Bravest soldier in Singapore
Friday, 31 October 2008
Shafi'ie charged for standing up for Singapore
Singapore Democrats
He may not be locked in combat in Iraq but he is arguably the most courageous soldier in Singapore today.
Recruit Muhammad Shafi'ie, the youngest among the Tak Boleh Tahan (TBT) activists, faces two trials in as many weeks: one for protesting
against escalating cost of living in front of the Parliament House on
15 March this year and the other for contempt of court.
The 19-year old Singapore Polytechnic
engineering graduate is currently a National Serviceman in the army at
the Pulau Tekong Camp undergoing his Basic Military Training (BMT).
Mr
Shafi'ie is now into his seventh of his 13-week BMT. He commutes
between camp and the Subordinate Courts to join his fellow activists in
the on-going trial.
"Everyday, I leave Pulau Tekong at seven in
the morning by ferry to reach the jetty at Changi from where I head
straight to the court to face the trial," he said.
Regarding
the TBT protest, Mr Shafi'ie said: "In the year 2007, the GST was
increased to 7% from the previous 5%. Following that, the public
transport fees, tertiary education fees, the ERP, to name a few, were
also increased. At around the same period of time, the highly paid
ministers had another round of pay rise.
"It does not make sense
that the government is taxing the population more and claiming that it
is actually helping the citizens, by giving back a fraction of what is
taken from us in the form of 'offset packages'. Where is our money
actually going to?
"What I did on 15 March with 17 of my friends was to tell the government - Tak Boleh Tahan!"
What
about his parents? They are, of course, worried about his involvement
in political activism. In fact, his father was rather disappointed when
Mr Shafi'ie pleaded not guilty to the current charges brought against
him. Father probably wanted to get the matter over with so that his son
could get out of actiivist work.
Asked why he was not pleading
guilty and what he thought of the trial, the NSman said: "I don't think
what we did on 15 March can be called a crime. We hurt no one and
neither did we create any disorder. What we did was to express our
concerns as citizens on issues that affect us deeply.
"In fact
the Constitution states that citizens have the right to free speech,
assembly and expression. These are basic rights, not privileges. So I
don't understand why we are being charged for exercising our rights as
citizens."
Shafi'ie with Jufrie Mahmood
Through
his steadfastness, Mr Shafi'ie is slowly changing his parents' minds.
His mother attends the TBT trial in the subordinate court every day.
To the mild-mannered NSman, Mr Jufrie Mahmood, seasoned opposition figure and fellow Tak Boleh Tahaner, has this to say:
"I
hope that in the future, this land will be a more conducive and
compassionate place for all. But before that can happen, we must
correct the wrongdoings that are happening now. It is a responsibility,
to ourselves and to the people around us.
"It is truly
heartening to have a young man like you coming to the fore. I am sure
there are many more like you out there waiting to be enlisted. You have
started the ball rolling. Keep it going and keep up your spirits!
"It's
a long, long haul indeed. But remember, a journey of a thousand miles
begins with the first step. The first few steps have been taken. If
older members like myself don't make it to the end, we feel assured
that youngsters like you will be there to continue on the journey. With
true grit, we shall achieve, maybe sooner rather than later.
"As for myself, I will continue playing a supporting role and giving my two cents worth.
"We
must persevere and have faith in what we are doing. To bring about
change under the present political environment, we just cannot afford
to follow the ineffective old formula year in and year out.
"Though
we are much maligned now by the establishment and the local media, the
day will come when we will be exonerated. The truth will inevitably
emerge."
Mr Shafi'ie will face another trial together with Mr
John Tan and Mr Isrizal next week in the High Court over contempt of
court charges from 4-6 Nov 08. The three were charged with wearing
T-shirts bearing a picture of a kangaroo in a judge's gown.
I worry for this brave young man.. will he serve DB if convicted?
"We must persevere and have faith in what we are doing. To bring about change under the present political environment, we just cannot afford to follow the ineffective old formula year in and year out.
That is Chee Soon Juan's propaganda, but I agree with it.
He is a far-sighted man.
kudos..at least he stands up for whatever he feels should be brought to the fore..unlike some residents here whose courageous actions can only constitute creating threads and showcasing their grievances to an audience of hundreds...
unlike some residents here whose courageous actions can only constitute creating threads and showcasing their grievances to an audience of hundreds...
That is already quite hard in our current political environment.
For example, do you dare to type Lee Kuan Yew is a mother fucking bastard?
Lee Kuan Yew go and fucking die now?
Not everyone dare.
It should not be titled as bravest soldier. But as bravest peasent singaporean. Why? to say someone is a brave soldier, it meant that the someone have done courageous deeds in military field.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:That is already quite hard in our current political environment.
Not everyone dare.
u dun see the soldier above doing that to be recognised for his efforts, do you? Similarly, resorting to underhand name calling and insults, why must stoop to his level?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:That is already quite hard in our current political environment.
Not everyone dare.
Lee Kwan Yew is a mother fucking bastard. Lee kwan Yew go and fucking die now. Here you go. Mostwanted5125 and Master are right. you don't award medals to for people for doing this kind of thing. Protesting infront of parliment house is'nt the way to earn peoples respect. What the hell makes this guy so different from all the other NSmen out there? Because he has the balls to do this? I think most of the other NSmen have the balls to do it, just that they have the brains to match
A brave soldier will not hesitate to run into the rain of bullets to gun down the enemy. This is known as garang.
