Read this on ST, as a OM, he should taking home 3K & above yet his family is still living hand to mouth...remember just 5 year back 3K is consider some good paying job!!
///Quote///
Somehow, the 56-year-old said, he has gotten by.
//Unquote//
Must say thank you to lee hsien loong the very "compassionate" and "kind" pm of singapore. This time the percentage of the price hike is more than before. During good times, keep increasing, during bad times continue to increase but increase even more to "help" people cope.
Vote lee hsien loong out if you are staying in his constituency unless you love him and support him with all these unreasonable increases.
I wonder what else is hiking or already hiked but never announce?
I wonder why I never know in advance of saturday newspaper hiked to $1.
remember the song by the tissue paper aunty? "$1 , $1 ...only $1....." :(
ya..right...I was surprised by $0.20 increase too. I think they were told to keep very quite & because everything are going up and they dont need another issue to blow it up.
they will find so way to suck us dry....
Originally posted by likedatosocan:I wonder what else is hiking or already hiked but never announce?
Unless I miss any reading, I don't think they announce the hike in the charges of Singtel home fixed line rental. These are sneaky greedy evils that keep on increasing increasing to quench their taste for more and more money. If they corrupts, wonder what sort of tactics they are adopting.
Originally posted by Fantagf:Unless I miss any reading, I don't think they announce the hike in the charges of Singtel home fixed line rental. These are sneaky greedy evils that keep on increasing increasing to quench their taste for more and more money. If they corrupts, wonder what sort of tactics they are adopting.
I wonder why hikes at this timing. sigh.... money enough boh?
That is why the public need access to information that matters. We need the facts.
The naive and innocent and apathetic need to know the facts too.
This is main thing to accomplish - cure apathy by 2009.
Originally posted by likedatosocan:
I wonder why hikes at this timing. sigh.... money enough boh?That is why the public need access to information that matters. We need the facts.
The naive and innocent and apathetic need to know the facts too.
This is main thing to accomplish - cure apathy by 2009.
With lee hsien loong as the pm, there is no room for compassion, kindness, interest and welfare of the public. He made it clear a number of times that he is not making Singapore a welfare state, the way he said this was so damn inhuman, inhumane. Thus I see no need to respect this sort of evil PM. He is in his position as PM for the sole purpose of getting more money from the people of Singapore, shameless!
Originally posted by Fantagf:With lee hsien loong as the pm, there is no room for compassion, kindness, interest and welfare of the public. He made it clear a number of times that he is not making Singapore a welfare state, the way he said this was so damn inhuman, inhumane. Thus I see no need to respect this sort of evil PM. He is in his position as PM for the sole purpose of getting more money from the people of Singapore, shameless!
i don't think he's that inhumane, i sort of agree with him on the welfare state thing, there's no end once you start. i just don't want him as PM cos he's just not good enough.
He cannot take all the credit... you have these Directors sitting on GLC & they only have I think on their mind...targets, target & target? Why so? To serve their "Tour le Duty". They are just behaving when they are in their days serving Army/Navy/Airforce, civil & etc. So if you see they don't care, they have that 2-3 year to prove their worth then move on the greater things...
Also greedy shares holders...TH
Originally posted by euphratis:Read this on ST, as a OM, he should taking home 3K & above yet his family is still living hand to mouth...remember just 5 year back 3K is consider some good paying job!!
///Quote///
Somehow, the 56-year-old said, he has gotten by.
//Unquote//
You think the cursed despots care? What they are interested is to be able to put as much money into their own pockets and to do that, they will take care of the rich and the foreigners at the expense of the common man.
To make the rich happy, they will raise prices across the board so that the rich can make more profits. The foreigners they bring in will ensure that the common man's wages cannot increase even thought it should with the rising prices.
They are happy to hear that the common man cannot/can hardly make ends meet. That shows that they are doing something right, they are ensuring that the rich maximise their profits.
so everyone together now... say out loud... "Damned Dishonorable Despots...."
in singapore if you earn less than 4k /household of 1 wife, 2 kids and a HDB flats. it is just survivable. after deduct CPF left $3.2k.
if you deduct your travelling expenses, kids education, food on the table, utility bills, and some unforseen expenses.
Timeout to clear some perceptions
Beating Inflation.
Hang on there and lets get some facts straight, before we make a mountain out of a molehill.
Currently, inflation is hovering around 6-7%, which means for every $100 you spent for household essential goods as per CPI basket of products, yesterday or last 3mths ago, now you have to spend $106.
If you have 2 kids, wife and a HDB, you would probably spend an average of $800/mth on CPI goods.
Thus at the current rate of inflation, it means you will spend $848/mth or $48 more this month.
So, how can a household beat inflation?
Simple measures, for example, just an example - you take feeder bus to MRT, 500-1000 metres from your home. It would cost you $2 per day through and fro journeys, totalling $60/mth. Should you take a short slow 15 min excersing walk to the MRT or back home, you would save $60. Viola! you beat inflation, and need not dump money into investments to match inflation.
