, your maid must be graduating from the same bakery sch as my uncle maid. coz they like to bake cake with jewellery in them.
cannot one bamboo stick sink the whole ship.
there are bad maids and good employers in singapore.
No Lah, formerly, Dad get one filipino maid for us, she works only 5 days a week, and also work from 7 to 6pm only. She can go in and out during her free time, she also use our telephone alots, but we never bother so much, then after 8months, she got pregnant, I thot my Daddy do with her, but he spanked me when i mentioned it. Then we found out that she got lots of bangalas, filipinos, indians, mynamar boyfrens, she also dunno who the father is, so we sent her back lor, lost $5k for nothing taking care of her.
Recently she send a postcard with a photo of the baby, look abit like me leh, so beautiful gal....my Dad remain silent and still cursing for the lost of 5k
hmm.. never introduce her to the OKTs outside your house/pub?
give us men a break la, not all are desperate OK.
there are " desperate houswife" but no " desperate Houseman"
Heil Sundramoothy!!
i feel sad for those who have to 离乡背井, especially the domestic helpers.
they are paid a salary to do a job.
my friend also very sad. he was posted to Shenzhen factory and had to stay in factory dormitory and away from his family and friends.
But luckily, he never complain coz there many meimei who would like to hear his sad plight!
Originally posted by reyes:hmm.. never introduce her to the OKTs outside your house/pub?
give us men a break la, not all are desperate OK.
there are " desperate houswife" but no " desperate Houseman"
Heil Sundramoothy!!
Hike Fuhrer,
But those are not men, they are werewolf, so to speak, there maybe no desperate houseman, but there are desperate werewolf.