A brave AND smart soldier will wait for the correct opportunity to gun the enemy down without hurting himself. This is called 'thinking soldier'.
I think we can draw parallels in the civillian world.
No point dying for an ideal because if you are the only one fighting for it, your ideal pretty much goes down with you.
That's why I maintain my stand that Chee Soon Juan is brave but stupid.
So what should Chee had done?
Originally posted by teraexa:That's why I maintain my stand that Chee Soon Juan is brave but stupid.
He got a doctorate...
Originally posted by whiskers:He got a doctorate...
Doctorate so what?
I really love to sneer at ppl who like to quote that CSJ is not stupid because he's got a doctorate.
Going by their favourite argument, there are plenty of scholars may have gotten good degrees but still so stupid to serve this 'useless' government.
Hence, academic qualification is not everything, right?
Originally posted by teraexa:Doctorate so what?
I really love to sneer at ppl who like to quote that CSJ is not stupid because he's got a doctorate.
Going by their favourite argument, there are plenty of scholars may have gotten good degrees but still so stupid to serve this 'useless' government.
Hence, academic qualification is not everything, right?
You say he is stupid. I say he has a doctorate... So how can he be stupid and get doctorate?
you might not agree with what he is doing... but he certaintly is not stupid.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:So what should Chee had done?
If he was smarter, he would have realised that the PAP system in Singapore is so entrenched that any effective change will have to be effected from within, not from outside.
A smarter person will have joined the incumbent and seek to influence members of the incumbents with his own ideals.
I don't give a damn about those bull5hit that claims that joining the incumbent represents a capitulation of your own ideals. After all, how strong you are in believing your ideals when you can't even stay true to them with temptations of money and/or power?
It is one thing to know that there's a wall to be knocked down. It's another thing to stupid use your own head in your futile attempt to knock it down. It's just even more foolish to repeatedly use the same method even though you have suffered from bleeding and concussion already.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:That is Chee Soon Juan's propaganda, but I agree with it.
He is a far-sighted man.
i disagree with it, what was done was very irresponsible, CSJ had the support of his family, even his sister was in it. but the young man's obviously don't have the support of his parents.
instead of getting him and his supporters arrested again and again and again though protesters, CSJ should attempt to use daily bread & butter issues with enough public support instead of trying to gain support though protesting.
looking at the lehman bros case, once the people lose life long savings they'll automatically get drawn to anyone offering hope.
NKF case also, all these can earn him brownie points which would help in the elections but instead he thinks if he goes out there and be a hero he can do something
A smarter person will have joined the incumbent and seek to influence members of the incumbents with his own ideals.
I take that as excuse for cowards.
Originally posted by whiskers:You say he is stupid. I say he has a doctorate... So how can he be stupid and get doctorate?
Dear whiskers, stupid doesn't mean that he can't study. It is true for the converse. Getting a doctorate doesn't mean that you aren't stupid. I am sure you have come across people who have good grades and academic qualifications but are downright stupid in other areas like social skills.
I agree with what he says. I agree with his vision but I don't agree with his methods.
I think he is stupid for employing these means to that end when it is so clearly that employing such means is tantamount to suicide in this society.
Again, I quote my above post.
"It is one thing to know that there's a wall to be knocked down. It's another thing to stupid use your own head in your futile attempt to knock it down. It's just even more foolish to repeatedly use the same method even though you have suffered from bleeding and concussion already."
CSJ should attempt to use daily bread & butter issues with enough public support instead of trying to gain support though protesting.
Yes I agree.
For some reason, SDP is not doing this forcefully.
Originally posted by whiskers:You say he is stupid. I say he has a doctorate... So how can he be stupid and get doctorate?
a doctorate means nothing, most of those i know with masters or doctorate get quite detached. can't work with people. have a good idea means nothing if there's no way of implementing it.
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:i disagree with it, what was done was very irresponsible, CSJ had the support of his family, even his sister was in it. but the young man's obviously don't have the support of his parents.
instead of getting him and his supporters arrested again and again and again though protesters, CSJ should attempt to use daily bread & butter issues with enough public support instead of trying to gain support though protesting.
looking at the lehman bros case, once the people lose life long savings they'll automatically get drawn to anyone offering hope.
NKF case also, all these can earn him brownie points which would help in the elections but instead he thinks if he goes out there and be a hero he can do something
I agree.
And it is irresponsible for a leader to allow himself and his supporters to be caught, fine and humilated again and again.
His method is just like the computers that I play starcrafts with. They fall for the same trick again and again!
We should be defining POLITICAL INTELLIGENCE!!! Not ACADEMIC ONE!
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:
I take that as excuse for cowards.
Mr PAP, I think I will just like to tell you one thing.
True men don't retreat.
Smart men know when to retreat and live to fight another day.
I am pretty sure you know who gets the last laugh, right?
No point getting your own head banged up and everyone having a bad impression of you (whether through smearing by your opposition or whatsoever).
It's just like selling a good. You don't employ self-hurting marketing methods to market it. You will just turn people off.
Influence Lee Kuan Yew?
Most likely you will be purged.
Not practical at all.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Influence Lee Kuan Yew?
Not practical at all.
I think u mistake the point. LKY in his context is the incumbent! He meants to influence those working for LKY not LKY himself.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Influence Lee Kuan Yew?
Not practical at all.
Now now, who is asking you to influence LKY?
If you are smarter, you will know better than to try to change an old block, right?
How about we try it on those young impressionable members?