Even if you are too tired after work to walk home, you would have only $18 more to beat.
If you are driving, then you must have needed a car in your work and would be either paid as expenses by the company, or if not, you would be making enough profits to cover the cost and maintenance of the car. Inflation too, will affect you, but at only $48, plan your trips properly and you would have easily beaten inflation.
However, the truth of the matter about grouses and complain is not about inflation, but rather, the high cost of luxury good we aspire to have.
I too am human and understand the need for luxuries, but am sane enough to realize that i must spend on only what i can afford, for such products are expensive and are not essential to my life. I can live without it, and it is not a daily item i buy regularly such as TVs, Mps, sound systems, etc. It is a big ticket item, so we must save up for that one-time purchase.
Should inflationary makes such items more expensive, then we must look for alternatives - different competitive brands, or even second hand, afterall, what we want that product for is the happiness it can bring to us momentarily. New or used, no one knows except yourself, even for a prada bag.
So do get it straight - its not the high cost of living that we are suffering, but the high cost of our aspirations.
No one, no society or govt has that kind of money to fund our dreams, except we individually by ourselves. Society and govts can only provide opportunities - education, social equality and business ease.
Daily essential material goods are still within reach in Singapore. No one dies of hunger or don't have a roof over his/her head unless he/she stubbornly wants it that way for his/her life. So don't let that 6% inflation rate or recession scare you numb. It is not an unsurmountable figure or term as long as you have brains, hands and legs.
Singapore: Inflation Rises To 6.7%
Sin Chew Jit Poh, Malaysia - Oct 23, 2008
SINGAPORE: Singapore's inflation rate rose in September despite an economic contraction in the third quarter and falling oil prices, according to data ...
S’pore inflation accelerates, seen easing on crisis Daily Times
Singapore Sept factory output rose 7 percent AsiaOne
all 6 news articles »
News Release by:
Central Provident Fund Board
9 September 2008 --
From 1 January this year, interest rate for savings in the Special, Medisave and Retirement Accounts (SMRA) is pegged to the 12-month average yield of the 10-year Singapore Government Security (10YSGS) plus 1%. The average yield of the 10YSGS over one year, from 1 September 2007 to 31 August 2008, plus 1% works out to be 3.77%.
Interest rate on CPF... 2.77%
Every year, Singaporeans lose 6.7-2.7=4% per year as a result of being forced by the despots to contribute to CheatingPF
All together now.... Damned Dishonorable.....
Originally posted by xtreyier:Timeout to clear some perceptions
Beating Inflation.
Hang on there and lets get some facts straight, before we make a mountain out of a molehill.
Currently, inflation is hovering around 6-7%, which means for every $100 you spent for household essential goods as per CPI basket of products, yesterday or last 3mths ago, now you have to spend $106.
If you have 2 kids, wife and a HDB, you would probably spend an average of $800/mth on CPI goods.
Thus at the current rate of inflation, it means you will spend $848/mth or $48 more this month.
So, how can a household beat inflation?
Simple measures, for example, just an example - you take feeder bus to MRT, 500-1000 metres from your home. It would cost you $2 per day through and fro journeys, totalling $60/mth. Should you take a short slow 15 min excersing walk to the MRT or back home, you would save $60. Viola! you beat inflation, and need not dump money into investments to match inflation.
Even if you are too tired after work to walk home, you would have only $18 more to beat.
If you are driving, then you must have needed a car in your work and would be either paid as expenses by the company, or if not, you would be making enough profits to cover the cost and maintenance of the car. Inflation too, will affect you, but at only $48, plan your trips properly and you would have easily beaten inflation.
However, the truth of the matter about grouses and complain is not about inflation, but rather, the high cost of luxury good we aspire to have.
I too am human and understand the need for luxuries, but am sane enough to realize that i must spend on only what i can afford, for such products are expensive and are not essential to my life. I can live without it, and it is not a daily item i buy regularly such as TVs, Mps, sound systems, etc. It is a big ticket item, so we must save up for that one-time purchase.
Should inflationary makes such items more expensive, then we must look for alternatives - different competitive brands, or even second hand, afterall, what we want that product for is the happiness it can bring to us momentarily. New or used, no one knows except yourself, even for a prada bag.
So do get it straight - its not the high cost of living that we are suffering, but the high cost of our aspirations.
No one, no society or govt has that kind of money to fund our dreams, except we individually by ourselves. Society and govts can only provide opportunities - education, social equality and business ease.
Daily essential material goods are still within reach in Singapore. No one dies of hunger or don't have a roof over his/her head unless he/she stubbornly wants it that way for his/her life. So don't let that 6% inflation rate or recession scare you numb. It is not an unsurmountable figure or term as long as you have brains, hands and legs.
