why ppl has the perception that migrating to another country will be second class leh?
i dont think many singaporeans who migrate to australia are being treated as second class citizens.
Like someonw mention, are you treated as first class citizens in singapore? or do you feel u r taken for a ride?
Originally posted by angel7030:
centre!
I said I 'left' Singapore and Gedanken says I was 'right'
Simi centre? I left Funan Centre donkeys years ago>LOL
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
I said I 'left' Singapore and Gedanken says I was 'right'Simi centre?
WOWO! ![]()
Originally posted by noob321:hmm, stay in singapore or leave singapore and stay in other countries better?
well, staying in singapore, you are always 1st-class citizens, because you are singaporean. staying in other countries, you become 2nd-class citizens.
western countries, how should I say, dont like asians. well, you may be despised, who knows?
stay or leave?
Of course leave, all things being equal. If you move to Thailand, you become not 1st or 2nd class, you become Super-Class.
The Thai traditional massage, I used to go everyday until my body became so well massaged all my aches and pains disappeared (about S$10 for two hours.)
One Singapore chap said that in Bangkok, he never bathes himself... different girls bathe him everyday because they have bath houses there and it cost only about S$20.
Singaporeans in Singapore are just stupid to let the government take their money with direct and indirect taxes and take their money by making everything so expensive... (Thai traditional massage in Singapore, the cheapest is also around S$25 for about 1/2 hours)
All because when the despots persecute opposition and dissidents like Dr Chee Soon Juan, they pretend they dont see. Singaporeans pay for doing that, ignoring the evil. Singaporeans deserve it.
So now you are saying your pain all came back? I want to see jeyakumar give you a full body massage.....no soap please!
i wont migrate becoz of thai massage is cheaper in thailand.
out of topic, i travel to thai for work monthly but never like thai massage. i prefer " TuiNa".
Heil Ratchadapisek!!
What is first class citizen ?
What is second class citizen ?
I only know got.. good or bad citizen.
Originally posted by skythewood:rich man wear shorts and slippers and never leave tip, never order big portion, why would they care?
than ask you lah, if you are waiter, you see a bangalah construction worker, a local, and a tourist. which one do you think you can squeeze more money from?
Why would I care which I could squeeze more money from? Its just a waiter's job to serve, and it is only right to do it well; a tip is merely a bonus, so it is wrong tp just expect someone to give you a tip.
But hell yea, most waiter/ess in SG are just those who judge people at face value..so can't really blame singaporeans for losing their jobs to foreigners, I've had a much more pleasant experience with waiter/ess who are foreign to the country.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
Of course leave, all things being equal. If you move to Thailand, you become not 1st or 2nd class, you become Super-Class.
lol
Why would I care which I could squeeze more money from? Its just a waiter's job to serve, and it is only right to do it well; a tip is merely a bonus, so it is wrong tp just expect someone to give you a tip.
But hell yea, most waiter/ess in SG are just those who judge people at face value..so can't really blame singaporeans for losing their jobs to foreigners, I've had a much more pleasant experience with waiter/ess who are foreign to the country.
well, many of us had more bad experience with FW waitress than locals. the most problems i face is at Seafood resturrant that almost 70% are foreign chinese.
bad service is a culture in singapore that doesnt target particular gp.
i get use to it! you should!
How much do PRs get taxed? How much do Foreign Talents get taxed? I mean I'm really curious to know....
Originally posted by reyes:why ppl has the perception that migrating to another country will be second class leh?
i dont think many singaporeans who migrate to australia are being treated as second class citizens.
Like someonw mention, are you treated as first class citizens in singapore? or do you feel u r taken for a ride?
i don't think it is about nationality. its more of a white vs asian thingy, whereby asians are discriminated by the whites. to them, all asians are the same, regardless of whether u r chinese, japanese, korean, singaporean, etc.
Originally posted by deathmaster:i don't think it is about nationality. its more of a white vs asian thingy, whereby asians are discriminated by the whites. to them, all asians are the same, regardless of whether u r chinese, japanese, korean, singaporean, etc.
to most of us too.. ang moh = all kinds of white people.
Originally posted by Shotgun:How much do PRs get taxed? How much do Foreign Talents get taxed? I mean I'm really curious to know....
they pay the same tax as we do. but they have less liabilities.
they don't need to serve NS.
if their sons did not get PR status, their sons will also not have to serve NS despite having a heavily sponsored singapore education. he can go straight to singapore uni, without doing ns, and yet still enjoys the university subsidy.
Male PR and FTs do not have to serve NS, so they are more attractive to employers over singaporeans. employers generally do not like workers who get called up by mindef for long stupid exercises when there's so much work to be done.
PRs and FTs though they have to pay CPF contribution, they can withdraw it once they decided to go back to their country. for singaporeans, its a nono. the money stays there until ur 55, and then, u can only withdraw 50%, and again, that is, if you have met the minimum CPF contribution.
Originally posted by rokkie:
lol
he meant the bus going into malaysia/thailand.
Originally posted by deathmaster:they pay the same tax as we do. but they have less liabilities.
they don't need to serve NS.
if their sons did not get PR status, their sons will also not have to serve NS despite having a heavily sponsored singapore education. he can go straight to singapore uni, without doing ns, and yet still enjoys the university subsidy.
Male PR and FTs do not have to serve NS, so they are more attractive to employers over singaporeans. employers generally do not like workers who get called up by mindef for long stupid exercises when there's so much work to be done.
PRs and FTs though they have to pay CPF contribution, they can withdraw it once they decided to go back to their country. for singaporeans, its a nono. the money stays there until ur 55, and then, u can only withdraw 50%, and again, that is, if you have met the minimum CPF contribution.
met any second generation pr that don't do NS?
all my foreigner friends in NUS have some form of subsidy. but in return, they have to work in singapore for a number of years.
Originally posted by skythewood:met any second generation pr that don't do NS?
all my foreigner friends in NUS have some form of subsidy. but in return, they have to work in singapore for a number of years.
this is a win-win situation. which filipino grad would want to graduate from nus/ntu and head back to metro manila for a US$500 job (if one is lucky) when you can get 3x of it here? and better prospect too.
the singapore gahmen realized this `lobang' long time already. having said that, it is not 100% enforced. in the last crisis, my NUS fren who is a civil engineer was ok'd to leave without fulfilling the 3 year requirement becos the civil engineering field here were depleted. he went back to malaysia and joined his father's firm which build roads for the gahmen. of cos, he was lucky in that sense.
Be honest with yourself: are you leaving because there are specific pull factors (a more developed sector for your job, for instance), or because you're running away from your perceived hardship here?
Emigration is never easy; if you want to escape from problems, you'll find new ones elsewhere to continue making your life miserable until you learn to be satisfied with what you have. You might be surprised by how people everywhere are unhappy with their own politicians and bureaucracy.
And contrary to your belief, Orientals are not despised by the majority. You don't need that imagined baggage to add to your woes.
Be aware of the hypocrisy of citing the arrival of FTs as a reason for moving out, because it makes you one of them too.
P.S. Speaking of Joe Strummer, I've met ex-Mescaleros drummer Luke Bullen.
Originally posted by reyes:why ppl has the perception that migrating to another country will be second class leh?
From my personal experience I can tell you that whoever migrate to another country would naturally be treated like a second class citizen whether you like it or not.However if you have money and move to a third world country,you would be treated a lot better than when you were a citizen in your own country.
Hallo deathmaster
"PRs and FTs though they have to pay CPF contribution, they can withdraw it once they decided to go back to their country"
FTs cannot participate in CPF. That privilege is reserved for citizens and PRs.
Originally posted by donkhead333:
have to agree with you, was in service line previously(retail)
ang moh usually spend more so we usually treat ang mo better. i'm chinese myself but when it comes to treatment i usually treat malay or ang moh better because they're usually more polite.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
From my personal experience I can tell you that whoever migrate to another country would naturally be treated like a second class citizen whether you like it or not.However if you have money and move to a third world country,you would be treated a lot better than when you were a citizen in your own country.
really? do share what kind of personal experience u would have that allow u to comment on this topic?
studying or working overseas?
Fish, if there's anybody on this forum I'd say has been round the block a few times, it would be Ninja.
Originally posted by reyes:i wont migrate becoz of thai massage is cheaper in thailand.
out of topic, i travel to thai for work monthly but never like thai massage. i prefer " TuiNa".
Heil Ratchadapisek!!
Hike Fuhrer,
I also go there once every 2 months to recruit comfort gals for singapore Uncles here. I dun go thai massage, cos i laugh and laugh due to the tickling hehehe...but i will do my shopping, facial, hairdo, wow! it is very cheap and top service too. Then at night , i will go to Barcadi boy boy club...wow! those thai hunks are real handsome...but no brain.
Hike Sol Nana!!!