I find it hypocritical to be told to downgrade your aspirations/dreams and to settle for less while our ministers give themselves pay raises indirectly funded by our dreams
we need to remember all of these, esp. in the next GE. We can't simply forget everything just because we are given some Growth Dividend or Progress Package.
Originally posted by xtreyier:Timeout to clear some perceptions
But I already started walking since last year when economic downturn...How?
so erm a plate of kway png from hawker is luxury goods? or the rice grains also luxzury goods? Or the electricity we use, those are luxury also?
However, the truth of the matter about grouses and complain is
not about inflation, but rather, the inefficiency of our government to stop inflation and the various policies that adds to inflation.
-
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:i don't think he's that inhumane, i sort of agree with him on the welfare state thing, there's no end once you start. i just don't want him as PM cos he's just not good enough.
It is the way he puts themessage across about the welfare state that pissed a number of people off. Basically, he is not fit to be in politics at all. The best he can be is don't work, no need to work for his dad can feed him the whole of his life.
Its not how much you earn...but how your manage your finance
Marc Faber comment on US economy - TOO GOOD
Investment analyst and entrepreneur Dr. Marc Faber concluded his monthly bulletin (June 2008) with the Following:
''The federal government is sending each of us a $600 rebate.
If we spend that money at Wal-Mart, the money goes to China. If we spend it on gasoline, it goes to the Arabs. If we buy a computer, it will go to India. If we purchase fruit and vegetables, it will go to Mexico, Honduras, and Guatemala. If we purchase a good car, it will go to Germany. If we purchase useless crap, it will go to Taiwan and none of it will help the American economy. The only way to keep that money here at home is to spend it on prostitutes and beer, since these are the only products still produced in US. I've been doing my part.'
At least he has the choice of spending that money
If our government is sending each of us a $600 rebate
If we spend that money at NTUC, the money goes to back to them. If we spend it on Toto & 4D, it goes back to them. If we buy a car, the COE money goes back to them. If our cars travel on the road, the money goes back to them. If we purchase a HDB flat, it goes back to them. If we buy a pack of cigarette or a beer most of the money goes back to them. if we hire a maid, half the money goes back to them, If we eat at a coffee shop, the rental goes back to them, if we visit prostitutes in geyland, the licensing fees goes back to them.
AND
Water and electricity bill will go up. Hospital Bill will go up. Telephone bill will go up. ERP will go up. Car park fee will go up. Petrol price will go up. Service charge will go up. GST will go up. Bus & MRT Fare will go up. Taxi fare will go up. Kopi O will go up. Chicken rice will go up. - only our pay didnt go up?
In our case they are taking back much more
Originally posted by likedatosocan:I wonder what else is hiking or already hiked but never announce?
Sorry.
Tissue paper costs $1.20 now.
Inflation. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Sorry.
Tissue paper costs $1.20 now.
Inflation.
$3.00 liao...
i sell ![]()
Originally posted by Q.C.Pak:
$3.00 liao...i sell
$3 ???
Damn. ![]()
$3?!?!
i bet those tissue auntie and uncle are earning more than me now...
Originally posted by seyKai:Marc Faber comment on US economy - TOO GOOD
Investment analyst and entrepreneur Dr. Marc Faber concluded his monthly bulletin (June 2008) with the Following:
''The federal government is sending each of us a $600 rebate.
If we spend that money at Wal-Mart, the money goes to China. If we spend it on gasoline, it goes to the Arabs. If we buy a computer, it will go to India. If we purchase fruit and vegetables, it will go to Mexico, Honduras, and Guatemala. If we purchase a good car, it will go to Germany. If we purchase useless crap, it will go to Taiwan and none of it will help the American economy. The only way to keep that money here at home is to spend it on prostitutes and beer, since these are the only products still produced in US. I've been doing my part.'
At least he has the choice of spending that money
If our government is sending each of us a $600 rebate
If we spend that money at NTUC, the money goes to back to them. If we spend it on Toto & 4D, it goes back to them. If we buy a car, the COE money goes back to them. If our cars travel on the road, the money goes back to them. If we purchase a HDB flat, it goes back to them. If we buy a pack of cigarette or a beer most of the money goes back to them. if we hire a maid, half the money goes back to them, If we eat at a coffee shop, the rental goes back to them, if we visit prostitutes in geyland, the licensing fees goes back to them.
AND
Water and electricity bill will go up. Hospital Bill will go up. Telephone bill will go up. ERP will go up. Car park fee will go up. Petrol price will go up. Service charge will go up. GST will go up. Bus & MRT Fare will go up. Taxi fare will go up. Kopi O will go up. Chicken rice will go up. - only our pay didnt go up?
In our case they are taking back much more
hmm..visiting a crack whore will be indirectly giving money to the columbians. Visiting a normal prostitute would be giving money to the mexicans. Else he is just patronising a foreign prostitute.